127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Business ACCA V9, Global Body for Professional Accountants

nick67
post Dec 20 2013, 02:22 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(mayonnaiseeeee @ Dec 20 2013, 01:58 PM)
he said the tuition fee is about 2k then the p2a class about 500 the rest is registration etc.
2k?? That's insane. P2a also another one. They keep forcing us to go for all these extra stuffs in Sunway. shakehead.gif
saramelia
post Dec 20 2013, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(mayonnaiseeeee @ Dec 20 2013, 12:05 PM)
a friend of mine took his p2 in sunway and it was about RM4.5K my gosh!
was thinking to go there for p2 as well but then when i know the fee i was like huh?
just yesterday night i decided to try spencer. seriously hoping he's ok for p2.
i hope. i hope. i hope.

I read in the previous thread in V8 about Tom Clendon. Is he good? Anyone has joined his classes?
TSdonizback
post Dec 20 2013, 04:17 PM

And honey, you should see me in a crown!
1,474 posts

QUOTE(saramelia @ Dec 20 2013, 03:03 PM)
I read in the previous thread in V8 about Tom Clendon. Is he good? Anyone has joined his classes?
Already registered under him. I won't say whether he is good or not because I have had said enough tongue.gif
I feel scared to say anything now doh.gif whistling.gif
However, he is on twitter, youtube etc. you can watch is videos on youtube and see how he sounds to you........
mayonnaiseeeee
post Dec 20 2013, 08:36 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Dec 20 2013, 02:22 PM)
2k?? That's insane. P2a also another one. They keep forcing us to go for all these extra stuffs in Sunway.  shakehead.gif
2k tuition fees is still acceptable. It's sunway after all. What scared me off is the 2k registration. That's totally crazy.
mayonnaiseeeee
post Dec 20 2013, 08:39 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(saramelia @ Dec 20 2013, 03:03 PM)
No I dont know about him. If you're signing up for his class then feedback here next time. For future reference lol
xiaowah99
post Dec 21 2013, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 19 2013, 10:41 PM)
He is teaching in FTMS college, where I studied from him in this July 2013 semester. Yup he is teaching part-time students as well!
If you are planning to take his classes, make sure you take full benefit of it. Request him to mark your answers. Try to do around 1 question everyday and submit those to him every week or so.
The key to pass F8 is to do a lot of questions and ask your teacher/senior friends to mark those for you.
Thanks ur suggestion..I decided to register his class on next week..
Hmm..wat abt F5 Annie Tan? Any comment? Coz I'm thinking if i tek F8 at FTMS, m also can consider to tek F5.. :-D
Are u full time student of FTMS currently?
Propernormal
post Dec 21 2013, 01:06 PM

127 posts

Hi There,

Those who are still exploring your study options,why dont you check out these blogs:

http://j-p1.blogspot.com/
http://acca-p2.blogspot.com/
http://j-p3.blogspot.com/
http://j-fma.blogspot.com/
http://j-audit.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by Propernormal: Dec 21 2013, 01:18 PM
TSdonizback
post Dec 21 2013, 02:13 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(xiaowah99 @ Dec 21 2013, 11:18 AM)
Thanks ur suggestion..I decided to register his class on next week..
Hmm..wat abt F5 Annie Tan? Any comment? Coz I'm thinking if i tek F8 at FTMS, m also can consider to tek F5.. :-D
Are u full time student of FTMS currently?
I am taking P1, P2 and P3 from FTMS this sitting. Well I studied under her in F9 and as well in F5. The thing is, she is quite efficient with the Numerical parts of the syllabus. However, she is a bit weak in the theory. Weak means doesn't really focus a lot on theory!

I used to ask her to mark my answers to the past papers I used to do at home. She never denied. So concluding, if you want a teacher who can mark the answers for you then go for her, but if you want to study only in class and don't wanna revise back at home and don't wanna do any questions then I would say go for any other more experienced lecturer smile.gif

Best of luck!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(mayonnaiseeeee @ Dec 20 2013, 08:39 PM)
No I dont know about him. If you're signing up for his class then feedback here next time. For future reference lol
You don't know about him or you don't wanna know about him? laugh.gif brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by donizback: Dec 21 2013, 02:38 PM
mayonnaiseeeee
post Dec 21 2013, 03:16 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Dec 21 2013, 01:06 PM)
Hi There,

Those who are still exploring your study options,why dont you check out the...
hi propernormal, you once told me one needs to do a lot of extra studies if doing p2 under spencer. but would he actually provide those extra stuffs or we need to search for them ourselves? thanks!
mayonnaiseeeee
post Dec 21 2013, 03:23 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 21 2013, 02:13 PM)

You don't know about him or you don't wanna know about him?  laugh.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
i'd love to know about him but not from you. some other people perhaps.
TSdonizback
post Dec 21 2013, 04:19 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(mayonnaiseeeee @ Dec 21 2013, 03:23 PM)
i'd love to know about him but not from you. some other people perhaps.
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif Why not from me? rclxub.gif doh.gif

Edited:
To be honest, even I don't know about him. But I have attended one of the masterclasses by Kaplan Financials and many students were describing him as the Legendary lecturer for P2. And many of my friends attended his F7/P2 revision and they said he is great!
By the way, don't forget to answer my question!!!!

This post has been edited by donizback: Dec 21 2013, 04:37 PM
Albertloo25
post Dec 22 2013, 04:08 PM

31 posts

Yes, i am wondering beside ms. menon.. which lecturer is good for p2? The kasturi KL Joe Fang? I am thinking whether to go sunway or kasturi.. thing that stopping me make that choice is that , Sunway p2 = rm2,500.. Anyone got suggestion or comments? Thanks
xiaowah99
post Dec 23 2013, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 21 2013, 02:13 PM)
I am taking P1, P2 and P3 from FTMS this sitting. Well I studied under her in F9 and as well in F5. The thing is, she is quite efficient with the Numerical parts of the syllabus. However, she is a bit weak in the theory. Weak means doesn't really focus a lot on theory!

I used to ask her to mark my answers to the past papers I used to do at home. She never denied. So concluding, if you want a teacher who can mark the answers for you then go for her, but if you want to study only in class and don't wanna revise back at home and don't wanna do any questions then I would say go for any other more experienced lecturer.
Actually I m thinking to take Mr Thenish's f5 class, but I was found that he is no longer on teaching f5 except p5 sad.gif
TSdonizback
post Dec 23 2013, 09:07 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(xiaowah99 @ Dec 23 2013, 08:35 PM)
Actually I m thinking to take Mr Thenish's f5 class, but I was found that he is no longer on teaching f5 except p5 sad.gif
Consider someone from kasturi or elite jaya since these colleges are near FTMS.
To be honest, if you can find someone who can mark your answers for F8, you don't even need any tutor. So I would say, at least in Fundamental papers of ACCA, you don't need a teacher!
You may consider any other lecturer since it doesn't really matter. I found Joey a better choice because he can mark my answers which is unlikely under any other tutor!
TSdonizback
post Dec 23 2013, 10:24 PM

1,474 posts

Can someone tell me if this is true?
ACCA 2014

And if it is "Plz kill me"

@nick67 Sir do you think it is true? And how much is it gonna effect the students?
Jin25
post Dec 24 2013, 01:40 PM

Hihi!

Am new here. smile.gif

I've been reading some of the previous threads and need some suggestions from you all.

I'm planning to take P1, P2, and P3 in the June2014 sitting. I heard it is very tough.. but is it doable? What are the tips if taking 3 of these papers (including the hardest p2) in a sitting?

Besides, regarding the lecturers for these 3 papers, which is better for each paper and why?
P1: Sheila or Parmindar
P2: Joe Fang or Spencer Cheah
P3: Parmindar or Philip Woo

Hope to get some precious tips and suggestions from you guys as seniors! biggrin.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
nick67
post Dec 24 2013, 01:41 PM

What?
1,501 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Dec 23 2013, 10:24 PM)
Can someone tell me if this is true?
ACCA 2014

And if it is "Plz kill me"

@nick67 Sir do you think it is true? And how much is it gonna effect the students?
I guess it must be true then.

It really depends how they are going to implement it. One paper every 3 months is doable I would say. Even 2 papers per 3 months for F level would be okay in my opinion. Definitely can see this cutting down the time frame for graduating. Probably a plus for those who are still studying.

F4 for MCQ..Not sure if its going to affect the passing rates. But my guess is ACCA would keep the pass rates around the same level. I'm sure they would not make the course much easier. Luckily not all F papers are becoming MCQ. Else everyone would have no writing skills.
TSdonizback
post Dec 24 2013, 02:07 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Dec 24 2013, 01:41 PM)
I guess it must be true then.

It really depends how they are going to implement it. One paper every 3 months is doable I would say. Even 2 papers per 3 months for F level would be okay in my opinion. Definitely can see this cutting down the time frame for graduating. Probably a plus for those who are still studying.

F4 for MCQ..Not sure if its going to affect the passing rates. But my guess is ACCA would keep the pass rates around the same level. I'm sure they would not make the course much easier. Luckily not all F papers are becoming MCQ. Else everyone would have no writing skills.
Lets see, but I still doubt about the 4 sittings in 2014. I am a bit concerned now over this!

As regards to making all the Fundamentals CBEs would be insane. It would make all the papers quite easy to pass sad.gif

Lets hope for the best. I really want ACCA to officially say something about this so that I can decide which papers to take in March(if there is any sitting)
Propernormal
post Dec 24 2013, 02:23 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(mayonnaiseeeee @ Dec 21 2013, 03:16 PM)
hi propernormal, you once told me one needs to do a lot of extra studies if doing p2 under spencer. but would he actually provide those extra stuffs or we need to search for them ourselves? thanks!
Hi There,

Just saw ur message. My own experience here:

I attended Spencer's class last June 2012 (passed the paper at first attempt at 65 marks) and he only covered some major standards but did not cover the whole syllabus in P2. He did some questions in the class but many of the questions in his notes do not have answers.

His notes - some of them are in mind maps.In his revision class - he gave more mindmaps.

I had difficulty understanding P2 when i was in his class.

So to make up for it, i studied the BPP text book diligently from front cover to the back cover - did not even miss the small topics like all the ED , his notes and did all questions in the BPP revision kit.

I made sure that i did not miss out studying everything mentioned under the Examinable Documents - i refered to the list in the BPP revision kit.

I also bought P2 mindmaps at http://www.mapitaccountancy.com just to increase my understanding of the standards.

I also bought P2 BPP ipass cd http://www.bpp.com/lm-product-details/lmproddetails/3735 and did all the objective questions.

Sometimes i refered to these sites too http://www.iasplus.com/en/standards

In the last 2 weeks before exam - i just concentrated revising again all the standards , ED and technical articles , proformas and notes using Spencer's and MapitAccountancy mindmaps!

One day before exam - i read the Exam Technique for P2 in the BPP revision kit that had the following headlines:

1.Do not be needlessly intimidated
2.Easy marks
3.Be ruthless in ignoring the complications
4.Be ruthless in allocating your time

I was ruthless in ignoring any minor complications that i found in the exam questions - meaning i did not omit doing the questions - i just carried on doing the questions with my best understanding of whatever the complications meant.

I was ruthless in allocating my time - meaning i answered all parts of the questions.

I showed all my workings neatly and answered what asked without wasting doing anything unneccessarily!

Whenever i felt intimidated when studying,revising and doing the questions of P2 - i just tell myself more than 10 times a day - "I can do it , i will pass P2" with full determination and conviction!!!

Forget to answer your specific query -> Spencer did not give any extra stuff.

This post has been edited by Propernormal: Dec 24 2013, 02:30 PM
TSdonizback
post Dec 24 2013, 02:37 PM

1,474 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Dec 24 2013, 02:23 PM)
I also bought P2 mindmaps at http://www.mapitaccountancy.com  just to increase my understanding of the standards.
Did you buy the lectures from Mapit? How were they? Worth buying?

127 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:34 AM