129 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V23, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

lolzcalvin
post Apr 5 2014, 08:21 PM

shibe in predicament
1,591 posts

1) Any brand
2) Budget 3-5k
3) Study, high res gaming (graphic card good)
4) any size

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Apr 5 2014, 08:32 PM
S-Y-H
post Apr 5 2014, 08:27 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 07:43 AM)
Hi bro notworthy.gif
Yeah~~ SsD is basically another form of storage drive, which is way, way, way, way faster than even the fastest of HDD laugh.gif
It works like a giant pendrive; and since it doesn't have a moving part like those in HDD, SSD is cooler, lasts longer, lighter, less prone to damage by knocking brows.gif oh ya... it doesn't slow down like HDD too after years of usage XD
Its basically a dream come true for computing hah~
Definitely worth getting if you have the budget.. yes u can upgrade for most,if not all notebooks... just a matter of how hard only depending on the internal design of your notebook smile.gif

No worries, u can ask bro Oscar to help u do it! He helped me with mine too thumbup.gif

But be warned... once u go SsD, there's no turning back haha... too fast already brows.gif
The only drawback of SsD is of course the amount of space for your money.. but for the speed u get, ita worth it! And SsD s are getting cheaper and cheaper now smile.gif
U can buy an external HDD casing and turn the original Hdd in your Inspiron 15R into an external Hdd thumbup.gif
Very great advice!!! Thank you very much! rclxms.gif
Since can turn the original hdd into external hdd, definitely worth the price for a faster laptop rclxm9.gif
budak nakal
post Apr 5 2014, 08:29 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 08:19 PM)
That's some very demanding requirements laugh.gif
Closest would be this one I suppose
14"
MSI GE40-2OC-290MY, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4199[1.9kg], 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W8

Performance don't really come with slimness/lightness/cheap price tag  sad.gif
But if not necessary i7, any recommendation for i5?
Cause this laptop, I'll always bring anywhere to substitute my desktop when I travel.
For 3d design, maybe can ignore it for the time since I got desktop to do that
also for games, most of the games will be tycoon game biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by budak nakal: Apr 5 2014, 08:30 PM
soullsllayer
post Apr 5 2014, 09:46 PM

58 posts

hi all,want to ask for opinions.
im about to buy lenovo y410p.
currently the cheapest in lowyat forum here i can find is dos unit for 2610.
the name of the seller is versace.is he reliable?
sorry this is my 1st time buying from lowyat :3

here's his link
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=9659 icon_question.gif
stevie8
post Apr 5 2014, 10:32 PM

1,365 posts

Am looking to buy a notebook hope getting some advice before committing.

Looking for :

1. something light and thin 11 to 12 inch
2. touchscreen window 8
3. long battery life
4. 500 GB storage
5. Not expensive only have less than RM2K budget

I saw this HP in the net anyone uses it?

HP Pavilion 11-n000tu x360 PC $409.99 HP US website

HP Pavilion 11-n002tu x360 PC RM1599 HP Malaysia website

The US website: Attached File  HP_Pavilion_11t_n000_x360_PC__ENERGY_STAR____HP___Official_Store.htm ( 286.88k ) Number of downloads: 13

This post has been edited by stevie8: Apr 5 2014, 10:36 PM
JasOwnX
post Apr 5 2014, 10:51 PM

53 posts

Is there any i5 laptop recommended with a range of RM 2k? Im using for electrical and electronic engineering study and some mid-gaming(dota,tf2) if that matter
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 10:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(S-Y-H @ Apr 5 2014, 08:27 PM)
Very great advice!!! Thank you very much!  rclxms.gif
Since can turn the original hdd into external hdd, definitely worth the price for a faster laptop  rclxm9.gif
You are most welcomed icon_rolleyes.gif
However, you'll have to make do with the smaller space lo laugh.gif
Still, personally I think the small space will actually encourage to manage your files more properly thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 10:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JasOwnX @ Apr 5 2014, 10:51 PM)
Is there any i5 laptop recommended with a range of RM 2k? Im using for electrical and electronic engineering study and some mid-gaming(dota,tf2)  if that matter
Aiyo, which is why we have a format that you should follow laugh.gif
How about these?
around RM2k

14"
Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus
K451LB-WX071H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

HP
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: silver/black
Pavilion 14-N223TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2399[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8.1; colors: silver/black

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14318SG, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: white

Toshiba
Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[Onkyo], 2GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty, W8; colors: Gold/blue/white

* Prices in RRP, negotiable
* extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget (if applicable)
* Upgrade to 8GB RAM if within budget icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 11:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(budak nakal @ Apr 5 2014, 08:29 PM)
But if not necessary i7, any recommendation for i5?
Cause this laptop, I'll always bring anywhere to substitute my desktop when I travel.
For 3d design, maybe can ignore it for the time since I got desktop to do that
also for games, most of the games will be tycoon game  biggrin.gif
Well, if you are not doing anything very graphic demanding, then perhaps can consider these- using entry level GPU that can handle current games at low-mid settings icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell
Vostro 5470, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2149, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8.1SL, 3-cell
Vostro 5470, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT740M + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm) + (1366x768; Touch)@RM2499, 4GB, W8.1SL, 3-cell

HP
Envy Touchsmart 14-K119TX Sleekbook, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2799[2.01kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8.1

*Prices in RRP
* extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget
* upgrade to at least 8GB RAM
* upgrade to SSD if budget permits

**Do take note that Dell Vostro has weak WiFi range icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 11:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(soullsllayer @ Apr 5 2014, 09:46 PM)
hi all,want to ask for opinions.
im about to buy lenovo y410p.
currently the cheapest in lowyat forum here i can find is dos unit for 2610.
the name of the seller is versace.is he reliable?
sorry this is my 1st time buying from lowyat :3

here's his link
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=9659  icon_question.gif
There are AP units for Lenovo, so do make sure you are not buying those if you still want the warranty nod.gif
I can't tell, I'm not familiar with every buyer in the market laugh.gif
If you want, you can ask him to provide you with his successful tradelist, then you can ask some of his sellers and ask for opinions or comments nod.gif

On the other hand, you can consider this one for your budget; if you don't mind the size, of course nod.gif
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699

Bro [putochip123] is selling this at a much lower price than RRP~ This seller I can vouch for haha laugh.gif
The AMD HD8850M is not as good as the GT755M, but the performance difference is not too far off: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html
And for the price you pay, you don't have to stick to FreeDOS icon_rolleyes.gif

JasOwnX
post Apr 5 2014, 11:07 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 10:56 PM)
Aiyo, which is why we have a format that you should follow laugh.gif
How about these?
around RM2k

14"
Acer
V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus
K451LB-WX071H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, Touch) @RM2299 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

HP
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: silver/black
Pavilion 14-N223TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2399[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8.1; colors: silver/black

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14318SG, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: white

Toshiba
Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[Onkyo], 2GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty, W8; colors: Gold/blue/white

* Prices in RRP, negotiable
* extend warranty to 3 years with remaining budget (if applicable)
* Upgrade to 8GB RAM if within budget icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks , which one would be your personal preference?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 11:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:32 PM)
Am looking to buy a notebook hope getting some advice before committing.

Looking for :

1. something light and thin 11 to 12 inch
2. touchscreen window 8
3. long battery life
4. 500 GB storage
5. Not expensive only have less than RM2K budget

I saw this HP in the net anyone uses it?

HP Pavilion 11-n000tu x360 PC $409.99 HP US website

HP Pavilion 11-n002tu x360 PC RM1599 HP Malaysia website

The US website: Attached File  HP_Pavilion_11t_n000_x360_PC__ENERGY_STAR____HP___Official_Store.htm ( 286.88k ) Number of downloads: 13

You are in luck mate brows.gif
These are some of the best devices under promotion at the moment:
But not 11-12" la laugh.gif

10"
Microsoft
Surface Pro, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1920x1080;touch) + 64GB SSD@RM1899[680g], 4GB, W8P
Surface Pro, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1920x1080;touch) + 128GB SSD@RM2139[680g], 4GB, W8P

Some shops are giving away alot of freebies/warranty along with your purchase... can try Harvey Norman/ SenQ etc. apart from regular stores
Definitely worth considering, I'd definitely get one if I had the money laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 11:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JasOwnX @ Apr 5 2014, 11:07 PM)
Thanks , which one would be your personal preference?
Well, my priorities and yours will definitely be different laugh.gif
So its best that you go and touch/see the notebooks, then decide from there icon_rolleyes.gif

As everyone here knows, warranty support is very important to me, so I'd definitely go for Dell. Their on-site warranty can help save a lot of time and money nod.gif

However, if you are looking for the longest warranty coverage for your money, then Toshiba nod.gif

JasOwnX
post Apr 5 2014, 11:12 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 11:09 PM)
Well, my priorities and yours will definitely be different laugh.gif
So its best that you go and touch/see the notebooks, then decide from there  icon_rolleyes.gif

As everyone here knows, warranty support is very important to me, so I'd definitely go for Dell. Their on-site warranty can help save a lot of time and money nod.gif

However, if you are looking for the longest warranty coverage for your money, then Toshiba nod.gif
Ok , thanks bro
soullsllayer
post Apr 5 2014, 11:19 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 11:05 PM)
There are AP units for Lenovo, so do make sure you are not buying those if you still want the warranty nod.gif
I can't tell, I'm not familiar with every buyer in the market laugh.gif
If you want, you can ask him to provide you with his successful tradelist, then you can ask some of his sellers and ask for opinions or comments nod.gif

On the other hand, you can consider this one for your budget; if you don't mind the size, of course nod.gif
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699

Bro [putochip123] is selling this at a much lower price than RRP~ This seller I can vouch for haha laugh.gif
The AMD HD8850M is not as good as the GT755M, but the performance difference is not too far off: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html
And for the price you pay, you don't have to stick to FreeDOS  icon_rolleyes.gif
thx for the reply but i think im sticking with lenovo y410p tongue.gif
can u tell me how to differentiate between ap set and the non ap?(i dunno what to call it) sweat.gif
and if it's international warranty,does it mean i can send it to repair at any lenovo shop?
or do i need to bring back to the seller shop? icon_question.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2014, 11:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JasOwnX @ Apr 5 2014, 11:12 PM)
Ok , thanks bro
U are most welcomed~
Happy Purchasing~ notworthy.gif

QUOTE(soullsllayer @ Apr 5 2014, 11:19 PM)
thx for the reply but i think im sticking with lenovo y410p  tongue.gif
can u tell me how to differentiate between ap set and the non ap?(i dunno what to call it) sweat.gif
and if it's international warranty,does it mean i can send it to repair at any lenovo shop?
or do i need to bring back to the seller shop?  icon_question.gif
Read here for more details: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3112306
icon_rolleyes.gif
soullsllayer
post Apr 5 2014, 11:36 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 11:27 PM)
U are most welcomed~
Happy Purchasing~  notworthy.gif
Read here for more details: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3112306
icon_rolleyes.gif
u've been really helpful thanks biggrin.gif
MewMeow
post Apr 5 2014, 11:58 PM

75 posts

Hey guys,

Currently i'm choosing between Lenovo S510p, Z510, Dell Vostro 5560 and Toshiba L50-A107X.

I would like to ask, Dell, Lenovo or Toshiba is more reliable? I mean lesser chance i need to send back to warranty and repair.

Any PC techician here mind to share with me, which brand have more PC with problem send in for repair?? notworthy.gif

Please advise. Thanks!

This post has been edited by MewMeow: Apr 6 2014, 12:26 AM
vincentxiang
post Apr 6 2014, 12:21 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2014, 05:34 PM)
Not a very good choice if you are into gaming, but grats on your purchase  thumbup.gif
thnx...may i knw why it is not a vy good choice? is it bcs of graphic card? just want to learn more tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2014, 12:36 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(MewMeow @ Apr 5 2014, 11:58 PM)
Hey guys,

Currently i'm choosing between Lenovo S510p, Z510, Dell Vostro 5560 and Toshiba L50-A107X.

I would like to ask, Dell, Lenovo or Toshiba is more reliable? I mean lesser chance i need to send back to warranty and repair.

Any PC techician here mind to share with me, which brand have more PC with problem send in for repair??  notworthy.gif

Please advise. Thanks!
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 19 2014, 11:38 PM)
TS's Comments:

The sifus and I have always wanted a specific section of the thread to recommend some of the more popular notebooks at a particular time, but sadly we never got the chance to do it since the lineups gets refreshed so rapidly that even we have problems catching up. Nevertheless, I would like to share my experiences with potential buyers on what you should look out for when you purchase your next notebook.

Perhaps you can read point 3 & 4 icon_rolleyes.gif

129 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:18 PM