205 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Your Home Theater Setup.. v2, Let's share..

carcrazy
post Jan 9 2015, 12:02 PM

189 posts

Completed room acoustics job on a HT room, Cheras/KL. Proper room acoustics provide up to 70% of the final sound
Job scope:
1. Timber ceiling - walnut finish
2. QRD wood diffuser N17 2X8feet X 4unit, N17 2X2feet X 3unit
3. Bass trap full height at all four corners, various density
4. Carpet tile - odourless
5. Raise the seat platform for 2nd row
* all products are handcrafted by hifi creations

Listening test:
1. Bass hits harder n tighter
2. Bass has more body n weight
3. Wider soundstage
4. Effectively reduce flutter echoes n standing waves
5. Able to play even louder without fatique
6. Add sense of 'air' n retains natural ambience
7. Gives the impression of being in a much larger room
8. Most of all, rattle free ceiling

hushymushy
post Jan 13 2015, 12:49 PM

1,708 posts

hey guys.....wanna ask u guys a question...

when you setup your dedicated HT room.....would you prefer with windows?
if no.....how do you treat those air as after a certain period...there bound to be some 'wet' smell.....dunno how to describe it better....like stale air....

if yes, where would you have the windows?

currently my HT room is in the midst of building
the room is about 15.5' x 26.5'......i only have 2 walls to choose for windows

the 15.5' wall which is behind the projector screen
26.5' wall to the right of the projector screen....

i also thought of windowless room...

last questions....what colour scheme is the norm for HT room.....
my plan is to put acoustic panels on the wall and relevant places....but obviously over the painted surface

opinions and feedbacks much appreciated
dirtrun
post Jan 13 2015, 05:04 PM

3,136 posts

If its me,

Ill have a windowless room n fit 2 exhaust fans to suck out the stale air..
Those foam tings are supposed to be paintable so if die die wanna match - fit first n then paint..

Of cos this is not helping u.. blush.gif
D
paskal
post Jan 14 2015, 12:35 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jan 13 2015, 12:49 PM)

if no.....how do you treat those air as after a certain period...there bound to be some 'wet' smell.....dunno how to describe it better....like stale air....

not much activity in here nowadays huh? such a pity.

the stale air, you need to ventilate them out. if you put ventilation fan or shaft or opening, do consider that the air need to come in from somewhere and vented to somewhere. a room with just one sided opening ain't gonna promote much ventilation.

another thing to consider.
if you seal the rest of the room, but leave just one or two opening or ventilation shaft or exhaust fan; that opening will function as the port tuning for the room. might cause some peculiar behavior to the room response. more so if you're adopting infinite baffle setup or sealed subs.
might affect you, might not. might be audible, might not. up to chance.

thus in absolute predictability, a close-able window is a better choice. vent the room when you're not using it for movies, and shut off everything for movie playback. a couple of window would also allow the room to be used for some other function other than HT.

if you're planning to put up an equipment cabinet in front and fill the spaces next to the screen, some vent or exhaust fan will be great to vent the heat from all the equipment to outside of the house. integrate them as part of the cabinet, switched on automatically when the equipment is turned on. that way you could use pro amp and not worry about ventilation and overheating issues and noise.

and also the LCR could be hidden from view behind the screen and sit flush to left and right equipment cabinet. here's my pipe dream ht room arrangement.

i love to daydream so i'm building it in my sleep kah kah kah

my plan is to put acoustic panels on the wall and relevant places....but obviously over the painted surface

wrap the panels to similar colour of the room. stretchable fabric suitable for acoustics is easily available. comes in a variety of color.
sonerin
post Jan 14 2015, 01:05 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 14 2015, 12:35 PM)
not much activity in here nowadays huh? such a pity.

the stale air, you need to ventilate them out. if you put ventilation fan or shaft or opening, do consider that the air need to come in from somewhere and vented to somewhere. a room with just one sided opening ain't gonna promote much ventilation.

another thing to consider.
if you seal the rest of the room, but leave just one or two opening or ventilation shaft or exhaust fan; that opening will function as the port tuning for the room. might cause some peculiar behavior to the room response. more so if you're adopting infinite baffle setup or sealed subs.
might affect you, might not. might be audible, might not. up to chance.

thus in absolute predictability, a close-able window is a better choice. vent the room when you're not using it for movies, and shut off everything for movie playback. a couple of window would also allow the room to be used for some other function other than HT.

if you're planning to put up an equipment cabinet in front and fill the spaces next to the screen, some vent or exhaust fan will be great to vent the heat from all the equipment to outside of the house. integrate them as part of the cabinet, switched on automatically when the equipment is turned on. that way you could use pro amp and not worry about ventilation and overheating issues and noise.

and also the LCR could be hidden from view behind the screen and sit flush to left and right equipment cabinet. here's my pipe dream ht room arrangement.

i love to daydream so i'm building it in my sleep kah kah kah
wrap the panels to similar colour of the room. stretchable fabric suitable for acoustics is easily available. comes in a variety of color.
Indeed is a well plan layout. Will be a good thing at least if anyone planning out HT room will know what to look for.
siauann
post Jan 15 2015, 03:19 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Nov 21 2014, 01:02 PM)
im not sure if i suppose to post this problem in this thread or not. anyway i encounter this problem with my setup

TV: Sharp 46LE830
AVR: Onkyo TX-SR508
Bluray: Sony S380
Media Player: Asus O! Play Mini

hdmi cable connect from AVR out to TV in (ARC)
Bluray connect to AVR (HDMI 1)
Media player connect to AVR (HDMI 2)
when i turn on/off tv with tv remote control, normally the AVR will turn on/off itself too. turn on the volume with tv remote control it control the AVR volume. TV no sound. on off and volume i just use either 1 remote control.

recently i just move to new house. problem encounter now is i have to use separate remote to turn on/off AVR and TV for the volume control. did i connect something wrongly or setup anything wrongly? it seems like wont auto detect the setting.

previously when i turn on tv the avr turn on. if i on bluray player the avr automatically sets to the bluray mode which the sound will go through avr. now i have to manually set it. if i use media player and did not set to media player connection in my avr the sounds will play from bluray player
QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 21 2014, 10:07 PM)
last time did you use tv for hdmi switching? looks like hdmi CEC problem not ARC.
try disable then enable again for all devices
change tv not long ago. disconnect and reconnect everything. and then the CEC is working again. turn on tv and the avr turn on. then until recently, looks like the same problem i face again like before. have to turn on each and everything again. whats wrong? avr hdmi port problem? hdmi cable problem? or my hardware problem? current connection is:
sony w600b tv connect to onkyo 508 avr.
bluray s380, minix x8h, hypptv connect to avr.
anyone can help? i try disconnect and reconnect all device but same sad.gif
jenhuei
post Jan 19 2015, 10:57 PM

92 posts

I am very new to this and are looking into setting up a basic system. would like to ask the opinion from all the sifu here.

Is the below setup viable? eg. the receiver is underpower or anything that i need to pay attention to?

Yamaha RX-V675 + Jamo S606 + Jamo Sub200

TQVM.
sonerin
post Jan 20 2015, 08:49 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(jenhuei @ Jan 19 2015, 10:57 PM)
I am very new to this and are looking into setting up a basic system. would like to ask the opinion from all the sifu here.

Is the below setup viable? eg. the receiver is underpower or anything that i need to pay attention to?

Yamaha RX-V675 + Jamo S606 + Jamo Sub200

TQVM.
Well is pretty good start.
mpyw
post Jan 20 2015, 09:38 AM

3,603 posts

I use a dehumidifier (Delongh- DES-12)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/DeLonghi-DES12-Com...e/dp/B0029NZW5E

and a HePA air filter/purifier
http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Hepa-...PI&searchidx=20

works perfectly for my windowless HT room
peter32
post Feb 3 2015, 01:02 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

My opinion is, nothing beats good ventilation. I have a Dehumidifier at home, and it does warm up the room with funny odour. Its great to dry things up though. I mean after a night of blowing in a medium size room, it fills up more than half of the water accumulate in the container. So I do use it from time to time to dry rooms up and dry up the clothing in the cabinet.

Hepa filter serves to filter the air, good for dusty room or rooms with fabric which trap dust etc. But for HT room I think its not that relevant.

Ventilation fans should be the way. Leaves them on while no one is watching the movies. Its also noisy when it turns on though.

Can I suggest a double glazing windows with thick cinema curtain to cover it when one is using the HT room ? It will surely be able to freshen up the room better when no one is using the room. Personally I don't like any room in permanent darkness all the time.
carcrazy
post Feb 6 2015, 01:44 PM

189 posts

building a line array for HT 3.1 setup for a regular customer from car audio days
current status: surface prep
Xover: mundorf supreme cap + mundorf inductor
* handcrafted by hifi creations

This post has been edited by carcrazy: Feb 6 2015, 01:46 PM
peter32
post Feb 6 2015, 05:10 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Feb 6 2015, 01:44 PM)
building a line array for HT 3.1 setup for a regular customer from car audio days
current status: surface prep
Xover: mundorf supreme cap + mundorf inductor
* handcrafted by hifi creations

Amazing arrays of drivers. May I know which driver do you use for this project ? Do you use any particular known project for this build?

Would be very interested in your surround speaker built as well.
paskal
post Feb 6 2015, 08:10 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

carcrazy why you no use 6.5", 8" or big big big drivers?
that small small puny looking driver got bass meh? later people say have no bess because no big big midwoofer how leh?

must use 6.5" midwoofer only can reach low low 20hz. kah kah kah tongue.gif
carcrazy
post Feb 6 2015, 09:22 PM

189 posts

Paskal,
Wat to do, owner never allow me bigger project..lol
anyway the speaker excels in large scale imaging, dynamics and full-bodied midrange to give u the 'realisme' feel
will post the sub later when its done veneering

if u like to hear a bigger speaker, do come to this year KLAV mariott show. I have prepared an exciting 7 feet tall speaker..pls intro urself when u see me..
The demo will be conducted in a fully analog rig system

peter32,
Surround ideally shd be similar speaker as the front if budget allows it
iman_210
post Feb 7 2015, 08:42 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

good ideas flowing guys, keep it coming
htkaki
post Feb 8 2015, 12:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Feb 6 2015, 09:22 PM)
Paskal,
Wat to do, owner never allow me bigger project..lol
anyway the speaker excels in large scale imaging, dynamics and full-bodied midrange to give u the 'realisme' feel
will post the sub later when its done veneering

if u like to hear a bigger speaker, do come to this year KLAV mariott show. I have prepared an exciting 7 feet tall speaker..pls intro urself when u see me..
The demo will be conducted in a fully analog rig system
peter32,
Surround ideally shd be similar speaker as the front if budget allows it
Vic, can I have lunch in your room?
carcrazy
post Feb 8 2015, 02:06 AM

189 posts

Max sifu,
dun char kow me lar..keke
why dun we have lunch together daily during klav show..even better
whic room r u at this year
htkaki
post Feb 8 2015, 04:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(carcrazy @ Feb 8 2015, 02:06 AM)
Max sifu,
dun char kow me lar..keke
why dun we have lunch together daily during klav show..even better
whic room r u at this year
Same room, Vic.

Fingers crossed. If have time, we go makan. You are getting the same room?
sonerin
post Feb 8 2015, 06:08 PM

8,739 posts

Wah so fast planning for KLAV smile.gif
carcrazy
post Feb 9 2015, 12:48 AM

189 posts

Sonerin,
room paid oredy lor..

Max@bass man,