Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

seantang
post Apr 29 2014, 11:00 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Equippe @ Apr 28 2014, 11:53 PM)
can't sleep just wanna poke around here.. been applying some accounting related jobs since Sunday, what are the chances of being hired with degree + 2 years experience as account assistance? just wonder..because I will resign current job very very soon regardless got interview request or not..

I really really want to work at Singapore! desperate..sorry for the blabbering lol, feeling better =)

Chances might be much better if you apply for Accounting Assistant, rather than Account Assistance. Helps to get the job title correct when you apply for jobs.

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 29 2014, 11:01 AM
Carl Johnson
post Apr 29 2014, 01:25 PM

232 posts

engineering , IT and financial which ins harder get job in sg??
Mackiddo
post Apr 29 2014, 02:50 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Carl Johnson @ Apr 29 2014, 01:25 PM)
engineering , IT and financial which ins harder get job in sg??

pretty general question but I think IT, flooded with Pinoy and Indian nationals now.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 29 2014, 04:20 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 29 2014, 02:50 PM)
pretty general question but I think IT, flooded with Pinoy and Indian nationals now.
msians too icon_idea.gif
Equippe
post Apr 29 2014, 08:55 PM

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 29 2014, 11:00 AM)
Chances might be much better if you apply for Accounting Assistant, rather than Account Assistance. Helps to get the job title correct when you apply for jobs.
thanks for the info smile.gif
pretty sure have applied as Account Assistant just a typo here lol
Poopular
post Apr 30 2014, 05:51 PM

If anyone is in insurance industry, pretty good chance to get a job in sg cos there's quite a demand for it
aLertz
post Apr 30 2014, 06:43 PM

Overconfidence is a flimsy shield
1,111 posts

Any android developer who wants to have a shot in SG can pm me smile.gif

note: it's a startup company so things might be messy at first laugh.gif
RedSiglap56
post Apr 30 2014, 10:41 PM

42 posts

Malaysians who wish to work in Singapore, or in other advanced countries, would do well to improve our command of the English language first.

First impressions are very important in job applications.

At least get a friend to review your application and correct those obvious grammatical and/or spelling errors first.
St. Petersburg
post May 1 2014, 12:23 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Apr 30 2014, 02:41 PM)
Malaysians who wish to work in Singapore, or in other advanced countries, would do well to improve our command of the English language first.

At least get a friend to review your application and correct those obvious grammatical and/or spelling errors first.
why would someone applying for the position of a cook in a Chinese restaurant need to that ?

alaskanbunny, last time you beginning join as kitchen helper at Sakaè Sushi got those stuff ?

This post has been edited by St. Petersburg: May 1 2014, 12:24 AM
annoymous1234
post May 1 2014, 12:29 AM

7,614 posts

Do they check my hard disk and laptop of I bring there?
Fiona Chin
post May 1 2014, 01:18 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ May 1 2014, 12:29 AM)
Do they check my hard disk and laptop of I bring there?
Unless they have intel you bringing in pedo stuff, no.
RedSiglap56
post May 1 2014, 11:15 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(St. Petersburg @ May 1 2014, 12:23 AM)
why would someone applying for the position of a cook in a Chinese restaurant need to that ?

alaskanbunny, last time you beginning join as kitchen helper at Sakaè Sushi got those stuff ?
That is true. A cook in a Chinese restaurant probably does not need to have a good command of English.

I am in fact referring to those who wish to work in Sg as professionals or corporate executives.

Since you mentioned "cook" and "kitchen helper", however, I would like to say that you will be competing with many, many more people for such jobs and also facing ever tightening foreign labour laws in Sg for such categories of workers.

All the best to you!
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2014, 08:07 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ Apr 30 2014, 10:41 PM)

very true, english is the important.. so many type ppl in sg but all speak english.. accent is also the problem

QUOTE(St. Petersburg @ May 1 2014, 12:23 AM)

not so strict when i join that time... d recruitment process was like those angmohs gathering ppl to b sold as piglets in san fran... we were hired in a group... initially they did test me cause i wanted to be waiter or cashier, but they prefer pinoys for dat position.. zzzz, so i work in kitchen

QUOTE(RedSiglap56 @ May 1 2014, 11:15 PM)
That is true. A cook in a Chinese restaurant probably does not need to have a good command of English.

I am in fact referring to those who wish to work in Sg as professionals or corporate executives.

Since you mentioned "cook" and "kitchen helper", however, I would like to say that you will be competing with many, many more people for such jobs and also facing ever tightening foreign labour laws in Sg for such categories of workers.

All the best to you!
for fastfood places dunnit la.. but chinese rest like crystal jade or tunglok or tai thong english is important.. u nvr know when u would go from cook to chef n hv to entertain angmoh next time.. u see hells kitchen
LightningFist
post May 2 2014, 05:15 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Poopular @ Apr 30 2014, 05:51 PM)
If anyone is in insurance industry, pretty good chance to get a job in sg cos there's quite a demand for it
like bank/agency sales or financial planning?

im a fresh grad. looking to join small MNC (services industry, so large company but small teams). haven't discussed yet (they should know I'm not a local from my CV).
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2014, 08:32 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Poopular @ Apr 30 2014, 05:51 PM)
agreed... personal, commercial and broking...
EpsilonStar
post May 3 2014, 05:51 PM

1,245 posts

Anyone here working in the IT line in SG? Generally how's the worklife balance in this sector over there? Always work late also?
Thinking to give a shot there... smile.gif
oick73
post May 3 2014, 06:06 PM

hi anyone pass medical checkup if having lung scar? Is it possible to pass medical checkup for Singapore work pass if there is an old lung scar in X-ray? Please share the experience...
Mackiddo
post May 3 2014, 07:27 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(oick73 @ May 3 2014, 06:06 PM)
hi anyone pass medical checkup if having lung scar? Is it possible to pass medical checkup for Singapore work pass if there is an old lung scar in X-ray? Please share the experience...
The MOM only interested in TB.
The company might wanna find out more on this scarred lung, the history behind it, make sure it's nothing serious.
I have a colleague, x-ray showing his lung got a dark spot around 50 cents diameter. End up it's cancer ohmy.gif
JohnJon82
post May 3 2014, 09:56 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(oick73 @ May 3 2014, 06:06 PM)
They only interested in highly infectious disease you may bring as gift to the people here like TB and HIV.
LightningFist
post May 3 2014, 11:28 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

How likely is a fresh grad to get sponsored for employment pass in SG? For a contract/potentially permanent position.

Anyone with exp... is it hard to get? I think you need a pay of above 3,300 and a relevant qualification but that should be about it right?

Actually I also don't understand the impact of the new labour rules so much, if anyone cares to elaborate.

All PRs need to do NS?

This post has been edited by LightningFist: May 4 2014, 04:59 AM

122 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:53 AM