Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club V2, Go Further

Mrx_Rf
post Jan 27 2015, 07:57 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jan 27 2015, 04:59 PM)
Yes, the buttons on the gear knob are useless. Didn't bother to use the buttons after testing them less than few hours.

The S mode is surely good stuff at low to moderate speed.
Agree with u. Also the ergonomic not good if gear in S mode. Hand kinda level with waist.
rayhvs
post Jan 28 2015, 10:58 PM

321 posts

can share fuel consumption like 100% city drive and 100% highway drive.
rayhvs
post Jan 29 2015, 01:57 PM

321 posts

The new ford focus is using timing chain or belt?
wingwp
post Jan 29 2015, 06:51 PM

639 posts

80% city, 10.5+- average

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 28 2015, 10:58 PM)
can share fuel consumption like 100% city drive and 100% highway drive.
rayhvs
post Jan 30 2015, 10:00 AM

321 posts

still struggling as its cabin space is the smallest among c segment. I am 178cm height. You all do not encounter this issue?

SportyHandling
post Jan 30 2015, 10:24 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 10:00 AM)
still struggling as its cabin space is the smallest among c segment. I am 178cm height. You all do not encounter this issue?
For the driver, I don't think there will be issues with headroom even for guys up to 1.83m in height. If there is a space issue, it will likely be the side legroom. Due to the larger centre console at the middle which protrudes into the space where you legs are, chances are your left leg will be very near to the centre console and may be just touching it. Similarly for the front passenger seat where the right leg may be touching the centre console. Personally I do not find this an issue.

Back space is indeed a bit tight if compared to most C-segment cars as it is closer to a B-segment when it comes to space. Although rear legroom of the Focus is not very good for a C-segment, at least it is slightly larger than the new Honda City which is touted to have the largest space and rear legroom of its kind(it is weird to read comments on the good rear space of the Honda City).

If you want a C-segment with good rear legroom and space at the back seat, you may want to look at the Nissan Sylphy. Class leading rear legroom with a wheelbase of 2700mm, largest of its kind for a C-segment. The Focus' wheelbase is 2649mm in comparison, about 50mm less than the Sylphy. Though when it comes to handling the Sylphy will not be able to touch the Focus which is truly a driver's car. The Sylphy on the other hand is a "passenger car" where your passengers sitting at the back seat will stay comfortable. The person sitting at the rear seat may be able to cross his/her legs while enjoying the soft and plush leather seats of the Sylphy (in comparison to the harder leather seats in the Ford Focus).

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Jan 30 2015, 10:28 AM
rayhvs
post Jan 30 2015, 11:00 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 30 2015, 10:24 AM)
For the driver, I don't think there will be issues with headroom even for guys up to 1.83m in height. If there is a space issue, it will likely be the side legroom. Due to the larger centre console at the middle which protrudes into the space where you legs are, chances are your left leg will be very near to the centre console and may be just touching it. Similarly for the front passenger seat where the right leg may be touching the centre console. Personally I do not find this an issue.

Back space is indeed a bit tight if compared to most C-segment cars as it is closer to a B-segment when it comes to space. Although rear legroom of the Focus is not very good for a C-segment, at least it is slightly larger than the new Honda City which is touted to have the largest space and rear legroom of its kind(it is weird to read comments on the good rear space of the Honda City).

If you want a C-segment with good rear legroom and space at the back seat, you may want to look at the Nissan Sylphy. Class leading rear legroom with a wheelbase of 2700mm, largest of its kind for a C-segment. The Focus' wheelbase is 2649mm in comparison, about 50mm less than the Sylphy. Though when it comes to handling the Sylphy will not be able to touch the Focus which is truly a driver's car. The Sylphy on the other hand is a "passenger car" where your passengers sitting at the back seat will stay comfortable. The person sitting at the rear seat may be able to cross his/her legs while enjoying the soft and plush leather seats of the Sylphy (in comparison to the harder leather seats in the Ford Focus).
Agree with you. But i am 1.78m. so the one who sit behind me will be suffered. hahaha. May be i am too caring with others' feeling, instead of myself. lol. Should pamper myself more biggrin.gif
rayhvs
post Jan 30 2015, 11:08 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 23 2015, 09:26 PM)
Yes, that is the reason I mentioned the paddle shifters on the Preve Turbo isn't fun and feels like a toy. But in D, the acceleration from standstill(0 km/h) especially in city driving and traffic jams is also terrible due to the CVT - 1 second lag coupled by the low frequency drone from the engine which gives a "dragging" feel. Although the paddle shift is bad, I prefer it over the D in city drive and crawling traffic which I feel is even worse.

Maybe the paddle shift in very high-end cars may operate better with less lag. Having said that, I have no qualms that D or S will suffice in all driving conditions which render the paddle shift useless.
I thought it should be performed better in highway with its 2.0 engine. hmm.gif
SportyHandling
post Jan 30 2015, 11:24 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 11:00 AM)
Agree with you. But i am 1.78m. so the one who sit behind me will be suffered. hahaha. May be i am too caring with others' feeling, instead of myself. lol. Should pamper myself more  biggrin.gif
Yes, if you are 1.78m, the person sitting behind you will surely suffer as the back seat is pushed further behind, reducing the rear legroom. If there is only one person sitting at the back, he/she can sit on the other side, presuming a shorter person (1.56m~1.70m) is sitting at the front passenger seat.

The rear legroom of the Ford Focus is still acceptable. It is not exceptionally cramped, just not as good as other cars such as the Nissan Sylphy. I owned the previous generation Nissan Sylphy and the rear legroom is much larger than the Ford Focus.
SportyHandling
post Jan 30 2015, 11:32 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 11:08 AM)
I thought it should be performed better in highway with its 2.0 engine.  hmm.gif
I am actually referring to the Proton Preve Turbo and not the Ford Focus when I mentioned on the below.
Yes, that is the reason I mentioned the paddle shifters on the Preve Turbo isn't fun and feels like a toy. But in D, the acceleration from standstill(0 km/h) especially in city driving and traffic jams is also terrible due to the CVT - 1 second lag coupled by the low frequency drone from the engine which gives a "dragging" feel. Although the paddle shift is bad, I prefer it over the D in city drive and crawling traffic which I feel is even worse.

Maybe the paddle shift in very high-end cars may operate better with less lag. Having said that, I have no qualms that D or S will suffice in all driving conditions which render the paddle shift useless.

The Ford Focus's throttle response is a lot better than the Proton Preve, responsive and doesn't have the lag or "draggy" feeling of the Preve Turbo when accelerating from standstill. It's only the slight jerks that may be annoying for some.

On the highways >100km/h, the Focus surely delivers as you will feel the instantaneous speed and power kicking in when you step on the pedal. Coupled by the stability of the car at higher speeds, it is a good performer on the highways. The limiting factors that hinder you from speeding are police speed traps and the amount of vehicles on the roads.
rayhvs
post Jan 30 2015, 02:33 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 30 2015, 11:32 AM)
I am actually referring to the Proton Preve Turbo and not the Ford Focus when I mentioned on the below.

The Ford Focus's throttle response is a lot better than the Proton Preve, responsive and doesn't have the lag or "draggy" feeling of the Preve Turbo when accelerating from standstill. It's only the slight jerks that may be annoying for some.

On the highways >100km/h, the Focus surely delivers as you will feel the instantaneous speed and power kicking in when you step on the pedal. Coupled by the stability of the car at higher speeds, it is a good performer on the highways. The limiting factors that hinder you from speeding are police speed traps and the amount of vehicles on the roads.
Thanks. You really enlighten me alot thumbup.gif

Currently, comparing it with Elantra. haih....
Mrx_Rf
post Jan 30 2015, 08:27 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 02:33 PM)
Thanks. You really enlighten me alot  thumbup.gif

Ve u test drive both? U should do that. But then the answer should be obvious.
Dwango
post Jan 30 2015, 09:03 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 02:33 PM)
Thanks. You really enlighten me alot  thumbup.gif

Korean cars tak boleh lah, not even the Kia Cerato. There was a Hyundai roadshow in Mid Valley on last weekend. Don't talk about driving experience, the interior of the Elantra looks pretty cheap. Even the new Sonata doesn't look at all good compared to Honda Accord.

I think Hyundai is going down already. Kia should be doing better but still their cars are usually considered as 2nd fiddle next to the Japanese. If compared to continental such as Ford, no contest.
rayhvs
post Jan 30 2015, 11:01 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Mrx_Rf @ Jan 30 2015, 08:27 PM)
Ve u test drive both? U should do that. But then the answer should be obvious.
Tml will do the test drive on both =) Hope will find an answer there.
rayhvs
post Jan 30 2015, 11:23 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jan 30 2015, 09:03 PM)
Korean cars tak boleh lah, not even the Kia Cerato. There was a Hyundai roadshow in Mid Valley on last weekend. Don't talk about driving experience, the interior of the Elantra looks pretty cheap. Even the new Sonata doesn't look at all good compared to Honda Accord.

I think Hyundai is going down already. Kia should be doing better but still their cars are usually considered as 2nd fiddle next to the Japanese. If compared to continental such as Ford, no contest.
Would only afford to buy sport without plus. Is there possible to change headlamp to projector headlamp? Have you guys change HU to bigger screen?
Mrx_Rf
post Jan 31 2015, 12:53 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 11:23 PM)
Would only afford to buy sport without plus. Is there possible to change headlamp to projector headlamp? Have you guys change HU to bigger screen?
With current rebate it quite a value. Can get 10k+ . For the headlamp there are few choices out there. Im currently looking forward on item as link below.

focus eagle eye

This post has been edited by Mrx_Rf: Jan 31 2015, 12:53 AM
bumbebumb
post Jan 31 2015, 01:32 AM

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Jan 30 2015, 10:00 AM)
I'm 186cm and have no problem. But i don't ferry people often...
rayhvs
post Jan 31 2015, 07:02 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Mrx_Rf @ Jan 31 2015, 12:53 AM)
With current rebate it quite a value. Can get 10k+ . For the headlamp there are few choices out there. Im currently looking forward on item as link below.

focus eagle eye
So nice. Let me know where can change this. Have u plan to change its HU? Quite disappointed that the screen is so small.

Yours is sport without plus too?

This post has been edited by rayhvs: Jan 31 2015, 07:07 AM
wee939
post Feb 1 2015, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jan 27 2015, 04:59 PM)
Yes, the buttons on the gear knob are useless. Didn't bother to use the buttons after testing them less than few hours.

The S mode is surely good stuff at low to moderate speed.
s mode is fantastic but i think it burns more fuel hahaha, i tested it at same speed 120km/h with D mode rpm is 2600, where s mode rpm is 3200

This post has been edited by wee939: Feb 1 2015, 05:14 PM
wee939
post Feb 1 2015, 05:18 PM

i have a problem here, been using ron 97 for 2 mth. and i found out that fc is bad up to 10L/100km, while when i pump ron95, it maintains at 8.5 and car runs smooth compare with ron97. anybody here have same issue?

212 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:35 PM