LYN Official Hyundai Elantra MD Club V9, Interested? Curious? Owner? Join Us!
Zenith95s
Apr 3 2017, 11:34 AM

Hi guys, not sure which thread to ask, but may I know is it worth to buy a second hand 2013-2014 manufactured year Elantra for now? Do they have issues like spare parts not lasting long, high fc, engine issue etc etc.? They are costing around RM 50k in mudah.com which is kinda tempting which is why I'm asking for sifus opinions
Bombgen
Apr 3 2017, 01:57 PM
laurateoh
Apr 3 2017, 06:29 PM
our elantra is pretty reliable. no big issues ler.
u shud be able to get more feedback from elantra malaysia club on fb
fazdnoah
Apr 4 2017, 10:07 AM

Guys Any shop to get brakepad? Sc quoted me 350rm per pair
tohca
Apr 4 2017, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(laurateoh @ Apr 3 2017, 06:29 PM) our elantra is pretty reliable. no big issues ler. u shud be able to get more feedback from elantra malaysia club on fb Laura, can trade in 2007 Avanza 1.3 manual ka? If can what's the best price?
laurateoh
Apr 4 2017, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(tohca @ Apr 4 2017, 05:05 PM) Laura, can trade in 2007 Avanza 1.3 manual ka? If can what's the best price? pls whatsapp me some pics? my number 0124727002
syuxuan31900
Apr 11 2017, 10:12 PM
Hello,
I wonder if anyone here changed their headlight to HID or LED. If HID, does that mean voiding the warranty? If LED, how do you deal with the dust cap? The heatsink of LED won't fit with the cap. I have a 2015 Elantra with projector headlamp, HB3 halogen low beam.
I have been looking into this for the past few months, please help me... Thanks!
Ekash
Apr 18 2017, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(syuxuan31900 @ Apr 11 2017, 10:12 PM) Hello, I wonder if anyone here changed their headlight to HID or LED. If HID, does that mean voiding the warranty? If LED, how do you deal with the dust cap? The heatsink of LED won't fit with the cap. I have a 2015 Elantra with projector headlamp, HB3 halogen low beam. I have been looking into this for the past few months, please help me... Thanks! i got different feedback from different SC.. so ask the SC you visited alw...
Ekash
Apr 18 2017, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(laurateoh @ Apr 1 2017, 05:55 PM) so far no issue with tucson thanks! belum tahu... new turbo tucson belum officially launch. curi kasi tgk in midvalley oni  they said Tuscon come first before HE...
Remnant_T
Apr 19 2017, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(laurateoh @ Apr 4 2017, 05:27 PM) Hi, may i know is it possible for us to download and update the built in gps in our HU ? Or we can only send back to sc to update it ( with service charges?) Thanks
leng8
Apr 19 2017, 04:10 PM
Hi laura, pls PM me best offer for 1.8 premium
StarduztArc
Apr 20 2017, 04:27 PM
Hi, is it normal for SC to refuse checking on specified defects during service on weekends?
3 weeks back, I went to the Ipoh S/C to service my car, i wanted to request them to check on some dead lightings in my car. (Start/Stop button light & 'D' Gear Light)
He tells me Saturday ppl work half day and they have no time to check for defects on that day, prefer weekdays instead.
Remnant_T
Apr 20 2017, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(StarduztArc @ Apr 20 2017, 04:27 PM) Hi, is it normal for SC to refuse checking on specified defects during service on weekends? 3 weeks back, I went to the Ipoh S/C to service my car, i wanted to request them to check on some dead lightings in my car. (Start/Stop button light & 'D' Gear Light) He tells me Saturday ppl work half day and they have no time to check for defects on that day, prefer weekdays instead. Some of the SC is lazy AF to identify the problem. FYI, I do encountered the gear panel lighting problem. But mine is completely malfunction except "P". SC quoted me for Rm1k plus to replace the stupid gear panel, at last I decided to ignore it as its too expensive. Btw, how old is your car?
StarduztArc
Apr 20 2017, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(Remnant_T @ Apr 20 2017, 04:42 PM) Some of the SC is lazy AF to identify the problem. FYI, I do encountered the gear panel lighting problem. But mine is completely malfunction except "P". SC quoted me for Rm1k plus to replace the stupid gear panel, at last I decided to ignore it as its too expensive. Btw, how old is your car? My car is 4 years old, 2013 model. Missing lighting isn't a big issue, but sometimes it just annoys me to see something not functioning
Remnant_T
Apr 20 2017, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(StarduztArc @ Apr 20 2017, 04:51 PM) My car is 4 years old, 2013 model. Missing lighting isn't a big issue, but sometimes it just annoys me to see something not functioning  Haha your car age is same as mine. I do have OCD on those things which are not working properly, but the cost is definitely too high as a trade off. My car is not frequently in use (mileage less than 12k up to now )but the parts also rosak here and there...warranty has been expired also...sigh
Zenith95s
Apr 20 2017, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(Remnant_T @ Apr 20 2017, 05:28 PM) Haha your car age is same as mine. I do have OCD on those things which are not working properly, but the cost is definitely too high as a trade off. My car is not frequently in use (mileage less than 12k up to now )but the parts also rosak here and there...warranty has been expired also...sigh Elantra parts so not long lasting?  I still thought of getting a 2nd hand Elantra since I like the outlooks of the car really much. Saw some owner reviews at carbase also saying Elantra easily broken here and there... So as a owner would you recommend this car?
unitron
Apr 20 2017, 08:33 PM
Hence the perceived lack of reliability for Korean cars...
As a comparison I'm driving 12 years old Honda Civic.
Thinking of getting the Elantra Sport when launched. Or the new Honda Civic
NyOx
Apr 20 2017, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(unitron @ Apr 20 2017, 09:33 PM) Hence the perceived lack of reliability for Korean cars... As a comparison I'm driving 12 years old Honda Civic. Thinking of getting the Elantra Sport when launched. Or the new Honda Civic for me if SKD or CBU version you should grab. any indicator price for 1.6T? civic 1.5T around 150K. demmm expensive.
unitron
Apr 20 2017, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(NyOx @ Apr 20 2017, 08:41 PM) for me if SKD or CBU version you should grab. any indicator price for 1.6T? civic 1.5T around 150K. demmm expensive. Maybe 130k about there I read on carlist
NyOx
Apr 21 2017, 07:38 AM
QUOTE(unitron @ Apr 20 2017, 10:51 PM) Maybe 130k about there I read on carlist ahhh thanks for correct me.