Income Tax Issues v3, Anything related to Personal Income Tax

SUSDavid83
post Mar 18 2014, 10:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(lalachong @ Mar 18 2014, 07:06 PM)
This is like an annual trip for staff to celebrate together.
Would this be taxable?
Then your wife needs to clarify this with the HR.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 18 2014, 10:43 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(den @ Mar 18 2014, 08:50 PM)
hi all,

may i know for investment-linked insurance, can i get tax relief?
is it also under this category "Life insurance and provident fund"?

thanks.
A investment linked life insurance policy or product is eligible for claim and usually the certain percentage of the premium is allotted for life insurance portion, medical portion and etc. You need read the annual statement from your insurance company for correct relief claim in the filing.

den
post Mar 19 2014, 08:04 AM

Plebeian
1,643 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 18 2014, 10:43 PM)
A investment linked life insurance policy or product is eligible for claim and usually the certain percentage of the premium is allotted for life insurance portion, medical portion and etc. You need read the annual statement from your insurance company for correct relief claim in the filing.
hi david, thanks.

i've gone through the annual statement again and it's written how many % is valid under life insurance tax relief etc.
zeese
post Mar 19 2014, 09:45 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Hi!
Can I get tax relief for purchasing recreational bicycles, like those bicycles sold in Giant? I had bought one for my kid..

Tq
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2014, 09:49 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Mar 19 2014, 09:45 AM)
Hi!
Can I get tax relief for purchasing recreational bicycles, like those bicycles sold in Giant? I had bought one for my kid..

Tq
First, you need to determine if that falls under sports equipment and its consumable. If it's not, then you cannot claim for it.
zeese
post Mar 19 2014, 09:53 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 19 2014, 09:49 AM)
First, you need to determine if that falls under sports equipment and its consumable. If it's not, then you cannot claim for it.
Cycling is indeed a sport activity, but the bicycle is not consumable.. So, I cannot claim tax relief for buying bicycle, is it? I need someone to confirm that my understanding is correct..

This post has been edited by zeese: Mar 19 2014, 09:56 AM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2014, 09:59 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Mar 19 2014, 09:53 AM)
Cycling is indeed a sport activity, but the bicycle is not consumable.. So, I cannot claim tax relief for buying bicycle, is it? I need someone to confirm that my understanding is correct..
Take badminton as an example.

Badminton is a sport activity is an approved sport under list from Ministry of Sports

Equipment: Racket
Consumable: Shuttlecock

Both are claimable.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 19 2014, 10:00 AM
yen128
post Mar 19 2014, 11:47 AM

18 posts

Submitted 300 claims, just got back rm60...==
Puteih
post Mar 19 2014, 11:49 AM

Dah ludah jilat balik
1,082 posts

Wah my company also haven't give me my EA form yet. Never knew they need to give before end of February.

Asked them, they said will give to me this week
lsh6218
post Mar 19 2014, 12:01 PM

20 posts

Hi all,

Could i claim my mother in law medical expenses under Perubatan Ibubapa?

SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2014, 12:43 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(lsh6218 @ Mar 19 2014, 12:01 PM)
Hi all,

Could i claim my mother in law medical expenses under Perubatan Ibubapa?

Can I claim medical expenses for my mother-in-law? She is staying with me and I pay for all her medical fees.

The tax relief of up to a maximum of RM5,000 is in respect of medical expenses expended by taxpayer for his parents. In your case, you are not entitled to claim the tax relief for your mother-in-law.

If your wife is working and/or earning an income, she would be entitled to claim the medical expenses for her mother provided that the claim is evidenced by a medical practitioner’s receipt.

URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx/?file...88503&sec=focus
sms2u
post Mar 19 2014, 02:26 PM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(rap7733 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:27 AM)
Filed my tax with e-filling on 01 Mac, received my rebate on 17 Mac. The payment is IGB to my bank account.
Do u have many rebate? Normally, people will less rebate will be refund faster.
rap7733
post Mar 19 2014, 06:28 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Mar 19 2014, 02:26 PM)
Rebate RM7XX only.
lalachong
post Mar 19 2014, 07:32 PM

294 posts

Submitted 5th Mar, got it today. 19 Mar. 14 days sharp sharp.
rebate about 2k
ShadowR1
post Mar 19 2014, 07:39 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Mar 19 2014, 02:26 PM)
Izzit, just submitted today with a projected rebate of 5k+, so I got to mmd la.
penangmee
post Mar 19 2014, 08:27 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(rap7733 @ Mar 18 2014, 08:27 AM)
Filed my tax with e-filling on 01 Mac, received my rebate on 17 Mac. The payment is IGB to my bank account.
1GB=Rm10000000000 refund?
mirzan007
post Mar 19 2014, 08:40 PM

501 posts

no more broadband claim this year sad.gif
sms2u
post Mar 19 2014, 10:51 PM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(penangmee @ Mar 19 2014, 08:27 PM)
1GB=Rm10000000000 refund?
I think typo error. It should be IBG (Interbank GIRO)
ju146
post Mar 20 2014, 10:55 AM

1,594 posts

hi all

i am Malaysian resident working with Malaysia company. However, i think i am staying less than 180 days in Malaysia due to oversea project. In such, do i still need to pay tax?
zeese
post Mar 20 2014, 11:10 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Mar 20 2014, 10:55 AM)
hi all

i am Malaysian resident working with Malaysia company. However, i think i am staying less than 180 days in Malaysia due to oversea project. In such, do i still need to pay tax?
Yes, because income tax is based on annual income.. in your case, your annual income = 180 days salary..
So, you still have to declare and file your income tax..

124 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:30 AM