Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

yygo
post Sep 2 2014, 10:08 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(tantw @ Sep 2 2014, 09:52 AM)
sifus, as carry the cash no longer safe nowaday  sweat.gif , mind to share what is the better option to move funds from one bank to another bank for FD deposit?

There are an amount limit for online fund transfers to other bank (but not sure to do it over the counter). Then how about banker cheque? will the bank accept it if I carry the banker cheque and ask for new FD account opening? Then what should I put as payee name? (My own name or the bank name?)
Use banker's check, personal check (family member acct if no CA yourself) etc. Put under your name,bank can accept.

yygo
post Sep 2 2014, 10:10 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 31 2014, 11:00 AM)
Be careful when you cash in or cash out from the bank if cashless transfer is not your option.
These pictures were shared in social network.
[attachmentid=4115310][attachmentid=4115311]
Can elaborate more? In the dispenser slot?
LostAndFound
post Sep 2 2014, 10:11 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Sep 2 2014, 10:10 AM)
Can elaborate more? In the dispenser slot?
Looks like stuck into the tyre?
aeiou228
post Sep 2 2014, 10:19 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(tantw @ Sep 2 2014, 09:52 AM)
sifus, as carry the cash no longer safe nowaday  sweat.gif , mind to share what is the better option to move funds from one bank to another bank for FD deposit?

There are an amount limit for online fund transfers to other bank (but not sure to do it over the counter). Then how about banker cheque? will the bank accept it if I carry the banker cheque and ask for new FD account opening? Then what should I put as payee name? (My own name or the bank name?)
Many options actually.
OTC IBG to your CASA in the transferee's bank.
Issue a bankers chq under your name. ( preferred method if you don't have CASA in the transferee's bank)
OTC IBG to any of your checking account in any bank then issue your personal chq.

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Sep 2 2014, 09:59 AM)
what is that? hmm.gif
A hollow nail with the intention to punctured you car tyre.
yygo
post Sep 2 2014, 10:42 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 2 2014, 10:19 AM)
Many options actually.
OTC IBG to your CASA in the transferee's bank.
Issue a bankers chq under your name. ( preferred method if you don't have CASA in the transferee's bank)
OTC IBG to any of your checking account in any bank then issue your personal chq.
Put on the ground near cars? tq.
giko
post Sep 2 2014, 11:03 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 2 2014, 10:19 AM)
Years ago they were not using these sharpies thingies, it was a direct puncture to the tyre using a sharpie thing, probably a sharpened screwdriver!!! mad.gif

I was in the car waiting for my wife to come out of the bank, and when she entered the car, this guy went passed the left side of the car and stabbed the left rear tyre! Upon seeing this I locked the car & blasted my horn! Lots of people came out & I saw the guy walking away quickly & a white Alphard speeding away from me!

With the bank's security guards outside & seeing that the coast is clear, my wife and I entered the bank & asked them to call for the police. Later I was told by the tyre shop operator nearby the bank that I was the 3rd victim in 2 weeks to have their tyres stabbed. The 2 earlier victims were unlucky to have been robbed when they stopped after driving off just a short distance away due to their flat tyres!

Also, my wife was not carrying cash in the courier bag but just lots of banking documents!

Moral of the story -

1. Don't carry a courier bag or large envelope out of the bank! Stuff everything into the pockets or just carry the documents in plain sight sans the envelopes.

2. Park your car further away from the bank; go elsewhere (supermart, etc) & then double back to the bank.

3. And try not to carry too much cash! smile.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 2 2014, 11:15 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 2 2014, 10:11 AM)
Looks like stuck into the tyre?
QUOTE(yygo @ Sep 2 2014, 10:42 AM)
Put on the ground near cars? tq.
Not sure how they put the nails but the only way I can think of is they already marked you and then put the nails between your car tyre and the ground. Of course with the sharp end facing your tyre.
bearbear
post Sep 2 2014, 11:36 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

any new promos from RHB / Affin / OCBC

surprisingly now best deal is PBB 12 months biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 2 2014, 11:37 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Sep 2 2014, 11:03 AM)
Years ago they were not using these sharpies thingies, it was a direct puncture to the tyre using a sharpie thing, probably a sharpened screwdriver!!!  mad.gif

I was in the car waiting for my wife to come out of the bank, and when she entered the car, this guy went passed the left side of the car and stabbed the left rear tyre! Upon seeing this I locked the car & blasted my horn! Lots of people came out & I saw the guy walking away quickly & a white Alphard speeding away from me!

With the bank's security guards outside & seeing that the coast is clear, my wife and I entered the bank & asked them to call for the police. Later I was told by the tyre shop operator nearby the bank that I was the 3rd victim in 2 weeks to have their tyres stabbed. The 2 earlier victims were unlucky to have been robbed when they stopped after driving off just a short distance away due to their flat tyres!

Also, my wife was not carrying cash in the courier bag but just lots of banking documents!

Moral of the story -

1. Don't carry a courier bag or large envelope out of the bank! Stuff everything into the pockets or just carry the documents in plain sight sans the envelopes.

2. Park your car further away from the bank; go elsewhere (supermart, etc) & then double back to the bank.

3. And try not to carry too much cash!  smile.gif
Good sharing.

My relative kena once few years ago.
Salary day for the factory workers so he cashed out from the bank ( yes cash, workers don't want masuk account rclxub.gif ) and drove to stopped at the traffic light junction. He was very alert of the surrounding. Suddenly, from the side mirror, he saw a pillion rider on a motorcycle poking his back tyre with some sharp object. He then drove all the way to a nearby tyre shop and the motorcyclist speeds away.
eymc
post Sep 2 2014, 12:15 PM

852 posts

Bank rakyat new rates??? Anybody?
HJebat
post Sep 2 2014, 12:37 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Sep 2 2014, 11:03 AM)
Years ago they were not using these sharpies thingies, it was a direct puncture to the tyre using a sharpie thing, probably a sharpened screwdriver!!!  mad.gif

Moral of the story -

3. And try not to carry too much cash!  smile.gif
If you or your wife manage to jot down the white Alphard's number plate and/or snap a photo of the vehicle/guy, please feel free to post it here...we can produce a wanted poster for that treasure hunter wannabe brows.gif
giko
post Sep 2 2014, 12:45 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 2 2014, 12:37 PM)
If you or your wife manage to jot down the white Alphard's number plate and/or snap a photo of the vehicle/guy, please feel free to post it here...we can produce a wanted poster for that treasure hunter wannabe brows.gif
This happened years ago. Was being defensive at that time to snap photos of the culprits. However I noticed that the Alphard was parked on the main road parallel to my parking spot with, I think, a driver & 2 accomplices in it. The stabber was standing about 20 feet away from the front of my car & another accomplice positioning himself about 6 feet from my driver side.

When I blasted my horn, I could see the Alphard stopping ahead to pick up the accomplice who was near my door while the stabber disappeared to the back of the bank.

Anyway, the police told me later that the number plate may not be real... vmad.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 2 2014, 02:05 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Sep 1 2014, 12:03 AM)
I'm not aware of it as well...only found out when I searched for MBSB's 5% FD biggrin.gif

Anyway, I wouldn't have much $$$ to place in MBSB during that period of time since it coincided with the global financial crisis... brows.gif
I guess everybody here did not place the 5% with MBSB at that time..? sad.gif

UOB FD Promo - Effective from 2 Sept until 30 Nov

(1) 3 Months - 3.7% and 4.00%
(i) 3.7%, 8% in CASA. This means 92% in FD, 8% in CASA and hold for 3 months.
(ii) 4.00%, 30% in CASA and hold for 3 months.

(2) 6 Months - 3.75% pure FD (was 3.7%)

(3) 13 months - 3.95% (was 3.9%), FD interest will deposit to saving account every 6 months.
Open a saving account requires min RM 2K, but can withdraw it during the second day.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 2 2014, 04:25 PM
hueyseng84
post Sep 2 2014, 04:08 PM

880 posts

sorry, what's CASA?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 2 2014, 04:17 PM

2,490 posts

(1) Hong Leong Bank - Win A Dream Home Contest - From 1 July to 31 October (Revised by HLB)

(i) 4% for 15 months, need to put addition 10% in saving and hold for 6 months (remains the same)
(ii) 3.85% for 12 months, pure FD (was required to put 10% in saving)
(iii) 3.7% for 6 months, pure FD (new)

Link:
https://www.hlb.com.my/main/promotion/20140...am-home-contest

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(2) Hong Leong Bank - Branch Open House Special - From 5 Sept to 8 Sept
3.4% pure FD for 3 months

Link:
https://www.hlb.com.my/main/promotion/20140...anch-open-house

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(3) Hong Leong Bank - Priority Banking's Deposit Savvy - From 4 July to 31 Dec
4% for 3 months, 75% in FD and 25% in Premium saving account.
Effective rate is approximately 3.56% (average with saving a/c rate 2.25% for 90 days).

Link:
https://www.hlb.com.my/main/promotion/20140...2-deposit-savvy

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 2 2014, 04:34 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 2 2014, 04:24 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(hueyseng84 @ Sep 2 2014, 04:08 PM)
sorry, what's CASA?
CASA stands for Current Account and Saving Account... smile.gif

I feel the Hot and Heat of 3 months FD... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 2 2014, 04:35 PM
youliang
post Sep 2 2014, 05:10 PM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 29 2014, 10:45 PM)
The AWESOME 12 is available on the web now.

Effective Rate 3.85% Good deal with PIDM protection.
eFD?
davinz18
post Sep 2 2014, 05:14 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2014, 04:24 PM)
I feel the Hot and Heat of 3 months FD...  hmm.gif
what u mean? hmm.gif rclxub.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 2 2014, 05:30 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 2 2014, 04:24 PM)
CASA stands for Current Account and Saving Account...  smile.gif

I feel the Hot and Heat of 3 months FD...  hmm.gif
Is it because you have been looking at placing 3 months FD while waiting for OPR to go up again (Sept or Nov) ? hmm.gif hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 2 2014, 05:33 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Sep 2 2014, 12:45 PM)
This happened years ago. Was being defensive at that time to snap photos of the culprits. However I noticed that the Alphard was parked on the main road parallel to my parking spot with, I think, a driver & 2 accomplices in it. The stabber was standing about 20 feet away from the front of my car & another accomplice positioning himself about 6 feet from my driver side.

When I blasted my horn, I could see the Alphard stopping ahead to pick up the accomplice who was near my door while the stabber disappeared to the back of the bank.

Anyway, the police told me later that the number plate may not be real...  vmad.gif
In Penang, did not hear about it yet (or I missed out the news). Was it in Klang valley this has happened ? Thanks for sharing the event. smile.gif

122 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:27 AM