169 Pages « < 155 156 157 158 159 > » Bottom

LYN Official Hyundai Elantra MD Club V9, Interested? Curious? Owner? Join Us!

peace_lover
post May 11 2017, 05:27 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(FCRS @ May 11 2017, 04:54 PM)
looks like no safety systems like the Ioniq visible from the first picture as there is nothing under the rear view mirror. This means no autonomous braking, no lane assist.

If it did come with all the safety features like the Ioniq along with the 1.6T,  then this would be the must have car.
for 1.6T I doubt it will have, the most only BSM and RCTA. If you research on other countries model you should know.
mlamlam
post May 11 2017, 05:33 PM

652 posts

looks like no safety systems like the Ioniq visible from the first picture as there is nothing under the rear view mirror. This means no autonomous braking, no lane assist.

If it did come with all the safety features like the Ioniq along with the 1.6T,  then this would be the must have car.

*I may be wrong, so we'll need to check the actual specifications. From the pictures from Paulina Tan the car seems to have blind spot monitoring.
there is a button to disable blind spot in the one in midvalley
but don't know have line keeping and AEB or not
mostwanted82
post May 11 2017, 06:08 PM

603 posts

*I may be wrong, so we'll need to check the actual specifications. From the pictures from Paulina Tan the car seems to have blind spot monitoring.
Yeah, if it comes with all safety features like ioniq then it is a must have car.
For me, hopefully it at least come with Android Auto HUD, and blind spot detection, then already better than civic
throx
post May 11 2017, 06:28 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

Only previewing the 1.6T ? How about the 2.0NA ?
peace_lover
post May 12 2017, 09:03 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ May 11 2017, 06:08 PM)
Yeah, if it comes with all safety features like ioniq then it is a must have car.
For me, hopefully it at least come with Android Auto HUD, and blind spot detection, then already better than civic
android auto not sure but I think if they really learn from ioniq failure of the HU, they should provide a better HU.
it should have BSM and RCTA.
FCRS
post May 12 2017, 09:45 AM

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ May 11 2017, 06:08 PM)
The main problem is the price. If the indication price of 135K is correct then I do not think it will sell at all. Just look at the Ford Focus as an example, priced at 139K with blind spot detection, rear traffic alert, more HP and torque, auto parking, not CVT and DCT, it still doesn't sell well at all albeit it is an overall better car.

Unless they have significant discounts (like the Focus which I bought in the end) then it's not going to win over any hearts. If they price at 120K then it will start to make a difference. Hopefully Hyundai are smart enough to release the car at the right price.
peace_lover
post May 12 2017, 10:00 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(FCRS @ May 12 2017, 09:45 AM)
The main problem is the price. If the indication price of 135K is correct then I do not think it will sell at all. Just look at the Ford Focus as an example, priced at 139K with blind spot detection, rear traffic alert, more HP and torque, auto parking, not CVT and DCT, it still doesn't sell well at all albeit it is an overall better car.
Unless they have significant discounts (like the Focus which I bought in the end) then it's not going to win over any hearts. If they price at 120K then it will start to make a difference. Hopefully Hyundai are smart enough to release the car at the right price.
initial selling price is one thing, after sales service is another important point.
if reliability is there and spare parts are easy to find, service technician is knowledgeable and helpful, then ppl will have confident owning the car and when more ppl buying it then RV will increase.

right now in Malaysia, ppl still buy T & H, T is because of the after sales service which is the top according to J.D. Power 2016 Malaysia Customer Service Index (CSI) Study even though their car are quite kosong in terms of features, true or not owners to tell.

H I am not sure, heard a lot of complains about the service centre now but still sell like hot cake maybe due to RV that has been building for years.
mostwanted82
post May 12 2017, 10:57 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(peace_lover @ May 12 2017, 10:00 AM)
initial selling price is one thing, after sales service is another important point.
if reliability is there and spare parts are easy to find, service technician is knowledgeable and helpful, then ppl will have confident owning the car and when more ppl buying it then RV will increase.

right now in Malaysia, ppl still buy T & H, T is because of the after sales service which is the top according to J.D. Power 2016 Malaysia Customer Service Index (CSI) Study even though their car are quite kosong in terms of features, true or not owners to tell.

H I am not sure, heard a lot of complains about the service centre now but still sell like hot cake maybe due to RV that has been building for years.
For Hyundai service centre, you have to go Hyundai Glenmarie if need any repair, so far they solved few of my problems, and service price is cheapest compare to other service dealers.

For RV, i do not think Elantra RV is that bad, i was told my elantra 1.8 2012 can get 56k to 60K in Jan. That time i asked to trade in for Ioniq.
peace_lover
post May 12 2017, 11:30 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ May 12 2017, 10:57 AM)
For Hyundai service centre, you have to go Hyundai Glenmarie if need any repair, so far they solved few of my problems, and service price is cheapest compare to other service dealers.

For RV, i do not think Elantra RV is that bad, i was told my elantra 1.8 2012 can get 56k to 60K in Jan. That time i asked to trade in for Ioniq.
trade in can get around 60k for 5 yrs car consider not bad lah.
FCRS
post May 12 2017, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(peace_lover @ May 12 2017, 10:00 AM)

The problem with the new Elantra is that if they do price the turbo at RM135K, even if it's the fastest most reliable car with the best service, most buyers will turn to T & H because of the future resale value.

I think it's mostly the resale value that everyone seems to care about, and also the price of the car. This is one thing that infuriates my every time someone justifies buying T & H. I always ask how long do you expect to keep the car? The answer is always quite a long time, 5-8 years. If money is always an issue the buy P1 or P2 because it's cheaper, the future monetary loss will not be as large in the future even if the RV is terrible.

peace_lover
post May 12 2017, 05:08 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(FCRS @ May 12 2017, 05:04 PM)
The problem with the new Elantra is that if they do price the turbo at RM135K, even if it's the fastest most reliable car with the best service, most buyers will turn to T & H because of the future resale value. 
I think it's mostly the resale value that everyone seems to care about, and also the price of the car. This is one thing that infuriates my every time someone justifies buying T & H. I always ask how long do you expect to keep the car? The answer is always quite a long time, 5-8 years. If money is always an issue the buy P1 or P2 because it's cheaper, the future monetary loss will not be as large in the future even if the RV is terrible.
but ppl here want RV and dowan local car, so the best they can choose is T & H loh.. even kosong, asal good RV ppl still buy.
throx
post May 12 2017, 07:31 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

If we refer to the prices at US, the 2.0NA was priced slightly below Civic 1.8 and 1.6T was priced slightly below Civic 1.5T. But since spec over there might be different, it's hard to tell how Sime/Hyundai would set the price.
lamode
post May 22 2017, 08:20 PM

anything could happen!
3,902 posts

QUOTE(FCRS @ May 12 2017, 05:04 PM)
with all the respect, i oppose.

the service interval for Civic turbo is a joke, it's estimated to be 5 times a year, assuming 20k / year mileage.
while the NA version is just 2 times, pretty standard.

I am not aware Toyota has any car with turbo in this category and price range. hmm.gif
crayzee
post May 22 2017, 11:35 PM

901 posts

The upcoming new elantra caught my attention recently but a little bit let down by the 2.0 MPI NU engine. It is running on atkinson cycle, which reviewer in USA mentioned is a little bit lethargic. Specs are 147 hp (110 kW; 149 PS) @ 6,200rpm and 132 lb·ft (179 N·m) at 4,500rpm.

The power is equivalent to a 1.8 NA regular cycle engine. We are expected to pay 2.0 roadtax but with a 1.8 equivalent power. The turbo is a better choice.
mostwanted82
post May 23 2017, 03:11 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ May 22 2017, 11:35 PM)
The upcoming new elantra caught my attention recently but a little bit let down by the 2.0 MPI NU engine. It is running on atkinson cycle, which reviewer in USA mentioned is a little bit lethargic.  Specs are 147 hp (110 kW; 149 PS) @ 6,200rpm and 132 lb·ft (179 N·m) at 4,500rpm.

The power is equivalent to a 1.8 NA regular cycle engine. We are expected to pay 2.0 roadtax but with a 1.8 equivalent power.  The turbo is a better choice.
Yes, i aiming turbo version.
still now any news yet for the new elantra......
peace_lover
post May 23 2017, 03:26 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(mostwanted82 @ May 23 2017, 03:11 PM)
Yes, i aiming turbo version.
still now any news yet for the new elantra......
jazz facelift also open for booking already and going to launch on 6/6/2017...
optima GT also open for booking and launching tomorrow...
hmm.gif
cytoh
post May 23 2017, 03:42 PM

25 posts

. deleted

This post has been edited by cytoh: May 23 2017, 03:44 PM
laurateoh
post May 23 2017, 08:26 PM

the new elantra is so nice!

1.6 turbo handles extremely well and is powerful even without sport mode. love the paddle shifters

the 2.0 cruises so comfortably. superb for families.

very different type of driving experience.

launch will be on 8 june!

mlamlam
post May 24 2017, 10:55 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(laurateoh @ May 23 2017, 08:26 PM)
the new elantra is so nice!

1.6 turbo handles extremely well and is powerful even without sport mode. love the paddle shifters

the 2.0 cruises so comfortably. superb for families.

very different type of driving experience.

launch will be on 8 june!
Sounds great, how about the HU, is it made from China like ioniq or follow Korea spec?
laurateoh
post May 24 2017, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(mlamlam @ May 24 2017, 10:55 AM)
Sounds great, how about the HU, is it made from China like ioniq or follow Korea spec?
Haven't had a chance to really play with it but I think it's something everyone will love wink.gif

169 Pages « < 155 156 157 158 159 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:52 AM