125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

lodd
post May 13 2015, 11:41 PM

Hi everyone. Perhaps you can give a few suggestions for a fresh grad.

1. Brand: Any (Prefer Honda/Toyota)
2. Budget: Up to 40k. Prefer around 20k range.
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: Engine 1.8L or smaller
5. Transmission: Automatic
6. NA or FI: Any
7. Type: Prefer hatchback. If not then sedan.
8. Remarks:

My main concern is reliability. Planning to drive it for the next 10 years and I don't want any breakdowns or spending time at the mechanic.
I'm also don't know much about cars so I would prefer a very reliable car.
Second concern is good fuel consumption. That's why I prefer a smaller engine size.
Lastly I prefer a hatchback due to sometimes carrying large loads. That way I can fold the back seats to get more room.

I don't mind older used cars even above 10/15 years old as long as it's reliable.
It would also be great if someone can point me to a reliability index for Malaysian used cars.
I've found other lists, but usually they're for the US/UK market.
I haven't yet found a reliability index focused on the Malaysian car market.
Hope all of you can give some good suggestions!

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by lodd: May 14 2015, 12:10 AM
ChinHong86
post May 14 2015, 11:53 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ May 13 2015, 05:33 PM)
Inspira would be the better overall car if you do not mind the badge. Sylphy nowadays concern me with their CVT gearbox issues, consider a Latio instead.

2011 Nissan X-Gear - you might also want to consider this car, it is the shorter 5 seater version of the Livina, as a new car it is the cheapest C-segment you can buy in the market, as a used car it is still quite an interesting bargain. It uses an older engine and gearbox combination (no CVT) thus better reliability and also cost of maintenance (as older tech is always cheaper). It has a unique crossover look if you like that sort of thing it is big and spacious for long distance but the engine might not be giving out enough ponies as overtaking is very limited once you pass 120kmh.

2010 Toyota Altis 1.8E - it is quite true Toyota makes boring and uninspiring cars but when you need something which is cheap to maintain, fulfills its duties and is reliable then it is one of the go to brands for most people. This Altis model lost out alot of market share because it was pitted against the Honda Civic FD1 & FD2 which were selling like hotcakes but that doesn't make it a bad car as eventhough it didn't get the critical mass like Civic did but because Toyota recycled almost everything from the previous model of the Altis into this one except the looks thus spare parts can be shared so many the whole range cheap to maintain.
2010 Nissan Latio - previously I would have put the Sylphy above the Latio because it is a much more elegant value buy c-segment car, however finding out the issues with Sylphy can be quite serious and expensive especially for the inexperience it is better to choose the Latio as it's engine and gearbox are the standard type not fancy but very reliable and cheap to maintain. Looks wise no doubt it takes some getting used to, however the higher roof gives it an airy feel on the inside. Maintenance and replacement parts aren't going to break the bank either, and it is quite hard to find all these qualities in a c-segment car at this price which is only 5 years old. The are both hatchback/sedan variants they're pretty much the same except the sedan has one model with a 1800cc engine, the rest are all 1600cc engines.
thx for input...
i had decided for inspira d
batch x berapa penting la...
the driving experience is more important

This post has been edited by ChinHong86: May 14 2015, 11:58 AM
Ricky300
post May 14 2015, 01:21 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ May 14 2015, 11:53 AM)
thx for input...
i had decided for inspira d
batch x berapa penting la...
the driving experience is more important
why not consider 2nd hand Preve or Suprima?

ChinHong86
post May 14 2015, 10:40 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ May 14 2015, 02:21 PM)
why not consider 2nd hand Preve or Suprima?
Inspira power lagi ma...
Btw.... I jz heard ppl saying the turbo nt tat reliable....
Ricky300
post May 15 2015, 10:03 AM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ May 14 2015, 10:40 PM)
Inspira power lagi ma...
Btw.... I jz heard ppl saying the turbo nt tat reliable....
Inspira power? You should experience turbo power!
Mr.Docter
post May 17 2015, 06:36 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Hey guys,

Quick questions: whats the cheapest auto car with short waiting time?
OldKidz
post May 18 2015, 02:58 PM

$ MoNeY $
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ May 17 2015, 06:36 PM)
Hey guys,

Quick questions: whats the cheapest auto car with short waiting time?
2nd hand car, buy with cash, pay on spot, take car to puspacom, switch name, vola. haha...
6UE5T
post May 20 2015, 06:22 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ May 18 2015, 02:58 PM)
2nd hand car, buy with cash, pay on spot, take car to puspacom, switch name, vola. haha...
How long is the change name process in puspakom? Need to do inspection first at JPJ right?
OldKidz
post May 20 2015, 06:41 PM

$ MoNeY $
1,573 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ May 20 2015, 06:22 PM)
How long is the change name process in puspakom? Need to do inspection first at JPJ right?
Half day can settle eh? (If nt mistaken)... btw I dont buy much car, only once in my life... sifu sifu kalian can explain better I guess.
Hamsom
post May 23 2015, 10:36 AM

447 posts

1. Brand : Suprima S or Jazz
2. Budget : 80k - 88k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : Full Spec
5. Transmission : Auto!
6. NA or FI : No idea
7. Type : 4 seater.
8. Remarks : I was quite set on Jazz, but then drove behind a Suprima S full spec white color. Looks damn nice. Not sure about interior. As for Jazz full spec the interior is so so. Plan to go checkout Proton showroom soon. Just that whats holding me back on the Proton is the resale value. So what say you. You may suggest anything else within budget thats brand new.
Schampoo
post May 23 2015, 10:10 PM

245 posts

1. Brand : Perodua myvi or Use vios/ city 2011/12
2. Budget : 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/used
4. Specs : -
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : No idea
7. Type : 4 seater
8. Remarks : Will travel outstation 1 time per week. So which 1 is more comfortable to travel outstation? Currently thinking to buy used vios/city. Or should i choose myvi for a peace of mind. Will use the car for 8 - 10 years. So is it wise to buy the used car? hmm.gif
nikaizad
post May 24 2015, 05:30 PM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

Hey guys, just wondering. What would be a good first car when i get a license? bday is 2 months away

1. Brand :any
2. Budget : 20k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Any
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission :Mt
6. NA or FI : dont know. good fuel economy.
7. Type : any
8. Remarks : first car?

shirley_andy
post May 26 2015, 10:18 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

Chooseing between these Japanese MPV as family car

Honda Stream
Toyota Wish
Mazda 5
Nissan Serena

Any advise or opinion? Thanks!
kelvin_tan
post May 27 2015, 03:14 PM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

Shirley.. how big is your family ? And also how tall are they?

That would greatly help us in providing better feedback to your dilemma smile.gif
kiguss
post May 27 2015, 09:56 PM

238 posts

1. Brand : Honda City
2. Budget : around 50k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : City
8. Remarks : Mileage below 50,000km , no major accident
9. Year : 2012-2013

I'm planning to drive this car 8-10 years, trade in my current viva 850 2007 Dec car 110k mileage MT, expect to get RM8k and loan for RM42k-45k to get a sedan, Monthly installment should be around RM600 right?

It is possible to get a Honda City year 2012-2013?

This post has been edited by kiguss: May 27 2015, 10:33 PM
speedbird90
post May 27 2015, 11:10 PM

231 posts

1. Brand - JDM/BMW/RWD cars
2. Budget - Max 150k
3. New/Used - Doubt there're new ones, probably more to used.
4. Specs - RWD, low, 2 doors, manual preferred. Turbo preferred over NA
5. Transmission - Manual preferred, automatic is acceptable
6. NA or FI - FI preferred, turbo.
7. Type - 2 door, 4 or 2 seater, is fine
8. Remarks - Affortable sports car and decent maintenance and fuel.

- Infiniti G37, too big engine, high FC etc,
- Fairlady same
- Perhaps an Old E36 coupe?
- No R34, too costly to maintain
- No Supra, too old, costly to maintain
- Perhaps toyota 86? But it's NA
- Anyone care to shed some light on the maintanence and FC of an old E36? 318i 320i? Can't think of any other 2 door, RWD low cars.
- Or the e92 second hand 08/09 model is within budget too!

Help please? Thanks!

This post has been edited by speedbird90: May 27 2015, 11:59 PM
shaunhsc
post May 30 2015, 11:06 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ May 13 2015, 04:33 PM)
They're both great cars but maintenance might be abit higher than what you're used to if you've owned their competitors such as Toyota Vios and Honda City, if the additional maintenance bill isn't an issue (also because these brands sometimes give free maintenance for 3 years) one of the biggest headache is service center. Even here in KL there are only a handful of Ford 3S, so which brand is fine but look for which one was the 3S or service center nearest to you for convenience.
1997 Proton Wira 1.8 - it looks to have a decent CD player, but nowadays you can always get a cheap China brand player that can play all sorts of media even USB. The 1.8EXI's were quite sort after because it has the best bits that other Wira's don't have such as ABS brakes, 4AT gearbox, good power for highway cruising and decent fuel consumption. Because of their limited run there was a majority of them which were actually CKD Mitsubishi's. This model is the cheapest to maintain, you can find stuff for it everywhere.
Livina uses a normal slushbox automatic gearbox while.
Latio, Livina and X-Gear share a similar gearbox with different gearing ratio's.
Inspira would be the better overall car if you do not mind the badge. Sylphy nowadays concern me with their CVT gearbox issues, consider a Latio instead.

2011 Nissan X-Gear - you might also want to consider this car, it is the shorter 5 seater version of the Livina, as a new car it is the cheapest C-segment you can buy in the market, as a used car it is still quite an interesting bargain. It uses an older engine and gearbox combination (no CVT) thus better reliability and also cost of maintenance (as older tech is always cheaper). It has a unique crossover look if you like that sort of thing it is big and spacious for long distance but the engine might not be giving out enough ponies as overtaking is very limited once you pass 120kmh.

2010 Toyota Altis 1.8E - it is quite true Toyota makes boring and uninspiring cars but when you need something which is cheap to maintain, fulfills its duties and is reliable then it is one of the go to brands for most people. This Altis model lost out alot of market share because it was pitted against the Honda Civic FD1 & FD2 which were selling like hotcakes but that doesn't make it a bad car as eventhough it didn't get the critical mass like Civic did but because Toyota recycled almost everything from the previous model of the Altis into this one except the looks thus spare parts can be shared so many the whole range cheap to maintain.
2010 Nissan Latio - previously I would have put the Sylphy above the Latio because it is a much more elegant value buy c-segment car, however finding out the issues with Sylphy can be quite serious and expensive especially for the inexperience it is better to choose the Latio as it's engine and gearbox are the standard type not fancy but very reliable and cheap to maintain. Looks wise no doubt it takes some getting used to, however the higher roof gives it an airy feel on the inside. Maintenance and replacement parts aren't going to break the bank either, and it is quite hard to find all these qualities in a c-segment car at this price which is only 5 years old. The are both hatchback/sedan variants they're pretty much the same except the sedan has one model with a 1800cc engine, the rest are all 1600cc engines.
Hi may i know the issues you're aware on Sylphy?

Unseen83
post May 31 2015, 01:07 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(JW3333 @ May 4 2015, 09:03 AM)
Hi Sifu,

Wat is the differences between CVT in Sylphy and Grand Livina? Why there has issue on Sylphy but OK for Livina since there has a lot of Livina owner...
hello, (im noob in car but few google search this what i found)

Livina use MR18DE / HR16DE Engine all-aluminium alloy 4-cylinder engine delivers superior performance with reduce noise, vibration and harshness. the MR18DE use a CVTC(Continuously Variable-valve Timing Control) kinda same as what use on Sylphy(new 2014 edition) Meanwhile Nissan Sylphy 1.8L MRA8DE engine both this engine design to be Fuel efficient 15KM/Liter oh CVT kinda similiar(for Livina 1.8 and Sylphy 1.8)

Old Sylphy gear box seem to have issues on sound noise when certain rpm.. but it seem to be easy fix if inform service center (nissan) free fix if under warranty period.. Meanwhile new Version Sylphy this no longer issues(touchwood is what my Sale adviser inform me, YES i book one should receive end this week) AND a lot more owner of Livina.. maybe people with family prefer a MPV rather than Sedan smile.gif ??hmm

Source:
http://z10.invisionfree.com/SylphyForumMal...p?showtopic=362
http://www.nissan.com.my/
Unseen83
post May 31 2015, 01:15 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ May 26 2015, 10:18 PM)
Chooseing between these Japanese MPV as family car

Honda Stream
Toyota Wish
Mazda 5
Nissan Serena

Any advise or opinion? Thanks!
i do not test drive other brand u mention, but i test drive Nissan Serena(hybrid) wow smooth and Very comfy/spacious while driving and mother(she like sun shade) also agree.. and come with all preventive crash (abs,ebd and VEHICLE DYNAMIC CONTROL (VDC) & TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM (TCS) but just got 2 front airbags...
sogoatticus
post Jun 1 2015, 02:06 PM

672 posts

Hi guys,

How much I can loan for 2nd car? What is the limit?
How does the bank calculate base on my salary for second car?

Currently i have a car with RM1135 installment for another 6 years.
1 credit card and no other commitment.

125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:06 AM