Got quoted $1500 for the new Panasonic inverter 1HP split unit.... include installation.
Panasonic aircon seems pricey compared to other models... hardly see them on sales as well.. sigh
[Home Appliances] Air-con, (Household)
Feb 13 2014, 04:12 AM
9,333 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Got quoted $1500 for the new Panasonic inverter 1HP split unit.... include installation.
Panasonic aircon seems pricey compared to other models... hardly see them on sales as well.. sigh |
Feb 13 2014, 09:24 AM
377 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 13 2014, 04:12 AM) Got quoted $1500 for the new Panasonic inverter 1HP split unit.... include installation. i dont think panasonic aircond pricey...Panasonic aircon seems pricey compared to other models... hardly see them on sales as well.. sigh i got quoted for Daikin 1HP Inverter RM1500 with installation for York Inverter RM1450 with installation.. guess what without inverter i can get RM980 for York... >.< i still try to search better price |
Feb 13 2014, 10:29 AM
179 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 13 2014, 04:12 AM) Got quoted $1500 for the new Panasonic inverter 1HP split unit.... include installation. well,i just installed daikin 1.5HP for 1800...maybe you double check your room size then only decide to take 1HP or 1.5HP.Panasonic aircon seems pricey compared to other models... hardly see them on sales as well.. sigh QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Feb 13 2014, 09:24 AM) i dont think panasonic aircond pricey... york non invertor rm980 for which model?basic model?or with the i-plasma model?i got quoted for Daikin 1HP Inverter RM1500 with installation for York Inverter RM1450 with installation.. guess what without inverter i can get RM980 for York... >.< i still try to search better price because price would be basic model --> iplasma --> inverter. inverter will be the most expensive,while basic model will be the cheapest. |
Feb 13 2014, 10:43 AM
12,696 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Feb 13 2014, 09:24 AM) i dont think panasonic aircond pricey... I think the price different is about RM500 for inverter and non-inverter. If you use it properly, you should be able to recoup back in 12 months in terms of reduced electricity bills.i got quoted for Daikin 1HP Inverter RM1500 with installation for York Inverter RM1450 with installation.. guess what without inverter i can get RM980 for York... >.< i still try to search better price |
Feb 13 2014, 10:55 AM
5,847 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Malaysia 🇲🇾 |
Feb 13 2014, 11:49 AM
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Feb 13 2014, 09:24 AM) i dont think panasonic aircond pricey... Just every state got a service center and few authorized repairer already worth the price. But then my Panasonic air cond 8 years never failed, the baisc type.i got quoted for Daikin 1HP Inverter RM1500 with installation for York Inverter RM1450 with installation.. guess what without inverter i can get RM980 for York... >.< i still try to search better price QUOTE(cavaliars @ Feb 13 2014, 10:29 AM) well,i just installed daikin 1.5HP for 1800...maybe you double check your room size then only decide to take 1HP or 1.5HP. The iplasma you need to change certain parts(like the filter) regualrly, which the SA never mentioned.york non invertor rm980 for which model?basic model?or with the i-plasma model? because price would be basic model --> iplasma --> inverter. inverter will be the most expensive,while basic model will be the cheapest. QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 13 2014, 10:43 AM) I think the price different is about RM500 for inverter and non-inverter. If you use it properly, you should be able to recoup back in 12 months in terms of reduced electricity bills. This statement are too general and very misleading. Recoup back in 12 months based on what? For people that are using it for 3-4 hours daily, it will take 4-5 years to recoup back. But if using it for 24/7, then it will recoup back within 1-2 years. |
Feb 13 2014, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 13 2014, 11:49 AM) This statement are too general and very misleading. Recoup back in 12 months based on what? For people that are using it for 3-4 hours daily, it will take 4-5 years to recoup back. But if using it for 24/7, then it will recoup back within 1-2 years. Bedroom night time use every night. |
Feb 13 2014, 11:55 AM
Feb 13 2014, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 13 2014, 11:55 AM) How long? State the duration, don't like the other racist jerk that keep on claiming made in China stuffs is not good but can't provide any solid prove. How come you didn't know an average person sleep for about 7 or 8 hours? Do you need me to tell you what pajamas to wear and what pillow to use?I also turn on my air cond every night, but just for 3-4 hours max. |
Feb 13 2014, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Feb 13 2014, 11:59 AM) How come you didn't know an average person sleep for about 7 or 8 hours? Do you need me to tell you what pajamas to wear and what pillow to use? All air cond have a function : timer to on and timer to off. How come you don't know on this?As said, state clearly in the first place would be the best. As inverter won't really save if the duration is short. |
Feb 13 2014, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 13 2014, 12:04 PM) All air cond have a function : timer to on and timer to off. How come you don't know on this? True but not quite correct.As said, state clearly in the first place would be the best. As inverter won't really save if the duration is short. An inverter save ONLY if there are stop-start operation. The more often the occurrence, the more the saving. It's the same as driving a car in town with plenty of stop-start and even if you drive whole day, still use plenty of petrol. For example You could put a huge inverter 1.5HP in a tiny 9 ft x 9 ft room, night time, no hot wall, no leakage, 2 occupants and it would cool the room to 24C in 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, saving starts. Or you could put a tiny inverter 1.0HP in a 20 x 20 rooms, day time, hot wall, door opening all the time, 10 occupants and it still wouldn't cool the room to 24C in 3 hrs. So no saving even after 3 hours. |
Feb 13 2014, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 13 2014, 12:04 PM) All air cond have a function : timer to on and timer to off. How come you don't know on this? He he you really kena wash by some salesman before.As said, state clearly in the first place would be the best. As inverter won't really save if the duration is short. Since I'm the inverter user here, no matter we said inverter really energy saving. Even duration for 2 to 3 hours and compare to non inverter really big gap here. From my bill I can see from non inverter vs inverter really cut down 60% of my monthly bill. Also TNB blocks at 200 units in 0.218 cents after exit it and totally difference of number and pay for much higher bill. This post has been edited by kimsim: Feb 13 2014, 12:15 PM |
Feb 13 2014, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 13 2014, 12:14 PM) He he you really kena wash by some salesman before. Kena washed before? Again and again, don't simply label or accuse. Since I'm the inverter user here, no matter we said inverter really energy saving. Even duration for 2 to 3 hours and compare to non inverter really big gap here. From my bill I can see from non inverter vs inverter really cut down 60% of my monthly bill. With your usage, the bill shall not be above rm200, but your are rm300-400? So, your logic fails at any 1 time. |
Feb 13 2014, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 13 2014, 12:16 PM) Kena washed before? Again and again, don't simply label or accuse. To be compare 1 to 1 lah..With your usage, the bill shall not be above rm200, but your are rm300-400? So, your logic fails at any 1 time. Come here for example : 1hp non inverter input watt = 0.8kw x 3 hours x 30 days = 72 units x 0.218 = Rm16 Vs 1hp inverter input watt = 0.35kw x 3 h x 30 days = 31.5 units x 0.218 = Rm7 only (Our home electric not only used for aircond itself) Rm200-400 is depend the amount of total everyday usage for others thing else. This post has been edited by kimsim: Feb 13 2014, 12:30 PM |
Feb 13 2014, 12:49 PM
I got some example from non & inverter works.
When you drive the car in the city face to many traffics light and you need to increase accleerate and decrease so the petro definitely is used more in town = non inverter on & stop compressor works to be keep to room temperature controlling do not too cold and too warm. From inverter have improved over it tradition works. Once your car is reach to traffic light and reduce to engineer rpm and runing low fuel also maintenance works like highway and keep as same accelerate and keep the same fuel. About compressor start & stop work when the stopping are reaching these is really hurt the compressor taking too much works for really keep in on = higher full boot up and reach the set point and suddenly stop work. Also for non inverter fan working from the outdoor really taking too much heated at when you stand close the outdoor unit like a hair dryer. From inverter unit these has improved over it tradition work, to be called it variable works as reduce fan speed from hi, mid, low to be saving fan motor life also This post has been edited by kimsim: Feb 13 2014, 12:50 PM |
Feb 13 2014, 12:51 PM
2,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
i can confirm kimsim's statement. inverter will almost straight away produce savings of approx. 50% of electricity IF you dont underdimension the A/C (i.e. if the inverter doesnt run under full load), start/stop is not the main point btw.
You can savely assume that you will cut down electricity for A/C by 50% no matter the duration you on it for. Given the tariff etc. you can quickly calculate how much you safe. Even if you plan to on just 3 hrs. per day, you safe approx. 25 sen for 1 HP per day. I.e. annually you safe approx. 100 RM. Inverter aircon life is longer than normal aircon, you can assume 10 yrs easily. So price difference 500 RM - simple payback for 3 hrs usage: 5 yrs, simple savings in your pocket: 500 RM on top. for 1 1/2 hours you still break even during the normal lifespan of the AC and you do good for the environment. If you never on the aircon, no need to buy also right. So I dont think you will use less than 1 1/2 hours in real life. Normal usage is probably more like 6 hrs average, so simple payback is 2 1/2 yrs. so of course you should take inverter. Only ppl with too much money to waste wont buy an inverter. I am not that rich, so i buy inverter & safe. For 24/7 your savings lets you break even after approx. 7 1/2 months. So the more you use, the more you profit from inverter. However for any usage (other than using it like display and never ever on!) you will safe with inverter in the long run. |
Feb 13 2014, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(PJusa @ Feb 13 2014, 12:51 PM) i can confirm kimsim's statement. inverter will almost straight away produce savings of approx. 50% of electricity IF you dont underdimension the A/C (i.e. if the inverter doesnt run under full load), start/stop is not the main point btw. Agree with you, from rich man why so worried about energy saving?You can savely assume that you will cut down electricity for A/C by 50% no matter the duration you on it for. Given the tariff etc. you can quickly calculate how much you safe. Even if you plan to on just 3 hrs. per day, you safe approx. 25 sen for 1 HP per day. I.e. annually you safe approx. 100 RM. Inverter aircon life is longer than normal aircon, you can assume 10 yrs easily. So price difference 500 RM - simple payback for 3 hrs usage: 5 yrs, simple savings in your pocket: 500 RM on top. for 1 1/2 hours you still break even during the normal lifespan of the AC and you do good for the environment. If you never on the aircon, no need to buy also right. So I dont think you will use less than 1 1/2 hours in real life. Normal usage is probably more like 6 hrs average, so simple payback is 2 1/2 yrs. so of course you should take inverter. Only ppl with too much money to waste wont buy an inverter. I am not that rich, so i buy inverter & safe. For 24/7 your savings lets you break even after approx. 7 1/2 months. So the more you use, the more you profit from inverter. However for any usage (other than using it like display and never ever on!) you will safe with inverter in the long run. Pay cheaper and use it like no tomorrow and switch on 24/7 also not an issues. |
Feb 13 2014, 01:54 PM
377 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(PJusa @ Feb 13 2014, 12:51 PM) i can confirm kimsim's statement. inverter will almost straight away produce savings of approx. 50% of electricity IF you dont underdimension the A/C (i.e. if the inverter doesnt run under full load), start/stop is not the main point btw. agree as well, i also dont believe after you installed an air cond u will use 1 hour or less... in my opinion ,You can savely assume that you will cut down electricity for A/C by 50% no matter the duration you on it for. Given the tariff etc. you can quickly calculate how much you safe. Even if you plan to on just 3 hrs. per day, you safe approx. 25 sen for 1 HP per day. I.e. annually you safe approx. 100 RM. Inverter aircon life is longer than normal aircon, you can assume 10 yrs easily. So price difference 500 RM - simple payback for 3 hrs usage: 5 yrs, simple savings in your pocket: 500 RM on top. for 1 1/2 hours you still break even during the normal lifespan of the AC and you do good for the environment. If you never on the aircon, no need to buy also right. So I dont think you will use less than 1 1/2 hours in real life. Normal usage is probably more like 6 hrs average, so simple payback is 2 1/2 yrs. so of course you should take inverter. Only ppl with too much money to waste wont buy an inverter. I am not that rich, so i buy inverter & safe. For 24/7 your savings lets you break even after approx. 7 1/2 months. So the more you use, the more you profit from inverter. However for any usage (other than using it like display and never ever on!) you will safe with inverter in the long run. once you installed the air cond, u will use it for sure even though you said " i will use only 2 hour / day " or something like that, until the air cond installed, by not realize it you will switch it on once you feel the heat , by the time goes on the habit of get comfortable in cold room u will switch it on every day u at home... haha.. thus getting an inverter will be good.. =) my 2 cent... hehe |
Feb 13 2014, 02:41 PM
2,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
even if you only use 1 hours, you can also break even. no reason not to buy. also the difference is not really 500 RM for 1 HB i believe. you would have to compare a certain model inverter/non-inverter price. not super cheap (high power wasting) a/c with a highly efficient branded inverter model
Feb 13 2014, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(PJusa @ Feb 13 2014, 12:51 PM) i can confirm kimsim's statement. inverter will almost straight away produce savings of approx. 50% of electricity IF you dont underdimension the A/C (i.e. if the inverter doesnt run under full load), start/stop is not the main point btw. Safely assume. So is still based on general statement with no fact to justify, good take. So, I want to ditch all my non inverter air cond and change to inverter air cond. If it do safe me a lot of money as you assumed, I pay you rm1000, else, you have to buy the air cond I bought same price as well as dismantle fee. Dare to take the challenge? Now my bill is about rm50-70 a month. If after change can go down to rm20-30 that consider you win and you can take the rm1000.You can savely assume that you will cut down electricity for A/C by 50% no matter the duration you on it for. Given the tariff etc. you can quickly calculate how much you safe. Even if you plan to on just 3 hrs. per day, you safe approx. 25 sen for 1 HP per day. I.e. annually you safe approx. 100 RM. Inverter aircon life is longer than normal aircon, you can assume 10 yrs easily. So price difference 500 RM - simple payback for 3 hrs usage: 5 yrs, simple savings in your pocket: 500 RM on top. for 1 1/2 hours you still break even during the normal lifespan of the AC and you do good for the environment. If you never on the aircon, no need to buy also right. So I dont think you will use less than 1 1/2 hours in real life. Normal usage is probably more like 6 hrs average, so simple payback is 2 1/2 yrs. so of course you should take inverter. Only ppl with too much money to waste wont buy an inverter. I am not that rich, so i buy inverter & safe. For 24/7 your savings lets you break even after approx. 7 1/2 months. So the more you use, the more you profit from inverter. However for any usage (other than using it like display and never ever on!) you will safe with inverter in the long run. QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Feb 13 2014, 01:54 PM) agree as well, i also dont believe after you installed an air cond u will use 1 hour or less... in my opinion , Well, choosing the right HP for the right size of room, with the room is well ventilated and using the right bedding stuffs, turn on the air cond for 1-2 hours is not a problem and using shorter period of time, your lung also healthier. But, this won't happen in big cities because of green house effect and also the flats built are meant not to have proper ventilation. So have to use longer hours.once you installed the air cond, u will use it for sure even though you said " i will use only 2 hour / day " or something like that, until the air cond installed, by not realize it you will switch it on once you feel the heat , by the time goes on the habit of get comfortable in cold room u will switch it on every day u at home... haha.. thus getting an inverter will be good.. =) my 2 cent... hehe This post has been edited by supersound: Feb 13 2014, 03:10 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0330sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:05 PM |