127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V9, Global Body for Professional Accountants

nick67
post Dec 18 2013, 10:35 AM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 18 2013, 09:02 AM)
I am not informed about them but I keep myself up-to-date and have enough knowledge to debate with different people. I have always been saying stuff about Francis Braganzia, Rob Sowerby, Martin Jones etc. who would never be coming to M'sia and they are really some awesome lecturers.

I didn't say that local lecturers are nothing rather my point was that how can you compare the local non-native English speakers with the Natives and then saying that locals are better!!!!! I know many of the M'sians prefer the local lecturers because of their accent which is easier to understand. As regards to scoring better and having a better pass rate, this is nothing to praise them since passing is all the effort of the student. The lecturer can just make the topic easier to understand.

Firstly, I don't agree with you that UK lecturers have lower pass rates as compared to the local ones. But just assume it is, then the reason behind it is that many people here find it difficult to understand the UK accent. I have done some research and I have got to know that students,in schools, are taught the American Accent and that vary quite a lot and many students aren't even good in English and are used to BROKEN English.

Well if Spencer was that great, then he shouldn't have been ignoring questions asked by my friend so I highly doubt his qualities. Rather I would love to give the example of Joey Wong here,under whom I studied F8. He marked more than 50 answers I did and submitted to him every week. He never said that he is busy or anything. He answered all the questions I asked in class and some of them were kinda silly as well. He NEVER ignored!!! Then why did Spencer?  whistling.gif

Okay do me a favor, take one of your local lecturer, lets take Spencer since everyone is in LOVE with him and do a  simple comparison of his performance in F9 with Elliot Betts and conclude who is better!
Why do you hate Spencer so much?

I been under him for a short while for P5 and I find him good. He speaks good English, he can relate what he is teaching with some of his real life experience, he provides mind maps of key words and teaches us how to elaborate using his mind map which makes it super easy to study, he DOES take questions from students, he focuses on the theory part rather than calculation (unlike other certain lecturers) which is important for P5 and in his class, time feels like it just flies. Many of my classmates felt that he is good as well.

QUOTE(pynic @ Dec 18 2013, 09:40 AM)
Thanks for the advice! but if I fail F7 I am worried that I won't be able to catch up with P2  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
My friend was in the same situation. He took P2 and failed F7. Then he took them both together, and passed P2 while failing F7 again. Yes there is some overlap in F7 and P2 but I never felt that F7 is essential knowledge for P2.
TSdonizback
post Dec 18 2013, 10:39 AM

And honey, you should see me in a crown!
1,474 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Dec 18 2013, 10:35 AM)
Why do you hate Spencer so much?

I been under him for a  short while for P5 and I find him good. He speaks good English, he can relate what he is teaching with some of his real life experience, he provides mind maps of key words and teaches us how to elaborate using his mind map which makes it super easy to study, he DOES take questions from students, he focuses on the theory part rather than calculation (unlike other certain lecturers) which is important for P5 and in his class, time feels like it just flies. Many of my classmates felt that he is good as well.
I didn't say I hate Spencer and why would I?

Well, I think you didn't understand what I said. I didn't say anything to him as regards to English. He might be good but my friends tell me that he used to ignore students' queries which is kinda bad and insulting in the class.

Talking about the mind maps, go to mapitaccountancy.com, see you would get the free mind maps from there from some English lecturer and when reading Spencer's F7 notes, these mind maps were somewhat the same as those ones lol

Now please don't say that mapitaccountancy lecturer copied Spencer's mind maps!!!!
pynic
post Dec 18 2013, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 18 2013, 10:11 AM)
Well Pray as much as you can laugh.gif
Both of these papers are not difficult and its not difficult to pass F7.

Lets say you only fail 1 paper(hope you don't), if it is F7 then don't think about P2 but if it is F9 then you have to go for P2 since you have got some basics in F7 which are likely to help you in P2. It took me 1 week to revise all the consolidation since I forgot so much of it sad.gif

I hope you can pass all the papers you attempted this sitting. Best of Luck for the results  icon_rolleyes.gif
Would it be too late if I started to go for classes after results out? sad.gif sad.gif

and thanks smile.gif I hope I pass all the papers I attempted too brows.gif brows.gif
TSdonizback
post Dec 18 2013, 10:48 AM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(pynic @ Dec 18 2013, 10:45 AM)
Would it be too late if I started to go for classes after results out?  sad.gif  sad.gif

and thanks  smile.gif  I hope I pass all the papers I attempted too  brows.gif  brows.gif
I suggest you to go for P2 classes dude since the syllabus is vast and you would need to practice a lot there.
As regards to P1, I think you should and can wait until the result comes out. P1 shouldn't be a problem for you. wink.gif
IMF
post Dec 18 2013, 11:09 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 18 2013, 10:39 AM)

Well, I think you didn't understand what I said. I didn't say anything to him as regards to English. He might be good but my friends tell me that he used to ignore students' queries which is kinda bad and insulting in the class.

Talking about the mind maps, go to mapitaccountancy.com, see you would get the free mind maps from there from some English lecturer and when reading Spencer's F7 notes, these mind maps were somewhat the same as those ones lol

Now please don't say that mapitaccountancy lecturer copied Spencer's mind maps!!!!
brows.gif

U definitely hate spencer laugh.gif
I have seen MAPIT mindmap, it's definitely not the same, and for your knowledge he has mindmap for P5, oops do MAPIT has? icon_idea.gif , I wonder later who copied who. shocking.gif

Anyway, Spencer ignoring your friend Ques, that I'm not sure but I believe there's always two side to a story.

But one thing I know he left FTMS bcos they owe him salary (5 months), you can ask any of your lecturer and you will be worried.

IMF
post Dec 18 2013, 11:17 AM

50 posts

Had a look at MAPIT, they r using the same software that's why it look similar, but look at the content I'm sure it's not the same.
TSdonizback
post Dec 18 2013, 11:59 AM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(IMF @ Dec 18 2013, 11:09 AM)
brows.gif

U definitely hate spencer  laugh.gif
I have seen MAPIT mindmap, it's definitely not the same, and for your knowledge he has mindmap for P5, oops do MAPIT has?  icon_idea.gif  , I wonder later who copied who.  shocking.gif

Anyway, Spencer ignoring your friend Ques, that I'm not sure but I believe there's always two side to a story.

But one thing I know he left FTMS bcos they owe him salary (5 months), you can ask any of your lecturer and you will be worried.
haha I don't have any reason to hate him laugh.gif

It was just a debate, sorry if you felt I hate him icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, I looked at the F7 mind maps of mapitaccountancy and that so much similar to the Spencer's notes.

I don't really mind/care why he resigned from FTMS. There must be a good reason to do so. But Who Knows!
nick67
post Dec 18 2013, 04:08 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 18 2013, 10:39 AM)

Haha, don't know. Just that your replies seem to dislike him.

Anyway, Spencer showed us the software he used to create the mindmaps and such. He even went through some emails he exchanged with the creator of the software to show us how useful it is. So I don't think he copied anybody and made his own.

Not sure why he ignored your friend's questions. I hate lecturers who does that too but I have heard of some questions asked in class which would blow your mind (not in a good way). Also, maybe your friend should have asked him privately after class. Sometimes its hard for the lecturer to answer a question that may potentially waste distrupt the entire classes' time.

This post has been edited by nick67: Dec 18 2013, 05:59 PM
TSdonizback
post Dec 18 2013, 07:13 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Dec 18 2013, 04:08 PM)
Haha, don't know. Just that your replies seem to dislike him.

Anyway, Spencer showed us the software he used to create the mindmaps and such. He even went through some emails he exchanged with the creator of the software to show us how useful it is. So I don't think he copied anybody and made his own.

Not sure why he ignored your friend's questions. I hate lecturers who does that too but I have heard of some questions asked in class which would blow your mind (not in a good way). Also, maybe your friend should have asked him privately after class. Sometimes its hard for the lecturer to answer a question that may potentially waste distrupt the entire classes' time.
Hahaha, that F7 mind maps are kinda so similar biggrin.gif

Yeah it might be the reason he ignored. Like someone mentioned earlier, there are always two sides of a story so we can't really judge who is right and who is not!
xiaowah99
post Dec 19 2013, 12:05 AM

Hi, can anyone recommend F5 n F8 lecturer?
Is Mr Sivasathish still teaching F8 @ PAAC ?
Thanks a lot :-)
TSdonizback
post Dec 19 2013, 12:27 AM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(xiaowah99 @ Dec 19 2013, 12:05 AM)
Hi, can anyone recommend F5 n F8 lecturer?
Is Mr Sivasathish still teaching F8 @ PAAC ?
Thanks a lot :-)
Nope Mr. Siva is no more teaching in PAAC. In fact I have heard that PAAC has now been closed(I don't know, my class fellows said that) If you wanna study under him then you would need to go to Help college!!!

But if you are hard working, I would suggest you to join Joey Wong's class. He is quite good, can answer any question you ask him, can check your homeworks(never say NO) But if you don't wanna do questions at home and ask him to mark those, then I won't say anything!
saramelia
post Dec 19 2013, 05:25 PM

Planning to take P1, P2 and P3 next semester. Are these the best tutors?

P1 : miss Sheila
P2: ms Monen
P3 : Michael Mainwaring (IRC) only

Just looked thru the sunway ACCA website but didnt find the fee prices. How much will the part time classes? smile.gif thanks!
Jessicacwp
post Dec 19 2013, 08:45 PM

59 posts

Hi all, I need some advice here. Is it possible to take P2, p6 & p7 in one sitting? If yes, how can I do it and will it be too heavy to cope?

I am a full time student now, really need advice on this.
Thanks a lot notworthy.gif

TSdonizback
post Dec 19 2013, 09:00 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(Jessicacwp @ Dec 19 2013, 08:45 PM)
Hi all, I need some advice here. Is it possible to take P2, p6 & p7 in one sitting? If yes, how can I do it and will it be too heavy to cope?

I am a full time student now, really need advice on this.
Thanks a lot  notworthy.gif
You can take P6 and P7 with P2 only if you have passed P1 and P3 and you are only left with these three papers.

Well I don't really know about the pressue you are likely to face but I am pretty sure you can do it because you are full-time and if you study, lets say, 2 hours a day for every subject, passing shouldn't be an issue for you. My friend who suggested me ACCA, took 4 papers(P1, P2 , P3 , P4) in one sitting and passed all of them!
xiaowah99
post Dec 19 2013, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 19 2013, 12:27 AM)
Nope Mr. Siva is no more teaching in PAAC. In fact I have heard that PAAC has now been closed(I don't know, my class fellows said that) If you wanna study under him then you would need to go to Help college!!!

But if you are hard working, I would suggest you to join Joey Wong's class. He is quite good, can answer any question you ask him, can check your homeworks(never say NO) But if you don't wanna do questions at home and ask him to mark those, then I won't say anything!
Thx for ur reply.. Actually I'm a part time student..where can attend Joey Wong's class? Is he teaching part time as well? I knew he was teaching p3 dun knw f8:-p

TSdonizback
post Dec 19 2013, 10:41 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(xiaowah99 @ Dec 19 2013, 09:37 PM)
Thx for ur reply.. Actually I'm a part time student..where can attend Joey Wong's class? Is he teaching part time as well? I knew he was teaching p3 dun knw f8:-p
He is teaching in FTMS college, where I studied from him in this July 2013 semester. Yup he is teaching part-time students as well!
If you are planning to take his classes, make sure you take full benefit of it. Request him to mark your answers. Try to do around 1 question everyday and submit those to him every week or so.
The key to pass F8 is to do a lot of questions and ask your teacher/senior friends to mark those for you.
happyzai602
post Dec 19 2013, 11:06 PM

Hi, anyone has any comment about Sivasatish in teaching of P3?
mayonnaiseeeee
post Dec 20 2013, 12:05 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(saramelia @ Dec 19 2013, 05:25 PM)

Planning to take P1, P2 and P3 next semester. Are these the best tutors?

P1 : miss Sheila
P2:  ms Monen
P3 : Michael Mainwaring (IRC) only

Just looked thru the sunway ACCA website but didnt find the fee prices. How much will the part time classes? smile.gif thanks!
a friend of mine took his p2 in sunway and it was about RM4.5K my gosh!
was thinking to go there for p2 as well but then when i know the fee i was like huh?
just yesterday night i decided to try spencer. seriously hoping he's ok for p2.
i hope. i hope. i hope.
nick67
post Dec 20 2013, 01:20 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(mayonnaiseeeee @ Dec 20 2013, 12:05 PM)
a friend of mine took his p2 in sunway and it was about RM4.5K my gosh!
was thinking to go there for p2 as well but then when i know the fee i was like huh?
just yesterday night i decided to try spencer. seriously hoping he's ok for p2.
i hope. i hope. i hope.
Wow the fees for one paper increased that much?

If I recall it was like 1.3k for P papers.
mayonnaiseeeee
post Dec 20 2013, 01:58 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Dec 20 2013, 01:20 PM)
Wow the fees for one paper increased that much?

If I recall it was like 1.3k for P papers.
he said the tuition fee is about 2k then the p2a class about 500 the rest is registration etc.

127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0404sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:27 PM