205 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

kktong83
post Nov 16 2015, 09:02 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 16 2015, 08:49 AM)
what amps do drive your speakers with?
Currently burned my NR727 onkyo. Was thinking getting Marantz
hushymushy
post Nov 16 2015, 09:49 AM

1,708 posts

I'd be honest....AVR with music has its limitation.....
sonerin
post Nov 16 2015, 10:08 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(kktong83 @ Nov 16 2015, 09:01 AM)
Speaker maybe 3k.. i was thinking changing them to bookshelf type.. maybe dynaudio or focal .. coz i also listen to music alot

Center also need to change?
Is not a must to change the center but is recommended because different speaker can be different sound. You can consider XLS encore
sonerin
post Nov 16 2015, 10:11 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(kktong83 @ Nov 16 2015, 09:02 AM)
Currently burned my NR727 onkyo. Was thinking getting Marantz
Why Marantz if you don't mind me asking ? Can consider denon or pioneer or yamaha
skeelee
post Nov 16 2015, 10:19 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 16 2015, 09:49 AM)
I'd be honest....AVR with music has its limitation.....
AVR front L-R pre-out to your chosen hi-fi preamp, best of both worlds.
skeelee
post Nov 16 2015, 10:21 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 16 2015, 10:11 AM)
Why Marantz if you don't mind me asking ? Can consider denon or pioneer or yamaha
I suppose it's because Marantz is more well-known for its hi-fi amps and therefore its AVR should perform better in its audio department than others?
hushymushy
post Nov 16 2015, 10:26 AM

1,708 posts

depending how serious an audiophile he wants to get into

using the AVR as pre and a separate power amp is an option....

for me....my audio and ht is separate setup...
skeelee
post Nov 16 2015, 10:33 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 16 2015, 10:26 AM)

What I meant is using AVR to output front L-R to another dedicated hi-fi setup for the AV duty, and use the hi-fi setup for audio without the AVR.
That is if you can only setup the gears in one place, and do not have space for separate front speakers for both AV and audio.
hushymushy
post Nov 16 2015, 10:37 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(skeelee @ Nov 16 2015, 10:33 AM)
What I meant is using AVR to output front L-R to another dedicated hi-fi setup for the AV duty, and use the hi-fi setup for audio without the AVR.
That is if you can only setup the gears in one place, and do not have space for separate front speakers for both AV and audio.
as good as having separate system in that case....am i right?
kktong83
post Nov 16 2015, 10:42 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 16 2015, 10:11 AM)
My Onkyo KO after 2 years and only give me 1 year warranty. I heard Marantz is more reliable and their music is more warm.

QUOTE(skeelee @ Nov 16 2015, 10:19 AM)
AVR front L-R pre-out to your chosen hi-fi preamp, best of both worlds.
QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 16 2015, 10:26 AM)

I'm considering , but due to budget I may have to buy another amp. I was considering maybe also a Active Bookshelf Loudspeaker maybe that elimate my needs for another amp. What do you guys think?

Atmos Receiver --> Preout --> Active Bookshelf Speaker
Move Front L/R Focal Dome to Rear L Rear R
Install Ceiling Speaker

So I can get best of both world

This post has been edited by kktong83: Nov 16 2015, 10:46 AM
sonerin
post Nov 16 2015, 04:17 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(kktong83 @ Nov 16 2015, 10:42 AM)
My Onkyo KO after 2 years and only give me 1 year warranty. I heard Marantz is more reliable and their music is more warm.
I'm considering , but due to budget I may have to buy another amp.  I was considering maybe  also a Active Bookshelf Loudspeaker maybe that elimate my needs for another amp. What do you guys  think?

Atmos Receiver --> Preout --> Active Bookshelf Speaker
Move Front L/R Focal Dome to Rear L Rear R
Install Ceiling Speaker

So I can get best of both world
You can try but most likely it wont be much different.
dirtrun
post Nov 16 2015, 05:08 PM

3,136 posts

I am a Marantz avr user and I will testify to its robustness from de ol Pro Logic days to current 7002.. Heck given an opportunity, l'd go wif a new 7009 or 7010 when I upgrd..

D
Alan Yee
post Nov 17 2015, 02:02 PM

1,031 posts

Hi all sifu, need help for recommendation for an AV receiver.

Yesterday night, while I played my Bluray integrated HTS, my system blown, heard a pop sound, spark coming out near the disc tray, some smoke coming out, then system gone.
The speakers for the HTS are still ok, only the player/receiver gone.

Plan to get a cheap AV receiver with HDMI input that can decode Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA, then plug back the old speaker with the amp.
Will buy a separate Cinavia free Bluray 3D player for the system.

Currently I only saw a cheap receiver that go as cheap as RM1199.
- PIONEER 5.1-channel AV Receiver VSX-329-K.

Still looking for much cheaper AV receiver with this capability.

I'm not into audiophile to invest more on the system, just need something cheap to begin with.

sonerin
post Nov 17 2015, 02:05 PM

8,739 posts

Usually those home theater system will not allow you to just buy a new receiver and plug the speakers in. You have to change everything
Alan Yee
post Nov 17 2015, 02:18 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 17 2015, 02:05 PM)
Usually those home theater system will not allow you to just buy a new receiver and plug the speakers in. You have to change everything
In of what it is not allowed to doing so?
My HTS speaker is not those hardwired with connector, it is more close to those AV receiver where it is wire clamp, you can easily plug in any speaker without any connector.

Another concern, maybe is the Ohm or Wattage of the speaker itself.
So, still need to change everything?
sonerin
post Nov 17 2015, 02:39 PM

8,739 posts

Yes you should or it might burn something else
hushymushy
post Nov 17 2015, 03:24 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Nov 17 2015, 02:18 PM)
In of what it is not allowed to doing so?
My HTS speaker is not those hardwired with connector, it is more close to those AV receiver where it is wire clamp, you can easily plug in any speaker without any connector.

Another concern, maybe is the Ohm or Wattage of the speaker itself.
So, still need to change everything?
generally AVR supports 4ohms to 8ohms speakers

if you don't mind used stuffs...there are quite a few AVRs in several forums that may meet your budget

Alan Yee
post Nov 17 2015, 04:30 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Nov 17 2015, 03:24 PM)
generally AVR supports 4ohms to 8ohms speakers

if you don't mind used stuffs...there are quite a few AVRs in several forums that may meet your budget
Thanks for your suggestion.
Notice the speaker spec of the broken HTiB is 4ohms, should be no problem.

May end up getting an entry level DENON AVR-X500
dirtrun
post Nov 17 2015, 05:07 PM

3,136 posts

Problem wif entry level is tat u tend to hv 'upgraditis' ...
If u stay in de hobby long enuf..
I have noticed tat its 'inevitable'...

D
LeChuCk
post Nov 18 2015, 10:08 AM

SQ Aficionado
724 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Nov 13 2015, 01:01 AM)
Nice and neat setup, looks like you have a big and comfy place, makes the 60in TV look like 40in .. The distance to the TV more than 12 feet?
Thanks for the compliments bro..Distance from tv to view is around 10 feet +..It looks I might need a 70" TV soon biggrin.gif

205 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:19 AM