LYN Official Hyundai Elantra MD Club V9, Interested? Curious? Owner? Join Us!

unitron
post Apr 20 2017, 08:33 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Hence the perceived lack of reliability for Korean cars...

As a comparison I'm driving 12 years old Honda Civic.

Thinking of getting the Elantra Sport when launched.
Or the new Honda Civic
unitron
post Apr 20 2017, 09:51 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(NyOx @ Apr 20 2017, 08:41 PM)
for me if SKD or CBU version you should grab. any indicator price for 1.6T?

civic 1.5T around 150K. demmm expensive.
Maybe 130k about there I read on carlist
unitron
post Apr 21 2017, 11:56 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(peace_lover @ Apr 21 2017, 09:12 AM)
looks is subjective to each individual.
to me, I will choose korean car because of the safety and other features provided and the build quality.

not so sure about the few cars that rosak here and there, I think those happen to CKD model.

So far my experience with 2 other korean cars, reliable and comfortable.
rosak yes, for CKD model, abs indicator rosak, door lock rosak, nth else (8 yrs car).
the other one SKD, almost 4 yrs, just a bit of knocking noise on dashboard and nth else.
My opinion for a car to be deem reliable.
It should be >5 years before the car start giving minor annoyances and >10 years before any minor issues.

Minor annoyances, i.e rattling noise, discoloration
minor issues, need to replace some non-critical parts
unitron
post Apr 25 2017, 03:09 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Remnant_T @ Apr 23 2017, 07:35 PM)
Yup, I don't think T & H can give that "reliable" terms as mentioned ( within 5 years)

I have frens and family who are driving newer gen of city and vios, the parts of the car is not that "durable" if u wana compare with old gen city/ vios

Car nowadays are equipped with much more electronic gadgets comparing to the old gen, therefore there are more things to rosak

For my personal opinion, it depends on your luck
For newer cars, yes I also agree the reliability of electronics not so good.

But with T & H, higher chance you get a unit that will be problem free for the first 5 years. Of course not 100% every unit lah.
i.e still luck involve, but less needed.

Well I do hope the latest Elantra will be reliable. All the while I'm driving Japs, want to try kimchi cars... lol

unitron
post Apr 26 2017, 10:24 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Apr 26 2017, 07:48 AM)
Does anyone knows if the New Elantra (non sport) has autonomous braking? I am considering between Elantra and Ioniq. I would prefer Elantra but was also looking for something with Auto brake which is a safety feature
If got I hope they provide an option to disable it. Also an important safety feature.
If got crazy parang wielding or motorcyclist gang blocking the way, I want to get away
unitron
post May 26 2017, 03:26 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(kelloo @ May 26 2017, 02:58 AM)
help help pls pls all sifu sifu,

Can i know the front mirror costing how much in sc and outside.
My screen is crack hit by stone bullet during travel to sgp. cry.gif
my sum insured for screen just 2k.
does it still got balance to do the tinted as well.
bye.gif tqtq
2k is more than enough to cover for replacement including tint.
Unless the one doing the claim is cheating lah...

I know normally they for sure cheat and claim almost to the max, even thought I think even below 1k can settle

Based on clam experience for 3rd gen Honda City lah... Elantra windscreen how expensive I dunno lah.
unitron
post Jun 6 2017, 12:28 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

confirm something wrong then, if last time can and now cannot.
unitron
post Jul 16 2017, 06:13 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jul 16 2017, 05:03 PM)
Just wonder after five years of owning Elantra, anybody has changed the auto gearbox oil? I heard it's only necessary if it's more than 100K mileage under severe driving?  Mine is only 70K and the gear box works perfectly fine. Anybody?
fu yoh.... if my car at least i'll change once every 2 years.

But I got a colleague who didn't know car got such thing as gearbox oil... never change since the day he bought it... notworthy.gif doh.gif shocking.gif

It was a Kia spectra. Don't remember how long he had it, must remember to ask next time.
unitron
post Jul 19 2017, 03:19 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jul 16 2017, 09:37 PM)
u change every 2 years? mega_shok.gif maybe high mileage

mine only 70K, I asked SC, they say change @ 100K if necessary
QUOTE(wei @ Jul 17 2017, 05:28 PM)
Depends how you drive your car and how much you cherish it.
For aggressive driver, even low mileage, replace it, replace it often.
No oil that are manufactured meant to last long. Gearbox not cheap yo.

I replace mine every ~50-60k KM
Low mileage, but not worth the hassle and cost of replacing the gearbox.
Plus >10 yrs old car. For ~ RM 90 (estimated price now) why not change the oil.
unitron
post Jan 9 2018, 08:51 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Jan 6 2018, 03:41 AM)
anyone buying elantra sport? any review?
Didn't buy, went to test drive only when deciding between the VW Passat, H.Civic and Elantra Sport.

Power and handling no doubt Elantra Sport better.

But overall package I'll choose the H. Civic, the car just feel more premium.
Power can be brought on par with the Elantra Sport with an ECU re-map.

VW Passat for similar price point get really out-of-date package, only the 1.8 TSI engine and DSG was it's saving grace
unitron
post Feb 13 2018, 03:02 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(abused @ Feb 13 2018, 12:05 PM)
Hello,

Last night my car got people peel the side mirror casing.

Already been to Hyundai Ctr, they only sell full unit very high cost.

Can i know where can i get just the casing.
AFAIK no such thing as sell casing only, the best i can think off is you get chop shop side mirror and then just take the casing.
I suspect maybe the thief had the same problem, and instead of buying whole side mirror he decide to just steal the part needed.
unitron
post Oct 20 2020, 09:29 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(KenshinXX @ Oct 17 2020, 12:29 PM)
Hi all, my Elantra’s steering always skew to left during Low speed. It get better when speed increasing but will not meet the exactly center. Example, the steering pointing at  10:30am on clock at Low speed then move to 1130am or 1145am when speed increased to 80km/h. I have went to a few workshops, changed the absorber, lower control arm’s bush but none works. The workshops also can’t find the root cause therefore the car steering with skewing to left for a few years. Nothing wrong with tyre nor alignment as tyre switch can’t help too. Anyone has this experience please advise and I will appreciate your sharing...
I once replaced my tie rod ends during a routine alignment + balancing.... but the idiot worker didn't attach it correctly and it became loose.
So steering sometimes skewed, sometimes ok, sometimes not.

Luckily i found it out quickly. Otherwise would have gotten into a serious accident. If my tie rod came off, i would totally loss control, because the steering will no longer be attached to the wheels.

0.0943sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:33 PM