should I take acca/finance/cfa/lcct those sort?
sifu-sifu, help me please!
Oil & Gas Careers V6, Upstream and Downstream
May 16 2014, 05:41 AM
67 posts Joined: May 2014 |
if OnG, trained in engineering, but planning to break into exec/management, how eh? how to move to the upper management?
should I take acca/finance/cfa/lcct those sort? sifu-sifu, help me please! |
May 16 2014, 03:36 PM
Don't need those finance papers??
May 16 2014, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(vankodoq @ May 16 2014, 12:00 PM) Attend conferences or meetings where there are lots of sales or marketing managers. Build connections and start asking permission to your manager to attend internal company sales meeting. Then it all boils down to this comment below. kekekeke but to impress perlu the kertas-kertas harum onot? klau tak, "yes, we would like to have you but you tak cukup qualification. mcmna nak join us at planning?" |
May 17 2014, 11:27 PM
eh, mesti Petroleum Engineering utk jd driller?
I'm finishing MechEng and baru just now kat Graduan Aspire, PETRONAS beritau driller for PetEng ONLY. and is driller paid more than say MechEng for piping? PETRONAS say driller paling valuable. |
May 18 2014, 01:01 AM
May 18 2014, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(backspace66 @ May 18 2014, 09:07 AM) not really , I have seen people with mechanical eng. background and chemical eng. background too. ye ke? Drillers together with subsurface people(geophysicist,geoscientist,geomodeller) commands the highest pay in the industry for office job. offshore job lain citer la bai. Hmm. But Petronas told me they oni hire PetE for engineering, unless you odi hav 3 yrs exp. MechEng highest pay in ong industry is what role? Mechie ada kerja offshore? |
May 18 2014, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Y.J.S @ May 18 2014, 09:30 PM) semua industries, ong included, have many divisions.. All equally successful and profitable, just some get paid more for more risks or skills.. Like engineers But of course finance people profit a lot also la. Management, chopper pilot, diver, piping, systems, janitor, prostitute, HR officer, even motivational psychologists ada in some ong comp. |
May 20 2014, 12:48 AM
May 20 2014, 06:24 PM
May 20 2014, 06:44 PM
May 21 2014, 07:39 PM
Finally, a drilling op.
May 23 2014, 11:03 AM
May 26 2014, 06:07 AM
QUOTE(BlurTV @ May 25 2014, 02:20 PM) Looking for advice from the Otais here look back dan tengok what's the problem engineers facr when nak masuk OnG..A friend of mine recommended taking up a basic O&G course from think-plus academy. From what I understand, it's a recruitment agency that provides practical and specialized courses as well. Their upcoming course is "Basic Oil & Gas Enrichment Course". I was thinking of signing up to increase my chances of getting recruited. It costs RM2500 for a 3 day course though. Should I go for it? Usually it's the work experience and cgpa, not the lacking of certain courses.. I dont think it'll help a bit. |
May 26 2014, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(ak101ss @ May 26 2014, 08:08 PM) Greetings guys, I am a electrical engineering grad who wants to give up electrical field entirely and be a drilling engineer. Below average cgpa, but very much willing to work offshore. Dua 3 months jobs.. Don't think will look good in cv.Current experience includes; power/utilities (TNB for 3 mths), IT/business project management (Accenture for 3 mths), Facilities O&M (Intel Corp for 7 mths), and project/construction/commissioning (Klang Valley MRT Project for 3 mths and counting). Qualifications none. I have tried applying in many companies but obviously yet to be called for interview. I would like to know what qualifications can I arm myself with to obtain higher chances of being called for an interview? I have tried for Shell graduate programme before (passed all online tests), but never got called to the SRD. Thanks for all inputs. Also I'm somewhat intrigued in the project management side of things, there was this experienced professional who was sharing his experience about O&G project management in Sime Darby Oil. He mentioned that work was hectic, bosses stuck in office for long hours, staff sleeping/take bath in office, and projects keep on coming which causes staff to juggle multiple projects at a time. Is the situation still the same or has everything cooled down? I am very intrigued in this field also, so mohon share how to get into this if being a drilling engineer is not possible. And also, mohon mod update link pdf Instok. Very powerful pdf, but I lost it. Thanks. Petronas hr told me drilling engineer most picky in selection.. Either PetEng, or any engineering but took drilling courses at same time, or work experience. |
Jun 8 2014, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 7 2014, 09:37 AM) hampeh petronas. semua nak overseas grads. the likes of low key guys and ofc la mau overseas grad. kalo grad local sama standard tentulah hire..local grads like me semua x layan. then when those so called talented geniuses lari, mula la hire ex-pat whom dont care a feck about the locals nor the shit about what they are doing. bkn kata overseas grad tentu hire, tapi semua mrk tu cgpa gile-gile. |
Jun 8 2014, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jun 8 2014, 06:37 PM) beg to differ. plenty of local grads yg standard lg tinggi. no need to pandang lekeh of our own education system la bro. im not memperlekehkan our local education system la.. im memperlekehkan the bdk-bdk local.Bagus la if you're not, or your friends are not but majority cannot even survive our own edu system. You pergi edu fair or other thread mintak kerja. Setakat cgpa 3.0 pun they nak mintak turun-turunkan. This doesnt apply to all but holds true to my ori post. Not all overseas grads are better than locals but all those that are chosen have a standardized score utk tepati first, like minimum cgpa, what classes, english proficiency, yadayada. I pun bdk local struggling gak Retreating to my stone. |
| Change to: | 0.0475sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:15 AM |