Canon PowerShot S3 IS
JET
Jun 15 2007, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 15 2007, 10:23 AM) 2GB card should be able to take 700 large XF photos. We always have 4GB and 8GB too.  I suppose no one buys a porshe but tune it to kancil performance.  Hi Si Fu.... Can advice me suggest me the brand of SD Card to buy? Brand, Speed.... Ok, I've bad experience with Kingston
kinz_11
Jun 15 2007, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 14 2007, 01:44 AM) Eh, I remember that Canon Malaysia is supposed to reply my email today. Hmm.. No sign of their mail.  Added on June 14, 2007, 3:35 pmCanon Malaysia's official reply regarding SDHC support: But people have tested SDHC cards on S3IS and it works.  Reply this to him.. Thanks for your kind reply.. I couldn't wait for your reply and I ended up buying the 8GB SDHC and yea I'm using the 8GB SDHC on my Canon S3is now.. Thank God I didn't wait for your reply.. Hahahahhaha... Maybe that will make them physically try it out in future rather than just giving a rough guess.. Nevertheless, they are kind enough to reply you.. Way better service compared to O2 Malaysia.. This post has been edited by kinz_11: Jun 15 2007, 05:49 PM
tongyam
Jun 15 2007, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jun 15 2007, 12:13 PM) Depends on what lens adapter you use. Ori Canon Lens adapter LAH-DC20 is 58mm. Lensmate is 52mm... so, we cant direct attact filter on the lens, need to use adapter?
mengsuan
Jun 15 2007, 09:06 PM
9W2NNS
Hehe.. I officially joined the S3 IS club. Bought the camera with standard accessories, case, tripod, screen protector, 2GB high speed SD card and some inexpensive miscellaneous freebies(from Sony  ) at a price of 1.6k. Maybe there is better deal at Sg Wang but didn't have the time to travel way there. I got 2 warranty card. One from Canon Australia and one from Canon Malaysia. Maybe the Canon Australia card is considered null. I love the camera. It's fantastic. Just some difficulty in focussing sometimes. I still need to learn a lot more from this little baby. I'll still half way reading its manual.  Ah, almost missed out; This camera gave me momentary electrical shock when I connect it to my TV and USB. The camera is not grounded I suppose.
kinz_11
Jun 15 2007, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 15 2007, 09:06 PM) Ah, almost missed out; This camera gave me momentary electrical shock when I connect it to my TV and USB. The camera is not grounded I suppose. I think it's not the camera's fault.. I've got shocked by other TV Output cables as well.. Dvd Player, PS2 but not the Canon..Or at least not yet..
mengsuan
Jun 15 2007, 10:07 PM
9W2NNS
QUOTE(kinz_11 @ Jun 15 2007, 09:34 PM) I think it's not the camera's fault.. I've got shocked by other TV Output cables as well.. Dvd Player, PS2 but not the Canon..Or at least not yet..  The shock from TV is pretty nasty. It's much 'shocking' than the USB shock. Hmm.. your S3 doesn't give you any shock? I'm an electrophile? Haha.. I loaded the camera with CHDK firmware hack. It's quite cool. Still got lots to explore. Sadly, my laptop's internal card reader can't read 2GB SD cards. I'm forced to load the firmware into a 64MB MMC. I need to get an external reader for my 2GB card.
kiathoong
Jun 15 2007, 10:49 PM
can anyone post the latest price for this product? by the way can we compare S3 with IXUS 850is? are they in the same league?
DreamChaser
Jun 16 2007, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(kiathoong @ Jun 15 2007, 10:49 PM) can anyone post the latest price for this product? by the way can we compare S3 with IXUS 850is? are they in the same league? can't compare with 850is ler. both in different league. simple to say, S3 is in pro-sumer and 850is is in consumer point and shoot...
mengsuan
Jun 16 2007, 01:56 AM
9W2NNS
Phew, at last I finished reading each and every page of the manual. Much better in handling the camera already. Haha..
dokidoki
Jun 16 2007, 10:43 AM
tongyam
Jun 16 2007, 10:49 AM
vikingw2k
Jun 16 2007, 11:08 AM
LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
JET
Jun 16 2007, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(kinz_11 @ Jun 15 2007, 05:48 PM) Reply this to him.. Thanks for your kind reply.. I couldn't wait for your reply and I ended up buying the 8GB SDHC and yea I'm using the 8GB SDHC on my Canon S3is now.. Thank God I didn't wait for your reply.. Hahahahhaha... Maybe that will make them physically try it out in future rather than just giving a rough guess.. Nevertheless, they are kind enough to reply you.. Way better service compared to O2 Malaysia.. I would say. They do not want to confirm the S3 could support SDHC and >2G Card. To prevent ppl claim warranty on this.... Wht brand of SDHC tht you all suggest?? I'm planning to get myself 2x 4G card... (should be much more enough...) This post has been edited by JET: Jun 16 2007, 12:32 PM
julchin_09
Jun 16 2007, 02:45 PM
the SD850IS is still a compact point and shoot. Funny thing is that the Canon Powetshot S3IS was also put into this category in some webbies. But its actually a prosumer. Lotsa extra manual functions you can't find in the 850IS. Plus stereo video recording on a 432mm 35mm camera equivalent lens...
corpseyz
Jun 16 2007, 07:37 PM
guys, quick question..
is it worth getting a wide lense? if so, how much would it cost?
sotong168
Jun 16 2007, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(kinz_11 @ Jun 15 2007, 05:48 PM) Reply this to him.. Thanks for your kind reply.. I couldn't wait for your reply and I ended up buying the 8GB SDHC and yea I'm using the 8GB SDHC on my Canon S3is now.. Thank God I didn't wait for your reply.. Hahahahhaha... Maybe that will make them physically try it out in future rather than just giving a rough guess.. Nevertheless, they are kind enough to reply you.. Way better service compared to O2 Malaysia.. what is your SDHC class? the class 6 speed (the fastest class for SDHC thus far) is min 6MB/s vs conventional SD 2GB 150x which is max 22.5MB/s. Would u mind to try on continuos shooting mode to test your SDHC performance? thks~
ozak
Jun 17 2007, 01:31 AM
Yeah, Please lets us know the peformance and the video shoot also. Can it coupe the camera writing speed.
tongyam
Jun 17 2007, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jun 16 2007, 11:08 AM) Time to show us some pics!! ya, where is pict  S3 boleh one!
kinz_11
Jun 17 2007, 02:54 AM

It's been awhile since I've contributed to this thread..  Taken at night.. Maxed out the flash.. Kinda screw up.. I know..  Found this dude outside my house..  Kinda overexposed..  Stylo mylo..  Taken during college..  Slightly photoshopped.. Comments and critics are always welcomed.. only the final picture was photoshop.. The rest were added signature and frame only..
tongyam
Jun 17 2007, 02:58 AM
wow, very nice!! :thumb: