haha. birds not popular ar? but it seems that i also dun have much time to check on my birds....
BirdieS~, Parrots, Budgies, Canaries, Lovebirds...
Sep 14 2006, 10:35 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
haha. birds not popular ar? but it seems that i also dun have much time to check on my birds....
Jul 30 2007, 09:49 PM
114 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
anyone have cockatiels, are fun to play with?
Jul 30 2007, 11:14 PM
LOL....I forgot still got this thread. Cockatiels are certainly fun to have. They like to perch on your shoulder once they bond with you. But you should only have one bird so that he will want to have attention from you.
Jul 30 2007, 11:30 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(bohrlin @ Jul 30 2007, 09:49 PM) Tiels are great little parrots. Small in size, they are not too noisy... well, their noise is bearable lah. I have 2 but then they are not bonded. You should get 1, best would be a hand-tamed young tiel. They will bond, are not afraid of humans and of course love to mimic noises. If you're lucky, it might talk too but I find tiels like to mimic whistling and sounds more than talk. |
Jul 31 2007, 12:45 AM
4,565 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Kepong |
I had 2 cockatiels.. bought at petaling street long time ago.. the shop cheated me that they will learn to talk. and call me to buy 2 cassets then on for them to hear.. but it doesnt work.
Everyday i let them out and fly around the house. but its a hard time bringing them back.. i had the cage opened... they sometimes will go back sometimes wont. when i try to grab them .. they bit me till my flesh is seen and blood ozzing out. Later 1 died.. dunoe why. Soon another 1 died. |
Jul 31 2007, 02:49 PM
if not wrong, they can talk, but need to keep single. then you MUST have the patience and time to teach it. One word at a time. Even budgies can talk.
Of coz its hard to catch them. actually you have to train them before letting them out. If you must, you can clip their wings first. Besides, if they are trained, they will fly to you. and biting is their last means of defence. So you have to bear with it. Do not show fear as they will learn that biting you will set them free. They also need lots of fresh food (Pasta, rice, veges, fruits etc). If only on a seed diet, sure they will die early. Seeds are just like junk food. You may also consider feeding them seeds and pellets, in addition to lots of fresh food. Budgies if feed on straight seed diet, die in 3 yrs. But if feed with a wide variety of food, can live up to thirteen years or even more. (Tiels not sure... Happy Bird Keeping. |
Jul 31 2007, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(prophet007 @ Jul 31 2007, 02:49 PM) if not wrong, they can talk, but need to keep single. then you MUST have the patience and time to teach it. One word at a time. Even budgies can talk. You are spot on correct. Keeping in pairs will not make the birds tame and talk or whistle.... only single birds have successful taming. It is possible to talk but tiels like to whistle more haahhah..... budgies are actually good talkers if they learn early.Of coz its hard to catch them. actually you have to train them before letting them out. If you must, you can clip their wings first. Besides, if they are trained, they will fly to you. and biting is their last means of defence. So you have to bear with it. Do not show fear as they will learn that biting you will set them free. They also need lots of fresh food (Pasta, rice, veges, fruits etc). If only on a seed diet, sure they will die early. Seeds are just like junk food. You may also consider feeding them seeds and pellets, in addition to lots of fresh food. Budgies if feed on straight seed diet, die in 3 yrs. But if feed with a wide variety of food, can live up to thirteen years or even more. (Tiels not sure... Happy Bird Keeping. Tiels can live up to 25 years..... African Grey lagi long, 60 years hahahah. |
Jul 31 2007, 11:12 PM
haha...big parrots like macaw also live very long. So keeping birds are also a long time commitment.
Jul 31 2007, 11:51 PM
Yes... macaws can go up to 70 years if taken with great care. My granduncle's blue and gold macaw is close to 30 years....
Aug 1 2007, 05:05 PM
wahh....blue and gold macaw. my favourite. LOL...but the price is so so interesting. RM1K-2k++
Aug 1 2007, 08:11 PM
HAhaha... price of course expensive... but then if got the money, kinda worth it since can live 60 to 70 years with great care. My bro's AG cost my dad RM2.7k 8 years ago.... now the price dropped... Rm1.8k can get a chick already.
Aug 1 2007, 08:47 PM
17 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Aug 2 2007, 04:02 AM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Aug 1 2007, 08:11 PM) HAhaha... price of course expensive... but then if got the money, kinda worth it since can live 60 to 70 years with great care. My bro's AG cost my dad RM2.7k 8 years ago.... now the price dropped... Rm1.8k can get a chick already. still, RM1.8k is kind of expensive for me. haha. So how many words your AG learned? They are the best talker.QUOTE(zuhairi6368 @ Aug 1 2007, 08:47 PM) LOL..can can. But I think owls not suitable for pets lar. They need to fly around and search for food, not meant to keep in cage for display. Or maybe you keep her in a big big aviary? |
Aug 8 2007, 07:00 PM
203 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Norwich, UK |
i didnt know the tread existed ><"
well actually i was thinking on getting one of those bird-brain but im not too sure on which is suitable for me cockatoos is in my top list, but since u guys just lay out all the details, i guess it would be my second, or maybe third choice, i mean, im not that familiar with bird, and all this clipping and all just new for me, and after sufing some videos for taming birds, im actually excited to get 1, just not sure where to pick one =( |
Aug 8 2007, 11:18 PM
QUOTE([W]ee[D] @ Aug 8 2007, 07:00 PM) i didnt know the tread existed ><" You willing to commit 60 years for this bird? Cockatoos are very affectionate parrots but then they are wood crazy. They will want to gnaw on wood every time and not all trees are suitable for them in Malaysia.... They need constant attention since these birds need affection from their mate.... not recommended to get a pair since they will not bond to you so if you get a single one, it will look up to you as its partner.well actually i was thinking on getting one of those bird-brain but im not too sure on which is suitable for me cockatoos is in my top list, but since u guys just lay out all the details, i guess it would be my second, or maybe third choice, i mean, im not that familiar with bird, and all this clipping and all just new for me, and after sufing some videos for taming birds, im actually excited to get 1, just not sure where to pick one =( Cockatoos are loud too. They need a big cage and also pelleted food and fruits. Seeds as snacks or treats are ok. Taming is easy when they are chicks but when matured, very hard. One chick can easily cost Rm2k... needs license too I think. The easiest cockatoo to get in Malaysia would be the Sulfur Crested. |
Aug 9 2007, 01:13 AM
yea i was wondering about the license and i think i might go for something less troublesome for my 1st bird pet, and maybe i would like to try love birds before taking those big birds ><"
Aug 9 2007, 01:28 AM
QUOTE([W]ee[D] @ Aug 9 2007, 01:13 AM) yea i was wondering about the license and i think i might go for something less troublesome for my 1st bird pet, and maybe i would like to try love birds before taking those big birds ><" Well, you can start with a budgie or cockatiel.Added on August 9, 2007, 1:29 amLove Birds need license too. This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Aug 9 2007, 01:29 AM |
Aug 9 2007, 01:44 AM
they do? hmmp, budgie and cockatiel huh, oh well maybe i should give it a try and its been long since i visit any pet shops, and rarely birds pet shop, any recommendation ?
Aug 17 2007, 08:13 PM
114 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
tame budgie are nice to play with.
Added on August 17, 2007, 8:14 pm QUOTE(zuhairi6368 @ Aug 1 2007, 08:47 PM) where you get your owl from? u got big cage for it?This post has been edited by bohrlin: Aug 17 2007, 08:14 PM |
Aug 29 2007, 04:09 AM
1,180 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Pasir Gudang. Johor |
i got 1 gembala kambing.speaking one..
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:01 PM |