Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition
Nov 28 2013, 03:09 PM
3,249 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
haha didn't thought i can spam that much in nikon thread
Nov 28 2013, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(QiAnG @ Nov 28 2013, 09:47 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « some shot by me ![]() IMG_1038 by tuna97, on Flickr ![]() IMG_9499 by tuna97, on Flickr |
Nov 28 2013, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(f5calvin @ Nov 28 2013, 10:08 PM) I) stick for nikon if u got extra money totally agree, that lens is so crazy sharp even wide open.II) get 2.8 for extra bokeh provided u gt a big budget~ well, seems meaningless la my suggestion. according to dxomark, if u want sharpest, is 70200 2.8, then 70200 4, then Tamron AF 70-200mm f/2.8 SP Di LD [IF] macro. n the tammy 70200 macro is so darn cheap n considerably good if compared to them..i believe i must have left out something.bt still u need to ask opinion from others that had hands on before.. at 70mm f2.8, it is as sharp as those prime lenses out there. at 200mm, still sharp, but can't compare with prime telephoto lens. not to mention the not bad macro capability you can get. at around 2.5k, it's the only brand new 70-200 f2.8 you can get. careful though, the AF isn't that good, tends to front/back focus a little bit at longer focal length. |
Nov 28 2013, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(tongweng @ Nov 28 2013, 10:29 PM) 2.5k you mean is not nikon brand? yeap, you can even find some used ones in mint condition around 2k at GS.of course cant compare to prime telephoto lens...but i need to learn more about photography first before i move on to next stage. I never had any problem with AF because most of the time i off my AF XD if you use MF only, that lens is really darn good in IQ, i own one personally, can only complain about the focusing, other than that the lens is quite perfect. |
Nov 28 2013, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(f5calvin @ Nov 28 2013, 10:33 PM) it doesnt have VR or VC(what tamron calls it) .. that lens isn't that heavy compared to any f2.8 70-200, but a little heavier than f4 70-200. quite easy to handhold too, really large grip on the focus ring for you to hold.the 70200 f4 nikon is darn darn sharp anyways.. bt it's f4 lar. |
Nov 28 2013, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(f5calvin @ Nov 28 2013, 10:53 PM) yeah.. 2.8 sure can be f4 la.. bt hor the price is rm3k difference! with that u could get a sigma 35mm 1.4, or a used 16-35 f4 nikkor .. actually no need to think that nikon's 70-200 is the only choice. since he says he likes MF, the SWM don't matter that much that him already. and compare the nikon 70-200 vrii/i with tamron 70-200 macro, will the 4-5k of price difference justified by better focusing motor and VR? build quality aside, most people don't threat their lens like a weapon. |
Nov 28 2013, 10:59 PM
Nov 29 2013, 03:54 PM
tongweng
here's a quick pixel peeping for the tamron 70-200 f2.8 macro lens. 70 mm sample 100% crop. f2.8 f4 f8 200mm sample 100% crop. f2.8 f4 f8 all i can say is at 70mm f2.8, that lens is sharp already, at f4 it's crazy sharp. at 200mm f2.8, it's not that sharp, with a little bit of softness, still very good imo, same thing happens at f4, it's crazy sharp. all shots are converted from raw without any sharpening applied. also uploaded all of them in full size at my flickr. |
Dec 3 2013, 10:08 PM
arrr a canon guy asking in nikon thread paiseh
a few of you might know that i love shooting macro, so recently after i saw a few of you post your diffuser for macro set up i decided to get one also. i bought this. ![]() now facepalm pulak, when i reverse my lens, the focusing distance drops until few cm from the bugs, the the octobox went so far until a lot further than my subject, causing the light unable to hit the subject correctly. also, i can't get softer light from that octobox, already opted for the largest in size but still the light appears quite harsh. |
Dec 3 2013, 11:27 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 11:00 PM) Extension tubes are quite rare, since there's not really a lot of demand I suppose hmm how much would a flash bracket costs? if it's expensive, i think i will invest in light stand those things instead. wouldn't a smaller diffuser create harsher light? Ahhh, no problems man, we all have the passion for photography what I sort of have the same problem as you haha, as in the diffuser being too long than the lens, especially when I don't use the ET Perhaps can consider flash brackets? Or a smaller diffuser I'm not familiar with Canon flashguns, but you should be able to switch the light to disperse right? Can also put down the flashgun's diffuser (if applicable) for extra diffusion it's yongnuo flash haha, canon's flash is too expensive for me. yeap, i tried putting down those, but didn't affect really much. |
Dec 3 2013, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 11:32 PM) Since when did you get a trumpet for your flash? it looks really crazy haha, didn't thought it would that big when i bought it. i don't have the cap bundled with my flash On a more serious note, try attaching the diffuser cap first before fitting the softbox. |
Dec 3 2013, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 11:40 PM) Can get for 10 bucks at digicolor nia. Reason your lighting is harsh because all the power is still aiming towards the center of the softbox, you need secondary diffusion at the light source first to better distribute the spread of light. i also bought that tiny octobox from digicolor, just today haha. need to buy the cap next time when i visit there. thanks a lot for the tips, i don't know diffusing the light is so complicated My softbox pula too short ![]() now i can only shoot with the octobox using 70-200, that's they only lens that the octobox won't cover. |
Dec 3 2013, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 11:50 PM) Quite simple only la once you start to understand the concept. yeah, need to start experimenting to lighting to improve my skills. For macro, the more layers of diffusion, the softer the light, but the more power required from the flash la. with the octobox, i already lost like 1 stop of power compared to bare flash, wouldn't mind charging the batteries more oftenly as long as i get the picture i want. |
Dec 4 2013, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 4 2013, 10:37 AM) Bracket costs around RM100-200 I think, and most are dual flash brackets. Single ones are quite rare I think no la, i don't only shoot macro, that's why i wanted to get a better setup for learning about lighting if the bracket isn't cheap. need to save money again Light stands as in those for strobist work? I wouldn't really recommend them, you will want to travel as light as possible for macro work. The more your gears, the more easy you tire, and also easier susceptibility to handshakes @@ +1~ The softbox works really well for me, though it sure gets in the way sometimes Still trying to find a smaller diffuser that provides the same amount of light diffusing haha, will update when I finally find/design one |
Dec 12 2013, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 12 2013, 10:26 AM) from a not-active forumer selling his lens.... 2470 hehe I just send in my 18-135 to YL for cleaning fungus, got quoted rm150 including fixing a little screw that's flying inside the lens. (can be hear when shaking the lens https://www.facebook.com/irvinfr87/posts/763005330381551 by the way yesterday finally took back my repaired lens..damaged rm190 for cleaning 2470 fungus inside ...but i wait damn long because of jam lol... sit in bus stop like 1 hour 45 minutes.... demmm selangor holiday...make traffic more jammed than usual haven't test the lens yet.. only check fungus removed. |
Dec 12 2013, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 12 2013, 04:16 PM) i just lazy go to YL >_< went to puduplaza for the first time, spend like 20 minutes only managed to find the shop so i just contact yannick, i duno i doubt they are actually same or what... i bought body and lens from yannick twice and i notice plastic bag is YL camera lol... so i think his source is YL |
Dec 13 2013, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 13 2013, 08:23 AM) Regarding the dust in my D3200 viewfinder, i made a huge mistake by dismantle the focusing screen and super imposed screen. I'm not sure about other models design, but D3200 design is separated focusing screen and super imposed screen (with focus grid). i nearly did the same thing, luckily decided not to take the risk at the end. those dusts are super annoying since they are deep inside the viewfinder, not just on the mirror alone. I used the cloth to wipe the reflex mirror last time, end up leaving some smudge on it The dust is inside the inner side of super imposed screen, which is the side facing prism. I wipe with micro fiber cloth and now the screen is full with many fine scratch. The focusing screen too. The expensive lesson for me. Anyway, anyone here know how much for these 2 parts? I know the focusing screen is around 100+, just dun know how much for the super imposed screen. [attachmentid=3766545] |
Dec 13 2013, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 13 2013, 02:05 PM) Yes, bro, as bold part, super annoying, 2 fiber dusts stick inside the super imposed screen and just on top of the 2 focus points, everytime focus sure will see it. I can wait for next day to buy the blower, but due to my own decision, i dismantle myself and wipe using the micro fiber cloth that come with the camera. I'm too naive to expect those cloth provided should be scratch proof and dustless compare to normal fiber cloth. moral of the story, don't simply touch camera inner parts, they are so damn complicated and fragile.Yesterday night i just did a final clean up using contact lens cleanser and flush with filtered water, after that blow off the water using rocket blower without wiping. But is too late, i use my handphone camera flash as the light source, direct to the reflex mirror and i observe at the viewfinder, alot of fine scratch in vertical and horizontal direction. Although not really obvious after i put back the lens, but it become an 'imperfection' inside my heart, although it won't affect the photo quality, but i still feel it will. No pain no gain. |
Dec 13 2013, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 13 2013, 04:55 PM) yeah, rather pay some money for the service than taking the risk to buy another whole new gear.QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 13 2013, 05:12 PM) i did a mistake too last time by using so called cleaning fluid for camera (it didn't write for what part) on my sensor, end up leaving a little smudgy spot on it. luckily canon SC didn't ask anything about it and clean it free for me. (the old days when sensor cleaning is free |
Dec 13 2013, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 13 2013, 06:03 PM) Only thing I dare to clean is the lens outer element front and back haha i don't even dare to wipe mine. kit lens and nifty fifty still can, i don't dare touch my 70-200's front element, imagine how much it needs to fix if that 77mm glass got scratched. |
| Change to: | 0.0522sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:34 PM |