10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

BirdieS~, Parrots, Budgies, Canaries, Lovebirds...

Juztiny
post Sep 27 2007, 11:23 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(prophet007 @ Jul 31 2007, 02:49 PM)
if not wrong, they can talk, but need to keep single. then you MUST have the patience and time to teach it. One word at a time. Even budgies can talk.

Of coz its hard to catch them. actually you have to train them before letting them out. If you must, you can clip their wings first. Besides, if they are trained, they will fly to you. and biting is their last means of defence. So you have to bear with it. Do not show fear as they will learn that biting you will set them free.

They also need lots of fresh food (Pasta, rice, veges, fruits etc). If only on a seed diet, sure they will die early. Seeds are just like junk food. You may also consider feeding them seeds and pellets, in addition to lots of fresh food. Budgies if feed on straight seed diet, die in 3 yrs. But if feed with a wide variety of food, can live up to thirteen years or even more. (Tiels not sure... tongue.gif)

Happy Bird Keeping. smile.gif
I have a pair of budgies too, I bought from Pet Wonderland. They only tell me to feed seeds. I didn't know budgies can eat other stuff too. I did try to feed fruits, but they don't want to eat. When you mentioned rice & pasta, are those cooked or uncooked? What kind of veg is suitable then?

I like to see them play. The green one is very active and playful, like to turn round and round and round upside down for many times. First time own a bird pet actually.

I do notice my budgies like to make sound follow music melody.
Juztiny
post Apr 7 2008, 04:32 PM

1,276 posts

Last Thursday my 3 cute budgies flew away already, all because of my new careless absent minded maid didn't close the cage cover properly.

And then on Saturday I bought a canary back, love it so much, it sings a lot. Wow..I got poisioned by its singing voices. May be I will buy some more singing birds in future. Anybody had any experience in keeping the following singing birds:-

Red-whiskered_Bulbul - (Jambul)
Hwamei or Melodious Laughingthrush
Shama (Murai Batu)
Orienteh White-eye (Puteh)
Magpie Robin

My canary bird only like to sing when it is alone without any birds presence. So I wonder if I would to add additonal birds, should I separate them far far away from each other?

Merbok is also a singing bird, right? My friend's Merbok never sing at all. Is it normal?
Juztiny
post Apr 7 2008, 05:15 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 7 2008, 04:55 PM)
Not all doves sing. They go coo coo croo more hahahah. I have one that only does that when he sees my mom.

Male cockatiels sing. Go youtube and see, you will fall in love with the way cockatiels can mimic.
I saw Hill Mynah in Petaling Street shop (not for sale) can talk, mimic and whistle too. Just wonder how much a Hilly Mynah worth if to compare with Cocktaoo.

Really not all Merbok sing? I always hear a lot of birds singing around my house, definitely not the same as my Canary. And always see Merbok and Mynah birds in front of my house drinking water, if they could sing, then I must try to catch them. laugh.gif
Juztiny
post Apr 7 2008, 09:29 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 7 2008, 06:19 PM)
Our merbok/dove is an orphaned bird that we are keeping. Grew to like people, especially my mom and would sing. Croo coo coo croo.... nice and sweet heheheh. But my uncle told me only males sing.

Canary would sing better than merbok.

Mynah is cheaper, RM300 to Rm350 only for a baby while a cockatoo cost about RM3k to Rm5k depending on species. But hill mynahs have a lifespan of 8 to 10 years. One thing..... not all like to learn from you. From experience, my family have kept 3. Our 1st mynah was a talented one. He could mimic and sing very well. Can say

Hello
Gong Hei Fatt Choy
How much is that doggy in the window, woof woof

Then he wolf whistles, rings like our telephone, he mimics us talking on the phone too. He could call my dogs and scold them hahahh. But sadly, his life ended in 3 years coz the petshop told us to feed the wrong food. High in iron, led to kidney and liver damage.

Our 2nd one was a quiet one. Only would respond to my dad. He too also died coz we tried a natural diet. It lacked proper nutrition from pellets.
Our 3rd and current one is a mimic but he doesn't like to listen to us. He mimics us scolding, mimics the lorry back up tune, whistles a song that my dad taught our african grey..... calls out all sorts of words that are normally in conversations. Whatever we try to teach him, he won't pick up.

Cockatoos got a long lifespan.... and they are wood chewers and dusty birds hahahah. But very comical.
Hmm...looks like Mynah is really hard to maintain. But sound interesting. Cockatoo is also too expensive for a beginner like me, looks like tamed Cockatiel fits my budget and much easier to maintain.

Juztiny
post Apr 8 2008, 10:26 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 7 2008, 10:32 PM)
Yah... Mynah, need a diet of fruits that are low in iron and also mynah pellets that's sold at petshops. They are kinda dirty, the poo is really not what beginners might like to clean up after hahahah.

Cockatiels, males especially are very comical and talented birds. Females do make good pets but they lack in the singing voice.
To keep a Cockatiel, need to apply license or not? Usually when people apply licence is for one bird one licence or one licence to cover all birds?
Juztiny
post Apr 8 2008, 01:23 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(azrada @ Apr 8 2008, 10:33 AM)
hi juztiny, nope u dont need a license to keep a cockatiel..  no, its depends on what bird..so meaning..1 bird for each species..or each bird..
I see. Btw, do our council limit a household can only keep how many birds as pet or not? I do not want my neighbour to file a complain to the council that I own a lot of birds (e.g. 6) in future.

I like singing birds and talking birds, so sure would be noisy to neighbours then.
Juztiny
post Apr 8 2008, 11:23 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 8 2008, 11:13 PM)
hi all,
my friend recently cought some of these birds in pahang, really don;t know what they call, for sure is a kind of dove family. i can't really see any bird shop selling it too.
and he wanted to sell for rm100 each, is it worth that much? tq smile.gif
Can sing or not? Cannot sing then not worth RM100 lor. Even Merbok Kampung or Merbok Siam also can get at RM50 each. Some more Merbok can sing.
Juztiny
post Apr 8 2008, 11:56 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 8 2008, 11:28 PM)
they can but very weird sound, the rythm like the red indian rythm.

Added on April 8, 2008, 11:31 pm

i'm keeping 18 birds in my apartment. biggrin.gif
LOL like red indian rythm?? Funny.... Well..if the sound not really soothing then nego with him for RM30-50 lor.

Walau, you keep 18 birds in apartment, not noisy meh?? What kind of birds collection you have?

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 8 2008, 11:58 PM
Juztiny
post Apr 9 2008, 09:46 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 9 2008, 07:43 PM)
1  murai kampung
1  murai batu
1  punai daun
1  punai tanah
1  tekukur kampung
1  tekukur putih
4  diamond dove (yello, white, grey and bluesh grey)
2  merbah jambul
2  merbah putih
2  mata putih
and now 2 merbuk merah (new)
icon_idea.gif
Wau..that's a lot of expensive collection you have.

In your avatar picture is Murai Batu or Murai Kampung? Btw, how is Merbuk Merah looks like? Are they look the same as Tekukur?
Juztiny
post Apr 10 2008, 12:15 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 10 2008, 12:00 PM)
the avatar pic is murai batu(sharma), murai kampung is the blak n white.
actually i'm really not sure about the kind, i just call merbuk merah, thoese pic i shown last time.
I'm thinking of keeping Shama too. But nearby my house (Cheras area) I can't find any bird shop near my area, last time got 1 shop in Taman Len Sen Cheras, but closed down already. I know Shama and Magpie needs fresh insects (cricket or mealworms), so can you tell me where else can I get bird shops beside Petaling Street Zoologic?
Juztiny
post Apr 10 2008, 01:21 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 10 2008, 12:40 PM)
how much is your budget?
Hehe..as cheap as possible. I know someone wanted to sell around RM150 - RM300. But the main problem is, if I can't find constant fresh food supplies and pellets for Shama, then no point keeping it, right? I definitely cannot find much insects within my own house, so have to get from bird shops.
Juztiny
post Apr 10 2008, 03:45 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 10 2008, 01:42 PM)
well, for the wild cought definately they only eat fresh insect but u need to train them by mixed a bit of dry pallet with fresh cutted mealworm for cricket, but for first week u need to feed them with live cricket day and evening, after for a while then u can see the pallet finished in the container that's mean they use to it.
one more thing, by hand feeding them will made them more tame.
i know one friend selling the sharma arround rm130 each wild cought and young.
Wah, that price is good man. But is it Murai Batu or Murai Kampung? Murai Batu very colourful, thumbup.gif

RM130 good price, I want ! PM me his contact.

Last few days, I bought a pair of young male Merbok Kampung. Can sing.... but attract 4 other wild Merbok to my house daily. Pening kepala... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 10 2008, 04:44 PM
Juztiny
post Apr 10 2008, 08:20 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 10 2008, 08:12 PM)
it is murai batu(sharma) black n red chest. you get the cage? coz MB need huge cage due to the tail, it will grow untill 12" long.
well i've spoken to my friend but he wouldn't want to be known becoz he got no license to sell the MB, but he'll sell if i willing to help him as a middle man. hmm.gif
I have a normal plastic cage right now, can use for temporarily. I am looking for 2 quality bamboo/wood bird cages. In 2 weeks time, I'm going up North to Kedah & Penang, so sure can find cheaper price on those cages because near Thailand.

So, for Shama the ideal cage size should be what size?

Juztiny
post Apr 10 2008, 09:24 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 10 2008, 08:34 PM)
it's true, from thai is cheaper then here and unique. i bought merbuk cage from KB kelantan my home town, macam-macam ada. biggrin.gif
i think the best is 20" x 20".
Oh...20" x 20" is enough?? I thought need to have at least 36" in length.

Where do you buy your Shama food supplies?
Juztiny
post Apr 12 2008, 12:24 AM

1,276 posts

This morning when I clean my Canary's cage, my Canary escape out from the cage, I thought no way I could get him back, as I was seeing him fly over the roof, thank god my maid never give up keep searching for it, and found it in 6 house away from my house, and we finally caught him back. Phew! sweat.gif My..o..my I thought $$$ flew away.

Immediately after the incident, I clipped its wing away. No more freedom for him.
Juztiny
post Apr 12 2008, 03:11 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 12 2008, 02:31 AM)
u really got a loyal maid. 6 houses ma shocking.gif , luckyly your canary is quite tamed otherwise it will fly into tree not house lo sweat.gif
Aha..my maid also fell in love with this Canary songbird. Perhaps she felt guilty over her carelessness last time, so now she is determined to find back the Canary for me.

Today I went to Petaling Street, the shop has a magpie baby for sale. Can't resist the temptation to own a song bird, so I bought one home. Still young and need to hand feed.

Juztiny
post Apr 13 2008, 12:29 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(mann_kl @ Apr 13 2008, 12:21 AM)
how much u bought? and how much did u buy the canary? what colour is your canary?
I bought the baby Magpie for Rm35. And my Canary is white in colour, I bought it for RM100. It's age is 2 years+.

The Magpie is young, the shop owner said still cannot differentiate the sex. Do you know how to differentiate the sex for Magpie?
Juztiny
post Apr 14 2008, 12:15 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(azrada @ Apr 13 2008, 10:37 PM)
juztiny where did you bought it from? im interested..i went to Kooi lim birdshop..(the one at brickfields) charges about rm150 a bird..i keep alot of budgies, cockatiels, and a FIDS is a sun conure..but never song bird before..thats y i tought of trying..im sure its alot of fun.. here is the pics of my sun conure..he is 5 months old..its still green.. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
This morning 6am found out that the baby Magpie died already. Yesterday afternoon it was still active asking for food and trying to flap its wings. We fed it every time it awakes. Last night rain heavily, the weather was quite cold, so I covered the cage with cloth actually. Not sure is it because I didn't put it under the lamp to warm it, that is why it died? I don't think it died because lack of oxygen, I did leave a little gap for the air.

I went back to Wildlife Zoologic in Petaling Street at mid noon today and told the shop owner my baby died, and I want another Magpie, this time I just want an adult will do. She discounted for me (only cost Rm100 an adult bird). I choose a bird that already saw it sang inside the shop to make sure I didn't buy a mute bird back.

On the way back home I stopped by another petshop to buy the bird pellet, as I forgot to buy more packets from Wildlife, this shop keeper told me that my Magpie is female. He said usually the male head and legs are bigger, this one is not big. I don't know true or not, because my Magpie's head colour is shinny rich black colour, and it does sing. But I don't know how to differentiate whether it is a good singer or not. Well, will post up the picture once it is more settle down.

Came back home covered half of the cage with cloth in order to clam down the bird, and feed it mealworm. Once it had settled down and able to enjoy worms from my hand.

Azrada, are all babies Sun Conure when baby times are like green and yellow? Only turn to orange when grown up? Can Sun Conure be trained to talk as well?

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 14 2008, 12:22 AM
Juztiny
post Apr 14 2008, 10:05 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(eddie88 @ Apr 14 2008, 01:42 AM)
hey guys,for those who keep ur birds in the apartment,do u keep them indoor or outdoor?how about thier sh't and fallen fur?

I lived in a landed property, but I did try to put my birds indoor for 2 months, thought that I could see my bird more often and interact with them, however realized that it is not a good idea at all, the dropping feathers and seeds pretty messy. Now I hang them on car porch area during day time, night time only bring them inside kitchen area.

Juztiny
post Apr 14 2008, 10:27 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 14 2008, 10:07 AM)
I keep mine all indoors..... but messy lah, need to sweep and change their paper daily.

Now is baby magpie season. I also had bad luck with the young ones.....bought 2 but died.... but they didn't died under my care coz before they reached my home, they were with other people.
This morning I saw and heard my Magpie sing in respond to another wild Magpie around my housing area. Cool! I like its vocal! But the wild one can sing longer tune.

Hopefully when I get my tamed Cockatiel, it is not too young to handle. I'm still learning so not good in handling too young chick.

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0394sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:45 AM