Income Tax Issues v3, Anything related to Personal Income Tax

zeese
post Feb 5 2014, 10:41 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Hi!
If husband/wife file income tax separately.. i believe husband can get a tax relief for wife (RM3K).

As for the wife, when she files her own income tax, can she also get the Rm3k tax relief for having a husband?

zeese
post Feb 5 2014, 11:14 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Feb 5 2014, 10:55 AM)
If separately there's no category for tax relief from having spouse. It used to be (think still is) RM8k, but only if file jointly.
QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 5 2014, 10:56 AM)
You got it all wrong lah doh.gif doh.gif If it works like what you said, you get double tax relief.

If you assess separately, you don't get Spouse Tax Relief lah... assume you are single (though married) in the eyes of IRB. Only when you do COMIBINED ASSESSMENT, you can claim Spouse tax relief.
Oh.. So, there's no spouse tax relief for separate assessment.. Thank you guys.. I appreciate it. (I'm so glad it is not there for separate assesment. Otherwise, I gonna feel lots of regrets for not filing the spouse tax relief for the past many year .. if it is there).
zeese
post Mar 3 2014, 09:58 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Hi guys.. When filing income tax, in the dividend section (HK-3), there's a column to enter warrant or voucher no.

However, my warrant no is longer than I could enter. For example, warrant no is something like this DH1300001234567 (15 charactors & digits), but in e-filing, the maximum it can accept is 14 charactors/digits..

What should I do?
zeese
post Mar 6 2014, 05:50 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Mar 6 2014, 04:50 PM)
Guys, hope someone could shed some light. Do I need to fill in the "Pendapatan tahun kebelakang yang belum dilaporkan" as I have arrears payment on my EA, its a non fix standby allowance.

Can I just leave it blank, PCB and KWSP is deducted from that amount.

Cheers
LHDN can see there's extra PCB debited from your incometax account, but it's not shown in your e-filing (because you choose not to declare the arrears income & arrears PCB paid). So, there's a mismatch there between what LHDN see vs what you've file in e-filing.

If you happen to get audited, definitely they'll ask you to come to LHDN, either to punish you, or to ask you to fix your income tax filing ..

This post has been edited by zeese: Mar 6 2014, 05:52 PM
zeese
post Mar 7 2014, 10:45 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Mar 6 2014, 11:43 PM)
I might not get you there, I think most will have extra PCB debited after all the deduction and relieve.
They can see there's extra PCB debited, but they cannot see how much is your arrears income. So, LHDN can't calculate or make sure that that extra PCB is either overpaid or underpaid..

In other words, if you don't declare the "Pendapatan tahun kebelakang", it's like you tell LHDN.. "Okay, I paid my extra PCB already, but I won't tell you how much extra/arrears income I actually get. Just trust me that the PCB I paid is correct, and not underpaid".

This post has been edited by zeese: Mar 7 2014, 10:50 AM
zeese
post Mar 18 2014, 09:43 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(movanns @ Mar 18 2014, 09:29 AM)
lucky..i filed on 4th march, still haven't see snyting
my friend and I have received the refund too..
zeese
post Mar 18 2014, 09:46 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(movanns @ Mar 18 2014, 09:44 AM)
when did you filed? My friend also got refunded, but he filed on 1st
I filed on 1st March too.. But my friend submitted e-filing 1 week later than me, yet he received the refund earlier few days than me.
zeese
post Mar 19 2014, 09:45 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Hi!
Can I get tax relief for purchasing recreational bicycles, like those bicycles sold in Giant? I had bought one for my kid..

Tq
zeese
post Mar 19 2014, 09:53 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 19 2014, 09:49 AM)
First, you need to determine if that falls under sports equipment and its consumable. If it's not, then you cannot claim for it.
Cycling is indeed a sport activity, but the bicycle is not consumable.. So, I cannot claim tax relief for buying bicycle, is it? I need someone to confirm that my understanding is correct..

This post has been edited by zeese: Mar 19 2014, 09:56 AM
zeese
post Mar 20 2014, 11:10 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Mar 20 2014, 10:55 AM)
hi all

i am Malaysian resident working with Malaysia company. However, i think i am staying less than 180 days in Malaysia due to oversea project. In such, do i still need to pay tax?
Yes, because income tax is based on annual income.. in your case, your annual income = 180 days salary..
So, you still have to declare and file your income tax..
zeese
post Mar 27 2014, 05:54 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 27 2014, 04:51 PM)
Hi All,

I have bought an insurance policy by Prudential (life + medical card) last year 2013 and a bit confused on which column should I key into. I have also invested in PruCash and as claimed by my agent it is also deductible.

May I know which is the appropriate column? Thanks.

1. Insurans nyawa dan KWSP
Life insurance and provident fund

2. Insurans pendidikan dan perubatan
Education and medical insurance
Prudential should have itemized your statement already.. It should look something like this.
You can see clearly the first amount is for insurans nyawa & kwsp, and the second amount if for your education & medical insurance..

This post has been edited by zeese: Mar 27 2014, 05:55 PM
zeese
post Apr 11 2014, 05:09 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(lavenzo @ Apr 11 2014, 05:03 PM)
hello, wanna ask if computer parts can be tax relief?

like graphic card + HDD only or must be a whole computer?
computer part definitely cannot get tax relief..

Unless, you buy computer parts that can build a complete pc including monitor, keyboard, mouse, ram, hard disk, motherboard, power supply, etc, then, this one, you can get a tax relief..

This post has been edited by zeese: Apr 11 2014, 05:09 PM
zeese
post Apr 15 2014, 09:00 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Apr 14 2014, 09:18 PM)
btw guys, Insurans nyawa dan KWSP.

I need to add my life insurance premium and KWSP amount all together for 2013?  YES

In my Alliance's Insurance Statement

Life Insurance Premium + KWSP  = Insurans nyawa dan KWSP ?  YES

Medical Insurance Premium = Insurans pendidikan dan perubatan ?  YES
Answers are in red.
zeese
post Apr 15 2014, 09:38 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Hi All..

How do I make a 'rayuan'.

LHDN send me a letter, request me to pay more for tax some many years ago. But the way they calculated is wrong because they don't consider the PCB that I've paid.. sighh..

So, how do I make rayuan. Should I
-write a letter and mail it back to Ketua Pengarah or
-write a letter and come by to Pejabat Imigresen or
-Just drop by to pejabat imigresen and discussed about it there?

Please advise.
zeese
post Apr 15 2014, 10:22 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(aylwyn paul @ Apr 15 2014, 09:58 AM)
what happen to you? let me know you story. may be i can help you
Actually, this for taksiran year 2005. Earlier this year, I went to LHDN and filed my 2005 income tax form, because I didn't file it last time. The late filing is not an issue here.. They accepted my filing, and the tax amount I have to pay is RM167 (Before pcb deduction). In my EA form, the pcb for year 2005 is RM135. So, total I have to top up should be RM32.

Now, a few months later, I believe they went to through the form that I submitted and requested me to pay RM167 + rm60 (penalty). In the letter, they showed how they calculated the amount, and clearly in the calculation, they don't deduct the PCB that I've paid.

So, now, I have to do rayuan to tell them that they didn't deduct my pcb. Instead of RM167 + penalty, it should be RM32 + penalty only. So, this is what I'm asking here. How to do the rayuan.

(On the other hand, I'm also suspicious about this old company. The company was closed down due to financial problem. It could be the company deducted my salary for pcb and recorded in my EA form, but it didn't actually submit the money to LHDN. So, probably LHDN sent me a letter to simply say they didn't have my PCB record.. Just my speculation though. )

This post has been edited by zeese: Apr 15 2014, 10:23 AM
zeese
post Apr 15 2014, 10:38 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(aylwyn paul @ Apr 15 2014, 10:26 AM)
DO YOU KEEP YOUR SALARY SLIP?
I think I still have the slip.
zeese
post Apr 15 2014, 02:17 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(aylwyn paul @ Apr 15 2014, 11:25 AM)
I SUGGEST  YOU WRITE A LETTER TOGETHER WITH THE PAYMENT FOR THE BALANCE I.E. 167+60-135-32(IF PAYMENT ALREADY MADE)=60.

P/S. SEND CHEQUE FOR BALANCE OF PAYMENT
Tq for your advise. I'll mail them a letter soon..
zeese
post Apr 15 2014, 03:47 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 15 2014, 02:27 PM)
Let say I don't have insurance premium, I just key in KWSP value?
Yes.
zeese
post Apr 16 2014, 08:51 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(KOHTT @ Apr 15 2014, 11:45 PM)

I agree with you that there is no harm to claim from LHDN since Govt actually encouraged it by allowing us to claim against our tax. Most important thing is the org that received the money actually utilized money for welfare purpose. flex.gif
Nope, cannot simply claim just because it is for charity, because lhdn clearly states, it must be from approved list of organizations..
zeese
post Apr 29 2014, 03:04 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Apr 29 2014, 11:30 AM)

I wanted to ask the dividends we received from unit trusts, how do we know how much we can claim back for the tax paid by the fund house because I read somewhere it says the tax they paid at 25% but we individuals have not reach that tax bracket yet so we are eligible to claim back the tax difference.

Please advice.
if your maximum tax bracket is, let say 23%, since the divident tax is paid at 25%, that means you can get 2% refund.. (this is simplified calculation for easier understanding).

0.0272sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:49 PM