Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

bearbear
post Jun 16 2014, 11:01 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

HLB MACH that offer monthly interest payment will deduct off the penalty amount from your principal if you make premature withdrawal. I guess BR would be the same
bbgoat
post Jun 16 2014, 11:34 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 15 2014, 09:07 PM)
You mean website not available ? hmm.gif

That happens from time to time to some other banks website as well. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Jun 16 2014, 11:51 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 16 2014, 11:01 AM)
HLB MACH that offer monthly interest payment will deduct off the penalty amount from your principal if you make premature withdrawal. I guess BR would be the same
Yes, BR should be doing the same. Except not sure what rate they will offer you for premature withdrawal. Have never done that before, personally. I think few days ago, this was discussed ? smile.gif
plumberly
post Jun 16 2014, 12:35 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 16 2014, 11:51 AM)
Yes, BR should be doing the same. Except not sure what rate they will offer you for premature withdrawal. Have never done that before, personally. I think few days ago, this was discussed ?  smile.gif
If I remember correctly, if your FD is at least 3 months old, then you can get half of the FD rate if you withdraw before the mature date.

I have done it once with BR.

Cheerio.
bearbear
post Jun 16 2014, 03:30 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

checked with MACH last time, below 3 months all interest void, above 3 months you get 50% interest only.
cybpsych
post Jun 16 2014, 09:19 PM

---------------------
65,268 posts

HSBC Time Deposit Promotion [Full T&Cs]
16 June 2014 to 31 July 2014

3.70% interest per annum for 12 months tenure Time Deposit

4.00% interest per annum for 3 years tenure Time Deposit

Time Deposit (Eligible for protection by PIDM), fresh funds obtained from sources other than any existing account(s).

Min placement: RM10k. Max placement: RM3mil. Max. allocation: RM500mil, first come first serve.

Upon maturity, the Time Deposit will automatically be renewed for the same tenure at the prevailing board rate unless the Eligible Customer instructs otherwise.

This Promotion is open to all existing customers who maintain a current/savings account with HSBC Bank and new customers who must open a current/savings account with HSBC Bank (“Eligible Customers”). Eligible Customers shall not include corporate customers.
faradie
post Jun 16 2014, 09:37 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 16 2014, 09:19 PM)

Time Deposit (Eligible for protection by PIDM), fresh funds obtained from sources other than any existing account(s).

Min placement: RM10k. Max placement: RM3mil. Max. allocation: RM500mil, first come first serve.

Upon maturity, the Time Deposit will automatically be renewed for the same tenure at the prevailing board rate unless the Eligible Customer instructs otherwise.

This Promotion is open to all existing customers who maintain a current/savings account with HSBC Bank and new customers who must open a current/savings account with HSBC Bank (“Eligible Customers”). Eligible Customers shall not include corporate customers.
Did they say when interest is payable for the 1 year and 3 year TDs?
cappuccino vs latte
post Jun 16 2014, 09:43 PM

743 posts

What is the cost of maintaining a current/saving account?
bbgoat
post Jun 17 2014, 09:05 AM

6,614 posts

Do they mean just maintaining the current/saving account will do ? I have just a saving account there with minimum fund there (also FD account). 3.7% for 1 year looks cool. Though I was earlier doing 3 months FD while waiting for OPR to go up in July.

Maybe still go back to 3 months FD while waiting for better rates soon. hmm.gif hmm.gif
HJebat
post Jun 17 2014, 03:16 PM

1,035 posts

fantasy1989
let say if i place 100k into their 1 year FD ..does it mean i am entitled to cash out the interest rate monthly?
Yes

what happen if i decided to cancel my FD after 8 months? is that any penalty?
You'll get RM2430 in dividend instead of RM3900

This post has been edited by HJebat: Jun 17 2014, 03:18 PM
fantasy1989
post Jun 17 2014, 03:42 PM

4,706 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jun 17 2014, 03:16 PM)
fantasy1989
let say if i place 100k into their 1 year FD ..does it mean i am entitled to cash out the interest rate monthly?
Yes

what happen if i decided to cancel my FD after 8 months? is that any penalty?
You'll get RM2430 in dividend instead of RM3900
thanks smile.gif
kwokwah
post Jun 17 2014, 04:59 PM

584 posts

UOB FD Offer

3.73 pa, interest 6 monthly, 13 months placement

Sounds attractive. Ending 30/6/14
post Jun 17 2014, 07:34 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Jun 17 2014, 04:59 PM)
UOB FD Offer

3.73 pa, interest 6 monthly, 13 months placement

Sounds attractive. Ending 30/6/14
13 months a bit too long for me sad.gif

ccschua
post Jun 18 2014, 09:06 AM

1,630 posts

can I know what is the best fd rate (with structure, secure) for 250k for 9 months.
bbgoat
post Jun 18 2014, 02:57 PM

6,614 posts

Was in UOB this morning to withdraw FD. Took total only about 12 minutes to get the banker's cheque. No queue at that time. rclxms.gif

Moved to BR for 3 months at 3.6%. Hoping for higher rate with OPR change soon. drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 18 2014, 02:58 PM
giko
post Jun 18 2014, 03:44 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 18 2014, 02:57 PM)
Was in UOB this morning to withdraw FD. Took total only about 12 minutes to get the banker's cheque. No queue at that time.  rclxms.gif

Moved to BR for 3 months at 3.6%. Hoping for higher rate with OPR change soon.  drool.gif  drool.gif
1. how much did UOB charged you for the bank draft?

2. did BR give a free gift?

This post has been edited by giko: Jun 18 2014, 03:45 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 18 2014, 04:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Jun 18 2014, 03:44 PM)
1. how much did UOB charged you for the bank draft?

2. did BR give a free gift?
UOB RM0.15 as usual for banker's cheque.

BR, got a Parker pen (cheaper version, they used to have 2 types, one better looking). But their gift is now more limited as compared to 2 years ago. shakehead.gif

Just holding out for better rates. Than will move out some funds to minimize risks (spread out your eggs). Ha ha. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 18 2014, 05:35 PM
bbgoat
post Jun 18 2014, 08:05 PM

6,614 posts

Received a call from UOB. Said I have FD maturing today and asked me to see her to renew the FD. Ha ha, I said already withdrew the FD. She said UOB have FD promotion until end of June, 13 months for 3.73%, minimum 10k. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jun 18 2014, 08:05 PM
giko
post Jun 18 2014, 08:30 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 18 2014, 08:05 PM)
Received a call from UOB. Said I have FD maturing today and asked me to see her to renew the FD. Ha ha, I said already withdrew the FD. She said UOB have FD promotion until end of June, 13 months for 3.73%, minimum 10k.  hmm.gif
clever of them to call you to tie you up for the next 13 mths! hmm.gif when the market is heading for a rate increase!

ccschua
post Jun 18 2014, 08:39 PM

1,630 posts

if rate increase, IMDB and other gomen project difficult to implement. if diff, can not make money.

so it is 50 50.

122 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:57 AM