182 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

hihi
post Mar 29 2014, 11:05 AM

189 posts

Dear all, i plan to buy 2 budget bicycle for myself and wife for casual cycling at the park on weekend, with baby carrier on both to bring our kids also.
Prefer folding because can keep in car's boot.
Can i get at 1k maximum? see some cheap one at bicycle buy sell but not sure the brand is reliable or not.
skidd
post Mar 29 2014, 02:48 PM

254 posts

anybody going for pj car free day tomorrow?

http://www.nst.com.my/streets/central/pj-c...ee-day-1.537042

akioen
post Mar 29 2014, 09:41 PM

106 posts

hi, is anyone here ride a raleigh? how's the quality?
Plan to buy the raleigh broadway in s'pore.
haroldz123
post Mar 30 2014, 01:07 AM

1,062 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Mar 29 2014, 09:41 PM)
what about polygon urbano?

http://maxxuminteractive.blogspot.com/2013...ntry-level.html
H2D
post Mar 30 2014, 01:20 AM

598 posts

those looking for affordable helmet...

~RM39-49... saw in bbs, bike shop selling...

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/241320/...-helmet-promosi

This post has been edited by H2D: Mar 30 2014, 01:21 AM
H2D
post Mar 31 2014, 01:05 AM

598 posts

tern verge x30h limited

MrMao
post Mar 31 2014, 08:46 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(hihi @ Mar 29 2014, 11:05 AM)
Dear all, i plan to buy 2 budget bicycle for myself and wife for casual cycling at the park on weekend, with baby carrier on both to bring our kids also.
Can i get at 1k maximum? see some cheap one at bicycle buy sell but not sure the brand is reliable or not.
1k for each or both ?
zeliustitan
post Mar 31 2014, 09:15 AM

466 posts

Hello

I have 2 folding bikes here for you to compare

1 birdy fits the whole car boot

But 2 bromptons fit the whole car boot

I have nothing to against Birdy but just to let you know almost all the bike fold like that due to the fold mechanism and different wheel size.

Here is the brompton(16") vs raleigh ugo(20")

Im not sure how big is your car boot like. But usually, you can only fit one 20" folding bike into the car boot (assuming you have Wira) . If you manage to squeeze 2, 1 in the car boot and 1 in the back passenger seat. But if it is MyVi, then abit challenging.

The most compact folding bike doesn't come cheap even the bootleg version like MIT-V8. If you can tolerate with Raleigh Ugo (Rm800) folded size, then Dahon/Tern shouldn't be a problem too.

This post has been edited by zeliustitan: Mar 31 2014, 09:22 AM
andrewhtf
post Mar 31 2014, 09:22 AM

1,583 posts

Zelius, birdy and brompton definitely costs more than rm1k biggrin.gif

Hahaha... But i have no photo, but just to chip in my experience, a folded raleigh ugo and a folded java fit, ngam ngam masuk the rear seat of kelisa, with some wriggling around lah...

Oh wait, my wife did take some photos.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Mar 31 2014, 09:58 AM
zeliustitan
post Mar 31 2014, 09:24 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Mar 29 2014, 09:41 PM)
if raleigh broadway = raleigh ugo, the folding stem that hold the handlebar is quite loose.
polygon urbano 3.0 would be better..
haroldz123
post Mar 31 2014, 10:18 AM

1,062 posts

anyone use wider tyre in fron?
mr google said wider front will have more grip n improve cornering while wider rear will improve comfort in a long commute.

i just bought schwalbe big apple from rodalink kuching, one only available.
zeliustitan
post Mar 31 2014, 10:30 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 31 2014, 10:18 AM)
anyone use wider tyre in fron?
mr google said wider front will have more grip n improve cornering while wider rear will improve comfort in a long commute.

i just bought schwalbe big apple from rodalink kuching, one only available.
it depends what you want actually.. leisure, commute, racing, offroad?

If you opt for fast, smaller width like roadbike tire
If you opt for grip, like what you said but you will be slower than those who use smaller width. Again, you might need to pedal harder because it has more contact to the ground.
sepat
post Mar 31 2014, 11:05 AM

i managed to insert my dahon and wife's tern into our jazz... but you need to fold down the rear seat to slide in those bikes...
sepat
post Mar 31 2014, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 31 2014, 01:05 AM)
tern verge x30h limited

nice .. what is the price for that? anyway.. where can i source out handlepost like that?
sepat
post Mar 31 2014, 11:30 AM

may i know why people tend to upgrade the handlebar and the stem rather than using the standard one? what about adding bar end?

This post has been edited by sepat: Mar 31 2014, 12:02 PM
zeliustitan
post Mar 31 2014, 01:09 PM

466 posts

QUOTE(sepat @ Mar 31 2014, 11:30 AM)
may i know why people tend to upgrade the handlebar and the stem rather than using the standard one? what about adding bar end?
-to get more rigid feel
-to change handlebar type, like straight one to dropbar
-to make the bike lighter?
sepat
post Apr 1 2014, 08:59 AM

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Mar 31 2014, 01:09 PM)
-to get more rigid feel
-to change handlebar type, like straight one to dropbar
-to make the bike lighter?
the OEM setup does not feel rigid or it is just our hands itchy most of the time? drool.gif

well.. after few round of cycles.. i have decided that i need to perform minor mods on my bike especially the gearing.. the feeling of the speed is not enough for me hi hi hi....
dannygeni
post Apr 1 2014, 09:46 AM

1,804 posts

latest upgrade. lol

wait. this file is not loading.

This post has been edited by dannygeni: Apr 1 2014, 09:47 AM
civic98
post Apr 1 2014, 11:09 AM

1,255 posts

Hi guys (and girls), i need to transport a Tern Link D8 on a flight, my plan is to get a box and pack it in folded, with some padding and bubble around the gears. Now the question is to check in as Checked Luggage (fragile) or Sports Equipment, and does it make any difference, priority of course whichever will be handled with more care.
lp16
post Apr 1 2014, 11:44 AM

411 posts

This is cheap, but don't expect much la... tongue.gif

http://www.lelong.com.my/cronus-preorder-g...7-01-Sale-I.htm

182 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:18 AM