qebalt
post May 21 2014, 03:17 AM

155 posts

Dear Jobseekers, never underestimate your job updates with:

1. LinkedIn
2. Jobstreet
3. Well renowned recruitment firms (Ranstad or etc.)
4. O&G companies' websites
5. Your friends
6. Small O&G servicing companies (will be your stepping stone)
7. Cable mak bapak, sedara, girl friends or etc.
8. Foreign companies

Just 'Google' best tips for cover letters, resumes, interviews & etc.

Good luck.
TSmohdyakup
post May 21 2014, 07:14 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(qebalt @ May 21 2014, 03:17 AM)
Dear Jobseekers, never underestimate your job updates with:

1. LinkedIn
2. Jobstreet
3. Well renowned recruitment firms (Ranstad or etc.)
4. O&G companies' websites
5. Your friends
6. Small O&G servicing companies (will be your stepping stone)
7. Cable mak bapak, sedara, girl friends or etc.
8. Foreign companies

Just 'Google' best tips for cover letters, resumes, interviews & etc.

Good luck.
Its true. I landed my current job via Linkedin last time
krayziethuG
post May 21 2014, 07:20 AM

117 posts

sorry im new to Linkedin, is there any specific group that offer jobs or you guys link to the company profile?
meonkutu11
post May 21 2014, 09:31 AM

1,597 posts

Generational Guru, Recruiter Discuss Energy's Diverse Workforce
by Gene Lockard
May 16, 2014
Ready or not, the energy industry workforce is entering a period of considerable change, and managers will have to find the right approach and tone to successfully deal with a much younger workforce, while not disenfranchising more senior workers, according to motivational speaker Karen McCullough at a recent Upstart 360 conference, and Tim Cook, the recruiting manager for PathFinder Staffing.
This change in demographics within the industry is being driven by the large number of energy sector workers who are nearing the age of retirement. This is the “Great Crew Change” that is frequently mentioned by hiring officials in the industry. While all industries have their share of retiring workers, the percentage of senior workers in the energy is disproportionately large, Cook said.
“There are a lot of people in oil and gas who have 30 or more years of experience. The industry also has a much smaller, but growing, number of people with up to seven or so years of experience. What it doesn’t have are a lot of people with between 10 and 30 years of experience, and that’s the demographic they’re chasing,” Cook told Rigzone.
There is a reason why people with 10 to 30 years of experience are relatively scarce in the industry, McCullough told Rigzone.
“The oil and gas industry has always been a cyclical industry, and it was going through a bust period beginning in the mid-1980s. Many students in the 1980s and early 1990s who might have considered a career in energy saw what was happening and chose to go into the information technology industry instead,” she said.
“Right now, we get multiple calls from people about oil and gas jobs – the Texas Miracle. They want to get into the industry, and there’s plenty of work. The problem for some people is that if they’re not already in the energy industry, they would possibly have to start off at close to an entry-level salary, which wouldn’t be enough for many middle-aged workers,” Cook said, adding that there were still many who “have a hunger to transition into the oil and gas industry.”
A result of the energy sector’s senior-heavy workforce is that as the older oil and gas workers retire, they take with them much of the industry’s institutional knowledge and experience, and there are comparatively few workers behind them who are ready to step up and fill the void. That means that it is critical for energy companies to develop a pipeline of qualified people who can be ready to move in and come up to speed quickly.
However, these new workers will be working alongside older workers nearing, but not quite ready, for retirement, McCullough told Rigzone. Each generation of workers grows up in a different era, and not all of them respond to the same management style that was in use in the energy sector and other industries in the past. So, managers will need to be resourceful to create an environment that is creative, cooperative and harmonious, while still being productive. The days of the “one size fits all” management approach are over, McCullough said, adding that it is becoming increasingly important to accept the needs of each individual. 
The key to understanding the various generations is to know how they differ. There are four generations currently working in the energy industry. The oldest workers are the traditionalists, followed by the baby boomers, and then the gen X’ers. The youngest workers are those in the millennial generation. Each of these generations brings to the working environment its own beliefs, styles and values, McCullough said. Therefore, the ways of communicating, conducting business and even thinking is changing, and they must continue to change in order to accommodate these and future generations of workers.
Each generation helps create, and is shaped by, the events of the times they grew up in, and their values, attributes and work styles reflect these different time periods.
Mccullough and Cook each noted a number of characteristics that differentiate the generations:
Traditionalists value loyalty, conformity, rules and authority, and are disciplined and detail-oriented
Baby Boomers value individual choice and focus on individual choices and freedom
Generation X workers place a high value on family, feedback, autonomy, and creativity
Millennials crave change, often do more than one thing at a time, like to be active rather than passive, and enjoy working with teams
Managing Energy’s Multi-Generational Workforce

Dealing with the differences between the generations poses a significant challenge for any manager, McCullough said, adding that before it is all over, the workforce will change because of millennials.
“Some baby boomers are looking forward to working with a new group of younger workers, while others have a few reservations. However, millennials can help bring about a change in values that can benefit everyone in the workforce.”
“Millennials do not want to spend eight hours at a job that makes them miserable. Things like child care, time off, better benefits, paternity leave, and the ability to work from home when needed are going to have to become more commonplace,” she said. “The old guard can learn from the new as well. Who’s to say who is right or wrong. We have to acknowledge the differences and embrace them.”
alex_krustasia
post May 21 2014, 09:41 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ May 19 2014, 12:52 AM)
Wait till I back from our family day event at PD end of this month brows.gif
wahh so fast away day..
saw one awek a few weeks back...demn cantik drool.gif
TSmohdyakup
post May 21 2014, 12:59 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(alex_krustasia @ May 21 2014, 09:41 AM)
wahh so fast away day..
saw one awek a few weeks back...demn cantik  drool.gif
Finance awek hhhnnghhhhh here liao brows.gif same goes to technical assistant brows.gif

hhhngghhhhhh
TSmohdyakup
post May 21 2014, 01:02 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(forrestcat @ May 21 2014, 01:52 AM)
I just wonder, since I have a masters degree in petroleum but non oil and gas engineering experience on top of a mechanical degree, companies may be reluctant to hire me even though I dont ask much on top of my last drawn kilang salary  cry.gif .

I understand that MD holders tend to be hired by consultancy firms.

Does anyone have any list of consultant companies in addition to below?
-Onyx
-Leap Energy
-Petrotel

There are a plethora other small vendors and services companies but not sure if they do provide consulting services.
I am browsing through v3-v5 of the this thread to dig more info, but Ill appreciate it if anyone can give additional info even if its just one company  notworthy.gif .
For executive headhunter for high level master holder like you, I suggest Randstad, Addecco, Applus Velosi etc
TSmohdyakup
post May 21 2014, 01:03 PM

4,351 posts

Also to add - Robert Walters
SUSPLOUFFLE
post May 21 2014, 02:34 PM

442 posts

taruc mechanical degree can accepted?
dragonsuy
post May 21 2014, 03:11 PM

112 posts

fresh chemical engineer vacancies dont have? almost all i see is mechanicals and petroleum eng =..=
noruazumi
post May 21 2014, 05:45 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(forrestcat @ May 21 2014, 01:52 AM)
I just wonder, since I have a masters degree in petroleum but non oil and gas engineering experience on top of a mechanical degree, companies may be reluctant to hire me even though I dont ask much on top of my last drawn kilang salary  cry.gif .

I understand that MD holders tend to be hired by consultancy firms.

Does anyone have any list of consultant companies in addition to below?
-Onyx
-Leap Energy
-Petrotel

There are a plethora other small vendors and services companies but not sure if they do provide consulting services.
I am browsing through v3-v5 of the this thread to dig more info, but Ill appreciate it if anyone can give additional info even if its just one company  notworthy.gif .
I was told to stop listening to myself when I was in doubt. And now, I am giving the same advice to you. Master Degree in Petroleum definitely gives you some weights. Be confident and try. Plenty of engineering and consultancy houses in KL. But based on current situations, engineering houses are downsizing.
noruazumi
post May 21 2014, 05:49 PM

509 posts

QUOTE(krayziethuG @ May 21 2014, 07:20 AM)
sorry im new to Linkedin, is there any specific group that offer jobs or you guys link to the company profile?
Nothing in specific. Updating and CRAFTING your online resume (and keywords) will help to get you noticed by headhunters. Your profile must be searchable and give a good impression.

I barely go and check the discussions in the groups I joined. I prefer a more specific engagement.
punkrockdamn
post May 21 2014, 06:02 PM

13 posts

hi seniors..

i have something here to ask you..

recently, i've got 2 offers, one is from Lotte Chemical Titan as a mechanical engineer (reliability department) and another one is from PBJV as a pipeline services engineer (PMT)..

so which one is better in terms of career development, experience wise, benefit, company, etc..

really need some opinions from you guys before i can make up my mind..

thanks....

This post has been edited by punkrockdamn: May 21 2014, 06:04 PM
TSmohdyakup
post May 21 2014, 06:47 PM

4,351 posts

PBJV of course without any hesitation.
punkrockdamn
post May 21 2014, 06:55 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ May 21 2014, 06:47 PM)
PBJV of course without any hesitation.
reason being?
TSmohdyakup
post May 21 2014, 07:19 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(punkrockdamn @ May 21 2014, 06:55 PM)
reason being?
Reason is simple. Within 5 years time I will have tons of project reference in my CV which will looks very handsome. I will definitely choose PBJV because they are among one of the top O&G contractor for HUC and T&I. Ditch that Lotte petchem offer.
meonkutu11
post May 21 2014, 07:22 PM

1,597 posts

Drilling Operation Engineer

I am presently looking for a Drilling Operations Engineer to take on a fantastic opportunity based Malaysia. The position is a permanent staff position and is exclusive to Malaysian nationals. The position responsibilities include:

• Plan, execute, control and supervise engineering work activities and perform project execution activities from contracting strategy, technical & commercial evaluation, contract execution and budget observation throughout conceptual and detail well design and operations particularly in Drilling Engineering for all exploration and field development projects undertaken in line with company policy/objectives to ensure reliable and successful implementation that is critical to operational needs.
• Provide total technical integrity solutions and expertise with assistance from Senior Engineer through technical review / compliance check and specialised studies; and continuously assess and enhance well design concepts, strategies, philosophies, standards and specifications to domestic and international.

Responsibilities:

· Prepare and optimized drilling programmes and well design leading to the optimum well and economical well design consistent with Operator and MTJA procedures and guidelines.

Consolidate geological and petroleum engineering data.

ü Gather and concosolidate data from offset well (if any) and from previous experience gained.

ü Prepare accurate well AFE by identifying all cost elements required for operations.

ü Develop detail well design with regards to technology, methodology and analyze impact to project objectives.

ü Identify areas of improvement and effective design engineering practices.

ü Optimize designs and programmes; establish / recommend best configuration; and analyze specific requirement including checking and verification of the design using engineering software.

· Provide technical expertise during various phases of project execution; i.e. during conceptual, detailed design (pre-drilling), drilling and post drilling. Continuously advise the project team on cost and schedule impact to the project by assessing the project performance indicators.

· Conduct and capture design analysis and quality evaluation leading to the completion of analytical reports in the following areas :

ü Bit behavior, performance and selection analysis

ü BHA design and performance analysis

ü Drilling operations analysis including NPT (non-productive time), lessons learnt gain from each wells and operations improvement

ü Well cost analysis

ü Enhance skill and expertise in Drilling Engineering by :-

ü Keeping abreast with the latest technologies / trends by attending seminar / briefing conducted by vendors / contractors.

ü Identifying relevant courses / training required or opportunity to participate in on-the-job training.

ü Attending essential competency / skill trainings.

· Acquisition and application of new technology for cost effective cost optimization that suit the well objectives and operational requirement by analyzing and preparing recommendation to ensure proven technology is used whenever possible and to select appropriate development solutions of proven technology is not available. Also provide continuous monitoring, assessment and supervision of the implementation of the acquired technology.

· Prepare correct scope of work and technical specifications for tender packages by analyzing and reviewing base requirements with respect to project needs.

Requirements:

· Bachelor Degree in Petroleum, Mining Engineering or equivalent
· At least 5 years experience in drilling engineering and operations

· Ability to evaluate and analyze operational situations

· Good organizational and interpersonal skills

· Creativity, capacity to keep abreast of technology changes.

· Fluent in both spoken and written English

· This position is exclusive to Malaysian nationals

This position offers fantastic career opportunities and the prospect of promotion with this highly regarded and reputable Operator. This position will also offer an attractive package. Please send your cv’s through to Rob Byrom, successful candidates will be contacted.

Rob Byrom
Recruitment Consultant – Drilling / Well Engineering

T +44 (0) 1625 537 555 Ext. 1057
E rbyrom@leap29.com

Leap29 Ltd (Head Office)

Bollin House

Riverside Park

Bollin Link Road

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 1DP

Leap29 Australia Pty. Ltd.

Level 3, 267 St Georges Terrace

Perth, WA 6000, Australia

W www.leap29.com

hussain.isma
post May 21 2014, 07:39 PM

67 posts

Finally, a drilling op.
langstrasse
post May 21 2014, 08:27 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(krayziethuG @ May 21 2014, 07:20 AM)
Dude,first follow all companies that you're interested in. Next, join all groups that are related to the industry and do your reading and research. It's free but the only thing you need is your time.
blizice
post May 21 2014, 08:38 PM

219 posts

Dear all expert, anyone work with turbomachinary control and process control? which one have better future?

99 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0940sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:05 PM