126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

tongweng
post Dec 3 2013, 10:06 PM

127 posts

spent whole day walking in lowyat and times square...seems like very few ppl selling extension tube

mingyuyu
post Dec 3 2013, 10:08 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

arrr a canon guy asking in nikon thread paiseh tongue.gif

a few of you might know that i love shooting macro, so recently after i saw a few of you post your diffuser for macro set up i decided to get one also.

i bought this.

now facepalm pulak, when i reverse my lens, the focusing distance drops until few cm from the bugs, the the octobox went so far until a lot further than my subject, causing the light unable to hit the subject correctly.

also, i can't get softer light from that octobox, already opted for the largest in size but still the light appears quite harsh. sweat.gif
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 10:35 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Dec 3 2013, 09:40 PM)
U Shoot I Shoot

Haha! I encountered same pictures like this. Whenever we try to shoot someone with SLR, they shoot you back. laugh.gif

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 3 2013, 10:06 PM)
spent whole day walking in lowyat and times square...seems like very few ppl selling extension tube
Looking for one? This might help you. I never deal with him, but the group page is quiet well-moderated, so I think he can be trusted.

That said, I recommend getting a Raynox 250 for convenience. But I never tested an Auto ET, so I can't be sure. It might be better.

This post has been edited by copperwire93: Dec 3 2013, 10:36 PM
tongweng
post Dec 3 2013, 10:39 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 3 2013, 10:35 PM)
[/spoiler]
fbid=528911497190245&set=gm.507553129340012&type=1&relevant_count=1&ref=nf]This[/url] might help you. I never deal with him, but the group page is quiet well-moderated, so I think he can be trusted.

That said, I recommend getting a Raynox 250 for convenience. But I never tested an Auto ET, so I can't be sure. It might be better.

I know there is various type macro equipment...but i need to hands on that item only can decide which to buy
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 10:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 3 2013, 08:00 PM)
Wow! You got many macro photos, I have another shot of the fly, but it release somekind of fluid from its mouth whenever I get close. I got the shot with its fluid. But... not good for viewing whistling.gif
Wow, that is an interesting shot man!
Flies will secrete fluids when they find suitable food. The fluid will digest the food before the fly sucks them up brows.gif
I'm sure its a great shot hehe, share share~~

I've never seen anything like that before though haha, and I don't intend on waiting beside dog poo to find out XD

QUOTE(poad @ Dec 3 2013, 08:08 PM)
nah...me beginner...still learning... biggrin.gif
We all have to start somewhere thumbup.gif
I used to be very poor in my macro shots too haha

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 3 2013, 08:13 PM)
Haha must tag Sifu CY along too!! His motorsports photo are awesome! My inspiration lol!
Nice pictures!! Its awesome that you know your subjects! How do you know if you don't mind telling
How long do you guys wait for the subjects for a macro shot?? Keep up the good work!  thumbup.gif
Yeah, CY sifu's photos are so good, both the cars and girls wub.gif
Coincidentally I am also working a bit on some insect research, so I know some of them haha, I just refer to books or scientific literature. I can only ID the commons ones la haha Still much to learn~

Usually noneed to wait (unless flying or hunting shot), just find them and shoot laugh.gif
Like copperwire93 mentioned, its more about composition, focusing and ninja stealth to not scare them away XD
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 11:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 3 2013, 10:06 PM)
Extension tubes are quite rare, since there's not really a lot of demand I suppose sad.gif

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 3 2013, 10:08 PM)

a few of you might know that i love shooting macro, so recently after i saw a few of you post your diffuser for macro set up i decided to get one also.

i bought this.

now facepalm pulak, when i reverse my lens, the focusing distance drops until few cm from the bugs, the the octobox went so far until a lot further than my subject, causing the light unable to hit the subject correctly.

also, i can't get softer light from that octobox, already opted for the largest in size but still the light appears quite harsh. sweat.gif
Ahhh, no problems man, we all have the passion for photography what thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
I sort of have the same problem as you haha, as in the diffuser being too long than the lens, especially when I don't use the ET laugh.gif
Perhaps can consider flash brackets? Or a smaller diffuser hmm.gif
I'm not familiar with Canon flashguns, but you should be able to switch the light to disperse right? Can also put down the flashgun's diffuser (if applicable) for extra diffusion hmm.gif
copperwire93
post Dec 3 2013, 11:14 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 10:51 PM)
Wow, that is an interesting shot man!
Flies will secrete fluids when they find suitable food. The fluid will digest the food before the fly sucks them up  brows.gif
I'm sure its a great shot hehe, share share~~
Here, then I guess it is makan angin. tongue.gif
Put spoiler tag in case some finds it uneasy.

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 11:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 3 2013, 11:14 PM)
Here, then I guess it is makan angin. tongue.gif
Put spoiler tag in case some finds it uneasy.

Thanks for sharing man! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Wow, so that's how its like haha, this is a nice shot yo!
Doesn't feel uneasy at all laugh.gif laugh.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 3 2013, 11:27 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 11:00 PM)
Extension tubes are quite rare, since there's not really a lot of demand I suppose sad.gif
Ahhh, no problems man, we all have the passion for photography what  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
I sort of have the same problem as you haha, as in the diffuser being too long than the lens, especially when I don't use the ET laugh.gif
Perhaps can consider flash brackets? Or a smaller diffuser hmm.gif
I'm not familiar with Canon flashguns, but you should be able to switch the light to disperse right? Can also put down the flashgun's diffuser (if applicable) for extra diffusion  hmm.gif
hmm how much would a flash bracket costs? if it's expensive, i think i will invest in light stand those things instead. wouldn't a smaller diffuser create harsher light?

it's yongnuo flash haha, canon's flash is too expensive for me. yeap, i tried putting down those, but didn't affect really much. hmm.gif
gunzerdude
post Dec 3 2013, 11:32 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 3 2013, 10:08 PM)

i bought this.

Since when did you get a trumpet for your flash? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

On a more serious note, try attaching the diffuser cap first before fitting the softbox. icon_rolleyes.gif
mingyuyu
post Dec 3 2013, 11:34 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 11:32 PM)
Since when did you get a trumpet for your flash?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

On a more serious note, try attaching the diffuser cap first before fitting the softbox.  icon_rolleyes.gif
it looks really crazy haha, didn't thought it would that big when i bought it. i don't have the cap bundled with my flash sweat.gif and it isn't that cheap if buy separately right?
gunzerdude
post Dec 3 2013, 11:40 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 3 2013, 11:34 PM)
it looks really crazy haha, didn't thought it would that big when i bought it. i don't have the cap bundled with my flash  sweat.gif and it isn't that cheap if buy separately right?
Can get for 10 bucks at digicolor nia. Reason your lighting is harsh because all the power is still aiming towards the center of the softbox, you need secondary diffusion at the light source first to better distribute the spread of light.

My softbox pula too short sweat.gif Since my 90mm on it's own quite long d, after adding teleconverter or ET have to ramp up ISO to maintain short flash duration. doh.gif

mingyuyu
post Dec 3 2013, 11:47 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 11:40 PM)
Can get for 10 bucks at digicolor nia. Reason your lighting is harsh because all the power is still aiming towards the center of the softbox, you need secondary diffusion at the light source first to better distribute the spread of light.

My softbox pula too short  sweat.gif Since my 90mm on it's own quite long d, after adding teleconverter or ET have to ramp up ISO to maintain short flash duration. doh.gif

i also bought that tiny octobox from digicolor, just today haha. need to buy the cap next time when i visit there. thanks a lot for the tips, i don't know diffusing the light is so complicated sweat.gif

now i can only shoot with the octobox using 70-200, that's they only lens that the octobox won't cover.
gunzerdude
post Dec 3 2013, 11:50 PM

693 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 3 2013, 11:47 PM)
i also bought that tiny octobox from digicolor, just today haha. need to buy the cap next time when i visit there. thanks a lot for the tips, i don't know diffusing the light is so complicated  sweat.gif

now i can only shoot with the octobox using 70-200, that's they only lens that the octobox won't cover.
Quite simple only la once you start to understand the concept. cool2.gif

For macro, the more layers of diffusion, the softer the light, but the more power required from the flash la.

Oh yeah, you need to bring in the flash very close to the subject to maximize the benefits also.

This post has been edited by gunzerdude: Dec 3 2013, 11:52 PM
mingyuyu
post Dec 3 2013, 11:52 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 11:50 PM)
Quite simple only la once you start to understand the concept.  cool2.gif

For macro, the more layers of diffusion, the softer the light, but the more power required from the flash la.
yeah, need to start experimenting to lighting to improve my skills.

with the octobox, i already lost like 1 stop of power compared to bare flash, wouldn't mind charging the batteries more oftenly as long as i get the picture i want.
QiAnG
post Dec 4 2013, 12:34 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 07:23 PM)
Thank you man, much appreciated! notworthy.gif
Will let you know if I need anything for my research hehe, but probably need to find in the jungle tongue.gif Of course I don't mind paying you for your trouble; sure beats flying over there myself haha  laugh.gif

Yeah, a good diffuser will help improve shots tremendously, and the shape of the diffuser will help too. If you are into jumping spiders, then ring flashes are good picks~  rclxms.gif 
Well, sometimes you can lure the spider out what haha, then only shoot. Jumping spiders are usually pretty curious and not shy laugh.gif

Yup, the shot is cropped, most macro shots are cropped, as far as I know haha~
There are only two ways (based on what I've learned so far) to get large DOF:
1. Shoot with lower magnification, then cropped or
2. Focus stacking

JUNGLE! Never entered jungle eh, haha. Try my best =p You fly over nice also, we can learn from you notworthy.gif

I tried, they keep hide inside mad.gif somehow these small ones are quite human shy, maybe I should try going out at night some day, probly need a torchlight for focus though, haha.

I think I'll try with lower magnification and cropping them, focus stacking seems tough on the field.
QiAnG
post Dec 4 2013, 12:35 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 07:36 PM)
Awesome shots mate!  notworthy.gif
I'm sure these were not taken at your house garden right?  laugh.gif

#1 is a fungus beetle
#2 is a Great Egg Fly (Hypolimnas bolina) - great shot, these butterflies don't usually hang around too much laugh.gif
#3 bug porn! XD
#4 is an Electric Blue Banded Phintella (Phintella vittata) - this is a very tough spider to shoot since they are extremely jumpy, I have yet to get a decent shot of the front hehe, can try it as a challenge~
#8 is a stilt legged fly- again, a tough shot since their legs are so damn long and are always out of focus. You did very well in your shot, where the legs are still pretty decently focused, kudos!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Shots will be come very soft at high magnifications, so the trick is to reduce magnification (yes I know its hard to do that for a macro shooter haha) and crop later, or focus stack ^___^
Keep it up~~  notworthy.gif
Thanks bro, not really satisfied though, still very far away from your level blush.gif Will keep trying hard and improve my lighting as well.

Thanks for the ID too, haha, and the encouragement rclxms.gif

Yep, I think other than my 1st batches of macro, lately ones are all not from my house garden de, normally I take a walk around the neighborhood then stop when there's some foliage and look look see see, my garden hardly has any rare bugs

This post has been edited by QiAnG: Dec 4 2013, 12:47 AM
BlizzardCraft
post Dec 4 2013, 01:18 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

hi sifus... im thinking to get a tripod.. around rm400 range...

maybe gonna get from BhPhotovideo... cousin from US will buy back...
wanna get a ball head one..

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?setVi...61368&view=LIST

any good one? was thinking about carbon fibre.. but dam expensive.. =X
Pro3363
post Dec 4 2013, 07:21 AM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Dec 4 2013, 01:18 AM)
hi sifus... im thinking to get a tripod.. around rm400 range...

maybe gonna get from BhPhotovideo... cousin from US will buy back...
wanna get a ball head one..
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?setVi...61368&view=LIST

any good one? was thinking about carbon fibre.. but dam expensive.. =X
Try Jusino brand. Some of their carbon fibre tripods are priced around RM500-600. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Pro3363: Dec 4 2013, 08:33 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 4 2013, 10:37 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 3 2013, 11:27 PM)
hmm how much would a flash bracket costs? if it's expensive, i think i will invest in light stand those things instead. wouldn't a smaller diffuser create harsher light?

it's yongnuo flash haha, canon's flash is too expensive for me. yeap, i tried putting down those, but didn't affect really much.  hmm.gif
Bracket costs around RM100-200 I think, and most are dual flash brackets. Single ones are quite rare I think hmm.gif
Light stands as in those for strobist work?
I wouldn't really recommend them, you will want to travel as light as possible for macro work. The more your gears, the more easy you tire, and also easier susceptibility to handshakes @@

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 11:40 PM)

My softbox pula too short  sweat.gif Since my 90mm on it's own quite long d, after adding teleconverter or ET have to ramp up ISO to maintain short flash duration. doh.gif

+1~
The softbox works really well for me, though it sure gets in the way sometimes laugh.gif
Still trying to find a smaller diffuser that provides the same amount of light diffusing haha, will update when I finally find/design one laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 4 2013, 10:37 AM

126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0311sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:41 PM