Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

LostAndFound
post Jul 22 2014, 11:56 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 22 2014, 11:39 AM)
A forumer posted this at the OCBC credit card thread:

RM0.00 OCBC: With the recent OPR rate increase,get extra 0.25%p.a. on our 12-month Islamic FD,now at 3.90%p.a. Visit any OCBC branch by 31 July. T&Cs apply
Saw this on fb too. Can't find T&C though.... rates on their website not updated since 2011, still showing 3.25% for 1 year period.
LostAndFound
post Jul 25 2014, 08:45 AM

6,261 posts

I want to deposit 10K into the OCBC 3.9% promo (RHB more attractive but don't want to 'risk' now that CIMB buying them up).

Money is currently in a Maybank account. I'd rather not withdraw 10k cash and carry with me, if I write a cheque (I also have a Maybank current account) can that be used to open the OCBC account? Address to my name?
LostAndFound
post Jul 25 2014, 12:00 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 25 2014, 08:53 AM)
You can write a check to ur name to open FD account.  smile.gif
Thanks bbgoat!

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Jul 25 2014, 09:21 AM)
what is the so call "risk" there?
My perception of risk, whether there will be change in how the promo rate is fulfilled after takeover.
LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2014, 06:16 PM

6,261 posts

I got HLB 3.7% promo maturing on Monday (Raya). Does that mean I will get 2 extra day interest (since Wednesday is next working day)? So I should wait till Wednesday to uplift? Cos uplifting online is allowed, and that's what I've been doing with my previous batches using this same promo.
LostAndFound
post Jul 26 2014, 06:27 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jul 26 2014, 06:25 PM)
No scare they will cancel the 5 yr FD after merging ?  tongue.gif
If they cancel you lose a bit.

Worst if they don't cancel and maintain but at board rate brows.gif
LostAndFound
post Jul 27 2014, 01:50 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jul 26 2014, 11:05 PM)
The date of Hari Raya Puasa depends on the sighting of the moon. We will not know the fall of Hari Raya Puasa until the evening of the 27th July. Wait for the announcement via TV & radio rclxm9.gif

AFAIK uplifting FD via online method tarak depend on banking hour hmm.gif
But Federal Holiday no matter what, right? Banks follow federal schedule?
LostAndFound
post Jul 27 2014, 06:46 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 27 2014, 09:54 AM)
for mach hlb can withdraw on the day itself even on PH. another benefit of online banking.
I rather have 2 more days of interest =)
LostAndFound
post Jul 29 2014, 06:47 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jul 28 2014, 10:13 PM)
Both come with CASA requirement.

The best rate without CASA should be Affin 12-month earning 3.70% & BR 12-month earning 3.90%.
I just put the OCBC 3.9% 12 month Islamic FD, no CASA required. PIDM too thumbup.gif
LostAndFound
post Jul 30 2014, 10:27 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jul 30 2014, 07:59 AM)
just to clarify, is yours online FD placement or OTC? AFAIK, FD NOT entitled to any extra interest should the maturity falls on non-banking day. For online FD, you may withdraw online during non-banking days but over the counter cannot. Do correct me if I am wrong. If it is true that we can earn extra interest , that will be great news for me cos I have one OTC FD maturing on Sat. Thanks.  smile.gif
Its promo so placed OTC. Just checked, they credited the interest to my account yesterday, so lost one day's interest cos I can only withdraw today =(.

EDIT: Just realized that this particular promo was done online. So no complaint la, should have withdrawn yesterday. Oh well.

This post has been edited by LostAndFound: Jul 30 2014, 10:28 AM
LostAndFound
post Jul 30 2014, 10:43 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(sweetpea123 @ Jul 30 2014, 10:41 AM)
Thanks for the reply. BTW, I think you lost 2 days interest there (Mon + Tue). Since it is online FD, you could have withdrawn on Monday itself.. oh well ...
Well, the other mistake I made is that it was a 29th Jan not 28th Jan placement (wrongly written in my records) so only one day =)

Time to go Affin Bank to get their 4+% 15 month deposit.
LostAndFound
post Jul 31 2014, 05:13 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jul 30 2014, 04:04 PM)
2. no idea and i didnt want to make a scene, the CS claimed that it is for the money to be deposit into SA upon maturity. i suspect one can actually get away without the SA. mayb you can try and let us know.
I just placed, CS said SA is to pay out the interest (every 6 months). I just started it, next time I free I'll go take out RM19 =)

QUOTE(iamWill @ Jul 30 2014, 11:23 PM)
Hi, i'm new to this FD forum. Does anyone know which bank offers the highest rate for savings/current account? OCBC has one which is 2.9%. What about others including bank rakyat?
Why you want CASA specifically, money really needed so fast? One-month rolling e-fd at minimum also get 3%. And a lot of those CASA with higher rates got T&C which makes them effectively FD (for example, must maintain balance higher than X ringgit, better I put X ringgit in FD and the rest in CASA).

This post has been edited by LostAndFound: Jul 31 2014, 05:15 AM
LostAndFound
post Aug 1 2014, 12:14 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jul 31 2014, 11:30 PM)
I got lots of tin biskut in the house  smile.gif
Out of curiosity, what is your address ah? So that... um... I can visit you when you got open house... whistling.gif
LostAndFound
post Aug 4 2014, 08:08 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 4 2014, 07:50 AM)
I want to play for 5-year at MBSB but currently run out of chips...the next supply of chips will only be made available around December. If the rate is still around that time (and sitting comfortably at the summit & haven't been dethroned by others), surely I will show hand with all the chips that I have flex.gif No guts, no glory...let's go for it laugh.gif
Easy to say now, when time coming suddenly feet turn cold one =)
LostAndFound
post Aug 4 2014, 10:46 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Aug 4 2014, 07:05 PM)
Singapore and South Korea are developed countries.. I meant developing markets in Asia. China is weird... there is supposed to be a lot of growth but it is not reflected in the share prices.
Noone trust China government not to suddenly change rule on them?
LostAndFound
post Aug 5 2014, 04:29 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 5 2014, 04:07 PM)
Better to double check with OCBC to confirm.
Thanks for the update..  thumbup.gif

If for big amount, I would rather to take Affin 4.05% for 15 months, just place extra
2 more months and to get additional 0.15% FD rate, I guess Affin is a better deal.  biggrin.gif
Yes, and 12 month OCBC deal also just as good. Some might prefer to get their money back 1 month earlier to 'catch' deals.
LostAndFound
post Aug 5 2014, 08:31 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Aug 5 2014, 07:00 PM)
The 15mth FD promo for selected "privilege" customers only? (based on the A4 size print which looks like for internal use & lack of flyers)  hmm.gif
When I placed there was no bunting about this promo, and they also show me the A4 black and white details flyer. No issue placing though. In fact the CS asked me how I hear about this, I just mention 'saw it online'.
LostAndFound
post Aug 20 2014, 11:53 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 20 2014, 11:42 AM)
Have bought one from CIMB getting returns of 5.2% every 3 months. 10 yrs and callable, regretting it !

CIMB Klibor, note callable !!
http://www.cimbbank.my/index.php?ch=cb_per...k&tpt=cimb_bank
What does 'callable' mean?

EDIT: Means if its performing too well the bank will 'call' it out and give you back interest earned?

This post has been edited by LostAndFound: Aug 20 2014, 11:55 AM
LostAndFound
post Sep 2 2014, 10:11 AM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Sep 2 2014, 10:10 AM)
Can elaborate more? In the dispenser slot?
Looks like stuck into the tyre?

0.0534sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:51 AM