136 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

sheng291
post Dec 15 2013, 08:49 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 15 2013, 08:23 PM)
256GB Plextor M5S is/was going at ~ RM570.

To get to the RAM slot for the Z510, you practically has to tear down the whole laptop already laugh.gif
That's gonna away much from budget..haha
btw, other than boot time for windows, does SSD makes much diff on launching software and etc?

Opps, can I request the dealer to do the installation?
Pitt Joe
post Dec 15 2013, 08:50 PM

Hi sifus any recommendation for cheapest intel i3 laptop..budget rm1200 possible or not? Or can recommend laptop around rm1200 budget thanksss!
raymondtong94
post Dec 15 2013, 09:15 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Pitt Joe @ Dec 15 2013, 08:50 PM)
Hi sifus any recommendation for cheapest intel i3 laptop..budget rm1200 possible or not? Or can recommend laptop around rm1200 budget thanksss!
Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549

Acer
E1-470-33214G50s, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
moiskyrie
post Dec 15 2013, 09:21 PM

3,217 posts

brand: asus / dell / acer / lenovo
budget : 2-2.5k
usage : watch movie / mmorpg (eve online, etc) / light photo editing / light video editing
screen size : 14 / 15.6 ( if can HD+ resulution )
p/s : want the hdd and ram easy to change...if can longer battery life and at least 4th gen i5.

already consider dell vostro 5470 but hear cant ssd, so if can model that can easy change to ssd...

thanks.
raymondtong94
post Dec 15 2013, 09:21 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Dec 15 2013, 08:49 PM)
That's gonna away much from budget..haha
btw, other than boot time for windows, does SSD makes much diff on launching software and etc?

Opps, can I request the dealer to do the installation?
yes, it does.

for installation, depends on the seller's experience and mood. some dont even bother to do it because they know this model is too difficult to tear and its not worth it for just to install a RAM.
TimeLesss
post Dec 15 2013, 11:47 PM

122 posts

1. Any reliable brand(toshiba etc.)
2. RM1800
3. Medium Gaming, Movies
4. 14"
eddydo
post Dec 16 2013, 02:17 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

1. Preferred Brand-
Any, build quality and service must be top notch
Apple might work as well.

2. Budget-
RM 2000-3000

3. Usage-
Photoediting, browsing, college work, light gaming (dota 2)

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Light weight (if possible) , long battery life roughly 4-5 hours, mainly for college work and photoediting

I'm stuck on deciding which laptop is more suitable?
Inspiron 15" 7000
Lenovo Idealpad u430t

Inspiron 15" is off budget actually but i'm willing to top up to get it.
Or is there another better option other than these?
yiru92
post Dec 16 2013, 02:33 AM

39 posts

1. Preferred Brand - no mac/acer/samsung
2. Budget - 3-4k
3. Usage - will possibly be opening autocad/3dsmax and photoshop at the same time
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - dont really matter.

I need a good performance laptop and also a international warranty sort where i'll be travelling soon.

Another concern is the graphic card and also the need of ssd in the laptop(how does it work actually? does the laptop has an additional slot or something? been using desktop most of my life)

thanks alot ;D
tangenttheta
post Dec 16 2013, 05:17 AM

62 posts

Hi, im new here, wanna ask for the following specs of a laptop:

1. lenovo > dell > msi > others
2. budget < 3.2 k for i7 (benchmark of Lenovo Y510p), <2.2k for i5 (benchmark by lenovo G500s),can increase a bit lol, save money for getting a PC at home oso..
3. Usage:
a. advance gaming: dota2, HON, assasin creed, torchlight, Sims and other higher end game in future.
b. Some photoshop, video making, basic microsoft works etc.

4. Prefer screen 14/15.6 not more than 15.6. its too big and heavy for my bag to carry..=(
5. Other: weight <3kg
6. processor speed >2GHz.. i7 QM 3rd or 4th gen with quad core, i5 3rd or 4th gen with M, i dont like U , anti-U..haha
7. Good graphic card preferable better or similar to GT 750 or GT775 (around this is acceptable also larr..haha) choose nvidea coz i dont kow about AMD.. i dun think intel HD can play those games smoothly..
8. 4 GB or above,
9. 750GB or 1TB, if 500 also nevermind, i will change it later. =)
10. can add in SSD is a good option too~
11. DOS or windows are ok..can change if i dont like it~
12. Good cooling system. (my compaq now is heating up very easily, but luckily no overheat yet =)
13. Can stay to use in nex 3 years as i dun plan to buy lappy after this.

My Choices:

1. Lenovo Y410p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 4GB, 1TB, DOS, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
(one of my fav option)
2. Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
3*. Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs
4*. Dell Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell
(like its specs but the processor of 4500U is quite not nice for me)
5*. MSI GE40-2OC, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1600x900; anti-glare)@RM3499[1.8kg], 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
(very temping, but dunno where to buy)
6*. ASUS N56JR-S4018H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard
(very tempting..any recommended seller?)

My other fav choices (extince/cant find anymore)
1*. Lenovo G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
(i like this the most, but all store are out of stock.. anyone knows which store still have stock for this awesome laptop?)
2*. MSI GP60-2OD, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB
(anyone knows who selling this laptop?)

Anyone have recommended seller for extincted G500, and those which have been starred* ?

HUH..wat a long post in here.. sorry and thanks for those who spend their time read all of this and hope to get reply from u guys, much appreciated =)

nexus2238
post Dec 16 2013, 08:27 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(TimeLesss @ Dec 15 2013, 11:47 PM)
1. Any reliable brand(toshiba etc.)
2. RM1800
3. Medium Gaming, Movies
4. 14"
Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo][Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty
Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[Onkyo], 2GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

HP
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1999[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Dec 16 2013, 08:42 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(yiru92 @ Dec 16 2013, 02:33 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - no mac/acer/samsung
2. Budget - 3-4k
3. Usage - will possibly be opening autocad/3dsmax and photoshop at the same time
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - dont really matter.

I need a good performance laptop and also a international warranty sort where i'll be travelling soon.

Another concern is the graphic card and also the need of ssd in the laptop(how does it work actually? does the laptop has an additional slot or something? been using desktop most of my life)

thanks alot ;D
You need powerful CPU, and a reasonable discrete GPU.
International warranty - unless you tell us where you are going, wouldn't know if it cover in that country. Basic rule is this: Even if a models come with international warranty, if the brand does not sell that model in that country, you will have difficulty getting good service due to spare part issue.

SSD - Solid State Drive. Made from NAND (like USB drive, SD card, ... but much faster due to dedicated controller).
Can connect to laptop using the same interface like HDD, i.e. SATA port. For SATA SSD in laptop, need to pay attention to the z-height as well (5mm, 7mm, 9mm, otherwise may not fit the laptop skinniness).
Also has smaller form factor for mSATA interface.
Very fast / responsive.
Expensive compared to HDD, 256GB ~ RM600.
Can buy after-market, and install into laptop.
Stay with brand like Samsung, Intel, Plextor, Crucial, and you should be fine.
Normally come with 3/5 years warranty.
You can also use SSD in desktop, it is just a form of storage device.

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard
2 year international warranty

Dell
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr
extend warranty to 3 years for ~ RM250, can do tag transfer online to transfer warranty support from 1 country to another (unlimited time)

HP
Envy Touchsmart 15-J053TX, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080;touch)@RM3499[2.56kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8
Buy care pack to get International warranty. Get re-seller to help.

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
2 year warranty, cover in certain countries. Can extend / upgrade warranty. Check with re-seller.

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Dec 16 2013, 08:46 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(tangenttheta @ Dec 16 2013, 05:17 AM)
Stay away from the G500s, the GT720M is too weak for your games.
You have listed down pretty much most of the models that tick your boxes.
As for re-sellers, search in garage sale section right her in LYN.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Dec 16 2013, 08:47 AM
teranun
post Dec 16 2013, 10:15 AM

278 posts

Sir what are programs and softwares and latest title of games that do not support Dual GPUs??? Can you give examples? Planning to buy 755sli or it will be better to buy a laptop with gtx765 or gtx770?? sad.gif plz help it will help me decide on what will i buy
raymondtong94
post Dec 16 2013, 10:29 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Dec 16 2013, 10:15 AM)
Sir what are programs and softwares and latest title of games that do not support Dual GPUs??? Can you give examples? Planning to buy 755sli or it will be better to buy a laptop with gtx765 or gtx770?? sad.gif plz help it will help me decide on what will i buy
i'd say, single GPU is the clear winner. other than saving more juice, you dont need to trouble yourself to troubleshoot SLI issues.
teranun
post Dec 16 2013, 11:54 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 16 2013, 10:29 AM)
i'd say, single GPU is the clear winner. other than saving more juice, you dont need to trouble yourself to troubleshoot SLI issues.
Thanks... so sifus anyone? what is the best gaming laptop for 4k range? 5k range? 6k range? Any brand....

Can upgrade ssd, or can put ssd+hdd
Can upgrade gpu maybe after 2-3yrs?
Or upgrade components after maybe 2-3yrs?

I mean good upgreadability of the laptop. ..
Can play games smoothly like the witcher2/3, skyrim, mw3, need for speed title, sleeping dogs, far cry 3, crysis 3,,tomb raider, nba2k14, any other new titles.

Got bluetooth connection, FHD to IPS, will use wifi internet... good built in camera and mic, quality built in speakers is a plus,

15-17" FHD to IPS.

TiA sifus
AE2088
post Dec 16 2013, 12:42 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 15 2013, 07:27 PM)
Asus
N56JR-S4018H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 12GB, 1TB, W8.1, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

Only the single GPU Y510P is within your budget  hmm.gif
Anyway, GT755M vs GT760M is pretty close performance wise. As for GT750M SLI, for games that support SLI, it's close to GTX770M level (with caveat such as drivers support, micro-stuttering, etc).

Since you've narrowed down to 2 models, I suggest you go out and look / type / click / listen / type / carry the real things to see which you prefer smile.gif
thx bro for your information ... i might getting the N56JR .. in my area , they doesn't have the demo unit for me to try .. so i can only get information from lowyat.net .. is it heavy for the N56JR ? cause i might carrying in and out to campus ..
Jounouchi
post Dec 16 2013, 12:49 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(AE2088 @ Dec 16 2013, 12:42 PM)
thx bro for your information ... i might getting the N56JR .. in my area , they doesn't have the demo unit for me to try .. so i can only get information from lowyat.net .. is it heavy for the N56JR ? cause i might carrying in and out to campus ..
http://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/N...#specifications

Check the weight: 2.7 kg (with 6 cell battery)
AE2088
post Dec 16 2013, 12:53 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Jounouchi @ Dec 16 2013, 12:49 PM)
http://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/N...#specifications

Check the weight: 2.7 kg (with 6 cell battery)
bro.. do you think the GE60 is better than the N56JR ? can i know what's the differences between 3rd gen & 4th gen i7 processor ?
Kent93
post Dec 16 2013, 01:04 PM

110 posts

Any recommendation gaming laptop around 3k good graphic and hopefully ultra book
Jounouchi
post Dec 16 2013, 01:23 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(AE2088 @ Dec 16 2013, 12:53 PM)
bro.. do you think the GE60 is better than the N56JR ? can i know what's the differences between 3rd gen & 4th gen i7 processor ?
4th gen is slightly improve in the performance compared with 3rd gen but normally user won't feel anything unless you digest deepest inside.

Actually, you are going to use in your Uni life right?
If you are hardcore gamer, then get a laptop with Full HD screen + better graphic card.
Or else get a normal laptop and pump SSD inside (just like me)

136 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:57 PM