136 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V22, Please FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

SUSmenj
post Jan 7 2014, 08:27 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 7 2014, 07:12 PM)
link not working, but I guess you mean this one:
E1-572G-74508G1Ti, i7-4500U + AMD HD8750M@RM2499[2.35kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1

CPU not quad core.

Btw, are you sure this E1 is better looking than the Lenovo Z? laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
LOL I guess looks are subjective, but the Acer E1 is more appealing to me than any Lenovo model out there tongue.gif

Anyway, you say that this particular Acer is not a quad core? What does that mean, I thought all i7 chips are quads? Also, how does it compare in terms of performance to my old 5750G? The reason why I am attracted to this model is because it comes with 8GB RAM and 1TB HDD....these two things are absent in the MSI model. If I were to get the MSI, I would need to fork out more money and hence that would exceed my budget, which I could ill-afford.
holoman
post Jan 7 2014, 10:01 PM

NA NA NA
1,600 posts

im looking for a new laptop
is it worth using mbp ?
or should i choose any other brand with better spec?
main use for web browsing ..

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 7 2014, 10:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Jan 7 2014, 10:01 PM)
is it worth using mbp ?
Please follow the format on the 1st page ya icon_rolleyes.gif
xproc
post Jan 7 2014, 10:25 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(holoman @ Jan 7 2014, 10:01 PM)
is it worth using mbp ?
web browsing = mbp = even better spec??

what he talking about leh...
raymondtong94
post Jan 7 2014, 10:50 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 7 2014, 10:07 PM)
Please follow the format on the 1st page ya  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(xproc @ Jan 7 2014, 10:25 PM)
web browsing = mbp = even better spec??

what he talking about leh...
if you find such post, just ignore them. is it so hard for them to read the formats on 1st page? doh.gif
yeehong89
post Jan 7 2014, 11:06 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Jan 7 2014, 02:23 PM)
Thanks! i was looking at Macbookair also actually, also looking at asus zenbook and dell XPS13... rclxub.gif
mayb will c wat apple will offer...
much difference between touch screen n non touch screen? does ppl actually utilising the touch screen? lolz
nexus2238
post Jan 7 2014, 11:19 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(menj @ Jan 7 2014, 08:27 PM)
Anyway, you say that this particular Acer is not a quad core? What does that mean, I thought all i7 chips are quads? Also, how does it compare in terms of performance to my old 5750G? The reason why I am attracted to this model is because it comes with 8GB RAM and 1TB HDD....these two things are absent in the MSI model. If I were to get the MSI, I would need to fork out more money and hence that would exceed my budget, which I could ill-afford.
In the mobile space, NOT all i7 are quad core.
If you see suffix such as HQ, MQ, QM (anything with a Q), it is quad core.
If you see suffix with U, Y, those i7 are only duo core.

Compared to your old 5750G, that E1 has:
weaker CPU, better GPU, better battery runtime.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 7 2014, 11:21 PM
sheng291
post Jan 7 2014, 11:22 PM

455 posts

1. Preferred Brand- Any
2. Budget- Preferable less than 2k
3. Usage- basic coding, web sufing, docu and movie
4. Preferred laptop/screen size- 14<
5. Prefer with SSD, light, good battery
SUSmenj
post Jan 8 2014, 12:14 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 7 2014, 11:19 PM)
In the mobile space, NOT all i7 are quad core.
If you see suffix such as HQ, MQ, QM (anything with a Q), it is quad core.
If you see suffix with U, Y, those i7 are only duo core.

Compared to your old 5750G, that E1 has:
weaker CPU, better GPU, better battery runtime.
Wow, I learned something new today. I suppose this model is also a duo core?

http://www.lazada.com.my/genuineacer-aspir...ush-452787.html

Looks like I might go for the MSI if I want a stronger CPU.
syazwanreno
post Jan 8 2014, 01:03 AM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Any with good reputation and after sales service
2. Budget - MAX 3K, lower the better
3. Usage - Programming, multimedia, text and image processing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" - 15"

side notes - if got SSD and 8GB of RAM and Original Windows pre-installed is better. smile.gif
duck v3
post Jan 8 2014, 02:54 AM

220 posts

hi sifu2
can recommend 1 good lappy for uni work/assignments + casual games like dota2 and l4d and stuff?

thinking of getting an ssd together with it. any lappy got msata slot or can hold 2 drives? thanks!
Boomeraangkid
post Jan 8 2014, 06:18 AM

Behind You
2,696 posts

1. Preferred Brand- Any except Apple
2. Budget- Preferable less than 5k
3. Usage- gaming, multimedia.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size- Any

Thanks! blush.gif

This post has been edited by Boomeraangkid: Jan 8 2014, 06:18 AM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2014, 07:57 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(menj @ Jan 8 2014, 12:14 AM)
Wow, I learned something new today. I suppose this model is also a duo core?

http://www.lazada.com.my/genuineacer-aspir...ush-452787.html

Looks like I might go for the MSI if I want a stronger CPU.
Yes, that V5 also is spec with duo core (ULT) i7, the GPU is better than that in the E1.

Current trend from brands is to push for better battery runtime, so models < RM3k mostly are spec with ULT CPU (for Acer, there is no 15" model in Malaysia that is spec with quad core i7 at all, iinm laugh.gif )
raymondtong94
post Jan 8 2014, 09:32 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Jan 8 2014, 06:18 AM)
1. Preferred Brand- Any except Apple
2. Budget- Preferable less than 5k
3. Usage- gaming, multimedia.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size- Any

Thanks! blush.gif
hello gamer. just to advice, gamers dont need Apple laptops. laugh.gif
by the way :

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT755M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8.1, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]
Illegear RE-17, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3699[3.2kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

MSI
GS70-2OD (Stealth)-096MY, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4899, 8GB, 1TB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB

prices are RSP and negotiable. my vote will go for Illegear, as you can customize a lot of items during purchase. thumbup.gif contact Prince J for more info on Illegear laptops.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 8 2014, 11:34 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yeehong89 @ Jan 7 2014, 11:06 PM)
Thanks! i was looking at Macbookair also actually, also looking at asus zenbook and dell XPS13...  rclxub.gif
mayb will c wat apple will offer...
much difference between touch screen n non touch screen? does ppl actually utilising the touch screen? lolz
Touchscreen is useless on a laptop that is not able to "convert" into tablet mode nod.gif
All you are going to get at the end of the day is a loose screen hinge, and painful hands laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 8 2014, 11:40 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Jan 7 2014, 11:22 PM)
1. Preferred Brand- Any
2. Budget- Preferable less than 2k
3. Usage- basic coding, web sufing, docu and movie
4. Preferred laptop/screen size- 14<
5. Prefer with SSD, light, good battery
Closest with SSD would be these:
10"
Iconia W510, Intel Z2760 + Intel GMA + 64GB SSD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM1699, 2GB, W8
Iconia W511, Intel Z2760 + Intel GMA + 64GB SSD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM2399[580g], 2GB, 3G, W8, keyboard dock, 1 year

Microsoft
Surface RT, Nvidia Tegra 3 + 64GB SSD + (1366x768; touch)@RM1399[680g]; WRT, 2GB *Note: WRT
Surface Pro, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1920x1080;touch) + 64GB SSD@RM2749[680g], 4GB, W8P

11.6"
P3-171-3322Y2G06, i3-3322y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS ; touch)@RM1999, 2GB, W8
P3-171-5333Y2G06, i5-3339Y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS; touch)@RM2299, 2GB, W8

14"
Dell Vostro 5470, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm) + (1366x768; Touch)@RM2549, 4GB, W8.1, 3-cell *Note: Weak WiFi card

Lenovo Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 8 2014, 11:43 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Jan 8 2014, 01:03 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any with good reputation and after sales service
2. Budget - MAX 3K, lower the better
3. Usage - Programming, multimedia, text and image processing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" - 15"

side notes - if got SSD and 8GB of RAM and Original Windows pre-installed is better.  smile.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2699[2.02kg], 6GB(soldered), W8.1, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD

15.6"
Acer V5-573PG-74504G50r, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2899, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + (1366x768; Touch) @RM2899[2.6kg], 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

*Note the RAM is soldered ya
*Use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jan 8 2014, 11:44 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 8 2014, 11:45 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jan 7 2014, 10:50 PM)
if you find such post, just ignore them. is it so hard for them to read the formats on 1st page? doh.gif
Noted noted haha notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
xproc
post Jan 8 2014, 11:46 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 8 2014, 11:34 AM)
Touchscreen is useless on a laptop that is not able to "convert" into tablet mode nod.gif
All you are going to get at the end of the day is a loose screen hinge, and painful hands  laugh.gif
i would say touchscreen is optional only.... there are 99% of the time we dont need it... just 1% of the time you think touch screen is useful...

if use more than 1% of the time = loose screen hinge = painful hands i agree

i not sure how much people utilize their touch screen... or just buy the laptop because of touchscreen....

but now most of the touchscreen = low quality glossy screen = 1337x768 reso only....

This post has been edited by xproc: Jan 8 2014, 11:47 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 8 2014, 11:53 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Jan 8 2014, 11:46 AM)
i would say touchscreen is optional only.... there are 99% of the time we dont need it...  just 1% of the time you think touch screen is useful...

if use more than 1% of the time = loose screen hinge = painful hands i agree

i not sure how much people utilize their touch screen... or just buy the laptop because of touchscreen....

but now most of the touchscreen = low quality glossy screen  = 1337x768 reso only....
*1366x768

The problem now is that even if you don't want touchscreen you still have to get one since you don't have a choice doh.gif
Just look at the XPS15, and the Lenovo Ideapads cry.gif

136 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:24 AM