Wah.... good info... damn a lot of info hahaha... good job connie!!!
~*Sugar Glider Club V2 *~, Staring Contest Champions
Aug 5 2006, 12:35 AM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
Wah.... good info... damn a lot of info hahaha... good job connie!!!
Aug 5 2006, 01:39 PM
Gliders need protein in their diet. In the wild, they eat insects, bird eggs if they are lucky and sometimes baby birds.... well, you won't know for sure what they eat in the wild.
Aug 5 2006, 05:33 PM
Ahahah.... all of you soft heart.... if you google glider diet, there is a breeder that gives live day old chicks to glider to eat. That is worst than a pinkie. You see, in the wild they can find their own food and when they need high protein they will hunt for live prey lah.... but tame, do we give them enough protein? Do they get enough calcium? Do they get enough nutrients? So many breeders in other countries try as much to create diets that are close to the wild diet. Offering pinkies or chicks is just a way for getting better protein into a glider's system. Gliders are not domesticated pets... they are still considered wild at heart.
Aug 5 2006, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Aug 5 2006, 05:37 PM) oic, thnx for da info, btw, do u feed ur SG with those pinky?? My glider still young loh.... I offer her mealworms for now. I actually gave a pinkie to my leopard gecko and tarantula before.... coz it is good for them... well, for SG, you don't need to give pinkies and chicks everyday, if you give cooked chicken, good enough. I would consider giving a live pinkie once a while when my glider older lah... of course need to breed mice first hahaha....1 more thing, i came accross this when i try to search info bout SG Premium Manicure Manager Nail Trimmer With Comfort Stride Track this thing will fit in the wodent wheels and guess wat, no more nail cutting process... got this stuff in malaysia, o is just me that din notice bout it... Hmmmm.... never see that before... nail trimmer.... gives me an idea of lining the normal wheel with some fine sand paper. I think it will work too provided it is the fine sand paper which is safe on their paws. |
Aug 5 2006, 05:53 PM
Wahhh... these products can't be found here... pity as these are great toys. Hmmm... I'm gonna try with sand paper and see how the effect is lol...
Aug 5 2006, 06:03 PM
LOL.... I mentioned already to use fine sand paper mah hehehe.... anyway, this product is an idea from bird toys coz in US, they produce nail trimmers for parrots, very similar to the ones you posted.
Bulk? Gonna be damn costly... better find someone who is going there for holiday and maybe tumpang beli.... I think that is much better coz bulk you may need to order quite a number, plus shipping and currency... wah... pengsan later hehehh.... |
Aug 6 2006, 08:56 PM
Hehehe... not yet set up cage yet loh.... now Kiah in small hamster cage... temporary only, waiting for her exo terra cage...
Today I successfully filed Kiah's nails down... now not pain liao hehehe... |
Aug 7 2006, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(smellyocheese @ Aug 7 2006, 09:10 AM) and where you gonna put the cage...? Got place lah hahaha.... I never show you meh? HEhehehe.....I'm also waiting for donny's and pie's cages. haha. good la. but her nails weren't too bad to begin with. i have to file pie's nails also. they seem to like the new food you gave me try not to trim so much lor.. I think just filing would do. sandpaper.. just use it supervised... should be alright. She so good.... today brought her to class... while doing marker drawings, she barked hahaha.... luckily soft soft. Aiyoh, so cute lah..... They like the food? Hahah... not bad I guess when I simply put the left over stuff in.... well, I only left 1/3 of the container, gonna finish soon since Kiah takes 1 tablespoon a day now hehehe.... QUOTE(jaswwp @ Aug 7 2006, 10:11 AM) gerbils nails are sharp too... I was thinking of filing them but they wont hold still so its impossible. I cut before hamster and gerbil nails hehehe.... |
Aug 8 2006, 06:33 PM
Ahhhh.... I still got free Slurp samples.... who at Cyberjaya want?
Aug 13 2006, 10:28 PM
Every breeder, every keeper, every owner has their own glider diet. Some from experimenting, some from research and some just give what they think suitable. But gotta agree on Tag on "glider anatomy is still very much unknown to us." Read up on websites, almost every breeder has a different way... well, not totally different diet but then each diet varies. Almost all diets require calcium and vitamin supplements, some breeders feed pinkies, some feed cooked chicken, some day old chicks.... well, I still think we must be cautious when it comes to feeding. Do not do it overly with live prey.... give plenty of fruits. Follow a basic leadbeater's mix as it is the best kind of diet to compliment the fruits. I have experimented and have personally tried the mixes I made.... well, so far all good and my glider is growing very well with soft fur. Anyway, just do a bit more research on leadbeater's diet.
Dog kibbles and cat kibbles can contain minerals which a glider can't take. Some dog food have avocado oil and garlic, a BIG NO NO for gliders. Just don't over do. Give as a treat. Jams, as long sugar free then can give lah. Refined sugar is not that good for gliders, they can take sugar but long run how? We still dunno how their body can take large amounts of sugar.... even pure honey is dangerous when given too much. QUOTE(dananmy @ Aug 12 2006, 09:17 PM) I wanna ask u all la, if u bring ur babies out, maximum how many hours? did they poopee in the pouch? I taught of bringing them out and is 12hour in office daily. If within the 12hour didn't feed them can ar? Because once I feed them they will poopee. I read somewhere that they only feed once in the evening because sg sleep the whole afternoon. I bring my Kiah, she is only 2 months old, with me to college every day for the past 2 weeks. I bring snacks for her like a grape or berry or buy cut fruits for her.... I also bring along her glider mix in case she needs to eat. I move from my house at 6.40am and come back home at 8pm... these 2 weeks I get back home at 130am... she does great in a pouch, when it gets near night time, I take her out from her pouch to play and eat. |
Aug 15 2006, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(khairizha @ Aug 15 2006, 01:38 AM) Wah.... damn cute Bila you want the glider mix(Slurp!)? I wanna see baby gliders too hahahah.... QUOTE(chaf @ Aug 15 2006, 04:59 PM) hey there....jz wanna ask bout sugar glider market price..... Well, a petshop easily RM350 above.... but from breeders or suppliers or sellers, can be RM250 above....i ask in melaka 350 for male n 380 for female..... how bout in KL....? |
Aug 16 2006, 12:36 AM
OK... I can't wait to show off some pictures.... as you know, I have been MIA for a few days from the forum... reason is do some part time job lah hehehe.... be an extra in a local movie....
Anyway, Kiah got a taste of fame too heheh... here are her pics with Gurmit Singh and Gavin Yap! ![]() ![]() More of her cute pics ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Aug 16 2006, 12:44 AM
Where I take? On the movie set loh hehehehe.....
Aug 16 2006, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(Sugre @ Aug 16 2006, 05:46 PM) Awww all your joeys are so adorable!!!! Crazymouse the photos of Kiah are really nice. Kiah stole the limelight for awhile on that day hahah.... kinda proud of her.Just wondering, crazymouse and smellyocheese: where did you get your pouch from? It looks much better than the one I have. Looking to get another pouch because mine is so worn out from so many washes because my SGs like to pee and poo in it The pouch, well, I have 2 actually.... 1 is a pouch I got free... actually it is suppose to be a small handbag made of zippers and it works really well. The pouch you see in the pics above is a cotton pouch, I bought from Living Cabin shop.... I think suppose to be a sling pouch for little kids coz it has a face of a cat infront. Easy to wash and dry too and Kiah likes it. Recently Kiah likes camera pouches. I find it works very well if you bring your glider to cold places. The camera pouches are padded, so it keeps your glider quite warm and cozy. It also protects your glider from shock if the pouch falls onto the ground. I use a camera pouch with a clip on cover, coz a zipper may not provide enough ventilation. Well, this is what I have experimented so far. QUOTE(prophet007 @ Aug 16 2006, 07:56 PM) cute picccs!!! anyway, juz wanna ask someting, will the gliders jump off ur pocket when u take it out? or u guys got a leash for them? If it is a bonded glider, where you have tamed and made it bond with you since it was a joey, then it won't jump off your pocket. My glider can stay on my clothes the whole day without jumping away. She can also hang on to my belt and sleep in that position too. Amazing gliders |
Aug 17 2006, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(Sugre @ Aug 17 2006, 04:00 PM) Thanks girls. Will go look for some good pouches. Anybody know how to stop their glider from peeing and pooing in the pouch? Or even me Hmmm.... for me, Kiah rarely pee and poo in her pouch, unless I feed her. She seems to pee and poo during food so I always take her out of her pouch when feeding her. Sometimes she makes mistakes on me but rarely.... still, gliders are hard to potty train since in nature, they just do it anywhere since always on trees.QUOTE(khairizha @ Aug 17 2006, 07:55 PM) Next week me free.... so you confirm with me lah. |
Aug 17 2006, 10:25 PM
Aug 17 2006, 11:00 PM
Or get a sling bag loh.... hehehe... I hang camera pouch around my neck... people think I carry camera.
Aug 18 2006, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(khairizha @ Aug 18 2006, 12:11 PM) hurmmm...do u took the gliders just after they woke up or just after they come out from the pouch??..if like that..u have to give the glider time to do their business...they normally will pee n poo after woke up and came out for play..this is just my observation about my cimon n cici.... Yah, what you said true lah. Gliders will pee and poo after wake up, after come out from pouch and during meals....but if the gliders really wait for ur hand to do their business i dunno if it is a conspiracy or a revenge because u put them in the cage...ahahahhaa |
Aug 22 2006, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(prophet007 @ Aug 22 2006, 08:15 PM) can i use a normal hamster cage as a sugar's home if he will be wif me all the time except sleeping time. Need a tall cage... coz our sleeping time, is a glider's active time... so small cage, it can't do much... later no excercise and it can become stressed or depressed. |
Aug 23 2006, 07:34 PM