27 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Health All About Air Purifier, Info, Reviews, Comments etc

sa1thong
post Sep 22 2009, 12:13 AM

Hi All,

Anyone know PURAIR 400A still selling RM888? Where selling this with best price? contact?

Thank you

QUOTE(RayV @ Aug 22 2009, 12:48 PM)
Hi All,

Just to share. AAF (American Air Filter) now having new launch promotion of PurAir 400A.
About 40% discount from retail price for pre-launch promotion.

Retail price: RM1499/unit
New launch promotion: RM888/unit

Briefly, this unit have 6 levels of filtration system to ensure your Indoor Air Quality (IAQ).
Especially, the HEPA filter (99.99% @ 0.3um) for Haze filtration and UV lights for virus & bacteria killing.
Gas phase filter for Odors filtration.
It is a improve version of PurAir 400.

FYI, AAF is a MNC company specialize on industrial filter manufacturing.
Includes Cleanroom HEPA & ULPA, Turbine intake filter, commercial building filter, pulp & paper mils filtration system etc.

Any one interested or more detail needed you can PM me.

Promotion period: 17 Aug to 16 Sept 2009.
Just for once.

Thank you!

[attachmentid=1152113]
[attachmentid=1152115]

Added on August 27, 2009, 10:25 pm

Hi All,

I received news from AAF factory side that they decided to shorten the pre-launch promotion period from 16 Sept 2009 to 31 Aug 2009.
And will release PurAir 400A to open market. If you still interested on PurAir 400A, you can get it from any Jusco outlet or any AAF distributor.

Once again thanks for your interest on AAF product.
Thank you!

Regards,
RayV
wrb7878
post Sep 22 2009, 02:22 PM

843 posts

Promotion is end on last friday. now market is selling at RM1499.

Onemorething
post Sep 22 2009, 04:31 PM

192 posts

Everyone is getting into the Air Purifier market these days it seems. I again must emphasize the importance of spending more money on something that is proven, tested and then clearly receives a real positive conclusion from the end users (the consumer).

I have done all my research for over 2 years to come to the conclusion to use Alen Air Purifiers! WHY, they absolutely work, you will notice a difference! They have been tested by the top independent labs in the established Air Purifier Markets and come out on top!

Finally, they are as good as the top Air Purifiers used in hospitals but at a price lower than its closer competitor IQAir! It is my understanding the IQAir 250 sold in KL is around $4200RM and that Alen may be priced around $2880RM introductory which is less than 30% less expensive, considerably smaller, beautiful tower design (if that is important to you) and is whisper quiet (VERY IMPORTANT FOR SLEEPING).

SHARP AP's do not even fall into the high performance range but if you want to compare, they are only priced 25% less than Alen from my initial calculations.

Just like some purchases in life, you should not put a price on your air quality and health, however it is my understanding that Alen Corp. was built on the principal of bringing the very best performance to the consumer so price was a major consideration and why they have been so successful.

I have three Paralda's, one for each of my childrens rooms and our master bedroom and the awesome A375 which does all the hard work in my combined living room/dining area. Each Paralda also covers 400sqft while the A375 handles 800sqft.

Hope this helps!

Added on September 22, 2009, 4:47 pmHello All,

I understand that the new MD for SE Asia for Alen is setting up in KL already and will likely release the Paralda and A375UV for direct introduction in the next 3-4 weeks.

They will be targeting the major retailers as it seems there has been many requested to date.

This post has been edited by Onemorething: Sep 22 2009, 04:47 PM
HW-Racer
post Sep 22 2009, 09:57 PM

729 posts

I bought the sharp plasmacluster KC840E recently at RM1200...it is much cheaper than the Alen air purifier...
and i understand that sharp is the proprietor of the plasmacluster (discharge positive & negative ion technology)
???
Onemorething
post Sep 22 2009, 11:51 PM

192 posts

The Air Purifier should have at the very least a HEPA Filter, UV Filter and Ionizer. Then once you have these it is how these three are tested/perform and the quality of each working together to clean the air. Tested Effectiveness for the highest performers are 98% or greater.

As discussed, you get what you pay for and to be honest, I have yet to see any of the SHARP models measure up in the independent tests.

Furthermore, I have owned one and could not qualify or quantify if it was actually working as there was no improvement in our health however this was not the case with Alen. It made a REAL difference immediately (2-3 days). From sore throats, coughing and nasal problems, all seemed to be cleared up.

I am not knocking SHARP AP's but after owning their top Plasmacluster Model from 2008, I was not convinced it was doing me any good.

Added on September 25, 2009, 9:36 amHello All, this was written by the MD for Alen Asia about HEPA and the other values of Alen and or other high performance Air Purifiers like IQ Air.

Even at the high end of the market with IQAIR & ALEN, Alen is leading the way in providing the absolute best and innovative product at affordable prices. Why would you settle for anything less! See below!

"I think most people need to realize that a good air purifier not only has HEPA but other technologies to remove various pollutants. What really sets Alen apart is we offer a multi-filtration technology I think this will answer most of your questions.

Also note that even in other air purifiers its not the HEPA filter that removes gases from our home but the other little known technologies that are incorporated in to a high performance air purifier like IQ or Alen and this is why different models / options are offered.

Alen filtration technologies can be turned on or off depending on what you're trying to achieve.

1ST TECHNOLOGY

Photo-Catalytic Oxidation

Our A375UV is best in class and only air purifier out there that can permanently remove a wide range of gases, volatile organic compounds, smoke, ammonia, etc.. Other gas air purifiers typically use carbon, which can be a problem because carbon stores gases which can be released at a later whereas our solution permanently eliminates the gas/odor on contact. Exclusive targeted technology was developed to address specific indoor air pollutants by PhD chemists and patented.

The A375UV includes UV-PCO(UV Photo Catalytic Oxidation) technology to reduce the levels of VOC's. The interaction of UV-C light and a permanent titanium dioxide (TiO2) grid serves as a photocatalyst to carry out hydrolysis (ie.to break water into hydrogen and oxygen). As TiO2 is exposed to UV light, it becomes increasingly hydrophilic; thus, it can be used reduce concentrations of airborne pollutants such as volatile organic compounds into harmless elements. Ya, we pack a lot of technology into our little air purifiers! As a safety feature, the UV-C lights and titanium dioxide grid are located on the inner most section of the A375UV.

SECOND TECHNOLOGY

UV Light (ultraviolet)

Our UV air purifiers have been tested to eliminate over 96%,

Ultraviolet light kills microorganisms by damaging the DNA. UV radiation disrupts the chemical bonds that hold the atoms of DNA together in the microorganism. If enough of these defects accumulate on a microorganism's DNA its replication is inhibited, thereby rendering it harmless. If the damage is severe enough, the bacteria cannot repair the damage and will die.

Bacteria are single cell microorganisms that exist everywhere. They are often 0.2 to 5 microns in diameter and most do not create an issue for people. But the ones that can present problems are pretty bad problems:

* Staphylococcus aureus are bacteria known to cause "staph" infections.
* Klebsiella pneumonia is a bacteria that can cause pneumonia.
* E Coli is a bacteria that is often associated with food poisoning but it also exists in the air and can affect the respiratory system.

3RD TECHNOLOGY

NEW Silver Ion HEPA Filtration (Silver has been around for thousands of year and hopefully one of the answers to reduce swine flu)

The new Silver Ion HEPA filter eliminates up to 99% of bacteria, up to 50% of viruses that cause influenza and 99% of airborne allergens. The Silver Ion HEPA filter is coated with Silver Ion, which is antimicrobial. This keeps germs from developing inside the unit and prevents bacteria from being blown into the air. Silver Ion coatings greatly reduce the presence of fungi and bacteria within five minutes of operation. Through a process of denaturation and oxidation, the structure of the enzyme that produces oxygen gets detached and silver ion particles produce reactive oxygen in the air which works to destroy over 650 types of bacteria. Toxic to viruses and bacteria, silver ion is harmless to humans.

4TH TECHNOLOGY

True Hepa

This is the same filter technology as recommended by the US Department of Homeland Security to remove harmful airborne particles in a terrorist threat. Tested at over 1,000% better than the leading ionic air purifier and up to 50% better than leading HEPA type air purifiers by the world's leading independent test.

We have more developments on the way but this should do for now. Thanks for you're question."

This post has been edited by Onemorething: Sep 25 2009, 09:36 AM
kllady
post Oct 3 2009, 02:08 PM

super8=ionizier+ozonizer+air purifier+sterillizer+deodorizer
www.super8.com.my
redwin
post Oct 5 2009, 12:46 AM

Hi..

anyone bother to buy panasonic air filter/purifier? why not? plan to get one.
Onemorething
post Oct 6 2009, 09:37 AM

192 posts

Good news for the possible massive flu season. Our new Silver Ion Hepa filters available for all models will be arriving mid-September from the U.S

The new Silver Ion HEPA filter eliminates up to 98% of bacteria, up to 50% of viruses that cause influenza and 99% of airborne allergens. The Silver Ion HEPA filter is coated with Silver Ion, which is antimicrobial. This keeps germs from developing inside the unit and prevents bacteria from being blown into the air. Silver Ion coatings greatly reduce the presence of fungi and bacteria within five minutes of operation. Through a process of denaturation and oxidation, the structure of the enzyme that produces oxygen gets detached and silver ion particles produce reactive oxygen in the air which works to destroy over 650 types of bacteria. Toxic to viruses and bacteria, silver ion is harmless to humans.

To see a diagram on how it works follow this link:

http://www.alencorpasia.com/v/vspfiles/ass...silvernano2.jpg

Novel
post Oct 9 2009, 04:54 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(redwin @ Oct 5 2009, 12:46 AM)
Hi..

anyone bother to buy panasonic air filter/purifier? why not? plan to get one.
i won't buy it coz no uv light, can't kill virus.
streetkid
post Oct 9 2009, 07:00 PM

116 posts

im planning to get one air purifier and budget below RM1k.. can anyone suggest me the best brand and model for my room.. size 13 feet x 8 feet.. The main reason is DUST!! to make sure the dust that flying around my room to go away!! Because it really does distract me 100%.. Suggest to me pls..!! Desperate to get one..!!
happy invest
post Oct 11 2009, 06:07 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Onemorething @ Sep 22 2009, 11:51 PM)
The Air Purifier should have at the very least a HEPA Filter, UV Filter and Ionizer.  Then once you have these it is how these three are tested/perform and the quality of each working together to clean the air.  Tested Effectiveness for the highest performers are 98% or greater.

As discussed, you get what you pay for and to be honest, I have yet to see any of the SHARP models measure up in the independent tests. 

Furthermore, I have owned one and could not qualify or quantify if it was actually working as there was no improvement in our health however this was not the case with Alen.  It made a REAL difference immediately (2-3 days).  From sore throats, coughing and nasal problems, all seemed to be cleared up.

I am not knocking SHARP AP's but after owning their top Plasmacluster Model from 2008, I was not convinced it was doing me any good.

Added on September 25, 2009, 9:36 amHello All, this was written by the MD for Alen Asia about HEPA and the other values of Alen and or other high performance Air Purifiers like IQ Air. 

Even at the high end of the market with IQAIR & ALEN, Alen is leading the way in providing the absolute best and innovative product at affordable prices.  Why would you settle for anything less!  See below!

"I think most people need to realize that a good air purifier not only has HEPA but other technologies to remove various pollutants. What really sets Alen apart is we offer a multi-filtration technology I think this will answer most of your questions.

Also note that even in other air purifiers its not the HEPA filter that removes gases from our home but the other little known technologies that are incorporated in to a high performance air purifier like IQ or Alen and this is why different models / options are offered.
Alen filtration technologies can be turned on or off depending on what you're trying to achieve.

1ST TECHNOLOGY

Photo-Catalytic Oxidation

Our A375UV is best in class and only air purifier out there that can permanently remove a wide range of gases, volatile organic compounds, smoke, ammonia, etc.. Other gas air purifiers typically use carbon, which can be a problem because carbon stores gases which can be released at a later whereas our solution permanently eliminates the gas/odor on contact. Exclusive targeted technology was developed to address specific indoor air pollutants by PhD chemists and patented.

The A375UV includes UV-PCO(UV Photo Catalytic Oxidation) technology to reduce the levels of VOC's. The interaction of UV-C light and a permanent titanium dioxide (TiO2) grid serves as a photocatalyst to carry out hydrolysis (ie.to break water into hydrogen and oxygen). As TiO2 is exposed to UV light, it becomes increasingly hydrophilic; thus, it can be used reduce concentrations of airborne pollutants such as volatile organic compounds into harmless elements. Ya, we pack a lot of technology into our little air purifiers! As a safety feature, the UV-C lights and titanium dioxide grid are located on the inner most section of the A375UV.
SECOND TECHNOLOGY

UV Light (ultraviolet)

Our UV air purifiers have been tested to eliminate over 96%,

Ultraviolet light kills microorganisms by damaging the DNA. UV radiation disrupts the chemical bonds that hold the atoms of DNA together in the microorganism. If enough of these defects accumulate on a microorganism's DNA its replication is inhibited, thereby rendering it harmless. If the damage is severe enough, the bacteria cannot repair the damage and will die.

Bacteria are single cell microorganisms that exist everywhere. They are often 0.2 to 5 microns in diameter and most do not create an issue for people. But the ones that can present problems are pretty bad problems:

* Staphylococcus aureus are bacteria known to cause "staph" infections.
* Klebsiella pneumonia is a bacteria that can cause pneumonia.
* E Coli is a bacteria that is often associated with food poisoning but it also exists in the air and can affect the respiratory system.

3RD TECHNOLOGY

NEW Silver Ion HEPA Filtration (Silver has been around for thousands of year and hopefully one of the answers to reduce swine flu)

The new Silver Ion HEPA filter eliminates up to 99% of bacteria, up to 50% of viruses that cause influenza and 99% of airborne allergens. The Silver Ion HEPA filter is coated with Silver Ion, which is antimicrobial. This keeps germs from developing inside the unit and prevents bacteria from being blown into the air. Silver Ion coatings greatly reduce the presence of fungi and bacteria within five minutes of operation. Through a process of denaturation and oxidation, the structure of the enzyme that produces oxygen gets detached and silver ion particles produce reactive oxygen in the air which works to destroy over 650 types of bacteria. Toxic to viruses and bacteria, silver ion is harmless to humans.
4TH TECHNOLOGY

True Hepa

This is the same filter technology as recommended by the US Department of Homeland Security to remove harmful airborne particles in a terrorist threat. Tested at over 1,000% better than the leading ionic air purifier and up to 50% better than leading HEPA type air purifiers by the world's leading independent test.

We have more developments on the way but this should do for now. Thanks for you're question."

Added on October 11, 2009, 6:13 amPls provide me the website abt this alen Asia air purifier, I wld like to seek consultation if situation is allowed. my children recently r facing nose block and hv been hvg a night cough very often, almost feed him the doc medicine like a normal drinking water!

This post has been edited by happy invest: Oct 11 2009, 06:13 AM
HW-Racer
post Oct 11 2009, 07:57 AM

729 posts

looks like air purifier getting cheaper.... saw a few new models from SHARP and also Phillips at Best Denki & Harvey Norman...all
below RM1K.... I got my sharp plasmacluster KC840e with humidfying function at RM1200
viruz
post Oct 15 2009, 06:50 PM

820 posts

For me, there are 2 things that I feel is the most important when buying an air purifier.

1. HEPA filter - need to read carefully, make sure is a real HEPA because there are a lot of company claims HEPA filter but actually not, a lot of them are HEPA-alike filter. The main function of HEPA filter is to filter up particles (viruses and bacterial) found in air, and a HEPA filter is able to filter up 99.7% of 0.03 micron particles.

2. Active Carbon filter - used to filter up odour and make air fresh. Once air passes thru carbon filter, it contains a type of smell, some ppl might not get used to it but actually this is the smell of freshness.

The rest of the thing is not so important but is a plus to have:

1. Ionizer - Theorytically it releases negative charged ions to the air which is used to attach to particles in air and neutralise it, sounds good but I think it is more on marketing purposes. The truth is, the mechanism to release negative ion is real, a simple electronic circuit can cause sharp metal blade to produce negative ion easily and release them to the air. The problem is, the effectiveness are very much reduced by the humidity of the air, once the negative ion is released it will most probably neutralised by the water particles found in the air, only small portion of ions go for other particles. The other important thing is the amount of discharged ions, it has to be stay below a recommended amount, too much of negative ions will formed into ozone and this is harmful to lung.

2. UV - an additional protection to kill germs, but most of the germs are already filtered out at HEPA filter.

3. Humidity control - good to have if your room is under air conditioning most of the time, this is to prevent skin dryness. But increased in humidity will reduce the effectiveness of Ionizer, and also promote the grow of fungus and mold in the surrounding area.

There might be some other additional functions which I miss or don't know, before I bought an air filter 2 years back I did some study, and I found out some direct selling company even price their normal air filter at very high price, for eg Amway air filter at more than RM4k with prefilter, HEPA, and carbon filter, at the end I bought a sharp air filter FU2x at RM699.

Reasons are:

1. It is sharp, a well known company, reputation is very important to them.
2. It is cheap, and it has functions I need.
3. Nice design.
4. The same products have been selling worldwide and especially in US, we all know that US consumer takes their right seriously.

At the end, no regret, it works for me and my family, my parents bought Amway air filter at RM4888, tried it and feel the same, both works the same way, same result, but 1 priced affordable, 1 price at MLM level.

Hope this helps.
HW-Racer
post Oct 15 2009, 11:03 PM

729 posts

i got 2 units of Sharp air-filter... one RM699 and the other one KC840 at RM1200 with humidfying...
so far so good... but noticed that the models sold in USA are different than those sold in
malaysia...wonder y ?
Onemorething
post Oct 20 2009, 10:25 AM

192 posts

Virus, good explanation! The MLM model accounts for a company buyer who has aligned themselves with an OEM manufacturer, could be SHARP's factory could be anyone but one thing for sure, the product is marked up accordingly through the MLM commission structure.

Your analysis for making a purchase is typical for a first time buyer of AP's. Sharp seems to have done a very good job of marketing thier product line in Asia. I know as I purchased one about 3 years ago when I lived in HK.

This issue for me is it didnt change the symptoms faced by my wife to the point where I didnt know if it was working at all. That is the big question? How do you know it is working?

The only way to know is a head to head test whereas you take the room to be purified, and do a before and after test with a Particle Analyzer.

The second way is to build your knowledge based on purely independant testing which can be found via the internet.

For me, I couldnt find a Particle Analyzer! The brand in question SHARP would not provide me with any resources showing me that they passed any independant tests nor was SHARP ever awarded anything in the Air Purification Segment.

I went the direction of trusting the independant tests and speaking directly to the top two companies which ranked very high, IQ AIR and ALEN.

Both were forthcoming with their test results however when I priced them both the IQ AIR was about 40% more expensive than the ALEN which has a TRUE HEPA FILTER plus all the benefits listed in my above posts.

Remember as well, SHARP builds everything under the sun, ALEN was build around the challenge of finding the very best, affordable solution for Air Purification. They are leading by example in both setting a new standard for quality, performance and price making them the #1 Air Purifier in America in a very short period of time.

I can understand your process for analysis as it is pretty much close to where I was 3 years ago however my requirement for guaranteed clean air and making a difference for my wife and two children came first.

Make the right decision once and price will not be an issue!
basSist
post Oct 20 2009, 11:52 AM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

viruz,Onemorething

Think many of us are mistaking the genuine MLM company with those do-and-run MLM companies. Without much explanation, I'll provide some links for you to judge yourself. Please compare them in air purifier category but not marketing strategy category, this might give them a fair comparison.

Amway Atmosphere Air Purifier
http://www.asthmaandallergyfriendly.com/care/100.pdf

Asthma & Allergy Friendly Certified Products: http://www.asthmaandallergyfriendly.com/fi...&category_id=19

Sharp Air Purifier
http://www.sharp.com.my/images/56590-1614-AIRPURIFIER.pdf

I couldn't find any certified program by 3rd party for sharp. Please provide if you found one.

This post has been edited by basSist: Oct 20 2009, 11:57 AM
TheExtreme
post Oct 20 2009, 08:26 PM

43 posts

Anyway got few question still flying in my mind. Already PM the guy who recommend this product (Purair 400A) in this post, sum how he kept silent to reply my PM although he is online. So, i post it here therefore if got any party can answer it ;

1. How do i know the Ionizer works? Coz it is very subjective right, we cant see the ion with our eyes

2. How do i know the UV lamp already kaput ? It is lays inside the compartment. Cant see liao if it is kaput or not.

3. Some how i cant feel the different if got this unit in my master bedroom. It is about the same with or without air purifier. Is it mean this product is no good ?

This post has been edited by TheExtreme: Oct 20 2009, 08:30 PM
RayV
post Oct 21 2009, 08:35 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(TheExtreme @ Oct 20 2009, 08:26 PM)
Anyway got few question still flying in my mind. Already PM the guy who recommend this product (Purair 400A) in this post, sum how he kept silent to reply my PM although he is online. So, i post it here therefore if got any party can answer it ;

1. How do i know the Ionizer works? Coz it is very subjective right, we cant see the ion with our eyes

2. How do i know the UV lamp already kaput ? It is lays inside the compartment. Cant see liao if it is kaput or not.

3. Some how i cant feel the different if got this unit in my master bedroom. It  is about the same with or without air purifier. Is it mean this product is no good ?
Hi Extreme,

Very sorry i have overlooked ur message.... I just keep looking on forum din not check my Inbox.
I have requested factory side ppl contact you to clarify the above question you asking.
Thank you!

Onemorething
post Oct 21 2009, 09:46 AM

192 posts

BasSist,

Thanks for the links.

To All, MLM is a legitimate business model and run by legitimate companies. I should know, I used to be in AMWAY in a senior role in North America back in the 90's.

My point is AMWAY does not have the internal qualified staff which can develop products so they outsource the design (give a wish list to a manufacturer/designer) and likely have one product champion internally to launch it.

Secondly, given the MLM model the product retail price must marked up accordingly with the top line down commission structure SO the unit when sold must pay the collective.

Lastly, the Atmosphere AP comes well appointed with features and benefits which play with the Tier 1 AP's BUT at a price tag which plays there as well.

It's priced equal too or greater than the IQ AIR products which equates too over $4000-$4500 RM per unit.

If you wish to do a proper Air Purification in a 3 bedroom home, you would need at least 5 units as each only cover 395sqft each. One for each Bedroom, 1 for each living area or 2 for large living dining area.

Initial investement would run over $20,000 RM.

TCO (Total Cost Of Ownership) would be high as well as both the HEPA and Carbon Filter are priced considerably high at approx. $700 RM & $450 RM respectively PER YEAR!

I am pointing this out to all readers as they should account for both the initial cost and ongoing costs before making the right decision.

There is one company focused on Air Purification Solely, is a Tier 1 top performer, with lowest initial price, lowest ongoing costs and has become the Americas #1 Air Purifier! ALEN!
hackwire
post Nov 11 2009, 06:38 PM

4,256 posts

i had go for alen brand due to the test and reviews i found in the internet. nowadays, if the product got no reviews or testimony by those who had use is basically a marketing gimmick.
I didn't get Sharp or Honeywell in the end is because they lack the information and they don't stack up.

I can understand why Sharp not revealing any of the information to the public. It's because they use a lot of TV advert to brainwash couple with mass production price to lower the price.

Why I love Alen?
It came with Lifetime Warranty. That's confidence . Typical American built product , always lasting and confident.

27 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0251sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:24 PM