Door Bell Wiring

TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 01:32 PM, updated 12y ago

240 posts

Hi, I have a question. The developer door bell wiring has 4 wiring meant for the attached door bell photo.

However, the door bell I bought only has 2 contact point. I tried connecting it myself, one to live wire and one to neutral wire and installed it to a plug, it will ding when I press the switch and dong when I depress the switch.

How to make it work on developer wiring? Sifu pls help...

This post has been edited by sw.boutique: Dec 5 2013, 01:33 PM

TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 01:52 PM

240 posts

Mine is as per attached, only got 2 point... Attached Image

This post has been edited by sw.boutique: Dec 5 2013, 02:06 PM
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 02:09 PM

240 posts

Or I bought the wrong one ???
ozak
post Dec 5 2013, 02:55 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 01:32 PM)
Hi, I have a question. The developer door bell wiring has 4 wiring meant for the attached door bell photo.

However, the door bell I bought only has 2 contact point. I tried connecting it myself, one to live wire and one to neutral wire and installed it to a plug, it will ding when I press the switch and dong when I depress the switch.

How to make it work on developer wiring? Sifu pls help...
If your house is land property and the switch is outside, do not use this type. You have to get the 4 wire type.

This type will connect the 240v to the switch. Which is dangerous.

If for condo, than connect as follow
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 03:24 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 5 2013, 02:55 PM)
If your house is land property and the switch is outside, do not use this type. You have to get the 4 wire type.

My house is landed... So how do I connect? Is it that 2 wires are from the button and 2 are from the DB box, one is live and one neutral? So I joint live and one wire from the button onto the door bell while the neutral one together with another wire from the botton onto the 2nd wire connector?

About the 4 wire type is it has a built-in transformer to draw lesser voltage (assuming that is a 12-v door bell)? While the wiring will be 2 wires from the button at two connectors on the door bell while live / neutral on the other two connectors on the door bell?
weikee
post Dec 5 2013, 03:32 PM

12,019 posts

4 wires is inside your house?

Mean 2 are to power the bell, 2 wires are the switch. When it short bell will ring.
ozak
post Dec 5 2013, 03:39 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 03:24 PM)
My house is landed... So how do I connect? Is it that 2 wires are from the button and 2 are from the DB box, one is live and one neutral? So I joint live and one wire from the button onto the door bell while the neutral one together with another wire from the botton onto the 2nd wire connector?

About the 4 wire type is it has a built-in transformer to draw lesser voltage (assuming that is a 12-v door bell)? While the wiring will be 2 wires from the button at two connectors on the door bell while live / neutral on the other two connectors on the door bell?
4 wire door bell have 2 lower voltage connector joint to switch wire. Another 2 wire from DB to power the door bell. Get this if house is land.

2 wire door bell, just follow the picture. Live to the door bell. Neutral joint together with 1 of the switch wire. Than put a condom on it. Another switch wire direct to the door bell neutral side connector. So total is 4 wire connection.
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 04:00 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 5 2013, 03:39 PM)
4 wire door bell have 2 lower voltage connector joint to switch wire. Another 2 wire from DB to power the door bell. Get this if house is land.

2 wire door bell, just follow the picture. Live to the door bell. Neutral joint together with 1 of the switch wire. Than put a condom on it. Another switch wire direct to the door bell neutral side connector. So total is 4 wire connection.
Because I saw my friend house using the same model (2 connectors in it) so I bought the same type. Now if I want to use, how do I connect? I remember seeing 4 wiring on the wall in the house? 1 Live and 1 Neutral from the DB box and another two are from the button???
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 04:01 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2013, 03:32 PM)
4 wires is inside your house?

Mean 2 are to power the bell, 2 wires are the switch. When it short bell will ring.
Later I go snap a photo to confirm... Is it usually 4 wires?
stevie8
post Dec 5 2013, 04:07 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 5 2013, 03:39 PM)

Put a condom on it. I like this rclxms.gif Condom - safety, against pregnancy, against STD and against AIDS and now against electrocution. But how long can the condom last? Condom instruction said is one shot only tongue.gif
ozak
post Dec 5 2013, 05:06 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Dec 5 2013, 04:07 PM)
Put a condom on it. I like this rclxms.gif Condom - safety, against pregnancy, against STD and against AIDS and now against electrocution. But how long can the condom last? Condom instruction said is one shot only tongue.gif
He.... Actually it call wire cap. Because it look like condom and provide safety joint too. So I called it condom lah. biggrin.gif

It look like this.
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 05:35 PM

240 posts

Thanks guy... So for my wiring to be done is like

Live goes to one of the door bell connector
Neutral joint with the switch wire together with the wire cap (condom)
The other switch wire goes to the other door bell connector

The above will complete the circuit?

So if it is in the case of 4-connector door bell
2 lower voltage connector goes to the door bell switch
Live / Neutral from the wall goes to the other two connectors on the door bell

Am I right?
weikee
post Dec 5 2013, 06:42 PM

12,019 posts

Get the bell that use the same wiring. If you have neutral outside, raining time + your outdoor switch leak your bell will continues ring. Worse if someone press the switch maybe electrocuted.
stevie8
post Dec 5 2013, 07:05 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2013, 06:42 PM)
Get the bell that use the same wiring. If you have neutral outside, raining time + your outdoor switch leak your bell will continues ring. Worse if someone press the switch maybe electrocuted.
Weikee, dont frighten him la tongue.gif but that's a real good piece of advice.

Actually doorbell can be misused by thief. They press the bell ting tong ting tong............and no one answer, they know nobody at home and they come in for their business
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 08:38 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2013, 06:42 PM)
Is mine the same wiring? I also have the door bell button ready with leak proof lid that protects from water going in... Will that suffice??

One more thing, I notice that the door bell button has two connecting holes up and two down. Why is it so? I that just need to connect 1x neutral.. What is the other for??
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 08:42 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Dec 5 2013, 07:05 PM)
Weikee, dont frighten him la tongue.gif  but that's a real good piece of advice.

Actually doorbell can be misused by thief. They press the bell ting tong ting tong............and no one answer, they know nobody at home and they come in for their business
Will alarm with infrared sensor help?
stevie8
post Dec 5 2013, 09:36 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 08:42 PM)
Will alarm with infrared sensor help?
Forget about door bell. Nowadays due to what i said no one want to install doorbell. Imagine you are in condo. Tingtong, noone home, they get in wait for you at the kitchen. When you come home they jump on you with a parang. Money, sex or life....It could be all of it...if you have no money. Not what I say, everyone think so.

So, how? no door bell? Today unlike yesterday your mobile phone is the door bell la. icon_rolleyes.gif No need for door bell. How often people visit you? Once a month? Once a year?

Prevention is better than cure. Besides no door bell, just buy a dummy big to be seen camera at the door front as though you have a state of art cctv alram system. They choose another unit/house instead of yours. Similarly if your car has a visible steering lock at your parked car steering, they dont bother about your car. There are so many other cars.

Unless they know you are so rich and got so much money at home, once they target you are finished!!!! They cut wire to your alram, they take your recorder for the cctv...etc
weikee
post Dec 5 2013, 09:38 PM

12,019 posts

Imagine the switch are wet, and someone press it, the body will flow current to the earth.

Get a correct bell, of all you know after few years your kids are playing the bell switch, if its configure via neutral is very dangerous.

TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 10:05 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2013, 09:38 PM)
Imagine the switch are wet, and someone press it, the body will flow current to the earth.

Get a correct bell, of all you know after few years your kids are playing the bell switch, if its configure via neutral is very dangerous.
Then what kind of door bell is not configured through neutral completing circuit?
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 10:05 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Dec 5 2013, 09:36 PM)
Forget about door bell. Nowadays due to what i said no one want to install doorbell. Imagine you are in condo. Tingtong, noone home, they get in wait for you at the kitchen. When you come home they jump on you with a parang. Money, sex or life....It could be all of it...if you have no money. Not what I say, everyone think so.

So, how? no door bell? Today unlike yesterday your mobile phone is the door bell la. icon_rolleyes.gif No need for door bell. How often people visit you? Once a month? Once a year?

Prevention is better than cure. Besides no door bell, just buy a dummy big to be seen camera at the door front as though you have a state of art cctv alram system. They choose another unit/house instead of yours. Similarly if your car has a visible steering lock at your parked car steering, they dont bother about your car. There are so many other cars.

Unless they know you are so rich and got so much money at home, once they target you are finished!!!! They cut wire to your alram, they take your recorder for the cctv...etc
Noted on this... My front will have 3 camera, of each sending emails to phones should it detects something... Hope it helps...
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 10:11 PM

240 posts

To illustrate the door bell that I was referring earlier... I wonder why there are 4 holes?? Upon closer check, every 2 holes at the bottom and at the top connecting to the same copper plate in it... Attached Image Attached Image
ozak
post Dec 5 2013, 10:26 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 10:11 PM)
To illustrate the door bell that I was referring earlier... I wonder why there are 4 holes?? Upon closer check, every 2 holes at the bottom and at the top connecting to the same copper plate in it... Attached Image Attached Image
You just need to connect to 1 hole top and 1 hole bottom. Those are extra.

I think you better ask somebody experience to help you. Electric can kill. You need some basic knowledge to do.
weikee
post Dec 5 2013, 10:30 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 10:11 PM)
Learn how to read the symmetric diagram. It already tell you from the symmetric diagram on the switch. Did you see the image on the switch?
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 10:30 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 5 2013, 10:30 PM)
Learn how to read the symmetric diagram. It already tell you from the symmetric diagram on the switch. Did you see the image on the switch?
So just connect to either one right?
weikee
post Dec 5 2013, 10:33 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 10:05 PM)
Then what kind of door bell is not configured through neutral completing circuit?
I don't know of any door bell that run direct 240v circuit. Most of the door bell I seen are 4 wires, the Live (240v) and Neutral from the incoming are connect to one side of the transformer, another two wires is connect to the external switch (your outdoor switch), when the switch are press it will complete the circuit and your door bell will rang.

If you are unsure, better ask someone with electricity know how to help you.
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 10:34 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 5 2013, 10:26 PM)
You just need to connect to 1 hole top and 1 hole bottom. Those are extra.

I think you better ask somebody experience to help you. Electric can kill. You need some basic knowledge to do.
Yes, I will not be the one installing but I am purely asking more. Too dummy in this area.

Anyway, for the external door bell button, if I install with a waterproof lid, I wonder will it be ok then?

ozak
post Dec 5 2013, 10:56 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 10:34 PM)
Yes, I will not be the one installing but I am purely asking more. Too dummy in this area.

Anyway, for the external door bell button, if I install with a waterproof lid, I wonder will it be ok then?

I bet your outside wall is rough finish. So this cover will not able fully to seal the wall side. Water will sip in.

If you want to listen to the forumner advice here, go get a 4 wire door bell. It won't cost you must.

I know you won't going to press the bell. But you don't want kill your friend either.
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 11:20 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 5 2013, 10:56 PM)
I bet your outside wall is rough finish. So this cover will not able fully to seal the wall side. Water will sip in.

If you want to listen to the forumner advice here, go get a 4 wire door bell. It won't cost you must.

I know you won't going to press the bell. But you don't want kill your friend either.
But I just wonder why my friend house has been using this too for ages... Same model, as door bell at outdoor?

So this 240v will be sufficient to kill a person? Sorry ah side way a bit... I also saw those outdoor switches...Will it be safe then? I have some at the side blink.gif
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 5 2013, 11:20 PM

240 posts

The finishing of the outdoor gate pillar is flat btw...
weikee
post Dec 6 2013, 12:00 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 5 2013, 11:20 PM)
But I just wonder why my friend house has been using this too for ages... Same model, as door bell at outdoor?

So this 240v will be sufficient to kill a person? Sorry ah side way a bit... I also saw those outdoor switches...Will it be safe then? I have some at the side  blink.gif
Because house door bell are run on lower Voltage. The switch do not pass high voltage.
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 6 2013, 12:08 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 6 2013, 12:00 AM)
Because house door bell are run on lower Voltage. The switch do not pass high voltage.
So my switch above can pass thru standard voltage? In another words, both door bell button and door bell I got are rather alien here? I got them when I went Taiwan blink.gif
weikee
post Dec 6 2013, 12:19 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 6 2013, 12:08 AM)
So my switch above can pass thru standard voltage? In another words, both door bell button and door bell I got are rather alien here? I got them when I went Taiwan  blink.gif
Your switch can handle standard voltage (240v you mean?) But is crazy to use 240v for door bell switch. No matter how you water proof it, water will pass-through sooner or later.
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 6 2013, 01:17 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 6 2013, 12:19 AM)
Your switch can handle standard voltage (240v you mean?) But is crazy to use 240v for door bell switch. No matter how you water proof it, water will pass-through sooner or later.
Dunno... It says 10a 250v behind from the photo attached earlier??

But I saw my friend's house having the same unit like what I bought. It is a Panasonic-branded door bell model EBC700.

Tomorrow I go open up its case n see if it has just 2 or 4 connectors...
jasmineh2y
post Dec 6 2013, 12:28 PM

Nothing
1,104 posts

looking for Wireless Door Bell
TSsw.boutique
post Dec 7 2013, 03:44 PM

240 posts

I have then bought a Legrand-branded one with built-in transformer smile.gif

I have learnt the hard way... Spent extra unnecessary... LoL!

Just wonder if I can actually add the transformer like 12V one to this 220v doorbell and this 220v door bell will still work?
weikee
post Dec 7 2013, 05:46 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sw.boutique @ Dec 7 2013, 03:44 PM)
I have then bought a Legrand-branded one with built-in transformer smile.gif

I have learnt the hard way... Spent extra unnecessary... LoL!

Just wonder if I can actually add the transformer like 12V one to this 220v doorbell and this 220v door bell will still work?
Nope, that will not work. You need to made another circuit to drive the original circuit.
psyntium
post May 18 2014, 01:42 PM

179 posts

hi guys,

need ur help.. i just bought this door bell @ houz depot.. but confused with the wiring.. i have Red + Black + 2x White wire from the wall.. I know that the white wires are for the switch, and red and black wires for the power.. but how should I wire it to the door bell.. no proper instruction is attached with the door bell package.. sad.gif

attached is the DB pix:

Thanks!!
ozak
post May 18 2014, 04:22 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(psyntium @ May 18 2014, 01:42 PM)
hi guys,

need ur help.. i just bought this door bell @ houz depot.. but confused with the wiring.. i have Red + Black + 2x White wire from the wall.. I know that the white wires are for the switch, and red and black wires for the power.. but how should I wire it to the door bell.. no proper instruction is attached with the door bell package..  sad.gif

attached is the DB pix:

Thanks!!
Try to check around the bell casing or box for an electrical diagram. And post it here. There is only 3 connection in your door bell. If can't find. Better go back to the shop and ask for a manual. Probably missing the manual.
N73
post May 19 2014, 12:35 AM

99 posts

just found out I bought the wrong door bell Schneider Model 99AC220 with 2 wirings after read thru this forum. Haiz waste of money oredy. Does anyone know where can I get the Schneider door bell with 4 wirings? Please share here.
psyntium
post May 19 2014, 05:19 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 18 2014, 04:22 PM)
Try to check around the bell casing or box for an electrical diagram. And post it here. There is only 3 connection in your door bell. If can't find. Better go back to the shop and ask for a manual. Probably missing the manual.
Just found out that this is supposed to be the diagram.. in upside down.. haha.. didn't realize it earlier.. now need to figure out which one is for the L & N wire..
Bubble Ring
post May 19 2014, 08:39 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(psyntium @ May 18 2014, 01:42 PM)
hi guys,

need ur help.. i just bought this door bell @ houz depot.. but confused with the wiring.. i have Red + Black + 2x White wire from the wall.. I know that the white wires are for the switch, and red and black wires for the power.. but how should I wire it to the door bell.. no proper instruction is attached with the door bell package..  sad.gif

attached is the DB pix:

Thanks!!
No need to worry about the L vs. N connection.
No specific orientation, just ensure the AC 240V connected to the input of the step down transformer.
Refer to this post for further details. biggrin.gif

Bubble Ring
post May 19 2014, 09:13 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ May 19 2014, 12:35 AM)
just found out I bought the wrong door bell Schneider Model 99AC220 with 2 wirings after read thru this forum. Haiz waste of money oredy. Does anyone know where can I get the Schneider door bell with 4 wirings? Please share here.
If you compare the doorbell owned by psyntium vs. sw.boutique, the two are entirely different design.
However, the doorbell with two wires design still backward compatible with existing wiring (4 wires type).
It's just a matter of connections. For further assist, post the picture of the doorbell. wink.gif
ozak
post May 19 2014, 09:27 AM

17,018 posts

And please makesure your live wire RED and BLACK don't have supply or electric. Before you do the joining.

OFF the breaker to the wire or RCCB/main breaker if you don't no which 1. Pay attention to the safety.
psyntium
post May 19 2014, 12:57 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ May 19 2014, 08:39 AM)
No need to worry about the L vs. N connection.
No specific orientation, just ensure the AC 240V connected to the input of the step down transformer.
Refer to this post for further details. biggrin.gif

oh tqtq.. thanks for the guidance!.. managed to get it work now.. biggrin.gif
Bubble Ring
post May 19 2014, 08:41 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(psyntium @ May 19 2014, 12:57 PM)
cheers.gif
N73
post Jun 2 2014, 12:59 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ May 19 2014, 09:13 AM)
If you compare the doorbell owned by psyntium vs. sw.boutique, the two are entirely different design.
However, the doorbell with two wires design still backward compatible with existing wiring (4 wires type).
It's just a matter of connections. For further assist, post the picture of the doorbell. wink.gif
I managed to take the photo of the door bell internal as per attached.
Please help to confirm whether I can use it for double storey house in return. If not any way to make the modification?

This post has been edited by N73: Jun 2 2014, 01:09 AM
Bubble Ring
post Jun 2 2014, 09:50 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Jun 2 2014, 12:59 AM)
Please help to confirm whether I can use it for double storey house in return. If not any way to make the modification?
Here you go... biggrin.gif
Conversion from 4-wires type to 2-wires type doorbell.
No major modification needed. Just add one terminal block connector. thumbup.gif

Please take note of this type of doorbell design weakness!
If your doorbell switch located at outdoor and exposed to rain water, make sure you use the outdoor rated switch.
Non-outdoor rated switch will give you headache due to short circuit caused by water. rclxub.gif
Short circuit will lead to nuisance MCB tripping. vmad.gif
weikee
post Jun 2 2014, 10:21 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Jun 2 2014, 09:50 PM)
Here you go... biggrin.gif
Conversion from 4-wires type to 2-wires type doorbell.
No major modification needed. Just add one terminal block connector. thumbup.gif

Please take note of this type of doorbell design weakness!
If your doorbell switch located at outdoor and exposed to rain water, make sure you use the outdoor rated switch.
Non-outdoor rated switch will give you headache due to short circuit caused by water. rclxub.gif
Short circuit will lead to nuisance MCB tripping. vmad.gif
Please don't do this kind of wiring, can kill the person pressing it when wet.
Bubble Ring
post Jun 2 2014, 11:18 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 2 2014, 10:21 PM)
Please don't do this kind of wiring, can kill the person pressing it when wet.
Yup, warning already given about the potential short circuit hazard!
That's the reason why there's a another variant design with step-down transformer. nod.gif
weikee
post Jun 2 2014, 11:20 PM

12,019 posts

I have a feeling this may not be an outdoor design door bell, or not made for Malaysia market.
Bubble Ring
post Jun 2 2014, 11:40 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 2 2014, 11:20 PM)
I have a feeling this may not be an outdoor design door bell, or not made for Malaysia market.
Pros and cons... unsure.gif

Transformerless: Simple, reliable and low-cost. Suitable for indoor application like apartment.
Step-down transformer: Safer due to transformer isolation. However, the system always on standby mode and consume electricity.

N73
post Jun 3 2014, 10:56 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Jun 2 2014, 11:40 PM)
Pros and cons... unsure.gif

Transformerless: Simple, reliable and low-cost. Suitable for indoor application like apartment.
Step-down transformer: Safer due to transformer isolation. However, the system always on standby mode and consume electricity.
Yup, this door bell I actually bought from Thailand. I buy this door bell mainly of the brand name and sound i like BUT very unfortunately you guy mentioned this is not suitable for outdoor. If u go to Schneider Malaysia website you may found they sell the weatherproof door bell switch BUT just cannot find this door bell sell in their Malaysia website.

This post has been edited by N73: Jun 3 2014, 11:00 PM
weikee
post Jun 3 2014, 11:37 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Jun 3 2014, 10:56 PM)
Yup, this door bell I actually bought from Thailand. I buy this door bell mainly of the brand name and sound i like BUT very unfortunately you guy mentioned this is not suitable for outdoor. If u go to Schneider Malaysia website you may found they sell the weatherproof door bell switch BUT just cannot find this door bell sell in their Malaysia website.
Waterproof switch don't last forever chances it fail before your door bell, and may lead to leak.
ozak
post Jun 4 2014, 09:21 AM

17,018 posts

I have change 2-3x the door bell switch for over 16yrs. Due to the degrade of the plastic and switch mechanism spoil. Mostly cause by the UV sun. While the indoor door bell last till now.

So when the switch mechanism spoil, the internal contact is expose. I cannot immediately get a new 1 and change. That is dangerous when somebody press the switch. But the switch is no longer there. His finger is going to touch that 240v contact inside. Specially at night. sweat.gif

I have to get a pvc tape to temporary seal the hole. While go and buy a switch. But lucky my door bell switch contact is not 240v or 2 wire bell.
Bubble Ring
post Jun 7 2014, 10:03 PM

84 posts

I found this outdoor enclosure box for doorbell switch at lelong.com.my. biggrin.gif
If you really like it, just go ahead install your doorbell. Ensure proper weather sealing for the switch.

weikee
post Jun 7 2014, 11:29 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Jun 7 2014, 10:03 PM)
I found this outdoor enclosure box for doorbell switch at lelong.com.my. biggrin.gif
If you really like it, just go ahead install your doorbell. Ensure proper weather sealing for the switch.

Few months later you see lots of small friends inside.
N73
post Jul 7 2014, 04:02 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Jun 2 2014, 12:59 AM)
Anyone knows how to modify the two wired door bell to four wired door please share. I was thinking to add step down transformer BUT don't know how to connect the wiring diagram. Appreciate ant sifu can help here.
Bubble Ring
post Jul 7 2014, 09:00 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Jul 7 2014, 04:02 PM)
Anyone knows how to modify the two wired door bell to four wired door please share. I was thinking to add step down transformer BUT don't know how to connect the wiring diagram. Appreciate ant sifu can help here.
You can't add step-down transformer to a doorbell system that required AC 240V as input power source.
Just buy the weatherproof switch to solve your problem. biggrin.gif
N73
post Jul 7 2014, 11:59 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Jul 7 2014, 09:00 PM)
You can't add step-down transformer to a doorbell system that required AC 240V as input power source.
How about a step down transformer plus a relay? Will it work?
S'aimer
post Jul 8 2014, 02:53 AM

637 posts

Speaking of weatheproof switch and it's a bit off topic but just to ask if anyone installed outdoor switch sockets?
weikee
post Jul 8 2014, 07:53 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Jul 7 2014, 09:00 PM)
Is not the safest and convenient choice.
weikee
post Jul 8 2014, 07:56 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Jul 7 2014, 11:59 PM)
Why have to do all these trouble? Get one with 4 wires will do

weikee
post Jul 8 2014, 07:57 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Jul 8 2014, 02:53 AM)
Speaking of weatheproof switch and it's a bit off topic but just to ask if anyone installed outdoor switch sockets?
You mean 3 points plug socket? I have one outdoor but is not expose. Have to switch off from inside when not use.
S'aimer
post Jul 8 2014, 12:12 PM

637 posts

Yes, I have 2 3point plug socket outside but not exposed, currently have weatherproof cover-the plastic type. I believe one socket is for the future mini water feature outdoors. But don't know why need one more 3 point plug socket.

After seeing the concerns over weatherpoof cover etc, makes me wonder whether I should ensure extra protection.

I have a doorbell switch under Pieno range by schneider but not sure if also need to have cover?

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2014, 08:57 AM)
You mean 3 points plug socket? I have one outdoor but is not expose. Have to switch off from inside when not use.
weikee
post Jul 8 2014, 12:22 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Jul 8 2014, 12:12 PM)
Yes, I have 2 3point plug socket outside but not exposed, currently have weatherproof cover-the plastic type. I believe one socket is for the future mini water feature outdoors. But don't know why need one more 3 point plug socket.

After seeing the concerns over weatherpoof cover etc, makes me wonder whether I should ensure extra protection.

I have a doorbell switch under Pieno range by schneider but not sure if also need to have cover?
If you are running low voltage door bell, don't need to have cover. Or if the switch are design for outdoor weather resistance. Even if you need I am not sure you have a direct fitting cover for that switch. Usually are universal and is slightly bigger.
weikee
post Jul 8 2014, 12:24 PM

12,019 posts

This one is something solid biggrin.gif

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Manufacturers/...roof/index.html
S'aimer
post Jul 8 2014, 12:30 PM

637 posts

Door Bell is 10A 250V. That link you provided looks solid but need transformer right?

The 3 point plug socket is 13A 250V

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2014, 01:22 PM)
If you are running low voltage door bell, don't need to have cover. Or if the switch are design for outdoor weather resistance. Even if you need I am not sure you have a direct fitting cover for that switch. Usually are universal and is slightly bigger.
weikee
post Jul 8 2014, 12:44 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(S'aimer @ Jul 8 2014, 12:30 PM)
Door Bell is 10A 250V. That link you provided looks solid but need transformer right?

The 3 point plug socket is 13A 250V
Door bell can handle that but you don't need that amount current. Most Important is it design for outdoor for 230v? If it leak out during raining someone pressing the door bell may get electrocute.
S'aimer
post Jul 8 2014, 12:52 PM

637 posts

This one I am not sure? What should I do then?

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2014, 01:44 PM)
Door bell can handle that but you don't need that amount current. Most Important is it design for outdoor for 230v? If it leak out during raining someone pressing the door bell may get electrocute.
Bubble Ring
post Jul 10 2014, 10:50 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Jul 7 2014, 11:59 PM)
Since you like and desperate for that doorbell.
Here you go... brows.gif

Referring to above schematic:
● The doorbell switching done by AC relay.
● Relay energized by step-down transformer power supply.
● Outdoor switch running on low AC voltage.
N73
post Jul 13 2014, 01:20 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Bubble Ring @ Jul 10 2014, 10:50 PM)
Since you like and desperate for that doorbell.
Here you go... brows.gif

Referring to above schematic:
● The doorbell switching done by AC relay.
● Relay energized by step-down transformer power supply.
● Outdoor switch running on low AC voltage.
Thanks for your schematic diagram.
As far as I know the 230v AC to 12v AC step down transformer is small enough to keep in the door bell box. BUT how about the AC relay? does it small enough to keep inside the door bell as well. I heard the AC relay need power supply, is it true?
Bubble Ring
post Jul 13 2014, 12:37 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(N73 @ Jul 13 2014, 01:20 AM)
Thanks for your schematic diagram.
As far as I know the 230v AC to 12v AC step down transformer is small enough to keep in the door bell box. BUT how about the AC relay? does it small enough to keep inside the door bell as well. I heard the AC relay need power supply, is it true?
Relay need power supply to energize the magnetic coil.
I think the transformer and relay can be fit into the casing. biggrin.gif

Could you remove the small black plastic cover and provide me the picture of the circuit?
If you refer to first post (two-wires type) by TS, you can see the circuit of the unit.
I have another idea to modify the circuit to let the switch run on low voltage. brows.gif
Unbelievableme
post Sep 1 2015, 11:11 AM

22 posts

any wireless doorbell recommended for landed house (waterproof)?
tmc
post Sep 1 2015, 11:34 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Unbelievableme @ Sep 1 2015, 11:11 AM)
any wireless doorbell recommended for landed house (waterproof)?
I tried to use a wireless doorbell for landed house, but it failed miserably.

Not due to waterproof issue.

I sealed the button press unit with glue and it is waterproof as far as I can see.

But the problem I had was the battery. After using for a while, the dry cell voltage got out of operating range for the remote. I suspect it's due hot sun, the battery loses too much liquid and therefore the circuitory refused to work. When I open up the remote unit and change the battery, it works again. Multimeter the battery shows the voltage too high. It's not a case of voltage too low.
Unbelievableme
post Sep 1 2015, 02:32 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Sep 1 2015, 11:34 AM)

I sealed the button press unit with glue and it is waterproof as far as I can see.

But the problem I had was the battery. After using for a while, the dry cell voltage got out of operating range for the remote. I suspect it's due hot sun, the battery loses too much liquid and therefore the circuitory refused to work. When I open up the remote unit and change the battery, it works again. Multimeter the battery shows the voltage too high. It's not a case of voltage too low.
oh ya... battery really is the issue when explore under hot sun. I think we should go for this type--->Battery-free Wireless Doorbell

This post has been edited by Unbelievableme: Sep 1 2015, 03:07 PM
tmc
post Sep 1 2015, 03:08 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Unbelievableme @ Sep 1 2015, 02:32 PM)
oh ya... battery really is the issue when explore under hot sun. I think we should go for this type--->No baterry Wireless Doorbell
Never tried that before. Not sure if it is reliable. wink.gif

The other thing to consider is the signal range. For landed, the distance between the remote and the receiver is normally much further than a condo unit.
NelsonBoy
post Sep 1 2015, 11:36 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

why a hassle buying door bell ?

1) your hse should supply 5 wires , 2 wire ( from outside switch )
2) 3 wires ( L / N / E )

then

u buy legrand bell(build in transformer) . has 4 connection. 2 input for L/N (polarity does not matters here and it is used to convert 240 to 12V dc ) and 2 input for switch ( for connectivity )

tmc
post Sep 2 2015, 08:59 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Sep 1 2015, 11:36 PM)
why a hassle buying door bell ?

1) your hse should supply 5 wires , 2 wire ( from outside switch )
2) 3 wires ( L / N / E )

then

u buy legrand bell(build in transformer) .  has 4 connection. 2 input for L/N (polarity does not matters here and it is used to convert 240 to 12V dc ) and 2 input for switch ( for connectivity )
legrand bell vs door bell, what's the difference ? Is it legrand bell a door bell too ?

Why you consider door bell a "hassle" ?

This post has been edited by tmc: Sep 2 2015, 09:02 AM
Unbelievableme
post Sep 2 2015, 09:31 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Sep 1 2015, 03:08 PM)
Never tried that before. Not sure if it is reliable. wink.gif

The other thing to consider is the signal range. For landed, the distance between the remote and the receiver is normally much further than a condo unit.
I Just bought from Tao Bao yesterday at only RM70/set. once I receive I will try it and let you know:)
tmc
post Sep 2 2015, 09:34 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Unbelievableme @ Sep 2 2015, 09:31 AM)
I Just bought from Tao Bao yesterday at only RM70/set. once I receive I will try it and let you know:)
Good good good ! I want to know.
VeeJay
post Sep 2 2015, 09:39 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Sep 1 2015, 11:34 AM)

Interesting...thus far I have not encountered any problem with cheapo wireless door bell (RM30). Obviously, the battery need to be changed from 3-6 months time (depending brand).

tmc
post Sep 2 2015, 09:42 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Sep 2 2015, 09:39 AM)
Interesting...thus far I have not encountered any problem with cheapo wireless door bell (RM30). Obviously, the battery need to be changed from 3-6 months time (depending brand).
Maybe you are right.

Could be I happened to use a lousy battery which cannot withstand the heat from the Sun ? hmm.gif

But 3-6 months changing battery, I think it's too often already.

This post has been edited by tmc: Sep 2 2015, 09:43 AM
idoblu
post Sep 2 2015, 11:14 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I think I decided not to put a doorbell. Mine is hardwired. Push switch is already in place. Wiring for the doorbell also in place. The problem is I cant find a wired doorbell that is not the two tone "ding dong" type.....

anyway mine is an apartment. I should not have anyone ringing my doorbell since nobody can come up anyway.
tmc
post Sep 2 2015, 11:21 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 2 2015, 11:14 AM)
I think I decided not to put a doorbell. Mine is hardwired. Push switch is already in place. Wiring for the doorbell also in place. The problem is I cant find a wired doorbell that is not the two tone "ding dong" type.....

anyway mine is an apartment. I should not have anyone ringing my doorbell since nobody can come up anyway.
Yeah, really strange that nobody is coming up with wired door bell with electronics which play more choices of sound.

For ages, people still stuck with the electro-magnetic ding dong boring design.

This post has been edited by tmc: Sep 2 2015, 11:22 AM
NelsonBoy
post Sep 8 2015, 10:48 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Sep 2 2015, 08:59 AM)
legrand bell vs door bell, what's the difference ? Is it legrand bell a door bell too ?

Why you consider door bell a "hassle" ?
legrand is a brand of door bell.

door bell is not a hassle but it become a hassle for some ppl here
tmc
post Sep 9 2015, 07:08 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Sep 8 2015, 10:48 PM)
legrand is a brand of door bell.

door bell is not a hassle but it become a hassle for some ppl here
I have no idea what you are talking about. Looks like you are only interested to promote legrand. LOL.
borat
post Sep 10 2015, 06:29 PM

32 posts

Guys..

My door bell wiring system as follows:

Bell (inside) - 2 red 2 black 1 green 2 naked wires
Switch (outside) - 1 red 1 black 2 naked wires (red and black are wired to the switch)
Door chime - built in transformer. 2 port for switch & 2 port for 220v

Can you please assist me on installing this wired door chime?

This post has been edited by borat: Sep 10 2015, 06:49 PM

ozak
post Sep 10 2015, 10:03 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(borat @ Sep 10 2015, 06:29 PM)
Guys..

My door bell wiring system as follows:

Bell (inside) - 2 red 2 black 1 green 2 naked wires
Switch (outside) - 1 red 1 black 2 naked wires (red and black are wired to the switch)
Door chime - built in transformer. 2 port for switch & 2 port for 220v

Can you please assist me on installing this wired door chime?

You need to know where is this switch wire go in the house. Is the switch wire have supply?
peri peri
post Sep 11 2015, 03:31 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 5 2013, 02:55 PM)

240v is dangerous but switch is not 240v, we based it on 6A. power socket is 20A. Hence, 6A is like ant bite
ozak
post Sep 11 2015, 03:57 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 11 2015, 03:31 PM)
240v is dangerous but switch is not 240v, we based it on 6A. power socket is 20A. Hence, 6A is like ant bite
I don't care the switch is 20A or 100A. It is not important.

What I care is the safety. When 240v with outdoor, makesure it waterproof, weatherproof or whatever proof. To makesure it don't kill you.

Safety first.
peri peri
post Sep 11 2015, 04:01 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 11 2015, 03:57 PM)
I don't care the switch is 20A or 100A. It is not important.

What I care is the safety. When 240v with outdoor, makesure it waterproof, weatherproof or whatever proof. To makesure it don't kill you.

Safety first.
u still dont get it. dont u.
ozak
post Sep 11 2015, 04:03 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 11 2015, 04:01 PM)
u still dont get it. dont u.
I don't understand what you try to said.
weikee
post Sep 11 2015, 04:33 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 11 2015, 03:31 PM)
You try 240v 6A, see got ant bite. even 1A of 240 enough to kill you. 240v AC with small amount of Amp will be enough to kill you. even with 0.5A

ozak
post Sep 11 2015, 05:17 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 11 2015, 04:33 PM)
You try 240v 6A, see got ant bite. even 1A of 240 enough to kill you. 240v AC with small amount of Amp will be enough to kill you. even with 0.5A
I m waiting what he try to explain here. Seems like we miss understand what he try to tell here.
ZOOL COOL
post Sep 13 2015, 01:05 PM

14 posts

My condo already have the switch outside for doorbell but no bell inside. The wiring for bell has 5 wires. 3 blue, 1 green, and 1 black. From post here, there are only 4 points for doorbell. So which extra wire i dont connect or should i get doorbell with 5 wires? Thanks in advance.
ozak
post Sep 13 2015, 02:08 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ZOOL COOL @ Sep 13 2015, 01:05 PM)
My condo already have the switch outside for doorbell but no bell inside. The wiring for bell has 5 wires. 3 blue, 1 green, and 1 black. From post here, there are only 4 points for doorbell. So which extra wire i dont connect or should i get doorbell with 5 wires? Thanks in advance.
You need to take the picture outside and the inside wiring. Post here.
Lohtcing
post May 21 2017, 08:43 PM

98 posts

sorry to bump old thread as i have the same question.
This is my current door bell.
it's spoil, and I wish to ask whether I can replace with this one from taobao?
If yes, whats the correct way to wire it?
Thanks all!!

ozak
post May 21 2017, 08:46 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(Lohtcing @ May 21 2017, 08:43 PM)
sorry to bump old thread as i have the same question.
This is my current door bell.
it's spoil, and I wish to ask whether I can replace with this one from taobao?
If yes, whats the correct way to wire it?
Thanks all!!
Can. But not advice. Cause the outdoor switch will running on high voltage. Which probably the switch not waterproof.

Get back the original wiring.
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 08:19 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 21 2017, 08:46 PM)
Can. But not advice. Cause the outdoor switch will running on high voltage. Which probably the switch not waterproof.

Get back the original wiring.
after moving here two years ago, i like to report that i still dont have a doorbell
cant find one that plays star trek intercom beep laugh.gif
ozak
post May 22 2017, 09:31 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 08:19 AM)
after moving here two years ago, i like to report that i still dont have a doorbell
cant find one that plays star trek intercom beep  laugh.gif
You looking for unusual fetish. Where to get? 😝

Suggest to you to use some prerecord audio electronics board. Put a switch and you can use it.
weikee
post May 22 2017, 09:44 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 09:31 AM)

Suggest to you to use some prerecord audio electronics board. Put a switch and you can use it.
Arduino biggrin.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGnMqPERvCw

Got less complex design, just google around.
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 10:20 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 09:31 AM)

got lah but i too lazy to mess with it. in china (from aliexpress, etc) can find those wav/mp3 doorbell. then you put your own file in it, tada.... rclxms.gif
but problem is my wiring is 240V, need to think about where to put the transformer etc

I dont mind something like this - I want only the mechanism to pull the bell. I dont want the bell. I want to use my wind chimes and attach to the puller/control unit
Any ideas? like some kind of servo

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 22 2017, 10:20 AM
weikee
post May 22 2017, 10:24 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 10:20 AM)
got lah but i too lazy to mess with it. in china (from aliexpress, etc) can find those wav/mp3 doorbell. then you put your own file in it, tada.... rclxms.gif
but problem is my wiring is 240V, need to think about where to put the transformer etc

I dont mind something like this - I want only the mechanism to pull the bell. I dont want the bell. I want to use my wind chimes and attach to the puller/control unit

Use servo motor smile.gif
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 10:26 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 22 2017, 10:24 AM)
Use servo motor  smile.gif
ah! thanks. now where to find?
ozak
post May 22 2017, 01:16 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 10:20 AM)

Get that aliexpress wav/mp3 la.

Powersupply easy la. Just get the switching powersupply. Wire 240v in. Than joint the dc wire to the board. That's all.

The chimes also not difficult. Either use A DC vibrator motor or solenoid.

Vibrator motor -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/UXCELL-Rate...2d-d5cac3c2b106

Solenoid -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hto-0420L3v...c5-8eb50aa6e6be

Parts you need,
1) powersupply 240v-> 5v/12vdc
2) Vibrator motor or solenoid
3) switch
4) casing.

ozak
post May 22 2017, 01:17 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 22 2017, 09:44 AM)
Arduino biggrin.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGnMqPERvCw

Got less complex design, just google around.
You need learn the arduino prg and board before able to DIY.

Not for normal people.

Buy the ready make.
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 01:23 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 01:16 PM)
Get that aliexpress wav/mp3 la.

Powersupply easy la. Just get the switching powersupply. Wire 240v in. Than joint the dc wire to the board. That's all.

The chimes also not difficult. Either use A DC vibrator motor or solenoid.

Vibrator motor -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/UXCELL-Rate...2d-d5cac3c2b106

Solenoid -> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hto-0420L3v...c5-8eb50aa6e6be

Parts you need,
1) powersupply 240v-> 5v/12vdc
2) Vibrator motor or solenoid
3) switch
4) casing.
You should know my DIY skills not good la
I sked burn down the house
my boss will fry my sotong 😭

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 22 2017, 01:25 PM
weikee
post May 22 2017, 01:48 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 10:26 AM)
ah! thanks. now where to find?
You can also get a normal DC motor, spring load it. If you don't have, the motor shaft will not "park" back.
weikee
post May 22 2017, 01:51 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 01:17 PM)
You need learn the arduino prg and board before able to DIY.

Not for normal people.

Buy the ready make.
For non Arduino savvy, best is get a simple motor, spring load it, but this need some mechanical work.
ozak
post May 22 2017, 01:59 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 01:23 PM)
Nah

No fried sotong. No electrical. No fire.

Classic look too.
ozak
post May 22 2017, 02:02 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 22 2017, 01:51 PM)
For non Arduino savvy, best is get a simple motor, spring load it, but this need some mechanical work.
That vibrator motor is simple enough. Press the switch and activate the motor. That counter weight will hit the spring or chime in high speed. Create the shaking chime.

Nothing much mechanical work require. A bracket to mount the motor and chime together.
ozak
post May 22 2017, 02:22 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 01:23 PM)
Teh tarik on you.

Nah

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/NURB...0557668320.html

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Honeywell-Char...8UAAOSw42dZCTu-

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hot-Selling...04-b65f2cad0eed

In second thought, I prefer starbuck latte. tongue.gif
idoblu
post May 22 2017, 02:30 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 02:22 PM)
rclxms.gif
ozak
post May 22 2017, 03:06 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 22 2017, 02:30 PM)
rclxms.gif
Don't come and complain still no door bell.

idoblu
post May 22 2017, 04:14 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 22 2017, 03:06 PM)
Don't come and complain still no door bell.
I wait a few more years then complain innocent.gif
iamoracle
post Aug 14 2017, 10:10 AM

614 posts

Want to know that if I can convert doorbell point with 4 wires to a wall socket. Instead of using it for doorbell, I want to use it power up an IP security camera.

How to rewire the wires to the wall socket?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by iamoracle: Aug 14 2017, 10:12 AM
idoblu
post Aug 14 2017, 11:11 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

i still no door bell sad.gif
180jin
post Aug 14 2017, 11:28 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Aug 14 2017, 10:10 AM)
Want to know that if I can convert doorbell point with 4 wires to  a wall socket.  Instead of using it for doorbell, I want to use it power up an IP security camera.

How to rewire the wires to the wall socket?

Thanks in advance.
Ur door bell point should have 5 wires no?
Earth, Live, Neutral, and 2 wires that is from the doorbell switch

the Live should be line voltage so as long as you have that, and earth and neutral u can wire it to become a socket.

But my doorbell point doesn't have the plastic box so even if I wanna convert to a socket I don't have a place to screw the socket onto, unless I drill and use wallplug.
iamoracle
post Aug 14 2017, 12:49 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Aug 14 2017, 11:28 AM)
Ur door bell point should have 5 wires no?
Earth, Live, Neutral, and 2 wires that is from the doorbell switch

the Live should be line voltage so as long as you have that, and earth and neutral u can wire it to become a socket.

But my doorbell point doesn't have the plastic box so even if I wanna convert to a socket I don't have a place to screw the socket onto, unless I drill and use wallplug.
Yes. 4 + 1 Earth.

I understand that no power goes to the doorbell if doorbell switch is not pressed. Correct me if I am wrong.

So, do I need to rewire the doorbell switch too?

This post has been edited by iamoracle: Aug 14 2017, 12:50 PM
180jin
post Aug 14 2017, 06:31 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Aug 14 2017, 12:49 PM)
Yes. 4 + 1 Earth.

I understand that no power goes to the doorbell if doorbell switch is not pressed. Correct me if I am wrong.

So, do I need to rewire the doorbell switch too?

that's not entirely true, actually there's a set of line voltage (220v AC) coming into the door bell unit itself and that is permanently powered. The door bell unit itself has a transformer which steps down to lower voltage that goes to the door bell switch and then back to the solenoid for the actuator

In other words, the door bell unit is always powered all the time, just that the solenoid which controls the door bell actuator (within the doorbell unit itself) doesn't get powered unless u press the switch, so touching the wrong part in the door bell unit will actually get u a shock eventhough the door bell is not pressed.

here's a pic for better illustration, it's from an older post here in LYN as well

here you can see that the AC part is always powered, so what you need to do is just connect the AC power's Live and Neutral, and the earth wire, to ur 13A socket. the wires coming from the doorbell you can ignore them, wrap with black tape or something.

In fact you can even loop the AC power source to a 13A socket and still keep the connection to the doorbell unit (so you get both). IP camera don't think will use a lot of power so it should be fine to loop.

This post has been edited by 180jin: Aug 14 2017, 06:38 PM
iamoracle
post Aug 15 2017, 08:56 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(180jin @ Aug 14 2017, 06:31 PM)
that's not entirely true, actually there's a set of line voltage (220v AC) coming into the door bell unit itself and that is permanently powered. The door bell unit itself has a transformer which steps down to lower voltage that goes to the door bell switch and then back to the solenoid for the actuator

In other words, the door bell unit is always powered all the time, just that the solenoid which controls the door bell actuator (within the doorbell unit itself) doesn't get powered unless u press the switch, so touching the wrong part in the door bell unit will actually get u a shock eventhough the door bell is not pressed.

here's a pic for better illustration, it's from an older post here in LYN as well

here you can see that the AC part is always powered, so what you need to do is just connect the AC power's Live and Neutral, and the earth wire, to ur 13A socket. the wires coming from the doorbell you can ignore them, wrap with black tape or something.

In fact you can even loop the AC power source to a 13A socket and still keep the connection to the doorbell unit (so you get both). IP camera don't think will use a lot of power so it should be fine to loop.
Thank you for your detailed explanation. smile.gif
I will try it out.
alexander3133
post Aug 15 2017, 09:15 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Aug 15 2017, 08:56 AM)
Thank you for your detailed explanation.  smile.gif
I will try it out.
One thing to note, the door bell wiring in DB is usually through a 6A MCB, therefore make sure the electrical appliances that you use on the doorbell 13A socket will not have high inrush current that might trip it.

13A socket normally has 20A MCB behind it, but if you are sure the item you connect won't use much electricity, then it should be ok.
iamoracle
post Aug 15 2017, 09:58 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Aug 15 2017, 09:15 AM)
One thing to note, the door bell wiring in DB is usually through a 6A MCB, therefore make sure the electrical appliances that you use on the doorbell 13A socket will not have high inrush current that might trip it.

13A socket normally has 20A MCB behind it, but if you are sure the item you connect won't use much electricity, then it should be ok.
Thanks for the pointer. I will take note of it.
hankeymeal
post Apr 12 2018, 06:54 PM

74 posts

How to install new door bell to my new condo? I just bought the door bell but not sure about the wiring.

ozak
post Apr 12 2018, 06:59 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(hankeymeal @ Apr 12 2018, 06:54 PM)

Can you open out the switch door bell cover and let us see the wiring color inside.
SUSslimey
post Apr 12 2018, 07:53 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(hankeymeal @ Apr 12 2018, 06:54 PM)

How to install new door bell to my new condo? I just bought the door bell but not sure about the wiring.

can't help without wiring diagram
idoblu
post Apr 12 2018, 07:56 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 12 2018, 06:59 PM)
Can you open out the switch door bell cover and let us see the wiring color inside.
i bet its blue brows.gif
Richard
post Apr 13 2018, 07:42 AM

1,083 posts

Yeah..

One set of 3 wires (240V AC & E), and a pair from the doorbell switch (probably the blue)..

Just get a multimeter and confirm which is which..
ozak
post Apr 13 2018, 09:17 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 12 2018, 07:56 PM)
i bet its blue  brows.gif
I bet najib win.

Oops, wrong place. biggrin.gif

I have to makesure it is blue even I know. We now guide the non experience user to wiring.

Guess, guess like that can send him to heaven. biggrin.gif
idoblu
post Apr 13 2018, 09:44 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 13 2018, 09:17 AM)
I bet najib win.

Oops, wrong place.  biggrin.gif
I have to makesure it is blue even I know. We now guide the non experience user to wiring.

Guess, guess like that can send him to heaven.  biggrin.gif
heaven is a good place laugh.gif innocent.gif
btw my doorbell wires are still there hanging out from the wall. (3 years already moved in) sweat.gif
ozak
post Apr 13 2018, 11:20 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 13 2018, 09:44 AM)
heaven is a good place  laugh.gif  innocent.gif
btw my doorbell wires are still there hanging out from the wall. (3 years already moved in)  sweat.gif
I thought you already convert it to xiaomi automation ?
idoblu
post Apr 13 2018, 11:23 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 13 2018, 11:20 AM)
I thought you already convert it to xiaomi automation ?
Ya not using the wires but still left hanging there kena scold by boss everyday 😭
One day I will convert to 3 pin socket. Already bought the box and socket but lazy to do.
ozak
post Apr 13 2018, 11:27 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 13 2018, 11:23 AM)
Ya not using the wires but still left hanging there kena scold by boss everyday 😭
One day I will convert to 3 pin socket. Already bought the box and socket but lazy to do.
Indoor wan or outdoor ?

Convert to 3 pin socket, than the indoor wire got to connect to L & N. But the 3 pin socket lack of earth wire.
idoblu
post Apr 13 2018, 11:32 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 13 2018, 11:27 AM)
Indoor wan or outdoor ?

Convert to 3 pin socket, than the indoor wire got to connect to L & N. But the 3 pin socket lack of earth wire.
The wires are hanging out from my indoor wall.
I think maybe got Earth wire

ozak
post Apr 13 2018, 11:36 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 13 2018, 11:32 AM)
The wires are hanging out from my indoor wall.
I think maybe got Earth wire
Oh, this wan. Thought the doorbell side.

Direct wiring your Xiaomi hub onto it. Nice somemore.
idoblu
post Apr 13 2018, 11:47 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 13 2018, 11:36 AM)
Oh, this wan. Thought the doorbell side.

Direct wiring your Xiaomi hub onto it.  Nice somemore.
Dowan. Too high. Cannot reset the light. Next time maybe install for Wi-Fi
hankeymeal
post Apr 13 2018, 02:18 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 12 2018, 06:59 PM)

It is blue. So which wire I need to connect to the door bell?
idoblu
post Apr 13 2018, 04:20 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I win 👆🏻😅
ozak
post Apr 13 2018, 04:53 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 13 2018, 04:20 PM)
I win 👆🏻😅
Ok la. Najib loose. laugh.gif
ozak
post Apr 13 2018, 05:21 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(hankeymeal @ Apr 13 2018, 02:18 PM)

It is blue. So which wire I need to connect to the door bell?
Ini macam

Makesure you off the MCB/RCD and no electric present in the wire.

Jimmylian87
post Apr 29 2018, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 5 2013, 05:06 PM)
He.... Actually it call wire cap. Because it look like condom and provide safety joint too. So I called it condom lah.  biggrin.gif

It look like this.
haha funny
ajizaimi
post Jun 24 2018, 04:38 PM

Boleh pasang ke kalau wayar doorbell kat rumah jenis 2 wayar tapi saya dah terbeli yg 4 wayar. Ke kena beli jenis 2 wayar jg?
idoblu
post Jun 24 2018, 08:07 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ajizaimi @ Jun 24 2018, 04:38 PM)
Boleh pasang ke kalau wayar doorbell kat rumah jenis 2 wayar tapi saya dah terbeli yg 4 wayar. Ke kena beli jenis 2 wayar jg?
Di mana you jumpa dua wayar ni?
Di dalam rumah atau luar?
ajizaimi
post Jun 24 2018, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 24 2018, 08:07 PM)
Di mana you jumpa dua wayar ni?
Di dalam rumah atau luar?
Yang ni dalam rumah. Merah ada api, live. Hitam tak ada mungkin neutral

Tapi tadi cek wayar di suis, hitam dan merah tak ada api. Dah tekan butang loceng

This post has been edited by ajizaimi: Jun 24 2018, 08:35 PM

idoblu
post Jun 24 2018, 10:05 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ajizaimi @ Jun 24 2018, 08:31 PM)
Yang ni dalam rumah. Merah ada api, live. Hitam tak ada mungkin neutral

Tapi tadi cek wayar di suis, hitam dan merah tak ada api. Dah tekan butang loceng
I think you bought the correct doorbell
Now you got to find which wire goes to where - you got 5 wires inside your house
L, N, E and two wires from the push switch.
ajizaimi
post Jun 26 2018, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 24 2018, 10:05 PM)
I think you bought the correct doorbell
Now you got to find which wire goes to where - you got 5 wires inside your house
L, N, E and two wires from the push switch.
tak dapat. wayar hitam yg ada 3 saya sambung 1 di neutral dan 2 lagi di wayar suis kat doorbell. Dah tukar2 wayar2 hitam pun tak jadi
idoblu
post Jun 28 2018, 07:37 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ajizaimi @ Jun 26 2018, 10:18 PM)
tak dapat. wayar hitam yg ada 3 saya sambung 1 di neutral dan 2 lagi di wayar suis kat doorbell. Dah tukar2 wayar2 hitam pun tak jadi
i cant see properly but at the wall there i think 3 black, 1 red, 1 green?
first isolate the Live. You said Red is Live which seems weird to me because your switch got 1 red and 1 black. How did you determine it as Live?

I think this case only ozak can help you. I suggest you take a picture of the doorbell and post here as well so he can tell you which wire connect where

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jun 28 2018, 07:40 AM
ozak
post Jun 28 2018, 10:20 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 28 2018, 07:37 AM)
first isolate the Live. You said Red is Live which seems weird to me because your switch got 1 red and 1 black. How did you determine it as Live?

I think this case only ozak can help you. I suggest you take a picture of the doorbell and post here as well so he can tell you which wire connect where
Yes boss. What can I help you. tongue.gif

This wire pening pening. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(ajizaimi @ Jun 26 2018, 10:18 PM)
Kalau tak salah saya, dalam pic ni memang 4 wayar doorbell. Tapi kena cari keluar yang mana L, N dan 2 wayar untuk suis. Dalam 3 wayar hitam ni, mungkin salah satu ialah L.

Ni ialah doorbell 2 dan 4 wayar pasang.

Dalam pic kalau 4 wayar, jalan mungkin begini. Kalau 2 wayar doorbell, pic wayar agak keliru.

Apa yang perlu buat sekarang ialah guna multimeter cari keluar wayar2 ni yang mana satu dari switch, L dan N. Baru boleh pasang.

Cari electrician tolong kalau tak pasti.
ajizaimi
post Jun 28 2018, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 28 2018, 07:37 AM)

smile.gif guna test pen lah, ada api . Live lah kan
Richard
post Jun 29 2018, 04:16 AM

1,083 posts

Yang kena balut wire tape adalah wayar letrik hidup/neutral. (Biasanya Satu wayar hidup dengan 2 neutral, neutral tu dari papan suis dgn looping)

Wayar tiada wire tape adalah dari suis loceng.

Gunakan 4 wire config bro Ozak untuk sambungan pintu loceng AC.

This post has been edited by Richard: Jun 29 2018, 04:17 AM
pmaxv
post Jul 18 2018, 10:55 PM

146 posts

---

This post has been edited by pmaxv: Dec 31 2019, 02:25 AM
idoblu
post Jul 19 2018, 08:02 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(pmaxv @ Jul 18 2018, 10:55 PM)
is wireless doorbell reliable? solves all the wiring problems.
not as reliable as hard wired ones
for condo ok lah, for landed props - better to use wired door bells.
wiring problems only surface when you try to DIY. If you know how or willing to hire someone to do it then no wiring problems.

both got pros and cons

This post has been edited by idoblu: Jan 26 2019, 10:06 AM
pmaxv
post Jul 24 2018, 07:31 PM

146 posts

---

This post has been edited by pmaxv: Dec 31 2019, 02:54 AM
Rota17
post Jan 26 2019, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(psyntium @ May 19 2014, 12:57 PM)
Can u share the photo of your connection of the wire? Pls
adamw
post Jan 26 2019, 10:01 AM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jul 19 2018, 08:02 AM)
not as reliable as hard wired ones
for condo ok lah, for landed props - better to use wired door bells.
wiring problems only surface when you try to DIY. If you know how or willing to hire someone to do it then no wiring problems.
It is very reliable now, outdoor unit no battery needed and it's dirt cheap. Even though I have wires, I choose to use the wireless one. Can plug into any room with power socket but if slightly far or have blockage might have issue. Normal double storey should be ok.
idoblu
post Jan 26 2019, 10:05 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 26 2019, 10:01 AM)
It is very reliable now, outdoor unit no battery needed and it's dirt cheap. Even though I have wires, I choose to use the wireless one. Can plug into any room with power socket but if slightly far or have blockage might have issue. Normal double storey should be ok.
I using wireless now also...haha...so far so good. Summore can send notifications to my phone
One thing good about wireless - they are cheap to replace

ajizaimi
post Aug 18 2019, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 28 2018, 10:20 AM)
Yes boss. What can I help you.  tongue.gif

Kalau tak salah saya, dalam pic ni memang 4 wayar doorbell. Tapi kena cari keluar yang mana L, N dan 2 wayar untuk suis. Dalam 3 wayar hitam ni, mungkin salah satu ialah L. 

Dalam pic kalau 4 wayar,  jalan mungkin begini. Kalau 2 wayar doorbell, pic wayar agak keliru.

Apa yang perlu buat sekarang ialah guna multimeter cari keluar wayar2 ni yang mana satu dari switch, L dan N. Baru boleh pasang.

Terima kasih semua. Kabel di dinding Live memang merah. 3 hitam tu 1 neutral, 2 kabel suis. Kabel suis di luar entah kenapa kontraktor guna warna hitam n merah. Baik terus guna dua2 hitam. Bila check, kabel suis di kotak autogate belum di sambungkan. Lepas sambung, semua berfungsi dengan baik. Tq sekali lagi.

This post has been edited by ajizaimi: Aug 18 2019, 11:25 PM
zemmien
post Aug 19 2019, 11:46 AM

401 posts

QUOTE(ajizaimi @ Aug 18 2019, 11:23 PM)
Terima kasih semua. Kabel di dinding Live memang merah. 3 hitam tu 1 neutral, 2 kabel suis. Kabel suis di luar entah kenapa kontraktor guna warna hitam n merah. Baik terus guna dua2 hitam. Bila check, kabel suis di kotak autogate belum di sambungkan. Lepas sambung, semua berfungsi dengan baik. Tq sekali lagi.
kena check kabel autogate, baru door bell boleh on?
emons87
post Aug 27 2019, 04:59 PM

Hi. Need help on this.. Is the wiring in the last picture is correct?

latiffesa P
post Apr 21 2020, 10:43 PM

Probation

The correct and professional way to wire the door bell and make it lasts years and years is using 4 wire. If you are using 2 wire means you risks electricity shock when pressing the door bell because 230 V is passing through the door bell button.
With the 4 wire method only an AC current of less than 16 V is being is being send to the door bell switch.
Even better use the telephone wire to carry the 16 volt from the door bell to the door bell button.
This is the best of the best way of installation saving you years of worry and money.

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 28 2018, 10:20 AM)
Yes boss. What can I help you.  tongue.gif

Dalam pic kalau 4 wayar,  jalan mungkin begini. Kalau 2 wayar doorbell, pic wayar agak keliru.

Jackymaybach
post Nov 6 2020, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(emons87 @ Aug 27 2019, 04:59 PM)
Hi. Need help on this.. Is the wiring in the last picture is correct?

Hi emons87,

My home doorbell wiring is exactly same as yours, just confirm if you had install the doorbell and the wiring diagram show in last picture of yours is correct?
stormer.lyn
post Nov 6 2020, 02:36 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Jackymaybach @ Nov 6 2020, 10:42 AM)
Hi emons87,

My home doorbell wiring is exactly same as yours, just confirm if you had install the doorbell and the wiring diagram show in last picture of yours is correct?
For this exact wiring, please connect as the picture below.

Red = Live
Black = Neutral
Green = Earth. No need to use for a double-insulated item
Red will always have power, you'll need to turn OFF the Miniature Circuit Breaker in the DB. This is since the doorbell doesn't have a switch to turn OFF power. You can check if Red is power with a test pen. You can check if Red and Black is as I said by temporary connecting a small 240 V lamp to Red+Black, and turning on the MCB. The lamp should light.

Q - What are the Blue wires then? In the doorbell switch the wires are red+black.
A - The normal way of doing things in Malaysia is to run armoured cable to the gate post for the doorbell switch. Then half-way the electrician will change to the normal electrical cable. That joint is usually behind the socket where the gate open/close switch is. You see, they run multiple core armoured cable to the gate post for the gate, the doorbell, the post light, etc. If you check, the blue wires won't have power. Both are blue, and connected together, because the doorbell switch does not have power, it is just contacts to ring the doorbell.

Follow these instructions at your own risk. Please get a qualified person to check if you are in any way unsure.
Thunder_Bolt
post Feb 9 2021, 10:08 PM

24 posts

Does anyone know if i want to remove the door bell,
how should I handle the wires coming out from the wall? How should I connect them? This is for condo unit.
Thanks in advance.
SUSceo684
post Feb 9 2021, 11:08 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Thunder_Bolt @ Feb 9 2021, 10:08 PM)
Does anyone know if i want to remove the door bell,
how should I handle the wires coming out from the wall? How should I connect them? This is for condo unit.
Thanks in advance.
Firstly you will need 5 sections long of a connector block.
What is a connector block? https://shopee.com.my/MAJU-6A-10A-15A-20A-P...7111.7053302836 buy the midsize one about 15A type easier to use. Small ones prone to screw jumping off. Around RM1.20 or so for whole strip.
Then you will need a test pen and a phone with camera.
And masking tape + marker pen.

Before you start, test the test pen by poking it into a live terminal at a socket just to see it is working (when wire is hot) and not faulty.
TURN OFF THE WHOLE DB BOX. NEVER WORK HOT. It is too easy to die from 230V.
Open up ding dong bell cover.
Test all wires/contacts (which are connected) with the test pen again to ensure that nothing is hot.

Label the wires ABCDE or 12345 with masking tape and marker pen. It is a headache to retest everything once messed up.
Take a few meaningful pictures (the as-installed wires and wire labels relative to the ding dong bell) before you open up any screws.
Email those pictures to yourself for safekeeping.

The conblock may come in strip of 12 so count how many and cut it off accordingly.
Now open up wires one by one and screw them into the conblock, one wire per section.

Leave the tape labels on the wires for easier reinstallation.
For added safety, wrap up the conblock in insulation tape, very cheap only, to prevent against accidental touching (regardless by humans or lizards) or water ingress (in case ceiling leak) as some of those wires are operating on 230V.

Insulation tape is about 50c or so per roll. Can be any colour. 3M is good stuff. You can buy online or offline hardware store.
https://shopee.com.my/3M-Temflex-Vinyl-PVC-...3884.5154793409
You may now dispose the old ding dong bell.
After safely terminating the wires into the conblock and mummifying the conblock, it is now safe to turn on your DB box.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 9 2021, 11:15 PM
drew86
post May 9 2021, 09:33 PM

197 posts

Hi. Bumping old topic. Realized my house has very weird doorbell point. 2 green 2 black and 1 yellow (live). Switch at gate post are 2 yellows. Can anyone advise how i should wire my doorbell?

Thanks!

SUSceo684
post May 9 2021, 09:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 9 2021, 09:33 PM)
Hi. Bumping old topic. Realized my house has very weird doorbell point. 2 green 2 black and 1 yellow (live). Switch at gate post are 2 yellows. Can anyone advise how i should wire my doorbell?

Thanks!

Where does this blue wire come from?
SUSslimey
post May 9 2021, 10:40 PM

6,914 posts

Thanks!

where is the other ends of the 2 yellow wire? need to find them and connect them to 0 and 2.

the bottom part of door bell one of them connect to black, the other connect to the live yellow
drew86
post May 9 2021, 10:57 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 9 2021, 09:49 PM)
Where does this blue wire come from?
Pls ignore the wires. Just my own wire to connect to point.

QUOTE(slimey @ May 9 2021, 10:40 PM)
where is the other ends of the 2 yellow wire? need to find them and connect them to 0 and 2.

the bottom part of door bell one of them connect to black, the other connect to the live yellow
That's what's annoying me.. I can't find it anywhere..so thought if there's any special configuration that I'm missing out. There is no other possible point for doorbell.
SUSceo684
post May 9 2021, 11:06 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 9 2021, 10:57 PM)
That's what's annoying me.. I can't find it anywhere..so thought if there's any special configuration that I'm missing out. There is no other possible point for doorbell.
Noted on test lead as blue wire.

Colour mismatched cables will be rather tricky to test for continuity with power running. I worry that one of the gate post wires are actually 230V live.

If you have a long enough spare wire and a multimeter can try to check 1 by 1 wire (turn off the whole DB box) from the gate to the doorbell point inside (separate them out using a spare connector block) for continuity. It may have been mixed up or they are using half of yellow outdoor and half of black indoor. Or worse, hooked up the gate post wires into DB box. Macam macam can happen.
SUSslimey
post May 9 2021, 11:07 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 9 2021, 10:57 PM)
or maybe the wire in the picture is not for door bell.

try opening the mcb box.........maybe you find something there.
drew86
post May 9 2021, 11:10 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 9 2021, 11:06 PM)
Noted on test lead as blue wire.

Colour mismatched cables will be rather tricky to test for continuity with power running. I worry that one of the gate post wires are actually 230V live.

If you have a long enough spare wire and a multimeter can try to check 1 by 1 wire (turn off the whole DB box) from the gate to the doorbell point inside (separate them out using a spare connector block) for continuity. It may have been mixed up or they are using half of yellow outdoor and half of black indoor. Or worse, hooked up the gate post wires into DB box. Macam macam can happen.
Hmm one thing i missed pointing out is that the yellow wire is only hot when switch is pressed. Means most likely they messed up the wiring?
SUSceo684
post May 9 2021, 11:16 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 9 2021, 11:10 PM)
Hmm one thing i missed pointing out is that the yellow wire is only hot when switch is pressed. Means most likely they messed up the wiring?
By right it is 5 wires at doorbell.
3 from MCB box to doorbell. 230V.
2 from gate to doorbell as unpowered (for low voltage) as dingdong button trigger.

I'd test the gate post wires to see if they light up a test pen.

many funny² things can and have happened in my experience.
see WRT DEVELOPER WIRING in https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100869300

Not all banglas know what they're doing. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 9 2021, 11:17 PM
drew86
post May 9 2021, 11:23 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 9 2021, 11:16 PM)
By right it is 5 wires at doorbell.
3 from MCB box to doorbell. 230V.
2 from gate to doorbell as unpowered (for low voltage) as dingdong button trigger.

I'd test the gate post wires to see if they light up a test pen.

many funny² things can and have happened in my experience.
see WRT DEVELOPER WIRING in https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100869300

Not all banglas know what they're doing. laugh.gif
Thanks! Alright will test it soon. Will be a big screw up if they've wired switch from DB...which would be the prime suspect in my case no? Since the switch causes my wall point yellow wire to go hot, without any bell installed.
SUSceo684
post May 9 2021, 11:28 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 9 2021, 11:23 PM)
Thanks! Alright will test it soon. Will be a big screw up if they've wired switch from DB...which would be the prime suspect in my case no? Since the switch causes my wall point yellow wire to go hot, without any bell installed.
Major screw up if the gate switch actually controls the 230V supply to the wall point. Things in the wet like outdoor switches should never run on 230V high voltage as it is not waterproof rated for industrial use (IP67+). 230V AC kill people very easily. It just takes 0.05A (very little current), at 230V to be RIP.

That's why ur doorbell is running on safe low voltage 8V to outside gate post button. Like smarttag battery (9V DC).

However some uninformed bangla seem to have decided to wire the outdoor gate post to run on live 230V AC shakehead.gif

If the wall point 230V L (yellow) is always hot regardless whether the doorbell switch is pressed then this is normal.

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 9 2021, 11:42 PM
SUSslimey
post May 9 2021, 11:29 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 9 2021, 11:23 PM)
can be normal.

ozak
post May 10 2021, 12:07 AM

17,018 posts

Thanks!

You brought a wrong door bell.

This post has been edited by ozak: May 10 2021, 12:08 AM
SUSceo684
post May 10 2021, 12:47 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 10 2021, 12:07 AM)
You brought a wrong door bell.

I read 1st page of this thread. This is the type that can electrocute friends coming eh? tongue.gif
ozak
post May 10 2021, 08:40 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 10 2021, 12:47 AM)
I read 1st page of this thread. This is the type that can electrocute friends coming eh? tongue.gif
Yup.

But depending on what house is he stay in.

Condo or landed.

If condo, I guess should be ok since the switch no exposes to rain.
drew86
post May 10 2021, 11:11 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 10 2021, 08:40 AM)
Yup.

But depending on what house is he stay in.

Condo or landed.

If condo, I guess should be ok since the switch no exposes to rain.

Landed. So no, not gonna be acceptable at all.
ozak
post May 11 2021, 11:22 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 10 2021, 11:11 PM)
Landed. So no, not gonna be acceptable at all.
Since it is already wiring, it would be headache to rewiring again.

2 option to solve the problem I can think of.

Option 1.
Take away the L wire from the DB and extend it to the doorbell. Now the 2 yellow wire can join to the low voltage transformer side of door bell and the switch. (safe)

Wire another L (240v) to the doorbell main side. This can use back your purchase door bell.

Option 2.
Get a wireless door bell with come the remote switch that run on battery. (Some new doorbell even don't need a battery for the remote switch)

Join the 2 yellow wire in the outdoor hub. Makesure the join doesn't expose to water. Now the internal yellow wire is L. Join the wire to the door bell.

Both are safe to use the switch.
drew86
post May 11 2021, 12:14 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 11 2021, 11:22 AM)
Since it is already wiring, it would be headache to rewiring again.

2 option to solve the problem I can think of.

Option 1.
Take away the L wire from the DB and extend it to the doorbell. Now the 2 yellow wire can join to the low voltage transformer side of door bell and the switch. (safe)

Wire another L (240v) to the doorbell main side. This can use back your purchase door bell.

Option 2.
Get a wireless door bell with come the remote switch that run on battery. (Some new doorbell even don't need a battery for the remote switch)

Join the 2 yellow wire in the outdoor hub. Makesure the join doesn't expose to water. Now the internal yellow wire is L. Join the wire to the door bell.

Both are safe to use the switch.
Great suggestions. Thanks!👍 Hopefully there are no misaligned/disconnected conduit pipes then..😖😖

This post has been edited by drew86: May 11 2021, 12:15 PM
chyanjiun
post Jul 6 2021, 03:09 PM

Hi All Sifu, may I know how I going to install this door bell as per pic attached. Thank q very much.

This post has been edited by chyanjiun: Jul 7 2021, 02:17 PM
SUSceo684
post Jul 7 2021, 02:34 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(chyanjiun @ Jul 6 2021, 03:09 PM)
Hi All Sifu, may I know how I going to install this door bell as per pic attached. Thank q very much.

the power goes in the top two terminals as per Fig 2 and the switch wires go in the middle two terminals.

identification of the switch wire colours as a rough guide can be done by turning off whole DB box and opening the doorbell switch.

use a test pen to figure out which is the live wire for the power side.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 7 2021, 02:44 AM
ozak
post Jul 7 2021, 04:30 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(chyanjiun @ Jul 6 2021, 03:09 PM)

Your outside switch wire color is confusing.

There is no red and black wire for the inside the house. (pic 2)

I only can guess the switch outside wire should be both yellow. Judging from the 2nd pic.

You need multimeter to confirm the wiring. Or get an electrician to help you.

This post has been edited by ozak: Jul 7 2021, 04:30 PM
empire
post Mar 26 2022, 06:19 PM

2,549 posts

I am shocked all of you are not aware that there is already a WIRELESS door bell and it does NOT use any battery or house electricity for the Transmitter!.

Stick the wireless Transmitter on the house gate pillar.... and plug in the receiver into your wall 3 pin power point.

No need to drill anything at all. How come you all dont know this??
kuchaikway
post Mar 26 2022, 07:04 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 26 2022, 06:19 PM)
I am shocked all of you are not aware that there is already a WIRELESS door bell and it does NOT use any battery or house electricity for the Transmitter!.

Stick the wireless Transmitter on the house gate pillar.... and plug in the receiver into your wall 3 pin power point.

No need to drill anything at all. How come you all dont know this??
You are assuming everyone has same house or requirement like you??? First many houses have door bell wiring built in so it is easier to just get the wired set up. Moreover wired door bells are far more reliable than wireless ones especially for houses with a lot of glass or signal absorbing materials. Second, does your wireless door bell has illumination at night? Some people may want that and this requires power.
XweienX
post Aug 8 2023, 01:22 PM

455 posts

Hi sifus, I want to ask about the doorbell switch on the outside. I want it to be like when I press, my Apple Home will detect the press and open live feed, which means the switch needs to be smart.

My question is, can I just replace the switch with any smart switch and then add weatherproofing? (My guess is no because of the amps maybe but thats why im asking).

If not, got any recommendations to make the doorbell switch a smart switch? (like add wifi module)
keanutan
post Aug 8 2023, 03:03 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Aug 8 2023, 01:22 PM)
Hi sifus, I want to ask about the doorbell switch on the outside. I want it to be like when I press, my Apple Home will detect the press and open live feed, which means the switch needs to be smart.

My question is, can I just replace the switch with any smart switch and then add weatherproofing? (My guess is no because of the amps maybe but thats why im asking).

If not, got any recommendations to make the doorbell switch a smart switch? (like add wifi module)
Just get the Aqara g4 doorbell
XweienX
post Aug 8 2023, 11:21 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 8 2023, 03:03 PM)
Just get the Aqara g4 doorbell
expensiveeee cry.gif

0.1109sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:46 PM