Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!
zeliustitan
Mar 11 2014, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 11 2014, 03:46 PM) The mit bike is flamingo bike.. changed name it seems.. Stil the one n only brompton copy...?? it seems... It is was a mistake that Brompton UK once send their bike to China for Mass Produce. Somehow someway they didnt pattern it or what (if im not wrong), China took the mold and reproduce it. Something like that la.. forgotten which website i read from.
etigge
Mar 11 2014, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Mar 11 2014, 03:46 PM) The mit bike is flamingo bike.. changed name it seems.. Stil the one n only brompton copy...?? it seems... Yes it is the Flamingo and there's another copy of the Brommie. Look where the top tube is welded to the head tube. There's an extra piece there!
zeliustitan
Mar 11 2014, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 11 2014, 04:11 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yes it is the Flamingo and there's another copy of the Brommie. Look where the top tube is welded to the head tube. There's an extra piece there!  Keens is the owner willing to let go this copy B if someone paying him a good price.. haha
andrewhtf
Mar 11 2014, 05:09 PM
I would wish on a foldie with some suspension to take up the bumps and holes of our poor road surface. Something like a Birdie but hell i aint got no money for that!
pigduck
Mar 11 2014, 05:31 PM
How much is birdy?
zeliustitan
Mar 11 2014, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 11 2014, 05:09 PM) I would wish on a foldie with some suspension to take up the bumps and holes of our poor road surface. Something like a Birdie but hell i aint got no money for that! Save money sikit sikit, lama lama jadi Birdy.. haha
zeliustitan
Mar 11 2014, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 11 2014, 05:31 PM) Approaching 5k too..
andrewhtf
Mar 11 2014, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 11 2014, 05:31 PM) Ranges from RM4k to RM8k depending on model. GW cycle carries this brand. QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Mar 11 2014, 05:32 PM) Save money sikit sikit, lama lama jadi Birdy.. haha even if i saved up that much, i would not be willing to splurge that much of money one shot on a foldie leh... everyday eat maggi liddat This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Mar 11 2014, 06:13 PM
zeliustitan
Mar 11 2014, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 11 2014, 06:10 PM) Ranges from RM4k to RM8k depending on model. GW cycle carries this brand. even if i saved up that much, i would not be willing to splurge that much of money one shot on a foldie leh... everyday eat maggi liddat By the time u manage to save up that much. You will feel abit of waste to get a foldie. Or maybe buy other stuff.. haha
hsiman
Mar 11 2014, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Mar 11 2014, 07:14 PM) By the time u manage to save up that much. You will feel abit of waste to get a foldie. Or maybe buy other stuff.. haha No no no. Listen to this old man here. If you need to save money to get what you want means you can't afford it. Else you can afford it if you don't need to save money to buy it.
dannygeni
Mar 11 2014, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(skidd @ Mar 11 2014, 06:51 PM) Sold my tern d8 and got myself a jetstream .. Luving it 
Nice. What's the price?
zeliustitan
Mar 11 2014, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(hsiman @ Mar 11 2014, 08:12 PM) No no no. Listen to this old man here. If you need to save money to get what you want means you can't afford it. Else you can afford it if you don't need to save money to buy it.  OK. Jus do it. Haha
mbax
Mar 11 2014, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Mar 11 2014, 08:53 PM) 3.5k?
hsiman
Mar 11 2014, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Mar 11 2014, 08:54 PM)
dannygeni
Mar 11 2014, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(hsiman @ Mar 11 2014, 10:06 PM) amazon is us999..haha can imagine price here in malaysia..
skidd
Mar 11 2014, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(mbax @ Mar 11 2014, 08:54 PM) 3.2 bro with some freebies now looking for stand for it lol
pigduck
Mar 11 2014, 11:11 PM
Went to Rodalink today and saw the following:-
- Verge X10 (sweet and light but so expensive!) - Tern C7 (2014 - has a rack and is affordable - heavier than Vigor P9 but it looks nice) - Dahon Vigor P9 (2014 - very nice and comes with bike pump, nice body but quite expensive) - Dahon Visc P18 (2014 - same as Vigor P9 but a little rougher) - Dr Hon Boardwalk D8 (2013 - affordable and classic look)
I'm not sure if I should spend over RM2000 for a bike even though I find the Vigor P9 and Visc P18 light.
So far I like the Tern C7 and the Dahon P9 but then was looking at other bikes online tonight and the TRS and Trinx bikes are cheaper. I find the Doppelganger bikes nice and affordable also.
I might want a Doppelganger - it looks nice. The thing is, I could go for the trusted Tern/Dahon but wonder what about other brands.
Thoughts?
Think my budget is ~RM800-1500 - not sure whether I'll really ride around - the incentive of buying an expensive bike would force me to go riding but then again, since I'm just starting out, I'm not sure.
This post has been edited by pigduck: Mar 12 2014, 01:04 AM
dannygeni
Mar 11 2014, 11:21 PM
Java fit user here. Don't know bout dahon. If can try 1 would be nice. Got java cause is 16speed and with disc brake. Design to my liking and looks solid too.
haroldz123
Mar 12 2014, 01:04 AM