Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

Ghosthunter
post Feb 20 2014, 08:58 AM

511 posts

R.N.Samy bicycle shop seems pretty good with lots of selections.
The Raleigh UGO is Rm750.00
Friendly service
I found USJ bicycle shop to be quite expensive, rude and arrogant when i went there and the owner spoke as if i was a little kid, you know like he was ta;king down on me rather then answering my simple questions.
The Raleigh UGO was Rm920.00 nett there, but what really made me angry was his attitude, and i told him off in a very firm manner , which he sort of went off as i told him, he should do his homework 1st before talking crap.

Opinion needed.
I have a l MTB and am looking for a reasonable Folding Bike...
Raleigh UGO..Rm750.00
Or better ..my budget is around 1.5K maximum..dont want to spend too much, although i can afford it as i also jog , swim and work out at the GYM.
Any suggestions plse ??

This post has been edited by Ghosthunter: Feb 20 2014, 08:59 AM
Ghosthunter
post Feb 20 2014, 09:00 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Feb 20 2014, 08:54 AM)
any1 have problem using lowyat app to attach photo..
can't post anything..
Perhaps your the photo you want to upload is too big in size, may i suggest you upload a smaller photo.
Cheers
Ghosthunter
post Feb 20 2014, 09:28 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Feb 20 2014, 09:11 AM)
try host it at photobucket n see
i also looking for foldie now. i already got mtb and looking for one bike i can bring along easily

went to look for raliegh ugo (750) n trinx fa208 (850). can feel that ugo built quality is alot better
too bad ugo come with 7 speed... so now still considering
Thanks,
I forgot to mention that i have tested a VOLCANO Folding bike, 21 speed bike at Taman Melawati yesterday which was for Rm850.00,but since i never heard of VOLCANO bike before , i walked away , but i am still open to opinions, if anyone cares to share his/her experience on this.
many say the UGO seems better , i may spend slightly more to get a better folding bike as i believe its money well invested , but i need experienced forum members help here in what may be a better bike and where i can get it at..my budget is 1.5K
Anyone , thanks... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Ghosthunter: Feb 20 2014, 09:32 AM
Ghosthunter
post Feb 20 2014, 01:41 PM

511 posts

Raleigh UGO ..Oh ya, hihi...i guess one cant expect to sneak in quietly with this bike... biggrin.gif
Perhaps will take a look at the Tern too...
Still waiting for other recommendations...

Ghosthunter
post Feb 20 2014, 02:19 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(DarkonGaron @ Feb 20 2014, 02:00 PM)
i'm still living with my family, i doubt my family members will let me store non-foldable bikes inside the house. if store outside, scared pipu come and steal. my area is not guarded... my dad's shoes kena steal most of the time  doh.gif

foldie really slow ah? since u ask about mobility issue...
Foldie not that slow , but since foldie has limitations like bigger wheels, upgrade , etc.
I guess Foldie means easy to carry, easy to store, but a good one is not cheap.

Ghosthunter
post Feb 21 2014, 06:23 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(hsiman @ Feb 21 2014, 05:41 AM)
smile.gif getting ready to go out for a ride. Wonder how often shld we change our helmet? UV seems to be the issue for the deteoriation. Those often rides under the sun would hv to chg more often? How to determine when to chg? smile.gif
Good morning,
Looks like you are up and early.
Hope u have a safe ride
Ghosthunter
post Feb 21 2014, 08:40 PM

511 posts

Can anyone tell me about Java Fit 16speed..with disc brakes..
New one is about 1.7K
Thinking of a used one for 1.3K..is it worth it ?
Ghosthunter
post Feb 21 2014, 08:41 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(mabsandcals @ Feb 21 2014, 07:29 PM)
anyone know anything bout a KALAQ?

llike to know if anyone ridden it or have any opinion on it, seems like a good spec-ed deal

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/217763/...-bike-promotion
For this price you can get a Dahon..8speed for 1.1K
Ghosthunter
post Feb 22 2014, 06:06 PM

511 posts

Just bought a JAVA Fit 16spped folding bike with slightly ticker tires as the original ones were performance tyres but bumpy..hihi.
Fast bike.
Cheers
Ghosthunter
post Feb 22 2014, 11:44 PM

511 posts

After so much internet searching and also with the help of many LYN forum members here , i decided to not think too much again, as too much thinking sometimes muddles the mind.
Narrowing down to 3 choices and increasing my budget slightly, as i could not get a good reasonable bike at Rm750.00 to Rm1,500.00, i decided on the Java Fit 16 speed , as it had mostly what i wanted.
Sure, i could have spent Rm2,500.00 and gone for a Dahon for that speed, but i told myself that since i had 2 MTB's, all i needed was something reasonable and affordable, hence the decision.
As a Hobbyist photographer, i would not hesitate to pay 4k or more for a good Camera or Lens, but since i am not that a Cyclist, i really had not much of an idea.
Wished i could have gone with the Dahons or TErns..but i decided not to.

What i realized is that if one can increase his/her budget slightly , there is nothing like riding a bike with minimum 16speed and more will be better , as i found out at Putrajaya that i needed the extra gears for slight hill climbs, extra gears really do help .

I am sure the professionals here will be able to elaborate more..
Meanwhile i will use my MTB while at home and the Foldie when i need convince..
Oh, the butt hurts a little , hihi.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Ghosthunter
post Feb 23 2014, 02:47 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Feb 23 2014, 12:25 AM)
Just finished a night ride at Putrajaya. Weather's awesome albeit a bit of foul air due to the haze. I wished we have more bike

[attachmentid=3864571]
i was at Putrajaya too, trying out my new foldie...
Were you with the group of cyclists with kids, adults ?

Ghosthunter
post Feb 24 2014, 07:08 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(danieltwl @ Feb 24 2014, 03:01 PM)
@Ghosthunter @180jin - when next round putrajaya? i can join smile.gif
I let me know One day earlier when you guys want to cycle, because i am living very close by .
The other day i saw more then 15 riders whom i spoke to and they were kind enough to ask me if i wanted to joing them fpr a 12km ride near the lake, Putrajaya.
Had to decline politely as i want to build up my leg power..hehe..
Upper body is okay , legs need a bit of toning up... tongue.gif
Let me knw, or perhaps anyone else care to join in ...
Cheers

Ghosthunter
post Feb 26 2014, 04:40 AM

511 posts

QUOTE(paige.pc @ Feb 26 2014, 03:16 AM)
Me too  biggrin.gif
Congratulations.
What tires did you chose and how do you like them ?
Ghosthunter
post Feb 26 2014, 04:40 AM

511 posts

Me too  biggrin.gif
Congratulations.
Ghosthunter
post Feb 26 2014, 04:42 AM

511 posts

Me too  biggrin.gif
Congratulations.
Ghosthunter
post Feb 26 2014, 04:47 AM

511 posts

Me too  biggrin.gif
Congratulations.
Ghosthunter
post Feb 27 2014, 11:01 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Feb 27 2014, 03:28 PM)
any review for java fit 16s? pro and cons...
Good bike, fast , so far no problems.
But if got more cash, Dahon has better reputation and costs appx 2.4K..

Me, since i have a MTB, i didnt want to spend more,
So far Java is good and fast..

But if you get one, try the thicker tires ..
Cheers

Anyone cycling at Putrajaya this Saturday evening?..
Plse post here time and place, perhaps others may want to join..

This post has been edited by Ghosthunter: Feb 27 2014, 11:02 PM
Ghosthunter
post Mar 27 2014, 07:43 AM

511 posts

After getting my java fit , which is a excellent cycle...i then saw a Proton T cycle for sale.
Mint condition, full specs, the previous owner only used 5 times.
I bought it and i can its a good bike for the money.
Basically now , i alternate between the Java and Proton.
Always cycle at Putrajaya 2-3 times a week, somehow i find it so refreshing as i cycle along the lake and in the evening sometimes the air can be quite cooling.
These days i have stopped my walks and gym and mostly cycle , perhaps later when i get over the excitement , i will alternative between the 3.
One thing i have learned is enjoy while you can , and if you have the means go for a better cycle.
I have a friend who is wealthy but uses a 6 years old cheap cycle, he says it doesnt bother him and is happy with his choice.
so to each his own and hope that perhaps riders who come to Putrajaya will sort of announce or let me knw so that i may join them at Putrajaya.
wishing everyone a lovely day with all the good health

0.0207sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:52 AM