4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

dirtrun
post Jun 25 2014, 11:04 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(drtai2014 @ Jun 24 2014, 12:24 PM)
Just bought a 2nd hand 7.1 channel receiver to handle my dvd collection, mostly old movies which have been downloaded and 'burnt'. In order to overcome the different audio qualities of the dvd's, i have opted for this unconventional speaker set-up (to make full use of the many speakers I have, the number of viewers, the room acoustics, etc). 2 centre speakers below the TV, 2 front and 2 rear speakers to the front channel, 2 speakers each for the rear surround - a total of 10 speakers. And for the setting, instead of Dolby, DTS, etc which had not existed then, I used Neural music, etc for the special effects. I am open to criticisms or even condemnations.
Wanna ask,

1. How u connect em? I mean like for de 2 Ctrs..

2. Neural Music is in ur avr setting??
As far as I know , most of old / er Std Def DVD's only come in stereo [ n sum only mono - I know cos I collect sum old ttls myself ] n if u use Dolby Pro Logic or its kind - it does its job in ctring most of de signals to de ctr [ where most of de dialogue is ] so u stil can get de jist of de movie - not much effects but tats just wat it was back then..
So, is de 'Neural' Music setting any different than DPL?

3. No subs?
Granted .. if in ur catalog of ttls, tis prbbly would not be needed..
BUT.. wat if u wan to watch sumtin newer??

In the end, wat matters most is tat u like it... it might not be de 'rite' ting to do but wat de heck..

D
dirtrun
post Jun 26 2014, 03:12 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(drtai2014 @ Jun 25 2014, 06:12 PM)
Thanks for enlightening me on the terminology & the difference between parallel and series connections. I prefer parallel connection as I think that my amp can handle loads of 4 ohm and I don't have to increase the volume. I may have to pay the price for my folly later on.
Haha,

Like I said before.. as long as u like it, whos to say otherwise.. Anyway, I dont tink u'll kill ur amp outirite - itll go into protection mode first [ I tink de newer avrs hv tis feature..]
On subs - like I said, if for ur current 'diet' then its fine cos de older ttls dont really emphasize much on audio - dialogue is most important - clear..

D

dirtrun
post Jun 27 2014, 02:59 PM

3,136 posts

Haha,

I dont tink a bunch of squiggly lines is gonna convince a person to act , once in his comfort zone..

D
dirtrun
post Jun 30 2014, 12:15 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(drtai2014 @ Jun 27 2014, 08:43 PM)
'He' finds it most amusing and intriguing to have 2 very senior hi-fi enthusiasts discussing about "him". To be honest, he was beginning to 'see the light' and was almost persuaded to go out and buy a reasonably priced sub as soon as possible after reading the solid sounding & unbiased comments. Unlike 'frequency responses' etc, the human mind is a very complex organ with a wide ranging and inter-related inputs coupled with an equally bizarre array of output options and responses that totally disregards the 'truth' and facts and selectively favors the alternative path and hence continue to remain in the 'dark'. In the final analysis, Paskal is right - It is not for "him" given the circumstances:-
1. He has opted for larger drivers with lower frequencies in an attempt to reproduce the lows in the system.
2. As he has amassed a lot of speakers through the years (1st speaker was Acoustic Research 18 in 1983!), he is trying to make full use of them to try to replace the need for a sub, which is active, instead of passive.
3. His interest is more in hi-fi than in home theatre, and there lies his priority. He watches movies less than he listens to hi-fi which is located in another room with a different set-up - where 'consistent frequency response' at low volumes can be reproduced for less.
4. Well, he is still 'stingy' when it comes to home theatre as a good sounding subs, even a used model, can increase the cost of the HT set up, what with HD big screen TV's and HDMI AV receivers, etc.
To conclude, He thanks you all for participation in this interesting discussion. He believes that he will be 'haunted & taunted' for a long, long time.

Haha,

I am not unlike u .. veri hard to part my money by 'talk' alone.. keke biggrin.gif - so squiggly lines n wat not is not tat easy to sway me.. either..

Like I said - if u like it.. jus enjoy n heck if its not 'rite'..

Oh.. ya, probably de worst 'taunt' would be a real life 'listen' in a well set-up system.. so stay away - if u know wats good for u .. tongue.gif

D

dirtrun
post Jul 2 2014, 10:55 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Jul 1 2014, 03:26 PM)
Hi guys, seeking some advise.

I am getting myself an EPSON EH-TW5200 for 3D home theatre and business purposes but still unsure on the wifi adapter & 3D glass.

Would normal wifi adapter works & other chapalang 3D glass works with the projector? Anyone can share some experience?

Thanks!

I dont hv de baby epson but from wat I read in a neighboring countries forum ;

Its a budget model wif no lens shift .. even - maybe tats why it dont come wif its own 3d glasses, here ..
I suggest you read up at AVS on tis.. I tink it should be popular there..

D

dirtrun
post Jul 18 2014, 09:43 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ Jul 18 2014, 12:43 AM)
Need to get feedback from you guys here.... I was planning to get a set of 5.1 infinity speakers for RM9k

Front: C336
Center: C225
Surround: C205
Woofer: PSW8

i was wondering if this set is worth the moo lah or you can recommend me a better setup for around the same price range

btw, i am pairing this is onkyo 818.... Thanks in advance guys...
Seriously,

U hv to listen for yourself whether tis is gud.. sound is really subjective - no rite or wrong..
Price wise - there is a lot to choose from at tat range.. IMO, I d prefer musical spkrs to purely HT ones, even thou' I will use it mainly for HT..
Infinitys hv pure American sound - brash and bright..

YMMV .. of cos..
D
dirtrun
post Jul 22 2014, 11:15 AM

3,136 posts

Sunfires not cheap..
Its got one of de principles of a good sub [ powerful amp or big driver/box ]..

Personally, I'd get de rythmiks over tis..

D
dirtrun
post Jul 23 2014, 03:44 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 23 2014, 06:32 AM)
Yes, fairly expensive given the options.  For me the absolute size was very important, so I needed something that could deliver a lot of power into the driver.  At the time (1999) this was really the only option out there.  At 2700w it was definitely the most powerful subwoofer of its size, and one of the most powerful in the consumer market.  Velodyne had some really nice ones as well that I auditioned, but the Sunfire was the baddest of them all.  I actually recently bought a Velodyne Minivee, but it did not have the power I needed, so it is sitting in storage waiting to be sold.

If you do not care too much about size, I've heard SVS makes some pretty decent subs.  Too big for my taste.

Sunfires very small footprint is its forte - I mean its very powerful amp gives it lots of oomph - my recommendation of de rythmik F12[is it still in production?] is for its small footprint vs performance factor too plus I tink its a little cheaper - u r rite in tat there wasnt a rythmik back then - especially for a good powerful sealed sub - now got de SvS SB series ; Ken Kreisel DcD 808 n a little bigger would be de the J L 's ..

D
dirtrun
post Jul 24 2014, 12:01 PM

3,136 posts

Yes,

Itll work.. but personally, I tink 7.2 is gud enuff unless you have a very long room..
N if me, I ll get 4 pairs of spkrs n keep one as a spare..

D
dirtrun
post Jul 25 2014, 09:22 AM

3,136 posts

Haha,

Come to tink of it.. even a 6k sub is considered mid-end .. I suppose if can afford 2 X RM12k would be really really great..

D
dirtrun
post Jul 25 2014, 11:35 AM

3,136 posts

Haha,

6k can get a PB12+ SvS? I dont tink so.. I tink now can't even get a Rythmik f15hp ..

D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Jul 25 2014, 01:06 PM
dirtrun
post Jul 25 2014, 01:11 PM

3,136 posts

One more thing abt having identical spkrs for all channels is its great for multichannel music - I mean for those into this..
I dont tink hvng floorstanders as surrs are a disadvantage, especially if you have got space.. n de budget.. I guess , minimum is a decent bkshlv instead of satts [ even if its mostly for efx only - abt 10% use.. maybe ]
dirtrun
post Jul 25 2014, 02:08 PM

3,136 posts

LOL,

Talking abt too much time - I went surfing at Hifi4Sale n there is a decent sub for sale at 3k.. keke .. Rythmik LV12s - ported .. thou'

Sold by non other than our bro ...

D

dirtrun
post Jul 30 2014, 03:40 PM

3,136 posts

Wow,

Tats cheap.. how much to ship tat out to Malaysia??
I was looking at de Generic-China-made hdmi cable sold by Blue Jeans n it was like USD30 for a 7.5m but de shipping was ...

D
dirtrun
post Jul 30 2014, 05:10 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Jul 30 2014, 04:22 PM)
If can wait, some of those generic 10m HDMI cable can get for USD20 or below from aliexpress with free normal post..

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/free-shippi.../732289874.html

Wow,

Thanks bro.. Will definitely look tis up when I redo my HT..
I also dont believe in paying 'premium' dollar for a bunch of 0's n 1's n worse is I am out RM60 if indeed it dont work, but if it does.. rclxms.gif

Cheers
D

dirtrun
post Jul 31 2014, 09:26 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ Jul 30 2014, 11:23 PM)
Thanks for your feedback guys.... got myself the a set of JBL Studio 5 speakers and an infinity sub..... for around RM8.5k

Front: 580
Center: 520C
Rear: 530
Sub: Cascade 15

pairing with my current Onkyo 818

Wondering if I got ripped off for that price....

Haha,

Kinda academic now, thou.. aint it? Shld hv asked before buying.. I dunno abt de JBL's but u could hv a better sub.. 8.5k includes de AVR?

D

dirtrun
post Jul 31 2014, 09:28 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ Jul 30 2014, 11:26 PM)
can i know how much tax need to be paid to our custom to clear for monoprice?
I ordd frm Monoprice before n find de shipping expensive but then again its all de way frm USA - I tink if possible, it would be cheaper to bulk order wif a few other ppl..but timing has got to be..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 1 2014, 11:15 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 31 2014, 05:40 PM)
I believe 6k should be able to get what you have.
Haha,

Tat would prbbly include lots of leg work and running ard lookin for de best deal.. Plus a relatively well informed 'guesstimate' at best.. keke.. biggrin.gif
I wouldnt even fathom to guess wat u can get 'elsewhere' but JBL's are not a very well 'taken' brand amongst de hifi kakis in malaysia..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 1 2014, 11:17 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ Jul 31 2014, 11:04 AM)
I just couldnt resist the sound....

excluded the AVR...

The sub if i am not mistaken was quite cheap....  i think it was around 2k - 3k only... cant really remember the individual price....
JBL's n most american spkrs tend to do tat - at first listen - Listen longer n it tends to 'tire' you.. at least for me.. My first spkr was JBL's too..

D
dirtrun
post Aug 1 2014, 11:19 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 1 2014, 06:58 AM)
Cable tax rate is high in Malaysia. I was taxed once due to the bulk cables. 30% import duty and 10% sales tax on total amount including shipping. Effectively, it is more than 40% tax.

It is a lot higher than the 26.5% tax on electronic items.
Thanks for de hds up .. bro..

Like tat hv to set back a substantial sum if decide to get cables frm abrd..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1172sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:19 AM