182 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

ahchun
post Feb 27 2014, 02:29 PM

MiddleAge
1,146 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 27 2014, 01:24 PM)
OK pls get us more info. Just dont want to kena cheat only since those complaints on their page sounds very serious
the registration is closed i believe

dannygeni
post Feb 27 2014, 02:31 PM

1,804 posts

16speed is fast and quality is good. ride for 30min test in park. so long didint ride. had some fun there. anyway u guys change the pedal. ? thinking change to more colorful pedal

andrewhtf
post Feb 27 2014, 02:40 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Feb 27 2014, 02:31 PM)
16speed is fast and quality is good. ride for 30min test in park. so long didint ride. had some fun there. anyway u guys change the pedal.  ? thinking change to more colorful pedal
the metal pedal itself is better than most fold plastic pedals. smile.gif but i think platform pedals are the best for foldies lah, just my personal preference.
dannygeni
post Feb 27 2014, 02:52 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 27 2014, 02:40 PM)
the metal pedal itself is better than most fold plastic pedals. smile.gif but i think platform pedals are the best for foldies lah, just my personal preference.
Thanks for info. i try google no help..are there any foldable pedal?
andrewhtf
post Feb 27 2014, 03:04 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(dannygeni @ Feb 27 2014, 02:52 PM)
Thanks for info. i try google no help..are there any foldable pedal?
Yes, most Dahons and Terns already came with foldable pedals as stock. Even my Ugo. you can also buy a pair cheaply at about RM30-50 from bicycle shops. Convenient and space saving when your foldies are folded for storage or transport.

HOWEVER, (this is my personal feel) they felt abit wobbly and not so confidence inspiring when pedalling or standing on pedals. so i went and bought a platform pedal that has wider footprints, it felt much more stable than folding pedals, and more comfortable compared to the metal pedal on my wife's stock Java Fit.
xproc
post Feb 27 2014, 03:28 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

any review for java fit 16s? pro and cons...
dannygeni
post Feb 27 2014, 04:16 PM

1,804 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Feb 27 2014, 03:28 PM)
at the moment no problem..just that i would prefer the tyre a bit wider..
Ghosthunter
post Feb 27 2014, 11:01 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Feb 27 2014, 03:28 PM)
Good bike, fast , so far no problems.
But if got more cash, Dahon has better reputation and costs appx 2.4K..

Me, since i have a MTB, i didnt want to spend more,
So far Java is good and fast..

But if you get one, try the thicker tires ..
Cheers

Anyone cycling at Putrajaya this Saturday evening?..
Plse post here time and place, perhaps others may want to join..

This post has been edited by Ghosthunter: Feb 27 2014, 11:02 PM
H2D
post Feb 28 2014, 12:04 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(Ghosthunter @ Feb 27 2014, 11:01 PM)

few years ago, it is still worth it...

in 2011 i paid 2.5+k for a dahon....

now i wouldn't pay that much for a dahon...

to get tht kinda spec n quality few years ago.. today it is on a tern bike...

but the $$$ has increased much more...

so it is not even worth it anymore... for a foldie...
xproc
post Feb 28 2014, 12:29 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Feb 28 2014, 12:04 AM)
few years ago, it is still worth it...

in 2011 i paid 2.5+k for a dahon....

now i wouldn't pay that much for a dahon...

to get tht kinda spec n quality few years ago.. today it is on a tern bike...

but the $$$ has increased much more...

so it is not even worth it anymore... for a foldie...
ya... for 1.6k it should be java fit ... is it?
180jin
post Feb 28 2014, 12:29 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Ghosthunter @ Feb 27 2014, 11:01 PM)
Good bike, fast , so far no problems.

Me, since i have a MTB, i didnt want to spend more,
So far Java is good and fast..

But if you get one, try the thicker tires ..
Cheers

Anyone cycling at Putrajaya this Saturday evening?..
Plse post here time and place, perhaps others may want to join..
This Saturday I'll be heading to Bukit Cahaya but in the morning, but will most likely go Putrajaya again on the evening of 8th March (next Saturday).
paige.pc
post Feb 28 2014, 02:26 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 27 2014, 12:03 PM)
Make sure u pump at least 90psi  biggrin.gif
oh ok thanks for the info biggrin.gif
H2D
post Feb 28 2014, 03:03 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(paige.pc @ Feb 28 2014, 02:26 AM)
oh ok thanks for the info  biggrin.gif
90 psi is a lot of pressure laugh.gif

it might be right for 100kg rider....

otherwise u will get bone jarring ride...

hsiman
post Feb 28 2014, 05:29 AM

Would like to chg pedal to quick release type. Can it fit to the stock crank of my Dahon? Any recommendation? Price? Whr to buy in Klang Valley? BTW currently using stock Wellgo. Tks smile.gif

This post has been edited by hsiman: Feb 28 2014, 05:31 AM
etigge
post Feb 28 2014, 08:40 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(hsiman @ Feb 28 2014, 05:29 AM)
Would like to chg pedal to quick release type. Can it fit to the stock crank of my Dahon? Any recommendation? Price? Whr to buy in Klang Valley? BTW currently using stock Wellgo. Tks smile.gif
All pedals, are standard regardless of quick release folding or otherwise. icon_rolleyes.gif

Try browsing through the BBS website.

This post has been edited by etigge: Feb 28 2014, 08:40 AM
andrewhtf
post Feb 28 2014, 09:27 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Feb 28 2014, 03:03 AM)
90 psi is a lot of pressure laugh.gif

it might be right for 100kg rider....

otherwise u will get bone jarring ride...
Dunno, the marker on the sidewall indicated 80-100psi. I took the middle path to be safe, so it is 90psi. Plus, the petrol station punya air pump are always rated higher than what it actually pumps in. I selected 37psi but when counter checked with a gauge after pumping, only 34.5psi.

so if you select 90 on the pump, maybe you'd get around 85. My wife commented that it is less bumpy after we put in "90"psi after i realised that her tyres has been pretty under-inflated all this while.
xproc
post Feb 28 2014, 09:29 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 28 2014, 09:27 AM)
Plus, the petrol station punya air pump are always rated higher than what it actually pumps in. I selected 37psi but when counter checked with a gauge after pumping, only 34.5psi.
all the petrol station punya pump? or just one or two petrol station...
andrewhtf
post Feb 28 2014, 09:40 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Feb 28 2014, 09:29 AM)
all the petrol station punya pump? or just one or two petrol station...
So far ALL that i have visited. average less by 3-4psi.

Before u might say it is my gauge error, i have cross checked with another friend who has a different gauge.

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Feb 28 2014, 09:42 AM
xproc
post Feb 28 2014, 09:44 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Feb 28 2014, 09:40 AM)
So far ALL that i have visited. average less by 3-4psi.

Before u might say it is my gauge error, i have cross checked with another friend who has a different gauge.
ok noted thanks for your findings! notworthy.gif
hsiman
post Feb 28 2014, 09:45 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 28 2014, 08:40 AM)
All pedals, are standard regardless of quick release folding or otherwise.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Try browsing through the BBS website.
Ok, understand. Thanks smile.gif
Wanted a pedal with quick release just for xtra security if I happened to cycle to wrk n park the bike.
P/s the MU P8 that u recommended at Kimbell, I happened to bought it. No regret at all. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hsiman: Feb 28 2014, 09:46 AM

182 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:35 AM