125 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

CherrieLuv
post Jan 15 2015, 04:10 PM

1. Brand: No Proton.
2. Budget: 25-30k
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: No preference
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI: No preference
7. Type: No preference
8. Remarks: Planning to buy with cash, don't wanna pay installment + interest. Don't want something too small like Axia/Kancil/Kelisa. Seems like some Korean used car (Hyundai/Kia) is very cheap but wonder why that's the case. Maintenance & FC very high? First time buying a car so I don't want something that gives me a lot of problems...
SUScall me random
post Jan 15 2015, 04:31 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(CherrieLuv @ Jan 15 2015, 04:10 PM)
1. Brand: No Proton.
2. Budget: 25-30k
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: No preference
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI: No preference 
7. Type: No preference
8. Remarks: Planning to buy with cash, don't wanna pay installment + interest. Don't want something too small like Axia/Kancil/Kelisa. Seems like some Korean used car (Hyundai/Kia) is very cheap but wonder why that's the case. Maintenance & FC very high? First time buying a car so I don't want something that gives me a lot of problems...
how about hyundai i10.

size wise viva < i10 < myvi
but 4star NCAP airbags all inside.. safety wise this is the best among all 3..
handling also better
Kappa engine 1.25cc good pick up
FC a bit on hi side, can get 10L/km
maintenance also abit hi..

2010 onwards can get 20 -25k thats like 50% of the new price.
is that cheap? but memang korean car low RV because less popular

ok or not? never sit on one though..
SUScall me random
post Jan 15 2015, 04:32 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(iiapaii @ Jan 15 2015, 09:44 AM)
hi all,

i plan to buy in cash 2nd hand car (Hyundai i10 2011) for my wife, went to one used car seller yesterday & after agreed with the price, seller ask me to pay 30% to confirm booking. Is it normal or how it suppose to be. What is the normal procedure when buying car at used car dealer? thanks
mind sharing how much u get? see on the road not very common, quite nice i think.. what makes u choose i10 over anything else?
iiapaii
post Jan 15 2015, 06:39 PM

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Jan 15 2015, 11:04 AM)
Hi there. DON'T. IT IS A CON

By law you are only required to pay 1% of the vehicle price as a booking fee! And if your loan application is not successful they are required to return 90% of the booking fee. Deposit does not equal to booking fee! You are not required to pay any deposit for booking the vehicle.

Walk away from that store, the dealer are probably unscrupulous.
bro, noted & thank you for the info notworthy.gif

QUOTE(call me random @ Jan 15 2015, 04:32 PM)
mind sharing how much u get? see on the road not very common, quite nice i think.. what makes u choose i10 over anything else?
it's exactly as what you mention above, but never test drive it yet, did you?
SUScall me random
post Jan 15 2015, 06:46 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(iiapaii @ Jan 15 2015, 06:39 PM)
bro, noted & thank you for the info  notworthy.gif
it's exactly as what you mention above, but never test drive it yet, did you?
I put a range there how come u say exactly that price? Haha
Yea.. Never test drive..
What makes u like it above all else?
chunkit89
post Jan 15 2015, 07:03 PM

1. Brand : Whichever reliable
2. Budget : Monthly installment about 500 to RM700.
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/Used
4. Specs : No preference
5. Transmission : Both
6. NA or FI :
7. Type :
8. Remarks : Good FC, comfortable

Hello all sifus, I am new here and very dilemma on which car I should get. I need to drive at least 110km per day for my work. Now I am driving my family car Proton Wira 1.3 for already 2 years and thinking of getting a car which give me less problem, comfortable, safe and of coz a good fc as well... I do love Honda Jazz alot but the current spec E is out of my budget, and was thinking about Proton Iriz at first but saw alot of negative comment and scared me off..

what car I should get?
CherrieLuv
post Jan 16 2015, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(call me random @ Jan 15 2015, 04:31 PM)
how about hyundai i10.

size wise viva < i10 < myvi
but 4star NCAP airbags all inside.. safety wise this is the best among all 3..
handling also better
Kappa engine 1.25cc good pick up
FC a bit on hi side, can get 10L/km
maintenance also abit hi..

2010 onwards can get 20 -25k thats like 50% of the new price.
is that cheap? but memang korean car low RV  because less popular

ok or not? never sit on one though..
I hear people say Hyundai i10 FC high and under-powered? Don't know how true that is but later pump petrol nonstop then enough to kill me already. sweat.gif

How come Korean car so unpopular?
zenix
post Jan 16 2015, 12:53 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

sorry for the late reply guys, going to try and clear a few today.

QUOTE(ArmorLe @ Dec 25 2014, 02:01 PM)
Good japanese brand manual you'll have to find one at Nissan's stable either Latio/Sentra/Sylphy. I think 2010 onwards no more Sentra so the latter two.

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Dec 26 2014, 03:48 PM)
Renault Fluence is actually a Nissan Sylphy with a different body design and Renault badge. Fuel efficiency and performance I'd give it a 3/5 if yo're comparing it to other 2000cc C-segment like Altis/Civic/M3. Perhaps the Renault version is heavier with better sound proof and safety being a european car but all-in-all it should be as good or as bad as any Sylphy.

I don't really recommend the Vios because it is too low-tech not worth the money unless you don't mind you're driving around in a car with an engine and gearbox combination since the first version they sold in Malaysia, and never updated any safety features but you got good RV and your Father-in-law will love you more.

City would be a good choice especially the top spec version, as good as a C-segment without being expensive to maintain as one because basically it is a B-segment car with C-segment cabin space.

QUOTE(kshoo @ Dec 26 2014, 05:16 PM)
With your budget if you expand it abit more you can consider these few cars

Mitsubishi Mirage/Attrage - you'll probably see the sticker price above RM60k but after discounts it should be in the low RM60k's so probably even after consider everything with on the road price it should be within your budget but burst maybe 1-2k which isn't alot of difference when it comes to the monthly loan repayments. Both these cars are 1200cc only and they're designed as A-segment cars but with interior space closer to that of B-segment cars, so they're not really B-segement cars so they're not as big and heavy thus the little 1200cc engine is enough for it.....although it doesn't have terrifying pickup or top speed....driven sensibly it is a very nice and nippy town car.

However, if you feel you're being short changed going from a Waja (C-segment) to Mirage/Attrage (A-segment macam Axia) then perhaps a look at the used car market.

You'll be able to afford a nice 2000cc Nissan Sylphy, you can read more about it below.

QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Dec 27 2014, 12:06 PM)
yeah dont plan to take a loan.. thats why budget is limited hahaha... if can loan would have gotten something newer... thanks  notworthy.gif
So following-up.
Enjoying your new ride?

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Dec 28 2014, 12:03 AM)
Well, you can afford a new Almera/Vios/Attrage with that kind of money but of course they are only B-segment cars, so for something better for long distance travel between states perhaps you need to think of C-segment especially if you travel alot.

Don't bother for 1800cc since you're buying a used car aim for the higher spec 2000cc car in which most C-segments come with nowadays.

Sylphy would be a better choice if you get the right car in the right condition. They're usually around 50-65k around 2010 onwards. Spec wise they're all basically the same when it comes to the important bits like engine, gearbox, and safety just accessories like bodykit, navigation, etc. If they request too much of a premium for those things move on to the next seller as there are alot of sellers for this car now since they did the facelift.

Sylphy vs Preve Turbo, well the power figures are more or less the same but Sylphy being naturally aspirated would be easier and less complicated to maintain, and of course have better pickup. So of course Sylphy ownership cost would be lesser too as this model has been around quite sometime so parts are cheaper and widely available.

I have friends whom didn't buy Altis/Civic and chose the Sylphy for two reasons the cheaper price (new/used) and also a more comfortable seat and suspension.

nkdin_rulez
post Jan 16 2015, 02:12 PM

1,506 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 16 2015, 12:53 PM)
So following-up.
Enjoying your new ride?
yep... thumbup.gif dad has a crv also, so the drive is memang pretty nice....and the 2005 crv interior is bigger than the 2000 model.... getting the car ready for shipping to miri... good thing tire prices just dropped as well... can get new set of shoes... haha.. thanks for the help
nabelon
post Jan 16 2015, 06:49 PM

Walk of Life
1,714 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 16 2015, 12:53 PM)
sorry for the late reply guys, going to try and clear a few today.
Good japanese brand manual you'll have to find one at Nissan's stable either Latio/Sentra/Sylphy. I think 2010 onwards no more Sentra so the latter two.
Renault Fluence is actually a Nissan Sylphy with a different body design and Renault badge. Fuel efficiency and performance I'd give it a 3/5 if yo're comparing it to other 2000cc C-segment like Altis/Civic/M3. Perhaps the Renault version is heavier with better sound proof and safety being a european car but all-in-all it should be as good or as bad as any Sylphy.

I don't really recommend the Vios because it is too low-tech not worth the money unless you don't mind you're driving around in a car with an engine and gearbox combination since the first version they sold in Malaysia, and never updated any safety features but you got good RV and your Father-in-law will love you more.

City would be a good choice especially the top spec version, as good as a C-segment without being expensive to maintain as one because basically it is a B-segment car with C-segment cabin space.
With your budget if you expand it abit more you can consider these few cars

Mitsubishi Mirage/Attrage - you'll probably see the sticker price above RM60k but after discounts it should be in the low RM60k's so probably even after consider everything with on the road price it should be within your budget but burst maybe 1-2k which isn't alot of difference when it comes to the monthly loan repayments. Both these cars are 1200cc only and they're designed as A-segment cars but with interior space closer to that of B-segment cars, so they're not really B-segement cars so they're not as big and heavy thus the little 1200cc engine is enough for it.....although it doesn't have terrifying pickup or top speed....driven sensibly it is a very nice and nippy town car.

However, if you feel you're being short changed going from a Waja (C-segment) to Mirage/Attrage (A-segment macam Axia) then perhaps a look at the used car market.

You'll be able to afford a nice 2000cc Nissan Sylphy, you can read more about it below.
So following-up.
Enjoying your new ride?
Well, you can afford a new Almera/Vios/Attrage with that kind of money but of course they are only B-segment cars, so for something better for long distance travel between states perhaps you need to think of C-segment especially if you travel alot.

Don't bother for 1800cc since you're buying a used car aim for the higher spec 2000cc car in which most C-segments come with nowadays.

Sylphy would be a better choice if you get the right car in the right condition. They're usually around 50-65k around 2010 onwards. Spec wise they're all basically the same when it comes to the important bits like engine, gearbox, and safety just accessories like bodykit, navigation, etc. If they request too much of a premium for those things move on to the next seller as there are alot of sellers for this car now since they did the facelift.

Sylphy vs Preve Turbo, well the power figures are more or less the same but Sylphy being naturally aspirated would be easier and less complicated to maintain, and of course have better pickup. So of course Sylphy ownership cost would be lesser too as this model has been around quite sometime so parts are cheaper and widely available.

I have friends whom didn't buy Altis/Civic and chose the Sylphy for two reasons the cheaper price (new/used) and also a more comfortable seat and suspension.
bro zenix, im in the market for a c segment too, but sylphy seems like a lil bit expensive to me.. what i can afford is within the 30k range, anything that you can recommend me ? i am also interested in hyundai matrix as i can afford the price case (16k). would it be a good buy too ?

zenix
post Jan 17 2015, 02:51 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Davy123 @ Dec 28 2014, 05:30 PM)
My knowledge about cars are shallow. I pick cars based on love at first sight and budget.
I have two options here, pls help me =)
1. Brand. WV polo sedan vs Vios
2. Budget. Monthly installments of rm600-900
3. New/Used/Unreg. New
4. Specs. ?
5. Transmission. auto
6. NA or FI ?
7. Type. ?
8. Remarks. Seldom drive. Only on sat sundays and to travel back Penang frm KL. Would like to compare fuel consumption as well. Resell value not important for me as i will be using this car for sometime.
Since it is a weekend car, u wanna consider a sports car?

QUOTE(GNR @ Dec 28 2014, 06:14 PM)

@zenix - Sir feel free to comment/add on
notworthy.gif

QUOTE(helo @ Dec 28 2014, 09:19 PM)
1. Brand : any
2. Budget : below 50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used -less thn 5yrs
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type :
8. Remarks : save fuel, safe and lew maintenance fees
Mitsubishi Mirage is a new car within your reach but slightly burst your budget, would you consider it? It ticks the boxes for your requirement of fuel saving, 5 star NCAP, and modest maintenance fees. It is as cheap to own and maintain as an Axia or Myvi. It isn't very big so if you're expect Altis size then mebbe need to recommend something else.

For used car the safest choice would be a Vios, find the newest model within your budget with the highest spec, that's all to it. Just make sure no accident can liao.

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ Dec 29 2014, 11:21 AM)
1. Brand : Any. Other than Proton/Perodua/French made.
2. Budget : 100k max
3. New/Used/Unreg : 3 years and below. Used/Unregistered
4. Specs : 2.0L and below
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :
7. Type : Any
8. Remarks : Reliability. Don't mind paying to maintain as long as not troublesome like VW
If you're talking about new car then the choice is probably only Sylphy but that would be the lower spec 1800cc engine version, which I don't feel is a good car to buy new since RV isn't too good for this car so as a used car it is a fantastic bargain but to buy it own and see the RV drop like a rock for the first 3 years is pretty harsh.

2014 Mazda 3 - looks like they're clearing stock for the non-skyactiv model, 99k is cheap, this version only comes with 1600cc engine. Reliable but engine performance isn't stellar plus mazda parts are usually a premium over the common honda/toyota parts. If you insist on something new car with warranty and everything but don't mind slightly higher maintenance cost and not so powerful engine then this could be one for you.

2012 Toyota Wish - ever consider a Wish? I dunno if you're married or not but if you are married maybe you wanna consider an MPV for that extra space and comfort for balik kampung trips? This newer facelift Wish really looks good and very smart, but the good part is being Toyota the looks is upgraded to be more in-line with current designs but the engine and gearbox were ported over almost without change so maintenance and part are as cheap and easy to obtain as the old one brows.gif

For used car within 3 years either an Altis/Civic would be attainable from your budget but i feel abit wasted because 100k is alot for a 3 years old used car, might as well buy new or recon much more worth it.

QUOTE(berdorki @ Jan 3 2015, 08:37 AM)
Hi, roughly how much the interest rate for used car? Car year is 2009, price around 40k. Not sure how many years loan the bank allow me to take.
generally

less than 7 years old car is 3.5%
equal or more than 7 years old is 4.5%
maximum is 10 years old
moonstone13
post Jan 17 2015, 10:28 AM

509 posts

Hi Sifus,

Need some views and thoughts on getting a used car to use for 1-2 years.

Brand: conti
Type: hatchback
Budget: 50-70k
Priority: reliability, overall driving experience (not power hungry)

Initially I was thinking the VW golf 1.4 tsi mk6 (around 77k) but surrounding friends said servicing is a pain and reliability is still "an issue".

So Peugeot 308, Ford Fiesta, megane came in. Which year of the brand should I look for or avoid at all costs?

Thanks! notworthy.gif
laurateoh
post Jan 17 2015, 12:45 PM

QUOTE(CherrieLuv @ Jan 16 2015, 11:15 AM)
I hear people say Hyundai i10 FC high and under-powered? Don't know how true that is but later pump petrol nonstop then enough to kill me already.  sweat.gif 

How come Korean car so unpopular?
go stalk the hyundai i10 fans club (malaysia) fb page. owners there are quite active.
someone said full tank can go 320km 90% city drive.

once upon a time, jap cars were scarce otr. contis like volvo fiat vw (esp old beetle) merc were everywhere
it took t & h almost 2 decades to be where they are today

there are more korean cars today than ever before. give them some time tongue.gif
berdorki
post Jan 17 2015, 05:52 PM

254 posts

Hi, let's say I have paid rm500 booking fees to Toyota. However later on I decised to get a Honda.

Can my booking fees be refunded?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by berdorki: Jan 17 2015, 11:08 PM
wailord
post Jan 18 2015, 12:22 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(berdorki @ Jan 17 2015, 05:52 PM)
Hi, let's say I have paid rm500 booking fees to Toyota. However later on I decised to get a Honda.

Can my booking fees be refunded?

Thanks!
yes. Toyota or Honda or whatever does not make a difference. its just proof of your "intention" to buy. got ask refund from SA.
berdorki
post Jan 18 2015, 08:20 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(wailord @ Jan 18 2015, 12:22 AM)
yes. Toyota or Honda or whatever does not make a difference. its just proof of your "intention" to buy. got ask refund from SA.
Hi bro, means that Toyota will refund my booking fees right? I don't need to give them any reason?
availyboy
post Jan 18 2015, 02:48 PM

So Prettay!
786 posts

To request recommendation, this is what u need to post:
1. Brand : Any Brand You Recommend
2. Budget : RM200k <
3. New/Used/Unreg : Any would be good
4. Specs : Any you recommend, prolly < 2.0L
5. Transmission : Auto preferred
6. NA or FI : Both
7. Type : Sedan

Hi sifus, would like to ask wanna get a car below 200k, but what brand and what kind of car you guys recommend. Since I don't dare to go into the market without knowing anything first. And about Audi, always heard alot problem with engines n stuff even though it looks nice.

What do you guys suggest? Eventually, thanks!
sueyee83
post Jan 18 2015, 09:26 PM

Hey there! I am planning to get a family car.

1. Brand : Honda City S+ or E
2. Budget : <80k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : -
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : family car
8. Remarks : 5k diff between S+ and E, worth it? Is CNY rebates worth buying it now? Should I buy before/after GST? Thanks!
nlm9288
post Jan 19 2015, 07:07 PM

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 25k-30k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Manual
6. NA or FI : FI
7. Type : Sedan / 2 Seater
8. Remarks. looking for a powerful car..
zenix
post Jan 20 2015, 10:37 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(yasmin @ Jan 3 2015, 09:46 AM)
Most of the complaints about the FC of the Almera has been on the automatic model, not much info regarding the manual model. However, the Vios manual has been around a long time and it is a rock solid manual B-segment car.

Resale value wise Nissan cars are known to be quite decent but of course it doesn't match up to Toyota/Honda usually, but the thing here is that resale value mostly counts for automatic models as manuals are a rare thing with not many interested buyers if so of course lesser buyers and sellers need to push the sales they're going to sell it cheap so there goes the RV, but since it is not important to you that is a good thing.

Spec wise they're about the same but you need to go car shopping to check on the fine details like push start button, rear aircond vents, etc. are available or not. Put both cars at 70k then list down the additional stuff you get from each, the one with the highest tally should be the one to get.

Size wise the Vios loses out as the Almera is more spacious being longer so front and rear passengers are both comfortable. Almera also has quite a large boot.

QUOTE(stargamer @ Jan 4 2015, 01:05 AM)
pls recommend me a car to buy at around 300-500k pricing...
What do you like?

QUOTE(Rin @ Jan 5 2015, 02:58 PM)
Between Mitsubishi Attrage and Mitsubishi Mirage, which one (between these two) is the best for city usage and young driver with family?
Depends on your family.
If you need to bring a stroller along then I highly suggest you buy something with a boot like Attrage.

QUOTE(nabelon @ Jan 6 2015, 12:10 AM)
If reliability is a top priority then I suggest not to go for yesteryear's Korean cars as their technology hasn't matured to where they are now so either fuel consumption, power or reliability will take a hit.

1995 Toyota Camry 2.2 - it is old but if maintained well it shouldn't be a problem, just look for one without any engine/gearbox/aircon problem then your repair budget won't burst and you probably can afford to add stuff and appreciate the value of the car like a paint job or refurbish the seats with leather.

1989 Merc 260E - indeed this is a very old car but it was built like a tank, shouldn't have any issues unless it was not maintained properly or been through a bad accident (minor parking scuffles don't count). Also because of it's age if you hear the seller say things like "it only takes rm2000 to recondition the gearbox" or "rm1000 to overhaul" then stay away it might have some hidden problem the owner isn't going to reveal to you in detail, if that is the case then it is better to just find another car as there are alot of these cars in this price range. If you feel like you want something newer within this budget how about considering this the only problem is it is not a real Merc but a rebadge. Running cost shouldn't be alot and parts for older merc's like this are equal to older D-segment cars of the era like Accord and the Camry above.

QUOTE(xtrabite @ Jan 6 2015, 04:11 AM)
Audi a4 2009/2010, good buy? Saw offered price the lowest around rm128k.. hmm.gif
You can always still search around there are always good deals out there, e.g.

2010 Audi A4 - why not look for recon units? well, what is the difference? long time ago recon cars mean the sellers actually took the time to fix up the problems before selling the cars they import from overseas (usually auctioned off fleet cars) but nowadays it just means that the car is imported so you can buy with new car interest rates instead of used car interest rates. Used and new car interest rates will save you some money, money you may need if you bought a lemon.

2007 BMW 320 - another German stablemate you might be interested in, although it lacks the turbo grunt of the Audi it makes up for it with better driving dynamics, higher prestige and also a better parts network. This was a very successful BMW on our roads so there are alot of dealers with spare parts for this car at various prices, more choices than Audi which is growing but not as much.

2011 Toyota Mark X - if you're looking for something more on the budget side but also luxurious and don't mind it not being from Germany then how about a Mark X? It is luxurious, comfortable and spacious with a decent 2500cc engine so at low or high speed the performance doesn't suffer. There is a wide price range for the used cars they range from between 70k-90k depending on the year made and spec, but RM100-110k you can start getting recon units and above 120k you can start getting the recon units of the latest facelift model -- although personally the latest model doesn't look any better than a Hyundai Sonata but it is a Toyota so RV and cheap maintenance is almost always guaranteed.

125 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.1659sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:10 AM