Plan to buy a NEW/USED car?(V2), ASK HERE for recommendation.

6UE5T
post May 20 2015, 06:22 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ May 18 2015, 02:58 PM)
2nd hand car, buy with cash, pay on spot, take car to puspacom, switch name, vola. haha...
How long is the change name process in puspakom? Need to do inspection first at JPJ right?
6UE5T
post Jun 22 2015, 12:51 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jun 21 2015, 08:09 PM)
Recently I'm trying to look for a car around 50k. Usage : Family car

There are 2 options
1. Either get a new car
2. Or a used car that worth it.

I try to search around online and found that 2011 Slyphy and 407 is around that price range. I'm wondering if this is a good bargain since both car cost more than RM100k when it's new. It's a huge price cut. But is there any reason behind this? How is the maintenance cost? fuel consumption? reliability? safety? etc

I heard Slyphy once won car of the year?? Meanwhile, continental car more reliable??

Or any other better choice that I should consider. Welcome sifu to give some advice.  happy.gif
No, conti cars are not more reliable, more of the opposite.
Sylphy should be a good buy.
6UE5T
post Jun 23 2015, 01:50 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(neo_6053 @ Jun 23 2015, 01:27 PM)
thank you so much, so is the cost of maintenance for slyphy ok?
but u know any reason why slyphy price drop so much? =_= just kind curious
My guess is because it uses CVT. Anyway among Japanese brands, Nissan RV is also never that strong in the first place.
6UE5T
post Oct 6 2015, 07:31 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Oct 4 2015, 12:26 PM)
Hi guys. Need advise here.. isit worth to buy the honda accord now with rm8k rebate or wait for the new 2016 accord next year ? Spec:2.0 vti-l
Maybe better buy now coz car prices will go up soon due to the currency drop.
Btw for such size car, not worth it to buy just 2.0ltr version coz it's underpowered IMHO.
6UE5T
post Dec 10 2015, 10:13 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Dec 8 2015, 01:29 PM)
Bro Zenix,
Any good recommendation for 2nd.hand 2.0 D segment?
QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 10 2015, 09:58 AM)
2012 Toyota Mark X - MarkX are import only models so be wary of advertisments as iinm for the 60k price range like this advertisement it should be older like 2006/2007, it could either an honest mistake the seller put the year they registered in Malaysia (or imported to Malaysia) not the manufactured year or they trying to bamboozle you. 2011 Toyota Mark X this is the latest model, as you can see they updated the looks from the previous bubbly look. Imported unregistered models of this ilk are around 120k which I feel is great value for money since usually for that price people can usually buy a Civic or Altis only, but instead you can get a top notch D-segment sedan from Toyota which is miles better than Camry but in terms of maintenance would only be slightly more expensive to maintain. The V6 engine is smooth, reliable and powerful. But the choice of getting the older model for around 60-75k (7-10 years old) or new/unreg 120k and above is up to you. Either one wouldn't cost a bomb to maintain, plus the old and new share alot of common parts even the engine/gearbox is the same with tweaks....
Mark X is an excellent choice but it's 2.5ltr, not 2.0ltr. Should never buy a d-segment size car with only a puny 2.0ltr engine, it's just hopeless! laugh.gif
Btw the latest model is like this, not the one you posted above.
http://www.mudah.my/2012+Toyota+Mark+X+2+5...PN-41872332.htm

QUOTE(Thayaalan 14 @ Dec 9 2015, 06:35 PM)
Hey peeps, could I get some help with this?
Can't seem to find this car around.
WTB
1. Brand : Honda Civic Euro
2. Budget : below 90k, 80k preferrably
3. New/Used/Unreg : any
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : 6 speed manual
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : Any color except white, and low mileage.
If anyone happens to know any owners, kindly help share their feedback or if I should look for a different model instead? Very particular that it be 6 speed MT.

Thanks!
Might as well just get FD2R instead of the FN2R. FD2R looks way much better and has many more options to mod the styling. Unless you just want to look more different/rare hence opting for the FN2R. Or go for the older Type R EP.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Dec 10 2015, 10:22 PM
6UE5T
post Dec 11 2015, 06:04 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 11 2015, 04:02 PM)
Trying to decide between a 2015 BMW F10 520i (303K) vs 528i M Sports (350K).

Brand new
Zero mileage
Interchange with new number plate absorbed worth RM1,500
Transfer fees absorbed RM1,000
Free Llumar tint worth RM1,500
Free Regal Valet GYEON quartz ceramic coating worth RM3,500
5 years unlimited mileage warranty
5 yrs or 80,000km free service
No BSRI

Is this a good deal?
If got so much budget, why consider lesser model?
6UE5T
post Dec 26 2015, 01:42 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Dec 19 2015, 07:26 PM)
Any advice to choose toyota innova or nissan livina? I've test drive both cars comfort and handling is good for both cars. Wanna hear other opinions. Thank you.
Pros for Livina/cons for Innova:
- Better handling due to being lower and lighter, almost more like a station wagon instead of an MPV.
- Better fuel consumption (can get 13km/ltr real avg. combined city/highway).
- Cheaper, hence better value for money.

Cons for Livina/pros for Innova:
- Smaller space than Innova.
- Innova gearbox with conventional A/T is better than the current 1.8 Livina CVT unless you opt for the even cheaper 1.6 Livina.
- Livina is less powerful than Innova but also lighter chassis.
- Livina has primitive audio/entertainment system.
- No double blower A/C for Livina.

So in the end which aspects are more priority to you?
6UE5T
post Dec 26 2015, 02:35 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(halofujima @ Dec 20 2015, 02:00 PM)
Hello,

I know very little about cars,
So I hope bros out there can help me with my struggle..
It has been almost 10 years I been driving my proton wira aeroback.. 1.3 since my 1st job...
The car has served me well, and i am looking to get something i like.

1. Brand: Any -
2. Budget. below RM 200,000.
3. New/Used/Unreg. Any
4. Specs Any
5. Transmission. Anything except manual.
6. NA or FI ?  Any
7. Type. : prefer sports , 2 doors... but other recommendations are welcome!! (Strictly do not accept hatchback design biggrin.gif)
8. Remarks. My main points are towards 1. design. 2. price 3. maintenance cost

I am looking into getting an Audi TT, but when i check on the car sites like mudah, some are selling about 99k , some 180k, same model and similar year make,
Can anyone enlighten me how all this work??

Anyway, i am also looking for recommendations ! Planning to use it for another 5 - 7 years once i purchase it.
Audi TT got a few different versions that are sold here:
1. The normal TT which is basically just a VW Golf GTI in a different body shell with about the same 2.0ltr turbo engine spec 210-220hp and FWD layout. This is the cheaper ones. This is an example: http://www.mudah.my/2011+Audi+TT+2+0+A+FSi...er-42412383.htm
2. The older TT-S with 3.2ltr engine V6 NA (non turbo) engine 245-250hp, AWD. This is rather rare coz bigger engine hence not popular in Malaysia due to expensive road tax. It shares similar specs like the older Golf R. Example is this: http://www.mudah.my/Audi+TT+3+2+A+V6+Quatt...el-42929774.htm
3. The newer TT-S with 2.0ltr turbo but higher power 260-270hp and AWD. This is similar like the current Golf R in terms of performance specification. For example: http://www.mudah.my/Audi+TTS+2+0+A+TFSI+QU...+P-42975420.htm
4. The TT-RS which is the highest spec with the most powerful 350HP tuning and more hardcore/less comfortable setup. This one is way over rm200k.

Now there are a lot of TT pretending to be the higher TT-S version and trying to sell at higher price, for example they would call TT S-line, but they're not real TT-S so be careful not to get fooled. The engine and AWD is the easiest to tell the difference and cannot be lied about (look at how the engine bay of the TT & TT-S looks different, and look at the rear underneath to see if there's the rear differential transfer case of an AWD). There are other subtle differences also such as the automatic gear knob, speedometer & steering with TT-S logo so pay attention to these details.

Now another 2 door sports car option besides the TT is Toyota GT86 or Subaru BRZ but of course it's more spartan than the TT as it's actually a cheaper class of sports car and very spartan interior. Should be more reliable and easier/cheaper to maintain though.

Then of course there are the 2 door versions of BMW 3 series (325ci, 330ci, 335ci) and Mercedes (C180/C250/E250/E350 coupe) if you prefer German options.
6UE5T
post Feb 18 2016, 01:30 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Feb 10 2016, 11:11 PM)
Lancer Evo 7 GTA.

Its an auto icon_idea.gif
Doesn't meet his criteria fo fuel saving though! laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Apr 13 2016, 06:43 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wonghs @ Apr 13 2016, 12:56 AM)
Anyone familiar with Toyota Mark X?
I saw some 05' 06' at 60-65k, is it good buy?
No idea on the maintenance, more expensive than Camry/accord? any taikor can comment?
QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 13 2016, 10:45 AM)
...If you look around the car listing websites or magazines you'll notice that it's rivals such as 05/06 Honda Accord and 05/06 Toyota Camry are also generally in that price range but usually the Mark X is slightly more expensive to buy because of it's premium status. Generally maintenance for the 3 are about the same however big ticket items like may not always be in stock at the spare parts dealers, alternatively you can try chop shops if they have these parts.

Overall it is a very good car, highway speeds of 110km/h at only 2500rpm is a real fuel saver  brows.gif
I find that the cabin stability and NVH is better than the standard camry.
However, when it comes to maintenance do expect certain things to be more expensive because they are not routine maintenance items and/or usually break during an accident.
I'm currently driving a 2008 Mark X for almost 4 yrs now. It's a 2.5ltr V6 GDi engine with 212ps/260nm RWD 6 speed transmission, 0-100kph in about 7-8secs and top speed >240kph. This car is certainly much better than Accord or Camry especially in terms of performance and handling, so yeah it is a good buy if you're looking for a reliable D-Segment which can easily outperforms all those more common Accords/Camrys/Mazda 6s/Teanas. Maintenance is still comparable to those other d-segments, just slightly more expensive but not that much. Parts not that difficult to find since this car shares the same engine and gearbox as the Lexus IS250. Even many suspension and brakes parts are the same as well. It's a very reliable car btw, so mostly just regular maintenance.

It is very fuel efficient for the size and power that it has. My car can easily reach real measured average of 10-11km/ltr using RON95 in mixed city highway condition around KL. Achieving 600-650km on full tank in such mixed condition is not difficult, I could even reach 720-750km at some time before. If full highway, I can drive to Johor and back to KL in just 1 full tank provided I drive patiently within 110-120kph.

So do try test drive some if you're looking for a good D-segment car. If you want more info on this car, you can just pm me, I'll try to help as much as I know based on my experience.
6UE5T
post Apr 14 2016, 12:24 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wonghs @ Apr 13 2016, 10:56 PM)
Thanks Zenix & 6UEST for the insight.

Haih... really hard to choose. i like used car over the new one coz no need to worry, if scratch then scratch la... also value for money. Engine cc at least must 1.8 or 2.0

earlier i was considering Camry/Accord (but the RV still holds) --- 65k-80k

then was thinking why not consider old C or E class / BMW / Volvo S60 or 80 --- 30k-50k (but will be rob when footing the maintennance bills) - brother in laws also advise not to choose due to i am lazy to service car. He said Japs car never go wrong, no need to think.

Now am looking at Mark X / Sonata / Sylphy....  --- 30k-60k

Verryyyyyyy undecided.... Btw now driving Perdana V6 which must return to my family use in the next few month
Aiyo between those 3 choices Mark X is so much better that is laughable that you even compare them together! laugh.gif
6UE5T
post Apr 14 2016, 10:30 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wonghs @ Apr 14 2016, 12:54 AM)
Yes I know. Just thinking whether it is value for money or not. Mark X is trading at 60-65 le... 😅
For 60k budget, you can get at max 2006 car. If you're not used to choosing and maintaining relatively old cars then yeah, that's a concern. Anyway I still suggest you to test drive some.
6UE5T
post Apr 16 2016, 12:37 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wonghs @ Apr 14 2016, 12:54 AM)
Yes I know. Just thinking whether it is value for money or not. Mark X is trading at 60-65 le... 😅
QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 14 2016, 12:19 PM)
great review  thumbup.gif

Actually Mark X, Accord and Camry that are valued abut 60k are pretty much the same year make around 2004-2007. See the review above for Mark X, it's a damn good car for the price.
This seems worth to check out if you live around KL coz this is a Sports Package (with black interior).
http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+Mark+X+2+5+AT+I...0816.htm?last=1

0.0867sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:25 AM