Sigh...so now I'm stuck with a console that can only play 80s games...
Technical 3 Blinking Red Lights Of Death..Is it the END?, Can it be fixed or is it the end of it..
Jul 29 2006, 08:02 PM
522 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: sa? |
I have a sneaky feeling that it has something to do with my disk drive. My 360 can play Arcade games no problem, but it freezes when it plays normal disc games. Live is ok.
Sigh...so now I'm stuck with a console that can only play 80s games... |
Jul 29 2006, 08:05 PM
1,484 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Klang |
QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Jul 29 2006, 08:02 PM) I have a sneaky feeling that it has something to do with my disk drive. My 360 can play Arcade games no problem, but it freezes when it plays normal disc games. Live is ok. Another possible reason could be overheat. I don't think Arcade game require much proccessing power as retail Xbox 360 games, and in theory, Xbox 360 will be much cooler when running Arcade games.Just my 2 cents. |
Aug 3 2006, 09:20 AM
186 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kajang |
hey guys...sorry for not replying...went to paradise breakaway for 10 days to perhentian island...merajuk coz my xbox360 buat hal....then straight went to cuti-cuti malaysia....just got back...very tanned...i mean sunburnt....n now a task to repair my 360...saw a new post by metalgrindsolid tanggaling d baju of d 360 n mod d cooling system....will try that as well....anyway sorry to bro darkchaser.....
Aug 3 2006, 01:33 PM
1,249 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Pious Inquisitor |
I've got my Red Lights story now: I'm in Jakarta right now and today the power went out. So we had to use a diesel generator thing to generate power. With the generator, voltages aren't stable, so it would be bad for my 360. So I looked around the house and found a voltage stabiliser. So I grabbed it, and plugged my TV and 360 into it. Grabbed the controller and powered up the 360 and continued to play Kameo.
After 15 minutes of getting my arse kicked in the Snow Temple level, I heard a snapping sound coming from the stabiliser. I looked, nothing seemed wrong. Then the screen went black. Looked at my 360 and I saw the 3 Red Quadrants of Doom! I quickly dashed and hit the power button and unplugged everything. The 360 wasn't really hot, nor was the power brick. Weird. Overheating in 15 minutes? After 5 minutes, I plugged everything back in turned on my 360 again to see if everything is OK. Fortunately it booted with no problems. Then I quickly unplugged everything again. It seems highly unlikely that my 360 would just overheat in 15 minutes. I'm sure it has something to do with the voltages and voltage stabiliser. After Google-ing, it seems just like a minor hardware error. Most likely something to do with the voltages. Hopefully it's not fried |
Aug 3 2006, 11:06 PM
The 3 red lights doesn't indicate an overheating problem, but a hardware problem. I know that mine isn't really an overheating problem, coz my 360 freezes just minutes after powering up, and then the 3 red lights of doom...
I don't know, maybe I should try contacting MS S'pore see if I can send it over there... This post has been edited by Darkchaser: Aug 3 2006, 11:07 PM |
Aug 3 2006, 11:14 PM
1,249 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Pious Inquisitor |
Well the power went back on and everything is fine now. The voltage instability was definitely the cause of the problem. So watch your voltages everyone
Aug 3 2006, 11:37 PM
I've got myself a new premium 360 unit from connie today......but will still use the old accessories so the new ones r surplus to requirements...so those items are for sale..brand new unpacked!!!
[WTS] 1.Brand New 20 Gb Hard Disk-Rm331.90 frm Playasia - minus shipping 2.Brand New Wireless Controller-Rm165.77 frm PA 3.Brand New HD AV Component Cable 4.Brand New Official Live Headset 5.Brand New Power Adapter (the huge thing providing power to ur unit) - cost close to Rm300 on ebay.uk..if no one wants it..will sell on ebay 6.Chromehounds faceplate for sale as well....u can find this in pasar malam thread!! 7.My old Xbox 360 Console - repairable,can be used for any project All accesories came from Asian Console... PlayAsia prices just for comparison n info.. Will accept offer lower than PA price....dun want to cekik darah punyer..just want to recover some money....so offer me ur best price!! This post has been edited by ajak25: Aug 4 2006, 02:29 AM |
Aug 4 2006, 12:00 AM
if anyone interested to buy my broken 360 let me know...it can be fixed but i just dont have d time and equipments to do it....just use the Hot air gun method coz i think the solders used on d chips might have been worn out or loose...so by using hot air gun it will realligned d solder n fix the problem...coz i reckoned thats d main problem for my 360..not bcoz of overheating....coz both of d fans r working fine...my hard disk still ok...all d old accessories can be used with my new console without problem..
then for those who like to mod can use this to try out the water cooling project or anything u like the new unit bought from connie today is quieter than d previous batch...so MS must have done some improvements on d newer console...not sure but without doubt i will take an extra care for this one...no more playing >5 hours...max 4 hours......n will play in air-cond room only again for more info how to fix using hot air gun...go to xbox-scene.com...with some very helpful videos... This post has been edited by ajak25: Aug 4 2006, 02:25 AM |
Aug 4 2006, 03:21 AM
4,896 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kg Sg Penchala, KL |
Aug 4 2006, 01:28 PM
2,706 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: sunway @ middle earth |
^ Dont know if ajak's fault is caused by a faulty power adaptor or the x360 it self.
Aug 4 2006, 02:08 PM
67 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Seri Gombak |
everytime i see this kind of topic i will be very afraid. very2 afraid. this xbox 360 cause me to ikat perot for 3 month. Sudah Ikat perot baru boleh pergi beli. Now, I am so damn worried to face this thing. Haiyoooooo (sentuh kayu my mother say to ward these bad lucks).
Aug 4 2006, 02:39 PM
yeah, when I bought my machine (RM2K or so that time) I had to scrape for every sen that I can find to buy it. Now that my machine is dead, trying to find another RM1.5K or so for a new console is another huge task, especially with other things in life that takes priority like my car, family, friends, blah blah blah
Which is why I feel so discouraged now. Most likely I'll hold off buying a new console until DOAX2 comes out. It's the only game that I really really wanna play at the moment |
Aug 4 2006, 02:41 PM
3,331 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -MegaCity One- |
QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Aug 4 2006, 02:39 PM) yeah, when I bought my machine (RM2K or so that time) I had to scrape for every sen that I can find to buy it. Now that my machine is dead, trying to find another RM1.5K or so for a new console is another huge task, especially with other things in life that takes priority like my car, family, friends, blah blah blah bro try send back to japan using fedex lah. you dont have to buy a new console that cost you rm1.5k just email msoft singapore and workout a solutions. if not you email to msoft USA complained them kaw2.Which is why I feel so discouraged now. Most likely I'll hold off buying a new console until DOAX2 comes out. It's the only game that I really really wanna play at the moment |
Aug 4 2006, 02:47 PM
I did actually, but they gave me what sounds like a standard response:
QUOTE Thank you for writing Xbox Customer Support! I do apologize for the inconvenience. I understand that when you play a game, use the Xbox Dashboard or the Xbox Guide, or wait for the console to start, the screen may freeze, but you do not receive an error message, and no lights flash on the console to indicate a problem. Please try the following steps to resolve the concern youâeuro(tm)re having: 1.   Restart the console. 2.   Determine whether the issue has occurred more than one time. If this case is the first time that you have experienced this behavior, the issue may not occur again. 3.   Determine whether the Xbox 360 console is overheating. Make sure that the console is not in a poorly ventilated environment or near a heat source. Heat sources include TVs, computers, monitors, and other electrical devices. a.   If the Xbox 360 console is in a poorly ventilated location, move it to a location that has sufficient ventilation, such as on top of a table or on the floor. If the issue is resolved, the previous location likely did not provide sufficient ventilation for the Xbox 360 console to correctly function. b.   View the Xbox 360 instruction manual for information about correct placement of the console. 4.   Make sure that the Xbox 360 console is set to the correct time and date. 5.   Remove all unnecessary peripherals, and then test to see whether the problem still occurs. 6.   Determine whether the disc that you are using is the cause of the issue by testing several similar Xbox 360-compatible discs in the console. If the problem occurs with only one disc, use a disc of the same type, such as a game disc, a DVD movie, or a music CD, to test whether the problem is the specific disc. If these steps do not resolve the issue, contact Xbox Customer Service For further assistance, please don't hesitate to write back or call Xbox Phone Support Australia -Phone Number:  1-800-555-741 -Opening Hours:      Mon-Fri:7am -9pm     Sat-Sun:9am -5pm New Zealand Phone Number: 0-508-555-592 -Opening  Hours:     Mon-Fri:9am -11pm      Sat-Sun:11am -7pm I find no. 4 interesting....set the console time and date?? That's the first time I heard of such a solution I don't think any of them applies to me, but maybe I'll give each one a shot when I go back. |
Aug 4 2006, 02:50 PM
1,545 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: eeepc |
QUOTE(judge-the @ Aug 4 2006, 02:41 PM) bro try send back to japan using fedex lah. you dont have to buy a new console that cost you rm1.5k just email msoft singapore and workout a solutions. if not you email to msoft USA complained them kaw2. Honestly emailing MS sg is not gonna do any good... you have to remember that when we purchased the JP sets, they were units made and intended for the JP market only... so if anything happens you have to deal with MS jp... and guys do remember that the warranty period for the units are 90 days only... unless you purchased the extended warranty... so just go back to the vendor you got the machine from and see how much it would cost for them to send it back to jp and get it repaired... |
Aug 4 2006, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(yoroi @ Aug 4 2006, 02:50 PM) Honestly emailing MS sg is not gonna do any good... you have to remember that when we purchased the JP sets, they were units made and intended for the JP market only... so if anything happens you have to deal with MS jp... and guys do remember that the warranty period for the units are 90 days only... unless you purchased the extended warranty... so just go back to the vendor you got the machine from and see how much it would cost for them to send it back to jp and get it repaired... huh warranty 90 days only? not 1 year meh? then i better open up my 360 and do some modification macam bro metal lahThis post has been edited by judge-the: Aug 4 2006, 02:52 PM |
Aug 4 2006, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(shumaky @ Aug 4 2006, 02:28 PM) its not caused by the power adapter since im using it now with my new console..so it shud be the console itself...n most likely to be d solder joints problem...coz thats d only fault I can think of right now since d error code was 0102.....yup bro dark..like bro judge said...try to ask MS first...u might be able to get a free repair for ur console if u r willing to wait....but most of the time they will still charge u for the repair which they have set for $130.00....thats minus shipping n call charges...so sum up it would be close to rm1000 to repair the console....and it cant be guaranteed that u will get back the exact console..they might change it to the refurb one n if say they've managed to repair it...i bet the problem will still persist in 1-2 months time...considering all the above.....that is why i bought a new unit..then sell all the new accessories...which if u r lucky can cover almost half of the unit price.....after all..all i need is just the console... |
Aug 4 2006, 03:02 PM
1,484 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Klang |
QUOTE(judge-the @ Aug 4 2006, 02:51 PM) huh warranty 90 days only? not 1 year meh? then i better open up my 360 and do some modification macam bro metal lah North American Xbox 360's warranty is 90 days only (not sure about Japan), but Australia (and maybe Singapore) warranty is 1 year.European units get 2 years warranty because European law stated that electronics sold there must have minimum 2 years warranty. |
Aug 4 2006, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(ajak25 @ Aug 4 2006, 02:56 PM) its not caused by the power adapter since im using it now with my new console..so it shud be the console itself...n most likely to be d solder joints problem...coz thats d only fault I can think of right now since d error code was 0102.....yup bro dark..like bro judge said...try to ask MS first...u might be able to get a free repair for ur console if u r willing to wait....but most of the time they will still charge u for the repair which they have set for $130.00....thats minus shipping n call charges...so sum up it would be close to rm1000 to repair the console....and it cant be guaranteed that u will get back the exact console..they might change it to the refurb one n if say they've managed to repair it...i bet the problem will still persist in 1-2 months time... Interesting idea considering all the above.....that is why i bought a new unit..then sell all the new accessories...which if u r lucky can cover almost half of the unit price.....after all..all i need is just the console... But if I can repair for around RM500 I don't mind.....if more, then not worth the hassle, like you said there's a chance it'll break down again anyways. |
Aug 4 2006, 03:16 PM
bro darkchaser just give it a try. pressure msoft more. just said lah you are 1 of the proud owners in malaysia that support original but if like this how to support original... better become captain jack sparrow
| Change to: | 0.0250sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:04 PM |