sorry for the late reply guys, going to try and clear a few today.
Good japanese brand manual you'll have to find one at Nissan's stable either Latio/Sentra/Sylphy. I think 2010 onwards no more Sentra so the latter two.
Renault Fluence is actually a Nissan Sylphy with a different body design and Renault badge. Fuel efficiency and performance I'd give it a 3/5 if yo're comparing it to other 2000cc C-segment like Altis/Civic/M3. Perhaps the Renault version is heavier with better sound proof and safety being a european car but all-in-all it should be as good or as bad as any Sylphy.
I don't really recommend the Vios because it is too low-tech not worth the money unless you don't mind you're driving around in a car with an engine and gearbox combination since the first version they sold in Malaysia, and never updated any safety features but you got good RV and your Father-in-law will love you more.
City would be a good choice especially the top spec version, as good as a C-segment without being expensive to maintain as one because basically it is a B-segment car with C-segment cabin space.
With your budget if you expand it abit more you can consider these few cars
Mitsubishi Mirage/Attrage - you'll probably see the sticker price above RM60k but after discounts it should be in the low RM60k's so probably even after consider everything with on the road price it should be within your budget but burst maybe 1-2k which isn't alot of difference when it comes to the monthly loan repayments. Both these cars are 1200cc only and they're designed as A-segment cars but with interior space closer to that of B-segment cars, so they're not really B-segement cars so they're not as big and heavy thus the little 1200cc engine is enough for it.....although it doesn't have terrifying pickup or top speed....driven sensibly it is a very nice and nippy town car.
However, if you feel you're being short changed going from a Waja (C-segment) to Mirage/Attrage (A-segment macam Axia) then perhaps a look at the used car market.
You'll be able to afford a nice 2000cc Nissan Sylphy, you can read more about it below.
So following-up.
Enjoying your new ride?
Well, you can afford a new Almera/Vios/Attrage with that kind of money but of course they are only B-segment cars, so for something better for long distance travel between states perhaps you need to think of C-segment especially if you travel alot.
Don't bother for 1800cc since you're buying a used car aim for the higher spec 2000cc car in which most C-segments come with nowadays.
Sylphy would be a better choice if you get the right car in the right condition. They're usually around 50-65k around 2010 onwards. Spec wise they're all basically the same when it comes to the important bits like engine, gearbox, and safety just accessories like bodykit, navigation, etc. If they request too much of a premium for those things move on to the next seller as there are alot of sellers for this car now since they did the facelift.
Sylphy vs Preve Turbo, well the power figures are more or less the same but Sylphy being naturally aspirated would be easier and less complicated to maintain, and of course have better pickup. So of course Sylphy ownership cost would be lesser too as this model has been around quite sometime so parts are cheaper and widely available.
I have friends whom didn't buy Altis/Civic and chose the Sylphy for two reasons the cheaper price (new/used) and also a more comfortable seat and suspension.
bro zenix, im in the market for a c segment too, but sylphy seems like a lil bit expensive to me.. what i can afford is within the 30k range, anything that you can recommend me ? i am also interested in hyundai matrix as i can afford the price case (16k). would it be a good buy too ?