125 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

zenix
post Jun 10 2015, 09:42 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Jun 6 2015, 12:17 PM)
Look a few pages back this is a very common question.

Vios = the newest one seems to have increased in bulk perhaps on passive safety side as a friend of mine whom replaced her vios with the newest vios admit the older one seems lighter and more nippy, the new one is fine and not as bad as the Almera but going around town slowly you'll feel it isn't so smooth and draggy at times. It doesn't have stability control either. So overall 2/2

Almera = the only upside is it has a longer wheel base so more room for rear passengers and boot, perhaps this weight increase reduces the pickup. It doesn't have stability control. So overall 2/2

City = the best technology of the bunch. powerful yet fuel efficient engine. service and maintenance would be about the same and from my recent experiences honda 3s are far better than Toyota/Nissan 3s in terms of after sales service. however, better technology would mean better parts thus a premium of the part price above the other two but since this is a honda mass market car the prices aren't going to be un-affordable just slightly higher than the other two especially vios because having the same engine and gearbox for 3 generations saves alot of R&D and warehousing cost for spare parts. It is the only one with stability control. 3/4

All 3 have pretty good resale value and reliability don't worry about it.

QUOTE(sony3000111 @ Jun 6 2015, 11:30 PM)
Thanks for the explanation! But besides these cars, what else would you recommend in the 10-15k category?
Perodua Kancil, Kelisa, Kenari are cheap to buy, own and maintain, very frugal engine.....but survivability in an accident in a highway at higher speeds than city driving doesn't look too rosy. Quite similar to Proton Saga, Satria, Wira.

They're good for city driving but I don't really recommend taking them outstation as the safety aspect of those cars are behind the times. They were 80's technology being sold in 90's and 00's, now it is 10's they're really outdated. Plus also the key focus on their design was to be a cheap car for the masses safety wasn't a priority back then.

QUOTE(mtchin1991 @ Jun 7 2015, 11:41 PM)
Accord is reliable and cheap to run.
However, unless really taken care well by owner the first month will usually require any used car buyer to put some money into TLC like servicing, replacing brake pads, new tires, etc. basic stuff.

If you prefer less problems because different strokes for different folks.....some like to buy used car and do the TLC....some just wanna buy and drive....if you're the latter I'd suggest straight to the City and forget the Cerato.

QUOTE(slayer98 @ Jun 8 2015, 07:23 PM)
Hi guys, VW Polo Sedan Raya promotion discount RM23k giving rise to a net selling price RM68k, worth it to consider and buy?
See below.

QUOTE(shmiad @ Jun 9 2015, 10:37 PM)
I don't think 50k is cheap for a Preve test drive unit since it already has 17,000kms on it.
Usually showroom units won't have much mileage.
17,000kms quite alot even for a test drive unit.

VW Polo Sedan nowadays going for the nuts price of RM65k-70k which I think is a good buy for the price.
Althought Polo Sedan no turbo (TSI) only MPI (similar to VVTI/VTEC), no stability control, no DSG, and only two airbags.
Although the specs seem dull but they're far more reliable, which is good for this segment of the market.
under 70k the only choices for B-segment sedan is either Almera/Vios.
Is it better than Almera/Vios for the consideration?

It isn't stretched like the Almera but legroom seems better than Vios.
It is quite a big car you'd be confused at first if it is a B/C segment, good interior space, I feel the cabin has a better premium feel than either Vios/Almera.
All 3 don't have fantastic pickup but the ride and handling seems better on the Polo Sedan.
Polo Sedan is supposed to be a mass market car and thus parts should be cheap, but with the lack of numbers on the road i don't see this happening.
So parts should be more expensive than Vios/Almera....perhaps about the same tier as City/Mazda2.
zenix
post Jun 10 2015, 09:43 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(slayer98 @ Jun 6 2015, 09:55 PM)
Saga FLX new is one way to go, quite a simple car and the only thing that could go wrong is the CVT gearbox, everything else is pretty low tech and mass market so shouldn't be expensive to replace.

Preve if you're talking about the non CFE Version I think is fine, the CFE version (same as Suprima) is Proton's own technology and relatively new in our market but I don't recommend it for that reason as you don't wannabe like those Waja/Gen2 owners previously being Proton's guinea pig, right?

I think Mitsubishi Lancer/Proton Inspira is a solid car worth consideration over Preve.

Yes, majority of Proton/Mitsubishi's automatic offerings now are all CVT-based gearboxes but they seem to be quite reliable as I don't see much complaints about them breaking down -- especially with many automatic Inspira's spotting Evo bodykits and their owners trashing their cars about trying to be fast laugh.gif

Sylphy is a good choice if you're not a heavy foot as i've been told the CVT has issues, however a retrofit oil cooler helps. Sylphy's are mostly 3-4 years old in the used car market and is quite a good choice overall. You'd find them cheaper (even including the oil cooler refit) than most other C-segment cars that aren't too old.

I think Lancer/Inspira will be a better fit.
Ricky300
post Jun 10 2015, 12:30 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 10 2015, 09:43 AM)
Saga FLX new is one way to go, quite a simple car and the only thing that could go wrong is the CVT gearbox, everything else is pretty low tech and mass market so shouldn't be expensive to replace.

Preve if you're talking about the non CFE Version I think is fine, the CFE version (same as Suprima) is Proton's own technology and relatively new in our market but I don't recommend it for that reason as you don't wannabe like those Waja/Gen2 owners previously being Proton's guinea pig, right?

I think Mitsubishi Lancer/Proton Inspira is a solid car worth consideration over Preve.

Yes, majority of Proton/Mitsubishi's automatic offerings now are all CVT-based gearboxes but they seem to be quite reliable as I don't see much complaints about them breaking down -- especially with many automatic Inspira's spotting Evo bodykits and their owners trashing their cars about trying to be fast  laugh.gif

Sylphy is a good choice if you're not a heavy foot as i've been told the CVT has issues, however a retrofit oil cooler helps. Sylphy's are mostly 3-4 years old in the used car market and is quite a good choice overall. You'd find them cheaper (even including the oil cooler refit) than most other C-segment cars that aren't too old.

I think Lancer/Inspira will be a better fit.
I think the abovementioned cars are not suitable for the buyer.

His 2nd concern was fuel consumption, generally Saga FLX, Preve, Suprima & certainly Inspira doesn't bring good fuel consumption. Definitely a big no no for city driving.

As for CFE, frankly speaking, the engine is not bad (My bro has been driving Preve for nearly 3 years, no complain at all. In fact I'm driving Suprima for 6 months....so far so good!)....just that u have to bear with the noise (as u know...Proton mah...)
pin10
post Jun 10 2015, 03:50 PM

130 posts

hi everybody, plan to buy a new car for my wife. only use for work, like 50km per day. already choose honda jazz or ford fiesta sport 1.5(2014), can let me know which should i choose.

ford fiesta 1.5(2014) got 11k discount, free 1st 3 year or 60k km labour & parts, warranty 5 years or 200k km. no need downpayment, just loan approved can take car.
honda jazz e spec, discount 3.5k, 5year unlimited warranty, free 6 times service, but need wait 2 month for car.

1) i know that honda, their service or parts should be cheaper compare to ford, but is the different much like need 2x or only like more 30%?
2) if dont care of 2nd hand value(because plan to drive as long as we can), which should i choose & why?
3) how was the fuel usage compare this 2? if only drive in city, no highway.

If got other suggestion vehicle model that i not mention also can let me know, my budget are 80k+-.

Thanks...
Ricky300
post Jun 10 2015, 04:27 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Jun 10 2015, 03:50 PM)
hi everybody, plan to buy a new car for my wife. only use for work, like 50km per day. already choose honda jazz or ford fiesta sport 1.5(2014), can let me know which should i choose.

ford fiesta 1.5(2014) got 11k discount, free 1st 3 year or 60k km labour & parts, warranty 5 years or 200k km. no need downpayment, just loan approved can take car.
honda jazz e spec, discount 3.5k, 5year unlimited warranty, free 6 times service, but need wait 2 month for car.

1) i know that honda, their service or parts should be cheaper compare to ford, but is the different much like need 2x or only like more 30%?
2) if dont care of 2nd hand value(because plan to drive as long as we can), which should i choose & why?
3) how was the fuel usage compare this 2? if only drive in city, no highway.

If got other suggestion vehicle model that i not mention also can let me know, my budget are 80k+-.

Thanks...
I was once being told that Fiesta has this gearbox issue (mechanic), not sure if the problem still persist for latest model.

Ain't sure if i'm right, maintenance for FORD should be higher than Jazz, mainly due to lack of demand (less parts available)

I like Jazz but it is too small but me, City is just alright. Since it is meant for your wife, I think you can consider Jazz. Or else do consider Mazda 2...
pin10
post Jun 10 2015, 08:19 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jun 10 2015, 04:27 PM)
I was once being told that Fiesta has this gearbox issue (mechanic), not sure if the problem still persist for latest model.

Ain't sure if i'm right, maintenance for FORD should be higher than Jazz, mainly due to lack of demand (less parts available)

I like Jazz but it is too small but me, City is just alright. Since it is meant for your wife, I think you can consider Jazz. Or else do consider Mazda 2...
tks bro, will try to find a mazda dealer. btw, is mazda service & part price high also? how was fuel consumption compare between, fiesta sport 1.5, jazz & mazda 2.

tks 1st...
Ricky300
post Jun 10 2015, 08:35 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Jun 10 2015, 08:19 PM)
tks bro, will try to find a mazda dealer. btw, is mazda service & part price high also? how was fuel consumption compare between, fiesta sport 1.5, jazz & mazda 2.

tks 1st...
You can look into carbase.my to compare all these cars

http://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=7M...QvsI,1WysG9qLZk,

Mazda 2 skyactive technology is good in term of fuel consumption, but I have yet tested the car.
pin10
post Jun 10 2015, 09:39 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jun 10 2015, 08:35 PM)
You can look into carbase.my to compare all these cars

http://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=7M...QvsI,1WysG9qLZk,

Mazda 2 skyactive technology is good in term of fuel consumption, but I have yet tested the car.
this website is good, can compare direct. after compare, the different will be:

md2- save fuel compare to others, got reverse camera.
ffs1.5- free 3 year/60km for labour & parts, auto headlamps & wiper.
hj1.5- 5year warranty unlimited, biggest boot compare to others, 6 airbag compare to others got 2 only.

look like if think of 2nd value or service & parts after warranty, ford fiesta should be out, but now ford got 11k discount for 2014 model(attract my wife).
if for family use & more on safety, should go for jazz for bigger space, but the car only drive me wife to work.
how about mazda service, labour & part price, sc service ok? need to go test drive because my brothers got a mazda 3, the back area to small(i got long leg la).

This post has been edited by pin10: Jun 10 2015, 09:40 PM
Ricky300
post Jun 10 2015, 09:57 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ Jun 10 2015, 09:39 PM)
this website is good, can compare direct. after compare, the different will be:

md2- save fuel compare to others, got reverse camera.
ffs1.5- free 3 year/60km for labour & parts, auto headlamps & wiper.
hj1.5- 5year warranty unlimited, biggest boot compare to others, 6 airbag compare to others got 2 only.

look like if think of 2nd value or service & parts after warranty, ford fiesta should be out, but now ford got 11k discount for 2014 model(attract my wife).
if for family use & more on safety, should go for jazz for bigger space, but the car only drive me wife to work.
how about mazda service, labour & part price, sc service ok? need to go test drive because my brothers got a mazda 3, the back area to small(i got long leg la).
Those are just theories.... but at least it gives u an overview! tongue.gif

Jazz bigger space? Seriously? Never tried Jazz before but judging from the outlook, it look pack!

Mazda is famous in space limitation, if rear space is your major concern, why not consider Honda City?

Interior wise I will go for Mazda 2 for sure....no idea about their service
pin10
post Jun 10 2015, 10:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jun 10 2015, 09:57 PM)
Those are just theories.... but at least it gives u an overview! tongue.gif

Jazz bigger space? Seriously? Never tried Jazz before but judging from the outlook, it look pack!

Mazda is famous in space limitation, if rear space is your major concern, why not consider Honda City?

Interior wise I will go for Mazda 2 for sure....no idea about their service
try jazz before, really surprise rear space big & boot also big. my wife want small car, so no consider honda city, toyota vios or kia cerato. now the final decision will choose from jazz(bigger space but need wait 2 month), fiesta 1.5(11k discount) & sure will go mazda showroom check md2, but if really space limitation, sure my wife dont like(girls really hard to understand) biggrin.gif
sony3000111
post Jun 10 2015, 11:14 PM

76 posts

Hello again, been looking around for a reliable second-hand car to use with focus on FC and reliability for regular highway travel. So, I think I've narrowed it down to the 90's Honda Civic.

What do you guys think about these two listings?

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2278470/19...-1-5-a-eg3.html

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2314391/19...vic-1-6-a-.html

Also, I found a listing for a 2003 honda city

http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2275646/20...n-like-new.html

Comments please?
Homerun
post Jun 11 2015, 01:24 AM

199 posts

guys, i found out that foreign banks in malaysia e.g Citi, Hsbc, Ocbc all don't provide car loans anymore. what happened actually?

Secruoser
post Jun 12 2015, 12:21 PM

1,181 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 3 2015, 05:59 PM)
Yes, Honda/Toyota in most parts of the world corner this market by having reliable cars which are cheap to maintain. They are quite exceptional, Mazda is under normal category, if you're unwilling to pay that extra for a better car then T&H is your goto brand.

Thanks! For Mazda6, only 2nd gen and later has SkyActiv right?

zenix
post Jun 13 2015, 09:50 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Secruoser @ Jun 12 2015, 12:21 PM)
Thanks! For Mazda6, only 2nd gen and later has SkyActiv right?
bascially all the KODO design cars are skyactive
how to tell it is KODO design or not?
they all have big mouth grille

bladekiller
post Jun 14 2015, 11:22 AM

363 posts

Hi guys, want to check on the following:-
- can I sell off my car with 2 more months of installment not paid? Can settle it upon receive sales proceed?
- whilst in the midst of disposing old car above, I want to book a new car. Will there be a transition period where I'm stuck with no car at all? I.e. Old car sold, waiting new car arrival.
- for car final installment, is it a must to go personally to the bank? Even though the final installment amount is the same.

lil twist
post Jun 14 2015, 08:32 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

Hi guys.. Wanted to get some opinion on mini cooper s 2005 - 2008 models.. Is it a good buy? And, any known issues that you can share? Your input means a lot to me..

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
afiqsabri
post Jun 15 2015, 10:50 AM

714 posts

Hi guys,

Really need some recommendations on D-Segment car here

1. Brand Any
2. Price 140-160K
3. New Car
4. Spec :need min 2.0, DOHC preferred
5. Transmission :Auto
6. Either NA of FI
7. Type : Sedan D-segment
8. Remarks need bigger leg room, acceptable RV, Japanese Car preferred.
sony3000111
post Jun 15 2015, 04:54 PM

76 posts

Hello guys, went to check out a '96 Civic 1.6 (A) at the car lot just now.

From what I saw, the previous owner installed 15" sports rims (non-stock) and a body kit. I couldn't find any signs of major accidents, checking the front and tail-end of the car. And also I saw no evidence of water leakage on the carpets at the front and the back. However, one of the doors couldn't open from the outside and there was water leakage into the trunk. Both of these issues, the dealer said he would fix for me before handing it over.

My problems are I have no idea whether the car has been modded in any way, so I took a pic of the car's engine compartment hoping you guys could help me figure out if there's any weird stuff going on. Also, the dealer told me that he would be charging me an extra RM 5k on top of the price of the car for stuff like insurance, changing car registration etc. RM 5k seems a bit much to me, am I being played? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Ricky300
post Jun 16 2015, 04:39 PM

1,514 posts

QUOTE(sony3000111 @ Jun 15 2015, 04:54 PM)
Hello guys, went to check out a '96 Civic 1.6 (A) at the car lot just now.

From what I saw, the previous owner installed 15" sports rims (non-stock) and a body kit. I couldn't find any signs of major accidents, checking the front and tail-end of the car. And also I saw no evidence of water leakage on the carpets at the front and the back. However, one of the doors couldn't open from the outside and there was water leakage into the trunk. Both of these issues, the dealer said he would fix for me before handing it over.

My problems are I have no idea whether the car has been modded in any way, so I took a pic of the car's engine compartment hoping you guys could help me figure out if there's any weird stuff going on. Also, the dealer told me that he would be charging me an extra RM 5k on top of the price of the car for stuff like insurance, changing car registration etc. RM 5k seems a bit much to me, am I being played?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
How much is the dealer selling you?

RM5000 even includes Insurance is expensive to me. Cash buy or Loan?
sony3000111
post Jun 16 2015, 05:58 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Ricky300 @ Jun 16 2015, 04:39 PM)
How much is the dealer selling you?

RM5000 even includes Insurance is expensive to me. Cash buy or Loan?
RM 16k, cash buy. He was saying 2.5k was for helping to change registration

125 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:11 PM