182 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v3, Foldies come in!

cjlai
post May 4 2014, 10:11 PM

1,631 posts

Hi all, newbie reporting in. Just got my first foldie today.

dannygeni
post May 4 2014, 10:12 PM

1,804 posts

Nice..welcome to foldie bike..
myak9
post May 4 2014, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(Kokomin @ May 3 2014, 07:45 PM)
Selling even a real Dahon Speed Uno at RM1400 is expensive. You can go and see the bike first before deciding. For me, I'm not paying RM1400 even for the real thing. Better get the Link Uno or Mu Uno for RM1800 from the authorised dealers. Knowing the mentality of motor vehicle drivers in Malaysia it's wise to add a front brake to the Speed Uno. To do so you need an adaptor. Since it rains a lot in Malaysia might as well put on the mudguards too. Adding up, hmm... better get Tern Link Uno.
kokomin....sooo you are from penang tooo...gooood...
tern link uno and dahon speed uno/mu uno have their own design..
when I buy my mu uno... I go with the hinge/clamp
that time chin aik only have link uno and mu uno..
by compared the 2 bike I found that I like the dahon better...

http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=a...i-telai-v.html#
zeliustitan
post May 5 2014, 09:18 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(Kokomin @ May 3 2014, 07:45 PM)
Selling even a real Dahon Speed Uno at RM1400 is expensive. You can go and see the bike first before deciding. For me, I'm not paying RM1400 even for the real thing. Better get the Link Uno or Mu Uno for RM1800 from the authorised dealers. Knowing the mentality of motor vehicle drivers in Malaysia it's wise to add a front brake to the Speed Uno. To do so you need an adaptor. Since it rains a lot in Malaysia might as well put on the mudguards too. Adding up, hmm... better get Tern Link Uno.
i would rather get 7 speed for Rm1400
andrewhtf
post May 5 2014, 11:22 AM

1,583 posts

Yesterday morning i attempted old gombak - genting sempah. failed. vommitted 2 times, legs went jelly. only completed half (about 7.3km, full distance 1-way is 15.3km) and turn back. did 2kms on my ugo, the rest on my wife's java fit, i need the extra low gears. damn poor fitness lah... sad.gif
zeliustitan
post May 5 2014, 11:32 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ May 5 2014, 11:22 AM)
Yesterday morning i attempted old gombak - genting sempah. failed. vommitted 2 times, legs went jelly. only completed half (about 7.3km, full distance 1-way is 15.3km) and turn back. did 2kms on my ugo, the rest on my wife's java fit, i need the extra low gears. damn poor fitness lah... sad.gif
i wanted to try genting sempah.. haha
outdoorxplorer
post May 5 2014, 11:36 AM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ May 5 2014, 11:22 AM)
Take it slow and easy. You will reach the underpass any time soon.
180jin
post May 5 2014, 12:20 PM

48 posts

Had fun dismantling my bike yesterday, preparing for 9 speed Deore upgrade. Gonna start putting things together tonight

andrewhtf
post May 5 2014, 12:47 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ May 5 2014, 11:36 AM)
Take it slow and easy. You will reach the underpass any time soon.
I wished! By the 2km mark from start i had my first vommit (over exertion), then i swapped bike with wifey. The lower gears helped, alot! But even then my poor stamina failed me eventually despite taking it really slow and maintaining a steady cadence. Wife complained "no rasa at all" hahaha... She is disappointed, but we will try it again.

Somehow i enjoyed the return leg, because i dont need to pedal! rclxms.gif just let gravity does its job and being a motorcyclist, i can handle high speed downhill with ease, leaving my wife a few mins behind.
outdoorxplorer
post May 5 2014, 07:14 PM

2,028 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ May 5 2014, 12:47 PM)
I wished! By the 2km mark from start i had my first vommit (over exertion), then i swapped bike with wifey. The lower gears helped, alot! But even then my poor stamina failed me eventually despite taking it really slow and maintaining a steady cadence. Wife complained "no rasa at all" hahaha... She is disappointed, but we will try it again.

Somehow i enjoyed the return leg, because i dont need to pedal!  rclxms.gif  just let gravity does its job and being a motorcyclist, i can handle high speed downhill with ease, leaving my wife a few mins behind.
doh.gif You left your wife behind....? Please don't do that again. More gears just gives you smoother gear changing options only. The gear ratio does matters. We ride a 6 speed 16" wheel to Bentong from Gombak and also up to Frasers Hill. All you need is patience and some consistence in cycling and the day to destination of your choice in no time. Don't push your self too hard till the extend your have signs of hating cycling ya. Have fun and ride safe Andrew.

This post has been edited by outdoorxplorer: May 5 2014, 07:17 PM
Kokomin
post May 5 2014, 07:17 PM

QUOTE(myak9 @ May 4 2014, 11:06 PM)
kokomin....sooo you are from penang tooo...gooood...
tern link uno and dahon speed uno/mu uno have their own design..
when I buy my mu uno... I go with the hinge/clamp
that time chin aik only have link uno and mu uno..
by compared the 2 bike I found that I like the dahon better...

http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=a...i-telai-v.html#
I think so too. It seems that the Mu Uno is harder to get now. Am I wrong? The best thing about the Mu Uno is that the chain does not go through the chainstay triangle. The bike can be mod to use belt driven system. Lighter and cleaner. Don't know if anyone in malaysia has done it. Seen one in BikeForum.
andrewhtf
post May 5 2014, 07:25 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ May 5 2014, 07:14 PM)
doh.gif You left your wife behind....? Please don't do that again. More gears just gives you smoother gear changing options only. The gear ratio does matters. We ride a 6 speed 16" wheel to Bentong from Gombak and also up to Frasers Hill. All you need is patience and some consistence in cycling and the day to destination of your choice in no time. Don't push your self too hard till the extend your have signs of hating cycling ya. Have fun and ride safe Andrew.
I would've given up at the first vomit point if i had to continue on the ugo. Good thing wife immediately told me to ride her java fit, The extra lower gears did made difference. But in the end my stamina and leg muscles still is not up to mark. Gotta work on those first before attempting it again.
outdoorxplorer
post May 5 2014, 07:37 PM

2,028 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ May 5 2014, 07:25 PM)
I would've given up at the first vomit point if i had to continue on the ugo. Good thing wife immediately told me to ride her java fit, The extra lower gears did made difference. But in the end my stamina and leg muscles still is not up to mark. Gotta work on those first before attempting it again.
thumbup.gif
Justmua
post May 5 2014, 07:50 PM

418 posts

Hi guys,

Newbie here. Anyone can recommend a shop in Klang/Shah Alam area that sells entry level foldies?

Thank you for your help.

Kokomin
post May 5 2014, 08:05 PM

QUOTE(zeliustitan @ May 5 2014, 09:18 AM)
i would rather get 7 speed for Rm1400
I have only seen the Dahon Speed Uno only online. Don't know the quality of the finishing. Chromoly is cheap and easier to TIG weld than aluminium. The components are so-so only. Your mind says it's only an RM850 bike but when your heart has fallen in love, you know you will fork out the money...hahahaha don't know how long I can hold on

Yes, a bike like the Boardwalk is the better buy

myak9
post May 5 2014, 08:29 PM

QUOTE(Kokomin @ May 5 2014, 08:05 PM)
I have only seen the Dahon Speed Uno only online.  Don't know the quality of the finishing. Chromoly is cheap and easier to TIG weld than aluminium. The components are so-so only. Your mind says it's only an RM850 bike but when your heart has fallen in love, you know you will fork out the money...hahahaha don't know how long I can hold on

Yes, a bike like the Boardwalk is the better buy
total agree with you..
when I bought my mu uno..a lot of my friend asked why I didn't choose speed P8 as it has 8 gear..some said I wasted money on a single speed bike..but once you have really tried the bike..you will know what I mean..totally different feeling..
just like fixie bike..some would pay few K to buy..while others would prefer MTB of roadie..to me I have few bike for different rides..when going mountain or round island=MTB 18 speed..casual town ride=uno..tricks or fooling around=dj single speed..

as for my wife..she prefer 3 speed ( kukuxumusu/dahon d3)..to her..cycling at park or go riding with her friend in georgetown..3 speed is more than enough..
even better..she love her recumbent exercise bike at home..as she said no matter rain or shine..she still can cycle..no need to get wet..

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by myak9: May 5 2014, 08:37 PM
sepat
post May 5 2014, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ May 5 2014, 07:25 PM)
Take it slow bro.. it is dangerous to push harder if you are not ready for it.. i learn my mistakes last weekend pacing with experience riders when i rode my roadie with them.. try to learn controlling your breathing and understand your pedalling power and stamina and aim to reach the destination eventhough it takes u to cycle slowly.. once your fitness and stamina is ready to go for endurance then go another extra kilometers more.. no point forcing yourself which turn up causing more damage than good physically n mentally.. my 2cent
dannygeni
post May 6 2014, 10:34 PM

1,804 posts

http://www.bicyclebuysell.com/item/246300/...supreme-20-x1-6

Selling my schwalbe tyre guys. Interested pm me. Upgraded. Like new

This post has been edited by dannygeni: May 6 2014, 10:34 PM
aeran
post May 7 2014, 11:26 AM

194 posts

Guys, I'm letting go my Tern D8. PM if interested. Price is negotiable, of course.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry67811971
zeliustitan
post May 7 2014, 11:31 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(aeran @ May 7 2014, 11:26 AM)
Guys, I'm letting go my Tern D8. PM if interested. Price is negotiable, of course.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry67811971
Rm600 i sapu

182 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:23 AM