Credit Cards CIMB Bank Credit Cards v2, The Exciting World Of CIMB Credit Cards

Mr Gray
post May 31 2015, 09:18 PM

924 posts

I just bought from Xiaomi Mi4i using CIMB Cashback card. Completely forgot that CIMB, HLB and SC charged cross border fee. ie, even if the transaction is in ringgit, they would charge extra if the credit card server is located abroad.

The phone price was RM749. CIMB put in the statement RM754.99. RM5.99 (0.8%) cross border charge. Haih.

Guys, be careful. Don't use CIMB/HLB/SC cards at Xiaomi, Apple, Agoda, Paypal among others. Use your cards from other banks.

Refer to this thread https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2519936/all

This post has been edited by Mr Gray: May 31 2015, 09:22 PM
CP88
post May 31 2015, 09:24 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ May 31 2015, 09:18 PM)
I just bought from Xiaomi Mi4i using CIMB Cashback card. Completely forgot that CIMB, HLB and SC charged cross border fee. ie, even if the transaction is in ringgit, they would charge extra if the credit card server is located abroad.

The phone price was RM749. CIMB put in the statement RM754.99. RM5.99 (0.8%) cross border charge. Haih.

Guys, be careful. Don't use CIMB/HLB/SC cards at Xiaomi, Apple, Agoda, Paypal among others. Use your cards from other banks.

You still got 4.2% rebate as a consolation. biggrin.gif
koinibler
post May 31 2015, 09:54 PM

2,050 posts

Thanks for the reminder.
Right now I use all online payment by this cimb cb, but not really compare the exchange rate with other card
sj0217
post Jun 1 2015, 07:42 AM

6,483 posts

I remembered last time (two months ago) bought a phone from Xiaomi too.

Based on the UOB statement, the amount was charge as same as what is the price of the phone itself from website, no extra charge.

Perhaps it now has charge for cross border fee?? hmm.gif
fruitie
post Jun 1 2015, 08:24 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jun 1 2015, 07:42 AM)

Based on the UOB statement, the amount was charge as same as what is the price of the phone itself from website, no extra charge.

Perhaps it now has charge for cross border fee??  hmm.gif
Because UOB doesn't have cross border fees?
sj0217
post Jun 1 2015, 08:32 AM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 1 2015, 08:24 AM)
Because UOB doesn't have cross border fees?
No idea, the price was charged based on the phone itself only but that is around last two months ago
mamamia
post Jun 1 2015, 08:41 AM

6,424 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ May 31 2015, 09:24 PM)
You still got 4.2% rebate as a consolation.  biggrin.gif
Is only 4% coz maximum is RM30 cashback.
BeastX
post Jun 1 2015, 08:55 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ May 31 2015, 04:06 PM)
Does this applicable to cash rebate cc?
Direct on the receipt... though I suspect only when it's above RM50 then it applies...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 1 2015, 08:55 AM
heavencloud
post Jun 1 2015, 08:59 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ May 28 2015, 09:06 PM)
Did maybank ikhwan call u for confirmation of the credit card application after you submit your documents?
nope. on the 3rd days after submitting, it was already showing in my m2u. The next 2 days after that, i simply went to the maybank hq to collect my card even no sms notification were sent yet.
leo_kiatez
post Jun 1 2015, 09:16 AM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(heavencloud @ Jun 1 2015, 08:59 AM)
nope. on the 3rd days after submitting, it was already showing in my m2u. The next 2 days after that, i simply went to the maybank hq to collect my card even no sms notification were sent yet.
Wow..that was fast.. Thanks for your reply.
Axell
post Jun 1 2015, 10:13 AM

Looking for FL
920 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlzy @ May 29 2015, 03:50 PM)
KFC inside Kepong Village Mall still accepts CC. I tried today, but need manager swipe her security card on the machine first only can proceed, I wonder why hmm.gif
I went to KFC @ Aman Puri yesterday, the manager confirmed that the 5% discount promotion on CIMB cards has ended since last year. I think we need to confirm this with KFC HQ because some outlets still has that promotion and some not.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 1 2015, 10:30 AM

52,874 posts

So pissed off with CIMBClicks. Till today I still can't view my CC in CIMBClicks.

PIN arrived but failed to do any registration or linkage myself. This is clearly their system problem!
victorywp
post Jun 1 2015, 10:36 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 1 2015, 10:30 AM)
So pissed off with CIMBClicks. Till today I still can't view my CC in CIMBClicks.

PIN arrived but failed to do any registration or linkage myself. This is clearly their system problem!
before cimbclicks registration, you already went to the atm to change the pin and set your phone?
SUSDavid83
post Jun 1 2015, 10:45 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Jun 1 2015, 10:36 AM)
before cimbclicks registration, you already went to the atm to change the pin and set your phone?
I didn't do anything.

I tried to do the registration but failed.

Bear in mind that I have existing CIMBClicks.

Nevermind, I called CS yesterdday and hope they'll settle it ASAP.
Mr Gray
post Jun 1 2015, 01:52 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jun 1 2015, 07:42 AM)

Perhaps it now has charge for cross border fee??  hmm.gif
Only CIMB/HLB/SC charge cross border fee. All other banks don't have it, including UOB.
adele123
post Jun 1 2015, 02:45 PM

4,725 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Jun 1 2015, 01:52 PM)
Only CIMB/HLB/SC charge cross border fee. All other banks don't have it, including UOB.
Actually i reported HLB doesn't charge cross border in the other thread. i wasn't charged when i bought from apple store last year.
eternalwee
post Jun 1 2015, 03:23 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(Omgf @ Apr 29 2015, 10:00 PM)
[attachmentid=4431310]

Anyone having this problem as well?
I have phoned the CS but they don't really know the solution.
I have the same problem also.. Anyone know?
SUSDavid83
post Jun 1 2015, 07:40 PM

52,874 posts

Finally my CIMB Cash Back Mastercard has been linked to my CIMBClicks.

At least after three weeks of hassles with the CS. sweat.gif
Mr Gray
post Jun 1 2015, 09:12 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 1 2015, 02:45 PM)
Actually i reported HLB doesn't charge cross border in the other thread. i wasn't charged when i bought from apple store last year.
Oh ok. My bad, I didn't read the whole thread.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 1 2015, 09:26 PM

52,874 posts

Called CS this morning to do two things:

1. Inquired about the RM 10 Zing fee.
*Previous CS said it'll be auto-reversed in the next bill statement but today's CS told me that the Zing card needs to be terminated first in order for auto-reversal of the fee. That's why I said that there's always a discrepancy between the CSes!

2. Changed the default threshold of SMS alert
* Default is RM 1000 and I have set it to RM 201

128 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 >Top

0.0310sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:52 AM