125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

zenix
post Dec 23 2014, 12:38 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

i know it is car buying season with the prices dropping and discounts upping....but has been really busy with work to reply, anyway a point to remember although price drop and discounts are good but always remember your affordability don't over stretch yourself.

QUOTE(Secruoser @ Nov 26 2014, 10:16 AM)
Thanks. One of my colleagues own the 2006 accord and after test-driving it, I agree that it's good to look at and be in.
I hope you made the correct decision then brows.gif

QUOTE(danieltan @ Nov 26 2014, 02:02 PM)
Since you're a first time car buyer let me just give you the basic tips.

Proton/Perodua - can buy new under rm50k, quite cheap to maintain (except for new top-end models from Proton like Iriz, Preve and Suprima), but they're not very lasting you'll feel the engine/gearbox and interior feel age quite rapidly compared japanese/conti brand cars, exterior wise you won't feel it age much because these two usually keep a model/design for at least 10 years before replacement.

Toyota/Honda - within the same class as other japanese makes they're usually more expensive to buy new or used, but usually the engineering is good the interior quality does last a long time and the engine/gearbox usually don't give big issues, less maintenance issues so cheap to maintain but usually expensive to buy.

Other Japanese/Korean brands - usually cheaper new/used, have more accessories (sunroof, better radio/cd player, leather seats, etc), better design/look, quality still okay but parts usually more expensive than above (so e.g. if aircon rosak it is going to be at least rm1000 bill).

European/American brands (conti) - usually depreciate fast and some would think it is a good buy but parts are expensive and not every workshop can really resolve an issue unless they're a specialist of that brand and those shops are usually cut-throat to non-regular customers.

So what you think?
A proton/perodua ok or can up the budget abit more for a Toyota/Honda/Nissan/Mitsubishi?

QUOTE(svveets @ Nov 26 2014, 03:38 PM)
I think since you just started to work you should consider something which isn't such a burden for you.

I think you can lookout for either a Perodua Axia or Proton Saga SV.
The Axia is newer with a better fuel saving engine, and Perodua's track record of cheap maintenance and reliability bodes well. As for safety concerns it is as safe as possible for a car of that size the important safety equipment is available on all models. If you don't require a boot and mostly drive alone or with your partner then this is a good starter car for you.

Just in case you thought of using the Proton Saga SV RM250 installment plan, read this before proceeding.

QUOTE(kagamistar @ Nov 29 2014, 10:34 AM)
Axia would be too small for you perhaps because it is a class smaller than the Jazz you're used to driving.
Mazda2 no Skyactiv yet.
Mazda3 latest model has but over budget, and the used (old one) don't have this technology.
Mirage is about the same class as an Axia but is overall slightly larger but still A-segment, good FC engine though.
Attrage is the sedan version of Mirage, just as good.
Vios basically the same engine and gearbox been carried forward since this (pic) model so to answer your question it is as good as any Vios no improvements just "better" looks.
The latest generation of City/Jazz has reverted back to CVT gearboxes and the fuel efficiency has been increased from there as well as improvements on the engine.

Lowest spec jazz after discounts should be in the 65k region.

QUOTE(cy97 @ Nov 30 2014, 11:09 AM)
Hi zenix what is your take on peogeut 3008 2011 selling at rm 85k?
Unless you're a conti/pug lover never consider it because it will break your heart and bank if you think it is as easy going as your regular Proton/Perodua/Toyota/Honda/Nissan which you've owned. Conti's are good cars with powerful engines, great design, great interior quality but reliability, resale value and parts pricing is poor which is why you see some brands of conti the car cost rm150k new but in 5 years become rm40k only sweat.gif

If you're looking for an mpv which isn't too old for that price here are some suggestions:

2008 Toyota Wish 1.8 - import spec so although it loses to the local model which has a 2000cc engine but in place of that you get stuff like touch screen navigation system and export/japan spec safety features. This is a recon car so although it is technically slightly used in its country of origin as a taxi/showroom car/fleet vehicle it is considered totally new in Malaysia so buying it with new car interest rates instead of used car interest rates which is alot cheaper. One reason why this model is going cheap is because this is the outgoing model only by looks as the engine/gearbox is maintained so can still use the cheap spare parts of this model....so if you decide on facelift/pre-facelift model the maintenance isn't an issue only the looks.

2010 Honda Stream - the main rival of the Wish from Honda, looks alot better pre-facelift and the facelifted Wish looks alot like the Stream. Main differences? Well, if you're always ferrying more than 4 people and aircond is an issue you might want to skip this one as it doesn't have two rows of aircon like the Wish so the people at the 3rd row will be quite hot waiting for the aircond from the front to cool the entire car. Driving dynamics is better on the Stream as it sits lower on the floor but it is still an MPV so don't think you can rempit much with it up Genting.

Latest facelift of Stream and Wish

Of course an obvious choice would be a new Nissan Livina if you prefer new.

zenix
post Dec 23 2014, 01:11 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Mojojojo19 @ Dec 1 2014, 01:13 PM)
Persona - manual or automatic that is your choice, either is fine. Good car, good handling and cheap to maintain. Bad point though is space, one of the smaller C-segment cars around although for driver and front passenger it is fine, the rear is abit of a pinch for taller/bigger adults. And make sure you get the one with the CPS engine and that is quite a problem with Proton as there are too many specs, special editions, etc. that it becomes crazy once you all up all the features you want it becomes too expensive to consider then you're entering > RM35k into Vios/City/Latio money. So basically get any version with rear disc brakes/front airbags/CPS engine should be good enough.

2010 - Nissan Latio - admittedly the Persona has a better interior design than a Latio but the Latio's lack of design is paid back with spaciousness as it is much roomier than the Persona but this extra space is at a cost, it doesn't look as sleek and low down as the Persona on the road looking like a midget MPV instead. Anyway's the purpose of the Latio is to focus on space, reliability and cheap maintenance - Persona is okay but some are quite abhorred by local brands. Like the Persona Latio also has a manual version.

QUOTE(danieltan @ Dec 2 2014, 05:56 PM)
waiting your reply,  rclxms.gif
i replied liao? U can ask again sweat.gif

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Dec 4 2014, 04:49 PM)
What year is it?

2010 Nissan Sylphy - just for comparison you can see this 2010 model going for RM42k and it only has 40,000++ kms on the odometer (okay it can be tempered but Sylphy is quite common in the used car market you can get many to choose from to fit your budget). I guess for G11 @ 120,000km @ RM50k is abit expensive if it is 2010 or older model, if 2011-2013 it is more acceptable.

QUOTE(viqq @ Dec 7 2014, 09:16 AM)
Guys I'm planning to get a Perodua Axia for company use.
If company use can claim tax right? If claim tax is full amount that year or the monthly payment I've paid?
Also, what's the interest rate for new cars right now?
If you're buying as company asset and you're talking about company tax claim then you're on the right track but if you're talking about personal tax then you can't, and if i am not mistaken it is only tax deductible once at full asset price not monthly repayment.

QUOTE(freshprince @ Dec 7 2014, 06:41 PM)
1. Brand : continental preferred
2. Budget : 70K
3. New/Used/Unreg : used cars year 2009 onwards
4. Specs : got aircond, got radio with low fuel consumption.
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type :
8. Remarks : i m posted to cover east coast and i live in kl.... Lotsa salesman travelling alone. Want a safe car without too much depreciation when i sell 3 years down the road.
I think then you should either pick a used Altis/Sylphy/Civic as a conti isn't known for high resale value.
zenix
post Dec 23 2014, 02:07 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(cyang @ Dec 7 2014, 10:51 PM)
I think Estima only seats 7.

If I recall correctly the Estima's after 2000 onwards stop using surperchargers and are normally aspirated 2400cc and 3000cc engined, the roadtax is kinda expensive for a low use

2007 Toyota Innova - why not consider a lower-end model although not as luxurious as an Estima it is just as spacious. Although if your target is 8 seatbelts then this car won't do for you.

2006 Renault Kangoo - let's say you only need 7 seatbelts and rarely use it, only during occasions when going kampung or family in kl you need to be Minister of Transport then I suggest you this car. Granted it is not as big and spacious than Estima/Innova but squeezing in for short trips from home to mall and restaurants should be fine. I pick this one because it is very cheap to buy as Renault brand cars always have bad RV but this model is quite successful as a commercial vehicle so parts for maintenance and replacement is quite cheap considering its conti heritage. So a 10k car and cheap to maintain like a Japanese car for minimum duty cycle sounds like a win, unless you really need 8 seatbelts for 8 people.

If you really must have more than 7 seatbelts in the MPV (not Van category) then for your budget there is only one choice which is.....

2006 Ssangyong Stavic - the good news is that it is very well appointed with all the safety features, comfortable leather seats, etc. Semi bad news is that it uses old Mercedes technology which isn't as advance, powerful and fuel saving as current Mercedes models but the good news for Malaysians is that old merc tech is cheap to maintain so maintaining it won't be as cheap as a Toyota but it isn't going to burn a hole in your pocket like most conti's. Look up info on this car, I think it will be quite interesting for you if you need an XL MPV.

Oh BTW this advert is for a turbo diesel engine, there is also a petrol version but diesel gives better FC.

Seating arrangement

QUOTE(Hayden TKY @ Dec 8 2014, 11:59 AM)
Of course brand new the only two that really fits the requirements would be the Subaru XV. This is the top sales model so although you might worry that Subaru normally are expensive to maintain because parts are difficult to get and expensive and RV is horrible. I think it might be true for most models but not for this one as they're using this model to drive up their sales volume, so although it won't be as common on the road as a CRV it won't be as rare as a Forrester. The other one is the Mitsubishi ASX which is now CKD with 5 years warranty, 5 years free maintenance and rm4000 rebate/discount.....be mindful there are 2wd/4wd models.

Other models to consider....

2009 Subaru Exiga - for the overseas market the Subaru Forrester has moved up market so the lower spec SUV/MPV hybrid which is the rival for Wish/Stream but has AWD is this model. Spec wise it beats the other two into the ground until you realize performance from turbo and AWD comes at a price, the maintenance is a killer. But if that isn't a problem then it can function as both SUV and MPV which carries 7 people. Only available as recon so can buy with new car interest rates.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser - if you can afford the roadtax this is one of the bargain buys of premium SUV's available in Malaysia.

2013 Nissan Juke - this was quite a surprise find when I saw the search results, the latest facelift and top-spec Juke for 140k. I'd say it is decent money for what it is offering but if you're thinking of CRV then Juke won't do because it isn't a real SUV eventhough it (this model) has AWD more like a soft SUV like Toyota Rush and Ford Ecosport.

2013 Toyota Fortuner - the good point is that this is a turbo diesel with VNT technology which is a new type of turbo which minimizes turbo lag without the need for two turbo's (one big one small), secondly unlike most SUV's this one can function like a MPV too with 7 seatbelts, it is big so even with full 7 passengers u still got some boot space for luggage.

QUOTE(Saladz @ Dec 9 2014, 11:43 PM)
If you're comparing between Vios and Latio base on price then usually Vios will be older than the Latio (because Vios RV good mah so buy used oso expensive) but for point 1,2,3 they're more or less equal no one is better or worst by any significant margin. Comfort wise there is a difference because Latio is actually a C-segment car while Vios is a B-segment so Latio is bigger and more spacious. Additionally Latio sedan got 1800cc engine version which I think is probably the cheapest entry point for such engine capacities before other more expensive/older options like bad RV Skoda, old BMW or terrible condition Perdana's.

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 11 2014, 04:00 PM)
I'm planning to buy a USED car.
1. What's the pros and cons buying directly from the owner versus buying from a dealer?
2. What is the documentation required for claiming income tax? I'm thinking that if buying from owner directly, owner also would not issue invoice to me.
1. direct owner car usually in better condition as owners do take care of their cars before selling and usually you get the best value because owner just thinking of how much the car is worth then you can get personal discount (sometimes by claiming you will take care of the car for those sentimental guys). Used car condition can be decent or bad, as the cars are baking under the sun until you drop by to buy it from the dealer so sometimes interior and rubber parts all quite "sunburned", used car dealers will tell you how much the car is worth but also make sure he earns a profit selling to you but in return he does the leg work and paper work.....you buy from owner direct u and the owner need to DIY all the JPJ and Puspakom things.

2. i could be wrong but there is no income tax deduction for buying cars.

3. if used car dealer or direct owner aren't honest then you'll be in trouble.....so if u aren't sure just cancel the deal don't waste money.

QUOTE(kochin @ Dec 12 2014, 09:02 AM)
what is the best way to dispose off existing car if not trading in for new car purchase?
please give suggestions.
thank you.
y not just sell it off and get a few bucks?

1. sell to friend
2. if old car sell as scrap metal (whole car)
3. gut the car and sell by item make more money then finally then body sell as scrap metal
berdorki
post Dec 23 2014, 09:22 PM

254 posts

Am wondering which is a better choice?

- New Myvi 1.5 (RM 56 540) or
-Used Vios 2009 (RM 47 900) http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+Vios+A+1+5+E-31969472.htm

I will use it mostly for city drive, and maybe once a month from KL to Ipoh or KL to Penang.
My main concerns are: Fuel consumption, cheaper maintenance. I am still single, so no need to consider MPV for kids. I am OK with sedan/hatchback.
icon_question.gif
zenix
post Dec 24 2014, 12:12 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Dec 13 2014, 09:32 AM)
thanks for the reply bro... is the 2007 Honda CRV a good buy... ? that about <50K
was condering the dualis but was worried about parts.... how bout in terms of mechanic familiarity...? coz im taking the car with me to east malaysia MIRI.
CRV is a good ride as it has two things that are important which is not a heavy fuel drinker for its size and AWD format and quite decent performance in-spite of the former. Couple that with the usual T&H cheaper maintenance and parts, it is overall a choice you can't go wrong with.

There are some which were really headache, Vitara when it was 4wd people complain heavy fuel consumption but 2wd only they complain Suzuki parts expensive, well can't really make everyone happy? Want to have a rare looking car that's the price to pay. IMHO the Vitara feels and has a few extra accessories that makes it abit more premium so maybe that is worth it?

Dualis shouldn't be an issue unless you get into an accident, the mechanical bits are mostly shared with the X-Trail, if you have no confidence on this print a picture of this car and show your usual mechanic.

QUOTE(YJSEE @ Dec 13 2014, 11:20 AM)
Hi, good day to all, i need some opinion on buying second hand car.
Its a Honda Accord 2.0 7th Gen year 2004. Condition is good and only cost me 34K, is it a good car? please advise smile.gif TQVM!!!!!
It is good you can get it about 10k below market price.
If the mileage is slightly above 100k kms it is still fine, consider normal, but less than 100k kms and if it is genuine then you got yourself a good deal.

You're talking about this model right?

Engine wise there hasn't been any major change since this model was introduce so the 2.0, 2.4 and 3.0 has largely been the same engine until the current generation with only upgrades to the engine no completely new engine yet. So that means there is a large common pool of parts from 7th to 9th gen accords so parts availability is high and pricing is competitive among stockist.

QUOTE(shaunhsc @ Dec 13 2014, 01:23 PM)
Sylphy 2014 AINT that bad looking seriously
Got 1.8 VL Sylphy. No regrets. Comfortable.
I just dont understand why you dont see it on the road that often....
I guess it was a timing problem, when the first Sylphy came out it was in competition with its own C-segment stablemate the Latio. Two car in the same segment but one is cheaper than the other, the Latio Sedan 1.8 iinm was the cheapest 1800cc c-segment car around at the time.

Of course the favorite 1800cc car was the 8th gen Civic which really sold in numbers, even the Altis lost this war badly. There weren't as many Altis of this generation as there were of Vios/Camry's.

Currently the Civic and Altis isn't strong which makes the latest facelift Sylphy a good proposition, and luckily the Latio is discontinued so sales can be focus, and also like the Latio the Sylphy is the cheapest entry point for a 2000cc C-segment car (* not considering Proton/Perodua models.). I think the current one will sell more, but without the bodykit it is awfully plain and it doesn't have the complex suspension of the Civic but it has what that matters for people usually looking for in C-segment cars.

1. a good 2.0 engine which is powerful yet fuel efficient
2. good interior space and luggage space
3. maintenance can be done at any workshop and part prices are cheap
4. although RV not as good as Toyota's and Honda's, it isn't as bad as say a Suzuki/Peugeot, but it is alot cheaper so when you do a contra it is still worth it.

QUOTE(multisync888 @ Dec 13 2014, 11:13 PM)
Hi. I'm looking at Hyundai Elantra 1.8 2012 (silver) and offered by a PJ dealer for Rm 82k. The mileage at 50k.
Bro, is this a good buy? I'm in dilemma now. Thanks.
I think it is an okay choice. Korean cars don't have such terrible RV anymore but the FC and power is still behind Japanese makes, but if it is cheap why not right but consider this the RM80k region is where you can buy an Elantra 1.6 brand new! New car smell, new car number plate, new car interest rates (cheaper) and new car warranty. So what's the point of buying a car 2 years old but at used car price, normally people don't buy a car and sell within 2 years unless got something they not satisfied with the car or accident. If you're saying it is a 2012 pre-reg and you can buy at new car interest rates, full warranty by the manufacturer, but at a heavy discount then that's a deal!

2012 Hyundai Sonata - if you're already thinking RM82k is a good price for an Elantra, how about giving an extra RM3000 for a Sonata? Much more luxurious, much better engine, and so what if RV is going to be terrible the build quality of Korean brands have been very good since 2010 this car if cared for properly would last 10 years.

2012 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 - however I think if you want to save money but still want a decent c-segment 2.0 car then the Sylphy won't disappoint you. It won't be as fast as a VW Golf GTI but it won't breakdown that often. It doesn't look as good as a Civic but you can always install bodykit.

You can search 2010-2013 used 70-90k there are alot of interesting used cars and recon, but it really depends on what you want. If you don't mind spending more for powerful engine/technology/safety/looks there is a car for every price just depends on your demands.

QUOTE(Tyrfing @ Dec 14 2014, 03:19 AM)
Hi, i'm in dilemma right now. I'm considering to get a used Kelisa or Satria for my daily car. Since i just started working, i have around 15k to spend on this, apart from that, i had allocated 2k aside incase of anything happen after that.. Kindly help thanks..
Below listed are the usual suspects for that price range, the links are just examples you're not recommended for that particular model....

2007 Perodua Viva - not many but you can find a few going for around this price. is it very good? well i wouldn't say it is great but if we consider the kancil as the most basic then the viva is an upgrade in terms of looks, space and safety. a small 1.0 engine won't cost alot to maintain every 5000km just bring it to any workshop for a basic rm50 service will do no need any special engine oil or anything....basic and cheap....good for your pocket.

2006 Perodua Kenari - this model has a hate/love relationship with buyers, some love it coz they think it is funky and cute while others think it is a midget kereta mayat BUT the height is good if you're quite tall as most A and B-segment cars aren't too comfortable to be in for long periods unless you enjoy hunching. Additionally, the aerosport version has nice seats u can see from the picture they're like velvet to touch but color is also a hate/love thing. maintenance? same as the above.

2006 Perodua Myvi 1.3 - my pick would be the Myvi simply because it is a current model eventhough the facelift is already out but at least you're not buying a dinosaur discontinued car like Kenari/Kelisa/Kancil. Safety/Performance wise although you cannot compare to its Japanese/Korean B-segment brothers (because P2 is so cheap already) it is still alot better than having a Viva.

zenix
post Dec 24 2014, 12:38 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Jxtreme @ Dec 14 2014, 07:45 PM)
Thanks for the advice Sifu Zenix, really helpful insights on both cars. Was considering a Forte but from what you said, I'll stick with the 2000cc. I guess I will opt for the Inspira as the boy-racer in me felt good when I was test driving it.  cool2.gif 

One last question tho since I'm not really aware of local rules, the car is already fully modded with evo-kit and the badges all change to Mitsubishi. Is it illegal or legal to do so and what are the cost/penalty and chances of getting caught? The seller is from a small town and seldom drives the car hence he had no issue. But my job would require me to go outstation at least twice a month.
The bodykit and change of decal shouldn't be an issue.
People do it all the time, have you notice how many Lexus Vios/Altis/Camry on the road? laugh.gif

As long as your roadtax didn't die, your number plate is standard type/size, no modified HID, no loud exhaust, no super dark tint and bodykit is not widebody type you shouldn't have any issues with JPJ/PDRM.

QUOTE(shalom @ Dec 14 2014, 08:31 PM)
audi A3 or recond japanese audi a5?
whats your requirements and budget?

QUOTE(nosnaj @ Dec 16 2014, 03:40 PM)
In Mudah any guy can post an advert and it is free, so maybe sometimes the person posting isn't the owner or the dealer but some part-timer trying to earn some extra money so post on behalf of a dealer then try to earn a margin.

About the mileage well that really depends if it is believable or not. Let's say the car bought in 2008 and got 100k kms on it so that is about a 6 year old car and 1388km per month which is believable since normally people pump petrol 3-4x a month and each tank of gas is worth at least 300kms better cars give you back 400-500km. If the car is too old and the mileage is too low there should be warning signs already.

You can't really go wrong with a Vios, it has decent looks, decent performance, good FC and of course cheap to maintain but it is very basic. If you compare to the City, the City gives so much more technology and premium items like CVT, driver armrest, passenger center armrest, vanity mirror lights, etc.

It is true the City was one of the mass market cars with CVT in Malaysia and not everyone knew how to maintain them so many were ill maintained and suffered CVT breakdowns. CVT needs a special gearbox fluid and the ordinary gearbox oil won't do.

2009 Honda City - this is probably the last batch of the 4th gen before the 5th gen (the one which is famous for bad fc) the current one the 6th gen is the all singing all dancing city like the 4th gen we love. I suggest you hunt around for a City from TeamCity facebook/forum they have proud owners that take care of their cars but change cars often, you often can get a good car at a good price from car club owners forums.

http://www.myteamcity.com/

QUOTE(cslwk @ Dec 19 2014, 01:30 AM)
1. Brand : NEW Toyota VIOS or Camry USED 2008 2.0G
2. Budget : below80k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Both
4. Specs : Full Spec
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :  ???
7. Type : 4 seater /sedan.
8. Remarks : Comfort, FC issues need advice
Price of new car vs used car aside.
Are you ready or can afford to maintain a D-segment car?
It is not going to be like a Myvi/Vios can go workshop and choose the cheapest maintenance package of RM50 to settle everything.

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Dec 20 2014, 11:40 AM)
I think best you look in the search engines, good luck thumbup.gif
nosnaj
post Dec 24 2014, 02:14 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 24 2014, 12:38 AM)
In Mudah any guy can post an advert and it is free, so maybe sometimes the person posting isn't the owner or the dealer but some part-timer trying to earn some extra money so post on behalf of a dealer then try to earn a margin.

About the mileage well that really depends if it is believable or not. Let's say the car bought in 2008 and got 100k kms on it so that is about a 6 year old car and 1388km per month which is believable since normally people pump petrol 3-4x a month and each tank of gas is worth at least 300kms better cars give you back 400-500km. If the car is too old and the mileage is too low there should be warning signs already.

You can't really go wrong with a Vios, it has decent looks, decent performance, good FC and of course cheap to maintain but it is very basic. If you compare to the City, the City gives so much more technology and premium items like CVT, driver armrest, passenger center armrest, vanity mirror lights, etc.

It is true the City was one of the mass market cars with CVT in Malaysia and not everyone knew how to maintain them so many were ill maintained and suffered CVT breakdowns. CVT needs a special gearbox fluid and the ordinary gearbox oil won't do.

2009 Honda City - this is probably the last batch of the 4th gen before the 5th gen (the one which is famous for bad fc) the current one the 6th gen is the all singing all dancing city like the 4th gen we love. I suggest you hunt around for a City from TeamCity facebook/forum they have proud owners that take care of their cars but change cars often, you often can get a good car at a good price from car club owners forums.

http://www.myteamcity.com/
Since then I've been researching a lot and sniffing around for deals... Still can't make up my mind. More and more choices just keep popping up. For example, I've been recommended Altis and Sentra. They're telling me to go for 1.8 instead. Around 05/06, since can't go older as I still need loan. What are your thoughts if you don't mind sharing?

Keep in mind my budget is still 35k max.

Thanks, really appreciate the reply. smile.gif

nkdin_rulez
post Dec 24 2014, 08:15 AM

1,506 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 24 2014, 12:12 AM)
CRV is a good ride as it has two things that are important which is not a heavy fuel drinker for its size and AWD format and quite decent performance in-spite of the former. Couple that with the usual T&H cheaper maintenance and parts, it is overall a choice you can't go wrong with.

There are some which were really headache, Vitara when it was 4wd people complain heavy fuel consumption but 2wd only they complain Suzuki parts expensive, well can't really make everyone happy? Want to have a rare looking car that's the price to pay. IMHO the Vitara feels and has a few extra accessories that makes it abit more premium so maybe that is worth it?

Dualis shouldn't be an issue unless you get into an accident, the mechanical bits are mostly shared with the X-Trail, if you have no confidence on this print a picture of this car and show your usual mechanic.
It is good you can get it about 10k below market price.
If the mileage is slightly above 100k kms it is still fine, consider normal, but less than 100k kms and if it is genuine then you got yourself a good deal.
thanks for the info... but apparently nissan has issues getting part in Miri. My friend who lives there said the only way to get spareparts is directly from Tan Chong which is pricey... might opt for the CRV most likely... looking at the 2006 models which are under 50K.

Any well known problems with CRV 2006 model ?

im test driving the car tomorrow and plan to try the Nissan Latio 2011 and Honda City 2010.

so amongst this 3 which would be the best to get?
commanderz
post Dec 24 2014, 11:20 AM

676 posts

Any idea how much my second hand myvi ezi 2009 can sell now? Or any good recommand car dealer in KL area ?
Jxtreme
post Dec 25 2014, 12:07 AM

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 24 2014, 12:38 AM)
The bodykit and change of decal shouldn't be an issue.
People do it all the time, have you notice how many Lexus Vios/Altis/Camry on the road?  laugh.gif

As long as your roadtax didn't die, your number plate is standard type/size, no modified HID, no loud exhaust, no super dark tint and bodykit is not widebody type you shouldn't have any issues with JPJ/PDRM.
Thanks so much for your help sifu. Guess i'll proceed with this car. Thanks again biggrin.gif biggrin.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Jxtreme: Dec 25 2014, 12:08 AM
ArmorLe
post Dec 25 2014, 02:01 PM

1. Brand : No Perodua
2. Budget : Less than 50K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Any
4. Specs : Mid to full specs
5. Transmission : Manual
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : Hatchback, 4-seater, 2 or 4 doored
8. Remarks : Possibly 2010 or newer for 2nd hand, previously driving a kancil 850

I had a dilemma thinking which car would be a better choice before seeing this post, choosing a 2nd hand satria or brand new satria cps/r3 or trying out the iriz ( have to top up though ) rclxub.gif

Came across this too with big discount of 8k to 15k but i think its unreg 2013 model, correct me if I'm wrong smile.gif
http://www.mudah.my/Proton+Satria+Neo+1+6+...hn-31709006.htm

This post has been edited by ArmorLe: Dec 25 2014, 02:03 PM
GravityFi3ld
post Dec 26 2014, 03:48 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Guys, currently have a (second-hand) 8 year-old Gen2 - really gg.com on Christmas eve, gasket got fried due to a leak and today service mechanic also noted engine oil leakage.."overhaul" of rm4-5k cry.gif (of that, labour cost is 1K+ rclxub.gif )
Most likely considering selling it off and getting another car..

To request recommendation, this is what u need to post:
1. Various? (Renault / Honda / Toyota / Mazda)
2. RM 75-90 Thousand
3. New smile.gif
4. Specs.
5. Auto/Tiptronic
6. NA
7. Sedan
8. TBH, currently looking at Renault Fluence (Promo: 99.5k + 5 year warranty~) but not so fuel-efficient when compared to Toyota's Vios & Honda's City. On the sides, Mazdas skyactiv is a consideration as well.. icon_question.gif laugh.gif
kshoo
post Dec 26 2014, 05:16 PM

24 posts

Am looking for a car to replace an old Waja, so am trying my luck here for suggestions:

1. Various -
2. Around 60k
3. New
4. Low to Mid maybe?
5. Auto
6. NA/FI
7. Sedan or Hatch is fine.
8. Am trying to see if there's anything better than the Myvi within this price range.

zenix
post Dec 27 2014, 02:11 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(berdorki @ Dec 23 2014, 09:22 PM)
if you can afford something in the rm60k region then do consider lowest spec vios/almera/jazz after discounts they should be around 63-65k

QUOTE(nosnaj @ Dec 24 2014, 02:14 AM)
Altis 1.8 : to fit into your budget of 35k you'll only be able to get one which is the youngest at 2006, which i highly suspect is a december 2005 car. overall toyota's are very reliable and most of the time you'll strike lucky by getting an old one but doesn't have much mechanical issues just looking worn out so a polish and maybe some replacement rubbers would uplift it. however, if you've got a choice i'd recommend against buying something that old most of the time, another thing to consider is that now is already the end of 2004 that means you going to buy anything it needs a minimum of being registered in 2005 to be eligible for loans after next week.

Sentra 1.8 : quite similar story for this model as well but if i had a choice between altis 1.8 2006 vs sentra 1.8 2006 i would get the altis because it is a much better car overall in terms of space and fuel efficiency.

if you're not in a hurry wait until march when the year end frenzy has died down then u can see a whole new range of 2005 cars being cheap.

QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Dec 24 2014, 08:15 AM)
parts is a big issue and if you have to go that route it negates any benefits of buying used.
used cars you usually want to buy oem/recon/used/replica parts to reduce cost.
of course the quality level is comparable for the part you use.
e.g. i don't mind using a replica/fake door handle as it is not a critical component so getting it cheap one for me is a good punt because you don't use it often especially for rear passengers.

but you'd need to get the best quality you can for important stuff like radiators, and being a big component it is going to be expensive if original from TCM but oem is just as good and new but much cheaper.

city 2010 - fuel guzzler
latio 2011 - newer, overall okay but interior uninspiring
crv 2006 - would be more expensive to maintain than the other two but a much better car

QUOTE(commanderz @ Dec 24 2014, 11:20 AM)
Any idea how much my second hand myvi ezi 2009 can sell now? Or any good recommand car dealer in KL area ?
u can see online in websites like mudah.my or oto.my to compare.

QUOTE(Jxtreme @ Dec 25 2014, 12:07 AM)
Thanks so much for your help sifu. Guess i'll proceed with this car. Thanks again  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
i not sifu sweat.gif
yeah, however i usually don't prefer to buy cars with modified parts.
usually cheaper material than original eventhough looks nicer.
usually bodykits people buy those PU/FG material type, are light but don't last.
nkdin_rulez
post Dec 27 2014, 11:26 AM

1,506 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 27 2014, 02:11 AM)
parts is a big issue and if you have to go that route it negates any benefits of buying used.
used cars you usually want to buy oem/recon/used/replica parts to reduce cost.
of course the quality level is comparable for the part you use.
e.g. i don't mind using a replica/fake door handle as it is not a critical component so getting it cheap one for me is a good punt because you don't use it often especially for rear passengers.

but you'd need to get the best quality you can for important stuff like radiators, and being a big component it is going to be expensive if original from TCM but oem is just as good and new but much cheaper.

city 2010 - fuel guzzler
latio 2011 - newer, overall okay but interior uninspiring
crv 2006 - would be more expensive to maintain than the other two but a much better car

good advice... i decided to go for the crv 2005/2006 whichever gives the best value... both look the same and feel the same.. test drove them during xmas... looking to get one below 45K otr for 2005 CRV and 2006 CRV for 48K. thats a pretty decent deal?
zenix
post Dec 27 2014, 11:34 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Dec 27 2014, 11:26 AM)
good advice... i decided to go for the crv 2005/2006 whichever gives the best value... both look the same and feel the same.. test drove them during xmas... looking to get one below 45K otr for 2005 CRV and 2006 CRV for 48K. thats a pretty decent deal?
yeap, and dont loan too long for it.
nkdin_rulez
post Dec 27 2014, 12:06 PM

1,506 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 27 2014, 11:34 AM)
yeap, and dont loan too long for it.
yeah dont plan to take a loan.. thats why budget is limited hahaha... if can loan would have gotten something newer... thanks notworthy.gif
V-Zero
post Dec 28 2014, 12:03 AM

Another day, another $
1,213 posts

Considering a new Preve or a 2nd hand Sylphy. hmm.gif

Budget around 70k, need a sedan for dad that is comfortable on the highway yet not too expensive to maintain.

Appreciate any comments. notworthy.gif
Davy123
post Dec 28 2014, 05:30 PM

90 posts

My knowledge about cars are shallow. I pick cars based on love at first sight and budget.
I have two options here, pls help me =)

1. Brand. WV polo sedan vs Vios
2. Budget. Monthly installments of rm600-900
3. New/Used/Unreg. New
4. Specs. ?
5. Transmission. auto
6. NA or FI ?
7. Type. ?
8. Remarks. Seldom drive. Only on sat sundays and to travel back Penang frm KL. Would like to compare fuel consumption as well. Resell value not important for me as i will be using this car for sometime.
GNR
post Dec 28 2014, 06:14 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Dec 26 2014, 03:48 PM)
Guys, currently have a (second-hand) 8 year-old Gen2 - really gg.com on Christmas eve, gasket got fried due to a leak and today service mechanic also noted engine oil leakage.."overhaul" of rm4-5k cry.gif  (of that, labour cost is 1K+ rclxub.gif )
Most likely considering selling it off and getting another car..

To request recommendation, this is what u need to post:
1. Various? (Renault / Honda / Toyota / Mazda)
2. RM 75-90 Thousand
3. New smile.gif
4. Specs.
5. Auto/Tiptronic
6. NA
7. Sedan
8. TBH, currently looking at Renault Fluence (Promo: 99.5k + 5 year warranty~) but not so fuel-efficient when compared to Toyota's Vios & Honda's City. On the sides, Mazdas skyactiv is a consideration as well.. icon_question.gif  laugh.gif
Sir, if you are sure that fixing the gasket will make your Gen2 drivable again for the next 5 years or so, then I'd rather do it. If you never had any major repairs for the past 8 years having the car, having once now is very good already considering that it is a Proton. Why burden yourself with monthly 800-1000 per month, when you have either paid off the full loan/cost of the car already or left with 1 more year or so?) Get what I mean? I'm saying this because I am in the same situation as you. (Smashed my 10 years old Proton, but it was totalled, if I could fix it I would.) - Nothing beats the feeling of being debt free, and having that extra 800 - 1000 extra to spend a month.

Anyway, if you're still insisting on buying a new car then my general feedback after being carless for 6 months now is, stick to reliable cars. I have not researched about Renault so no info about them. But try not to get Ford Fiesta - gearbox issues, VW polo with DSG - still have clutch issues after so long, Kimchi is fine I guess - after sales service is not good though, Pug308 - turbo issues.

All New Honda City - Most would go with this with all the features/specs and new engine, if you're not into too much looks (modulo kits) and specs then just take the base model, it is sufficient enough.(for me at least). You can always mod your car in future if you want to - body kits, rims etc.

Toyota Vios - Nah..Why is it the same price as the Honda with those shit features/specs? And a 2002 engine? (of course some might argue that if it ain't broken why fix it?) If it were cheaper than the Honda, it would be a viable choice.

All new Mazda 2 - This is something I am waiting for to launch before I eventually decide on buying a car next year. Estimate price 85 - 87k. You can look up the specs and features but it is not finalised yet but it shouldn't be too far off. Oh if you are considering the old model Mazda 3 1.6 (90k OTR now), to me it is not worth it, outgoing model with inferior specs to current available cars. The price just doesn't make sense.

VW Polo 1.6 CKD - Ever thought about this? I've seen some ads on Mudah, pre-own units can get 70k which is ok. And you don't have the DSG issues to worry about. Looks abit shit though lol (no offence to polo owners)..errhem ok back to the topic.

@zenix - Sir feel free to comment/add on

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:49 PM