154 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Bottom

Proton Savvy LYN Club V5, The survival skills

TSdavidke20
post Jan 25 2016, 12:51 AM

QUOTE(ap_venu @ Jan 24 2016, 08:28 PM)
Hi Sifu, Would like to know is the spare available for Dash board - glove compartment lock ? below are the snaps to identify the broken part.
Its the handle plastic broken.
http://www.lelong.com.my/proton-savvy-saga...7-01-Sale-I.htm

http://www.lelong.com.my/genuine-savvy-glo...6-03-Sale-P.htm
ap_venu
post Jan 25 2016, 08:53 AM

Thanks will buy that. Recently I notice one more problem is window glass operating switch doesn't respond. Is there any guidance to check further?

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 25 2016, 12:51 AM)
TSdavidke20
post Jan 26 2016, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(ap_venu @ Jan 25 2016, 08:53 AM)
Thanks will buy that. Recently I notice one more problem is window glass operating switch doesn't respond. Is there any guidance to check further?
If change the whole module, less hassle and you got a brand new look window control

http://www.lelong.com.my/oem-proton-savvy-...7-01-Sale-I.htm

If wanto save cost, then open up the module and pry off the switches to change the switch

http://www.lelong.com.my/proton-savvy-2005...7-01-Sale-I.htm
fireballs
post Jan 26 2016, 11:37 AM

5,650 posts

my power window switch is just rusty with carbon
open up clean and still can use
zerouzer
post Jan 26 2016, 07:52 PM

144 posts

saw this seemingly great deal on mudah..

http://www.mudah.my/2006+Proton+Savvy+1+2+...CE-43285229.htm

should i get this? im looking for a car for daily work commute of around 10-30 km one way, depending on where i rent (johor) and the occasional drive from johor to kl. anything i should ask the SA when i go to test drive?
TSdavidke20
post Jan 27 2016, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(zerouzer @ Jan 26 2016, 07:52 PM)
saw this seemingly great deal on mudah..

http://www.mudah.my/2006+Proton+Savvy+1+2+...CE-43285229.htm

should i get this? im looking for a car for daily work commute of around 10-30 km one way, depending on where i rent (johor) and the occasional drive from johor to kl. anything i should ask the SA when i go to test drive?
6500 on the road is not a bad deal, make sure you get comprehensive insurance covered instead of 3rd party coverage. you don't ask salesman anything during the test drive, you'll have to find out the problem by yourself. Don't count on sales person honesty. you ask anything also they say good 1 yawn.gif
fireballs
post Jan 27 2016, 12:10 PM

5,650 posts

best to belanja davidke to test drive
zerouzer
post Jan 27 2016, 06:08 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jan 27 2016, 10:04 AM)
6500 on the road is not a bad deal, make sure you get comprehensive insurance covered instead of 3rd party coverage. you don't ask salesman anything during the test drive, you'll have to find out the problem by yourself. Don't count on sales person honesty. you ask  anything also they say good 1 yawn.gif
Already went for a test drive.. Twice with different savvys but around same price..exterior looks ok but wow the engine is really trashed..going up a small inclination but the car really struggled..guess not my luck.. (Another savvy i tried too expensive after otr price but quality not that good either)
e-lite
post Jan 28 2016, 06:46 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(zerouzer @ Jan 27 2016, 06:08 PM)
Already went for a test drive.. Twice with different savvys but around same price..exterior looks ok but wow the engine is really trashed..going up a small inclination but the car really struggled..guess not my luck.. (Another savvy i tried too expensive after otr price but quality not that good either)
hard to find a good and well-maintained savvy sad.gif . it's a cheap car and ppl usually trash it, even myself. but patience and you will find one waiting for you.
CallumP
post Jan 29 2016, 01:35 AM

Hello everyone! I recently bought a proton savvy with 45,000 miles (2 months ago). I've had several issues lncluding water leaking into the boot and several noises. This week I started to get a rattling noise coming from the front right of my car. After talking to a few people and having a mechanic take a look we believe that it is the cv joint. I was wondering if I should try to and seek out someone who can rebuild the joint or find a new one? As I live in the UK, parts for a proton savvy are pretty scarce. Does anyone have any idea on where I could find a new part? This prices I've been quoted are £90 upwards for a used one which seems to me a bit pricey.
WhatMyCar
post Jan 29 2016, 08:28 PM

QUOTE(CallumP @ Jan 29 2016, 01:35 AM)
Hello everyone! I recently bought a proton savvy with 45,000 miles (2 months ago). I've had several issues lncluding water leaking into the boot and several noises. This week I started to get a rattling noise coming from the front right of my car. After talking to a few people and having a mechanic take a look we believe that it is the cv joint. I was wondering if I should try to and seek out someone who can rebuild the joint or find a new one? As I live in the UK, parts for a proton savvy are pretty scarce. Does anyone have any idea on where I could find a new part? This prices I've been quoted are £90 upwards for a used one which seems to me a bit pricey.
Not a problem to find a new drive shaft here, problem is the cost of shipment to UK is high.
For engine and transmission parts such as MAP, timing belt, water pump etc, it is cheaper to buy in UK as the engine and transmission is make by Renault D4F. I myself bought one set or NGK iridium spark plug and crankshaft sensor from UK ebay seller for my Savvy. Only problem is the body parts / suspension as what you are experiencing.

This post has been edited by WhatMyCar: Jan 29 2016, 08:39 PM
CallumP
post Jan 29 2016, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(WhatMyCar @ Jan 29 2016, 12:28 PM)
Not a problem to find a new drive shaft here, problem is the cost of shipment to UK is high.
For engine and transmission parts such as MAP, timing belt, water pump etc, it is cheaper to buy in UK as the engine and transmission is make by Renault D4F. I myself bought one set or NGK iridium spark plug and crankshaft sensor  from UK ebay seller for my Savvy. Only problem is the body parts / suspension as what you are experiencing.
Ah real shame, just what I expected. I'm guessing it would be a stretch to ask if there's any other vehicle with a cv joint compatible with the savvy? So far the cheapest price I have sought has been £62 for the drive shaft + cv joints but as the part is used I worry that I will experience the same issue a year or two in the future.
FlamingFox
post Jan 30 2016, 03:09 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Hey guys, a quite stupid question coz my door visors is losing its stickiness. When I first bought it, they used 3M double sided tape to stick it, that was like 5 years ago.

Can I apply glue to make it sticky again? That would mean applying glue on the tape which would then stick to my car paint.

It will be a super big hassle to remove the door visors, then remove the tape from it, and put new tape. Dunno if can shortcut apply glue only lol

This post has been edited by FlamingFox: Jan 30 2016, 03:10 PM

fireballs
post Jan 30 2016, 08:44 PM

5,650 posts

no short cut. glue could damange paint.
remove and then reapply.
WhatMyCar
post Jan 31 2016, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(CallumP @ Jan 29 2016, 09:02 PM)
Ah real shame, just what I expected. I'm guessing it would be a stretch to ask if there's any other vehicle with a cv joint compatible with the savvy?  So far the cheapest price I have sought has been £62 for the drive shaft + cv joints  but as the part is used I worry that I will experience the same issue a year or two in the future.
You can test by hand, turn it at the maximum deflection and feel if is smooth, then if it okay, clean the old grease and repack it with new MS grease.
SUSMARTON
post Feb 5 2016, 12:47 PM

203 posts

guys ..

my pren WTS savvy original proton parts ...

Dealing method: COD/postage

Location of seller: kj/kota damansara/subang perdana

Contact method/details: PM me

Age of item: New

PW861012 lower arm original proton = RM140
PW865680 Main Switch Power window RH original proton = RM70
New Starter = RM350

FlamingFox
post Feb 13 2016, 09:56 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

Hmm just wondering what tyres you guys are using, I think I need to change mine soon (4 years+).

Currently using Michelin XM2 (185/60/R14) but I find my fuel consumption is a little higher compared to stock tyres. Must be the width which causes more fraction. I won't want to change to this again coz its a little pricy. Not sure whether Malaysian made tyres like Viking is any good coz it's so much cheaper. I want something affordable yet ok in quality.
sukesh123
post Feb 17 2016, 11:09 AM

HI Guys,
I have really been an avid reader of this forum and you guys have been instrumental in the 2 Yrs since I have been driving this car.
I am now travelling back to my home country and would want to sell of my Savvy AMT model Year 2007.
Car's mileage is around 160000 KM. I am not sure about the right price to ask for it. but willing to let go by mid march. If anyone is interested do let me know and offer me your price. I am not sure about the going price so willing to let go at any reasonable amount. for the model. Please note the car has a scratch at the back which I got while reverse parking nothing of the sort which cannot be mended by a good denting painting. thanks
You can whatsapp me on 0193354032
iskazulka
post Feb 17 2016, 03:55 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Jun 24 2014, 04:39 PM)
will text u in a minute.
take one which have whatsapp. easy organize tt later. can save credit also, less sms. hehe.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Last Friday me and davidke20 had a small tayar TT at nestum place.

After taking advices from teh motorsport sifoo.. i proudly present. my blue turtle new shoes and leg..

downgrade from 15" to 14" with noticeable lots of positive effect to me.. pickup better, and can feel car become agile because of small thread on the donuts. easier to sway left right. negative only one so far. look small.
Bought Achilles ATR-K Economist 165/55/14 and swap my 15" taiwan bengkok teruk rim with a set of original Mitsubishi Mirage 14" rim.  Rim width is only 4.5jj hence 165 tyre use. haha. small yet superb grip on this indonesia make tyre.

Review of tyre :
value for money at 125RM per piece (special thanks to nestum for special price).
speed tested up til 165kmh(plus highway, got car infront so max at 165kmh only).
cornering tested up to 120kmh at exit nilai big corner til traffic light.
yet tested on rain. but looks of the tread pattern is for swimming champion.

*Big thanks to david for his advice on upgrade (downgrade size). Really racun'ed after ride his Achilles ATR-K Sport tyre abilities. as he mention, plan to grab yoko blue earth at first but at the last minute lorry came and grab the Achilles cause of price and excellent rating (traction AA, treadware 400, physical rubber feel = semislick, nice pattern).

Here some pic.

Conclusion. No rubbing at all 4 side, my problem with big tyre solved (ya i know some will say why no stick with 175, you should know in malaysia we can only have 3 tyre brand to choose for this size). cheap and good performance tyre. lightweight rim. = good FC (I HOPE).
rm50 worth of petrol can get me around 300km. thats 24liter petrol. [imma heavy footer - always rev to 5-6k rpm plus big big size fellow].

add on :

last fuel up (today morning)

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Feb 13 2016, 10:56 PM)
Hmm just wondering what tyres you guys are using, I think I need to change mine soon (4 years+).

Currently using Michelin XM2 (185/60/R14) but I find my fuel consumption is a little higher compared to stock tyres. Must be the width which causes more fraction. I won't want to change to this again coz its a little pricy. Not sure whether Malaysian made tyres like Viking is any good coz it's so much cheaper. I want something affordable yet ok in quality.
TSdavidke20
post Feb 17 2016, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Feb 13 2016, 09:56 PM)

As per Iska post, the best eco tire you can get is Achilles ATR K-eConomist. Fuel saving, tahan lasak, decent sidewall strength, quite comfortable despite low profile, very reasonable wet grip, marvelous dry grip. Most important of all, SILENT! I'm 2 years now with this tire, so far no problem yet(the funny part is, have not kena paku before after change to this tire blink.gif )

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Feb 17 2016, 03:55 PM)

154 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:59 AM