5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

QiAnG
post Nov 28 2013, 06:55 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 28 2013, 03:16 PM)
D600? hmm.gif
Going star beauty search ma? starting tomorrow and on sunday at boulevard, still preliminaries though
QiAnG
post Nov 28 2013, 06:55 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 28 2013, 03:16 PM)
D600? hmm.gif
Going star beauty search ma? starting tomorrow and on sunday at boulevard, still preliminaries though
QiAnG
post Nov 28 2013, 09:47 PM

545 posts

Casio Watch by QiAnG92, on Flickr

Was browsing through ming thein's blog, saw his imba nice watch pictures so got itchy, haha, not as easy as i thought =.=

did some trials on my old watch, lotsa scratches

This post has been edited by QiAnG: Nov 28 2013, 09:50 PM
QiAnG
post Nov 28 2013, 09:48 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Nov 28 2013, 08:57 PM)
Some landscapes for the new thread... Still part of Nat Geo right? tongue.gif

bro , nice shots as always thumbup.gif
QiAnG
post Nov 28 2013, 09:52 PM

545 posts

Wow, nice pics bro, especially those wasps ones. So nice you found a lot big insects, all I hunted lately are those small small small ones mad.gif
QiAnG
post Dec 1 2013, 10:11 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 1 2013, 09:45 PM)
Looks like a toy dog  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Perhaps can try shooting at ground level since the floor tiles are not that nice hmm.gif
Shoot at larger aperture for better bokeh and you'll get an awesome photo  rclxms.gif

Anyways, share a frog photo tonight~
Frog 1 by PF T.J., on Flickr
SIFUUUUUUUUUUU, receive tudi 1 bow notworthy.gif
QiAnG
post Dec 2 2013, 11:00 AM

545 posts

Yea, been always wanted to go out at night, but never really dared to do so, maybe will try it once I get some more legs biggrin.gif The type of insects I get during the evening are sorta limited, planning to try early morning some time soon

Btw, what's your bracket and softbox brand?
QiAnG
post Dec 2 2013, 08:35 PM

545 posts

Today's try, really need improve lightning liao, either the light wont hit, or sometimes too harsh

Butterfly by QiAnG92, on Flickr

DSC_1926 by QiAnG92, on Flickr

DSC_2005 by QiAnG92, on Flickr
QiAnG
post Dec 2 2013, 08:44 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 2 2013, 05:41 PM)
Thanks to all replies smile.gif At first i wanted to get 85mm now after reading this reply, better i get tammy 90mm.. tongue.gif
Tammy 90 very good lens, sony's thread fansoption got a lot nice macro with his 90mm tamron.

When you macro need kaki, feel free to find me to tag along. haha tongue.gif
QiAnG
post Dec 3 2013, 05:11 PM

545 posts

Yep bro I'm from Miri, sure no problem, haha.

Thanks for the input bro, trying to go out a lot and take a lot, somehow its quite hard to get most parts of the insects in focus. I think I'll try focus further and crop in. Have to start getting bracket too, missed so many shots of spiders because the light cant hit inside part of the plant. What a tiring hobby. haha
QiAnG
post Dec 3 2013, 05:13 PM

545 posts

Really like your spider shots notworthy.gif How can you be so close and yet the dof is so big? Did you crop?

Btw, I like the lightning too. very even
QiAnG
post Dec 3 2013, 05:14 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 2 2013, 11:02 PM)
This are today's "macro" laugh.gif
Itsy-bitsy spider by NurAzam, on Flickr
Unknown by NurAzam, on Flickr
Nice shot bro of that lynx spider, I saw 1 yesterday, but it hid itself after seeing me vmad.gif
QiAnG
post Dec 3 2013, 05:16 PM

545 posts

Cars and ladies, something that's hard to shoot here in Miri. Would love to try panning someday, haha.

The panning shot in the rain is awesome too rclxms.gif

QiAnG
post Dec 3 2013, 07:13 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 3 2013, 07:11 PM)
My favourite too... FYI, there r lots of mice there tongue.gif
One of my fav too. Going soon for the chicken and porridge and noodle, haha
QiAnG
post Dec 3 2013, 07:17 PM

545 posts

My shots today, spot a lot of bugs I never shot before, but curse the windy weather, can't get any decent shot for today, even missed a few bugs.

Somehow I think a lot of my shots are soft even if they appear sharp on the camera screen, any recommended way to check focus? Or maybe my shots are suffering from diffraction, I normally use f16-22.

smile.gif Off to dinner
QiAnG
post Dec 4 2013, 12:34 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 07:23 PM)
Thank you man, much appreciated! notworthy.gif
Will let you know if I need anything for my research hehe, but probably need to find in the jungle tongue.gif Of course I don't mind paying you for your trouble; sure beats flying over there myself haha  laugh.gif

Yeah, a good diffuser will help improve shots tremendously, and the shape of the diffuser will help too. If you are into jumping spiders, then ring flashes are good picks~  rclxms.gif 
Well, sometimes you can lure the spider out what haha, then only shoot. Jumping spiders are usually pretty curious and not shy laugh.gif

Yup, the shot is cropped, most macro shots are cropped, as far as I know haha~
There are only two ways (based on what I've learned so far) to get large DOF:
1. Shoot with lower magnification, then cropped or
2. Focus stacking

JUNGLE! Never entered jungle eh, haha. Try my best =p You fly over nice also, we can learn from you notworthy.gif

I tried, they keep hide inside mad.gif somehow these small ones are quite human shy, maybe I should try going out at night some day, probly need a torchlight for focus though, haha.

I think I'll try with lower magnification and cropping them, focus stacking seems tough on the field.
QiAnG
post Dec 4 2013, 12:35 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 3 2013, 07:36 PM)
Awesome shots mate!  notworthy.gif
I'm sure these were not taken at your house garden right?  laugh.gif

#1 is a fungus beetle
#2 is a Great Egg Fly (Hypolimnas bolina) - great shot, these butterflies don't usually hang around too much laugh.gif
#3 bug porn! XD
#4 is an Electric Blue Banded Phintella (Phintella vittata) - this is a very tough spider to shoot since they are extremely jumpy, I have yet to get a decent shot of the front hehe, can try it as a challenge~
#8 is a stilt legged fly- again, a tough shot since their legs are so damn long and are always out of focus. You did very well in your shot, where the legs are still pretty decently focused, kudos!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Shots will be come very soft at high magnifications, so the trick is to reduce magnification (yes I know its hard to do that for a macro shooter haha) and crop later, or focus stack ^___^
Keep it up~~  notworthy.gif
Thanks bro, not really satisfied though, still very far away from your level blush.gif Will keep trying hard and improve my lighting as well.

Thanks for the ID too, haha, and the encouragement rclxms.gif

Yep, I think other than my 1st batches of macro, lately ones are all not from my house garden de, normally I take a walk around the neighborhood then stop when there's some foliage and look look see see, my garden hardly has any rare bugs

This post has been edited by QiAnG: Dec 4 2013, 12:47 AM
QiAnG
post Dec 5 2013, 10:27 PM

545 posts

Some of today's try, finally got a decent jumping spider shot, eager to upload this 1st, haha.

Jumping spider with prey by QiAnG92, on Flickr

btw, I need ways to repel mosquitos eh, today I tried long sleeves and long pants, in the end they went for my face and neck, I was like dafuq and straightaway abandon that area ==

Luckily still found some nice subjects at another mosquitoless area
QiAnG
post Dec 5 2013, 10:27 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 5 2013, 10:24 PM)
Beautiful mountain. I didn't realize the oil spots after I read your comment.
I wish I can go somewhere exotic for travel.

My last pack of spams for today.
Series of me observing this orange hornet and an unknown bug at the last.
Orange hornet harvesting by NurAzam, on Flickr
Yellow bug by NurAzam, on Flickr
Nice bro, always like your shots, so much feeling inside
QiAnG
post Dec 6 2013, 12:00 AM

545 posts

Thanks bro, luckily got u guys suggestion, now saving money for bracket and diffuser.

I really hate mosquitos, they where oso bite. =.='' repellant no use oso, lol

Some more shots for now, dont really know what spiders are these. Would love some IDs, haha

Spider by QiAnG92, on Flickr

EDIT: Some variants of leafhopper or planthopper

Plant/Leafhopper by QiAnG92, on Flickr

This post has been edited by QiAnG: Dec 6 2013, 12:53 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top