125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions

vincent09
post Oct 18 2006, 09:17 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Last few i have cut my sugar glider's nails but it look like dont like it. So i didn't continue cut, it didn't stuck on those cloth. So i just leave it XD.
zymeth90
post Oct 18 2006, 10:40 PM

76 posts

whats the price of a pair of gliders now roughly? im thinking of getting a pair real soon. hedgehogs or gliders?
misa
post Oct 19 2006, 12:29 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(zymeth90 @ Oct 18 2006, 10:40 PM)
whats the price of a pair of gliders now roughly? im thinking of getting a pair real soon. hedgehogs or gliders?
RM500 below for a pair depending on where and whom you get it from. With regards to whether you should get a hedgehog or a glider, that's really dependant on your choice and your lifestyle. Google more information about both hedgehogs and the sugar gliders. They're very different animals. One requires less attention -- the other quite the opposite. Look through this thread -- there are links to where you can obtain further information about sugar gliders. Do your research and then think about what you want and what you can afford to keep and care for.

All the best!

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 19 2006, 06:18 AM
TAGreptiles
post Oct 19 2006, 01:37 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Oct 18 2006, 09:17 PM)
Last few i have cut my sugar glider's nails  but it look like dont like it. So i didn't continue cut, it didn't stuck on those cloth. So i just leave it XD.
erm...u can always leave 1 or 2 nails untrimmed. thats why i do with pie. smile.gif
Sugre
post Oct 19 2006, 10:51 AM

151 posts

Hmm I will try massaging their paws Hun, see if it works. But only the male is relaxed enough to sleep on my hand. The female is everywhere! They are both weird though. When they are wide awake, Roscoe likes to explore the room. While Rene likes to be on someone or jumping back and forth from the cage to human contact.

How to put the girl to sleep? Maybe she still don't trust me? When she wants to play she is everywhere. Otherwise she is hanging upside down from the roof of her cage refusing to budge.
nugget
post Oct 19 2006, 03:25 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(zymeth90 @ Oct 18 2006, 10:40 PM)
u get both...so when ur glider sleep..u can kacau heggy...when the hedgehog sleep..u kacau glidy pula...trust me...I enjoy doing it..but no heggy now...only iggy go lar...haha
TAGreptiles
post Oct 19 2006, 04:23 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

talking bout human contact u ask hun bout my glider at ikano the other day. rclxub.gif
misa
post Oct 19 2006, 04:28 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 19 2006, 04:23 PM)
talking bout human contact u ask hun bout my glider at ikano the other day.  rclxub.gif
Tell us what Pie did. laugh.gif
nugget
post Oct 19 2006, 04:41 PM

1,001 posts

been wonder....
I hav 4 glider...1 male 3 female....
I m not sure wheter I make the right thing...
I put two coconut shell for them...means 2 in each shell
sometime 3 in a tempurung n 1 alone in the other tempurung?
should I make them a shelter tht does not separate all of them when they sleep?

*tht lucky male glider...got chance to polygamy...
misa
post Oct 19 2006, 04:54 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Oct 19 2006, 04:41 PM)
been wonder....
I hav 4 glider...1 male 3 female....
I m not sure wheter I make the right thing...
I put two coconut shell for them...means 2 in each shell
sometime 3 in a tempurung n 1 alone in the other tempurung?
should I make them a shelter tht does not separate all of them when they sleep?

*tht lucky male glider...got chance to polygamy...
You could try creating a hammock using an old shirt. By the way, 1 male, 3 females, hmm he'll start impregnating them all soon enough. And you'll be needing an even bigger cage once they have joeys.
nugget
post Oct 19 2006, 05:42 PM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(misa @ Oct 19 2006, 04:54 PM)
You could try creating a hammock using an old shirt. By the way, 1 male, 3 females, hmm he'll start impregnating them all soon enough. And you'll be needing an even bigger cage once they have joeys.
i think my cage is big enuff coz its size are 4ftx3ft n height ...any trick to enhance his mood ?? ^^ blush.gif

like put aroma oil....or somting...kakaka...

crazymouse_yyh
post Oct 19 2006, 05:44 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Oct 19 2006, 05:42 PM)
i think my cage is big enuff coz its size are 4ftx3ft n height ...any trick to enhance his mood ?? ^^ blush.gif

like put aroma oil....or somting...kakaka...
Ahahah... he will know what to do wan lah.

Get a nesting box for birds lah... it is big enough to house a few gliders together.... I dunno Johor got sell or not but wooden bird nesting box comes in a few sizes... or you can make your own if you have time, get some wood, nails, saw and hammer hahahah...

Oh yah, will PM you my account tomorrow.
nugget
post Oct 19 2006, 07:28 PM

1,001 posts

thanks 4 d idea mouse...I c on some webpage tht they use small plant pot...i think I better use tht coz of easy cleaning...sometime b glider are bahagia than human....
misa
post Oct 19 2006, 07:37 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Oct 19 2006, 07:28 PM)
thanks 4 d idea mouse...I c on some webpage tht they use small plant pot...i think I better use tht coz of easy cleaning...sometime b glider are bahagia than human....
Hehe it's so cool that you're worried about them not being able to sleep together gether. tongue.gif Good luck on your search for a pot for 'em! thumbup.gif Add some nice blankets for them la so they'll be able to be super comfortable in it.

This post has been edited by misa: Oct 19 2006, 07:37 PM
nugget
post Oct 19 2006, 07:45 PM

1,001 posts

hi misa....the cloth trick tht u tell me really work...I read it in the infopage at critters' website...ignore it...I thought tht only angmoh glider only will work de...now they seems not scared I touch em anymore...some how they will kick those colth out..haha...the male 1 jump here jump there...energetic...the most tame 1 are the most timid 1...when come out...c me coming...she will sty at top corner never move...only when I giv her mealworm...she will respond to me...yogurt trick works well....lucky I still dare enuff to let them lick my finger...(after some horrible biting session) kakaka...cheers...
misa
post Oct 19 2006, 09:59 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(nugget @ Oct 19 2006, 07:45 PM)
hi misa....the cloth trick tht u tell me really work...I read it in the infopage at critters' website...ignore it...I thought tht only angmoh glider only will work de...now they seems not scared I touch em anymore...some how they will kick those colth out..haha...the male 1 jump here jump there...energetic...the most tame 1 are the most timid 1...when come out...c me coming...she will sty at top corner never move...only when I giv her mealworm...she will respond to me...yogurt trick works well....lucky I still dare enuff to let them lick my finger...(after some horrible biting session) kakaka...cheers...
Hehe the bonding process takes time. They'll grow closer to you as each day passes on la. Have they started hanging about on your shoulder and stuff? A good way to speed up the bonding process is to use a tent. Get one of those pop up tents or something and spend some time with the glider in it. Let it crawl on you and you can even hang some rope or toys for it to play with in the tent. The good thing about using a tent is that you don't have to worry about them escaping and you can sort of just relax a bit la hehe icon_rolleyes.gif
TAGreptiles
post Oct 20 2006, 12:25 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

pie was a total monster. she kept jumping around & dint wanna go into her bag. keep climbing on my face & jumping around. then we sat for coffee at kluang station. it turns out that she only wants me to manja & sayang her. after i sweet talk her & sayang her she go back into the bag & sleep d...lol.... sweat.gif
misa
post Oct 20 2006, 01:00 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 20 2006, 12:25 AM)
pie was a total monster. she kept jumping around & dint wanna go into her bag. keep climbing on my face & jumping around. then we sat for coffee at kluang station. it turns out that she only wants me to manja & sayang her. after i sweet talk her & sayang her she go back into the bag & sleep d...lol.... sweat.gif
laugh.gif That's exactly what happened with BabyBoy two nights ago. After having some jambu air, he went totally nuts. He climbed all over me and even went on top of my head -- then he started gliding off to the curtain and back to me -- again and again -- and when I wanted to put him back in his pouch, he didn't want to go. After a while he sat still on my shoulder and I did the same thing la -- manja him a bit then he finally crawled into his pouch to sleep.

But whoa, for that to happen at Ikano -- outdoors summore -- hehe dangerous dangerous. laugh.gif
TAGreptiles
post Oct 20 2006, 02:37 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

lol...nothing to worry bout. pie can crawl rite to my shoes but she wont jump off...i'll just have to becareful not to walk on her tail when she's on my shoe. biggrin.gif
misa
post Oct 20 2006, 03:02 PM

327 posts

Shivering: Scared, Cold, Or Normal?
================================
by Lisa (SunCoast Gliders)

Dear Lisa,

I'm hooked! My granddaughter's abandoned sugar is the sweetest thing I have ever met. I have the Zoo Food for her, done the yogurt with vitamins and calcium, fresh fruits and veggies and water. And lots of the love thing for her. She crawls out of her sleeping bag right into the bonding bag to be carried for hours. I am concerned, I notice she seems to shiver when I first touch her. Is she just getting her motor started, or is there something I should worry about?

Thank you, Sugar Grandma Jo

Hi Granny Jo! Sounds like you are very much on the right track! Before I get to your main question, I would like to say I'm glad that you've taken over this responsibility. Most kids don't have enough time for gliders. I really see them more as an adult companion and you may also consider getting your new pal a buddy, as it is more in tune with their true nature.

I like the way you describe the shaking thing - that is a good and accurate description of them getting their motor started.

Here's what I can share from my experience about shaking/shivering. Arnold's play time is almost always at night. But now and then I'll have someone over who is just dying to meet Mr. Arnold, so I wake him up for a short visit. He will shiver for a brief period of time, which makes me feel like a good quick shiver is similar to our desire to stretch and yawn when we wake up. I suppose we all need a way to get the old motor going.

I also feel like baby gliders may get a bit shivery when first meeting new people, because the "shiver" time of unbonded gliders seems to last a bit longer than a bonded glider's shiver time. So it seems logical that there is some fear factor going on, as well as getting the motor started. And not all of my bonded gliders shiver when woken, only some of them.

Now another reason we may guess that a sugar glider may shiver is because they are cold. I do not get the sense that gliders shiver when cold. My experience with gliders who get cold is that they get very lethargic and rather still. We are very careful with climate control in all of our glider spaces, and if we have a cold glider, there is usually something wrong.

Very young gliders do not regulate their own body temperatures well, so if the parents leave them for too long, the joeys will get cold. You can feel that they are cold. Their normal body temperature is very close to ours. A normal glider temperature is 97.2 F. You are not likely to see that they are cold, because they do not seem to shiver for that reason. You will have to touch them to determine if they are really cold. Good info for this time of year as temperatures are dropping!

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:53 PM