at first they are in the same cage, but as a test, im giving 1 to my bro to take care of it
while the other is with me, 1 is super-hyper active, 1 is abit slow
so its bonding time, its already tame but not friendly enuff
BirdieS~, Parrots, Budgies, Canaries, Lovebirds...
Sep 4 2007, 07:41 PM
203 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Norwich, UK |
just bought 2 budgie from bohrlin few days back
at first they are in the same cage, but as a test, im giving 1 to my bro to take care of it while the other is with me, 1 is super-hyper active, 1 is abit slow so its bonding time, its already tame but not friendly enuff |
Sep 4 2007, 07:54 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE([W]ee[D] @ Sep 4 2007, 07:41 PM) just bought 2 budgie from bohrlin few days back Congrats! Males or females?at first they are in the same cage, but as a test, im giving 1 to my bro to take care of it while the other is with me, 1 is super-hyper active, 1 is abit slow so its bonding time, its already tame but not friendly enuff Budgies make interesting bird buddies. Bonding takes time, must earn their trust heheheh.... try handfeeding them. |
Sep 5 2007, 09:13 AM
the one im keeping is a male, a quiet English male budgie
i already done hand feed but im gonna keep on feeding them this way also its hilarious when he realized that i already pull him out of the cage while he's nipping my hand eating the millets away now im starting to feed him on the top of the cage, letting him be more relax and to make him feel the outside is not that bad still i know it would take time,there are more worse problem then mine so i have to say im abit lucky |
Sep 11 2007, 11:43 PM
17 posts Joined: May 2006 |
how much to buy a budgie in kl
can it recognise me? i m kinda interested in it.. but need more details can i keep it inside the room? |
Sep 17 2007, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(silvy @ Sep 11 2007, 11:43 PM) how much to buy a budgie in kl you should ask bohrlin about the birds, he sell me 2 before, try pmingcan it recognise me? i m kinda interested in it.. but need more details can i keep it inside the room? bare in mind that bonding really takes time, and i think mine would be years lol can it recognise you? not sure i can answer that cuz my bird also respond with my other roomates i am keeping it in my room, letting it out sometimes to explore, and pick him up once awhile i tried to gather my budgie with my brothers one (they were a couple before separating them) and now its more alienating me wrong move i guess |
Sep 27 2007, 11:23 PM
1,276 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(prophet007 @ Jul 31 2007, 02:49 PM) if not wrong, they can talk, but need to keep single. then you MUST have the patience and time to teach it. One word at a time. Even budgies can talk. I have a pair of budgies too, I bought from Pet Wonderland. They only tell me to feed seeds. I didn't know budgies can eat other stuff too. I did try to feed fruits, but they don't want to eat. When you mentioned rice & pasta, are those cooked or uncooked? What kind of veg is suitable then?Of coz its hard to catch them. actually you have to train them before letting them out. If you must, you can clip their wings first. Besides, if they are trained, they will fly to you. and biting is their last means of defence. So you have to bear with it. Do not show fear as they will learn that biting you will set them free. They also need lots of fresh food (Pasta, rice, veges, fruits etc). If only on a seed diet, sure they will die early. Seeds are just like junk food. You may also consider feeding them seeds and pellets, in addition to lots of fresh food. Budgies if feed on straight seed diet, die in 3 yrs. But if feed with a wide variety of food, can live up to thirteen years or even more. (Tiels not sure... Happy Bird Keeping. I like to see them play. The green one is very active and playful, like to turn round and round and round upside down for many times. First time own a bird pet actually. I do notice my budgies like to make sound follow music melody. |
Sep 28 2007, 12:33 AM
57 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
hmm.. budgies are so EXPENSIVE NOWADAYs,,
back when i was younger they were like RM15!?! hahahaha!! I have a pair of male cockatiels now.. anyone has experience with cockatiels? This post has been edited by chrissyhia: Sep 28 2007, 12:33 AM |
Sep 28 2007, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(chrissyhia @ Sep 28 2007, 12:33 AM) hmm.. budgies are so EXPENSIVE NOWADAYs,, I got a male and female pair hahaha....back when i was younger they were like RM15!?! hahahaha!! I have a pair of male cockatiels now.. anyone has experience with cockatiels? You also into birds? What colours are your males? Young tiels or adults? |
Sep 28 2007, 09:57 AM
ohh mine are very young.. compared to those at the pet shop.. they happily eat from my hand...
at one point in time, they would stand on my hand.. then i had no time to train them and now it's just back to eating from my hand.. two very cute males =) i was thinking of getting a female for them to .. LAY EGGS la.. but then im scared 'THREE's A CROWD!!' so how ah? my two males are very happy together now... should i introduce a female? but then ah.. VERY expensive oso la these birds!!! i went to this other pet shop with different types and colours,, then each type different price... cheapest is RM130! my goodness!!! |
Sep 28 2007, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(chrissyhia @ Sep 28 2007, 09:57 AM) ohh mine are very young.. compared to those at the pet shop.. they happily eat from my hand... Ohhh... you got from a breeder? I have an untamed pair, got from petshop loh... that was I think 7 or 8 years ago.... that time 1 pair Rm140 hahahaha.... at one point in time, they would stand on my hand.. then i had no time to train them and now it's just back to eating from my hand.. two very cute males =) i was thinking of getting a female for them to .. LAY EGGS la.. but then im scared 'THREE's A CROWD!!' so how ah? my two males are very happy together now... should i introduce a female? but then ah.. VERY expensive oso la these birds!!! i went to this other pet shop with different types and colours,, then each type different price... cheapest is RM130! my goodness!!! Nah, just stick with your current pair. Bond with them. I used to have a Lutino male, was a wild adult but I actually managed to tame him to sit on my shoulder, walk up and down my arm and hands, whistle many tunes. Because I kept him alone, he looked up to me as his companion, so he was really sweet. When he wants me to scratch his head, he would bow down his head when I place my hand near him. Sad news, it took me about 2 years to train him to be so tame.... then in his 3rd year, he got killed.... a rat went into his cage and bit off his feet and chewed up his wings.... it was so horrible and blood was everywhere. I cried for days. Then 2 years later, decided to get a pair. Thought I could at least get some babies so I can tame lah. So I bought an adult pair.... they didn't bond to me but the male likes to play whistling with me. I bred them a few times, all not successful because the female wasn't a good mom. Her babies once hatch, died in a few days. Then I took one away and handfed her, but she only lasted 3 weeks, then died when I had to go away for 1 night.... my brother said the baby tiel died coz missed me too much... sigh.... I got so heartbroken that I decided not to let them breed anymore. Cockatiels now expensive coz Malaysia has stopped the importation and exportation of pet birds after the bird flu incident.... this is what the petshop owner told me. Because of this, the prices all increase coz too much demand. I saw a White Face Tiel for sale, a 6 month old baby but not hand-fed, Rm130 only.... I'm interested to buy but then where to put? LOL.... if someone is willing to take my male and female pair, then I would have space and time to train a young bird..... |
Sep 28 2007, 09:05 PM
i don't mind taking yours in if you want.. ive been lookin for a white face tiel too.. to mate with my err.. NORMAL ones? hahaha but those i saw looked unhealthy!!
i take very good care of my tiels =) i bought a new cage for them.. more spacious sideways =) cos they don't really fly.. they get so excited when they see me la! i just <3 them =) urs are very old ah? |
Sep 29 2007, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(chrissyhia @ Sep 28 2007, 09:05 PM) i don't mind taking yours in if you want.. ive been lookin for a white face tiel too.. to mate with my err.. NORMAL ones? hahaha but those i saw looked unhealthy!! Hmm... my cage is a 3ft high cage with a trolley roller that is about 2.5ft, then it is about 2ft by 2ft all around.... was one of those parrot cages but with smaller bars, good enough for tiels..... i take very good care of my tiels =) i bought a new cage for them.. more spacious sideways =) cos they don't really fly.. they get so excited when they see me la! i just <3 them =) urs are very old ah? Hahah... mine not tame lah.... summore is 1 male and 1 female, really bonded. I have had them for 8 years already. Both are normal greys. Yah, I saw a White Face today at Petaling Street, it was a male.... adult, really nice but I'd rather get a young tiel or hand-fed one.... Ah, next time lah. I like only a few types of parrots, the Cockatiel, Eclectus, Sun Conure and sulfur crested cockatoo..... when I have my own place, sure will get a tiel and sun conure 1st heheheh coz both are the affordable types. |
Sep 29 2007, 05:48 PM
i saw a white face at petaling street.. only got 1.. looked quite unhealthy..
anyway.. i have the citroen-crested cockatoo.. cannot talk.. but smaller size and very cute =) |
Sep 30 2007, 12:10 AM
i was beginning to think the thread was dead
nice to know someone new who likes birdies just passing by to tell dont buy those guillotine cages, i really regret it buy the cage with swing doors, and make em big hmm, i wanna try to feed my budgie with donuts typo This post has been edited by [W]ee[D]: Sep 30 2007, 12:10 AM |
Sep 30 2007, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(chrissyhia @ Sep 29 2007, 05:48 PM) i saw a white face at petaling street.. only got 1.. looked quite unhealthy.. I saw the same one. Yah, not very healthy.anyway.. i have the citroen-crested cockatoo.. cannot talk.. but smaller size and very cute =) I got too many birds at home already heheheh. Show a pic of your Citroen please QUOTE([W]ee[D] @ Sep 30 2007, 12:10 AM) i was beginning to think the thread was dead Swing doors one are better. nice to know someone new who likes birdies just passing by to tell dont buy those guillotine cages, i really regret it buy the cage with swing doors, and make em big hmm, i wanna try to feed my budgie with donuts typo Feed donuts? Good meh? Hehehehe. |
Sep 30 2007, 02:04 PM
i dont think swing doors are better.. the birds can easily escape.. i like the normal doors that you raise... swing doors u open only so easy for the birds to escape!
how to upload pictures? |
Sep 30 2007, 09:45 PM
Normal doors that raise.... my lovebirds know how to open and escape loh..... For me, swing doors are better coz got a latch to lock lah. Anyway, it depends on cages.
You can load your photos in to online albums like imageshack or photobucket or just attach it to your post. Click Add Reply. |
Oct 1 2007, 01:23 AM
114 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(chrissyhia @ Sep 30 2007, 02:04 PM) i dont think swing doors are better.. the birds can easily escape.. i like the normal doors that you raise... swing doors u open only so easy for the birds to escape! for tame bird are ok cause they wont escape..swing door aslo got latch ma..how to upload pictures? |
Oct 2 2007, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(chrissyhia @ Sep 30 2007, 02:04 PM) i dont think swing doors are better.. the birds can easily escape.. i like the normal doors that you raise... swing doors u open only so easy for the birds to escape! instead of using the cage to "jail" it, i prefer buying a cage thats is suitable as a "room" for it, in dun wanna make it feel like they are imprison. and since im only taking care of 1 bird instead of 2, sense of freedom to me is crucialhow to upload pictures? |
Oct 2 2007, 12:34 PM
114 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
| Change to: | 0.0253sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:56 AM |