125 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

kelvinbongcn
post Sep 21 2006, 09:09 AM

189 posts

so how is it actually lei?? this means i can bring one laptop bag and one hand luggage on board for MAS?? hmm mati la my cargo luggage is overtweight now... 24kg...
slacx
post Sep 21 2006, 10:50 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Sep 21 2006, 09:09 AM)
so how is it actually lei?? this means i can bring one laptop bag and one hand luggage on board for MAS?? hmm mati la my cargo luggage is overtweight now... 24kg...
Yes. You can bring one laptop bag and one hand luggage
jooku1
post Sep 21 2006, 11:06 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Sep 21 2006, 09:09 AM)
Don't worry no problem la with luggage. My frens take 29kg pun lepas. Myself on business class (suppose 30kg) but I took 34kg and my fren 39kg. Don't worry.
slacx
post Sep 22 2006, 12:02 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Sep 21 2006, 11:06 PM)
Don't worry no problem la with luggage. My frens take 29kg pun lepas. Myself on business class (suppose 30kg) but I took 34kg and my fren 39kg. Don't worry.
it depend on who yg jaga kaunter. My limit was 25kg but I took 27kg cant lepas sweat.gif
tommy141184
post Sep 26 2006, 01:40 PM

153 posts

i take Mas, going tomolo..luggage weight 25 kg, Hand luggage 9kg...Plus one labtop bag..WILL I BE OKAY? i dont want pay for the extra...
youngkies
post Sep 26 2006, 10:21 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

25 kg shud be alright.. hand luggage ppl wont care unless it cant go into the over head compartment.
liew_jls
post Oct 3 2006, 12:14 AM

558 posts

yeah, 25kg is not a problem, my flight was weekdays and my weight limit is 20kg, but i checked in with 27.2kg.. haha... the fella let me go through... so lucky.. anyway i heard for student they don't really care, as long ur weight is not too much. also if it's during weekend, maybe they will more strict coz got a lot student are traveling.
azarimy
post Oct 5 2006, 07:53 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

i'm going back to msia in 2 weeks. can anyone confirm about bringing liquids on board the planes? i'm buying perfumes for my brothers/sister, can i put it in the baggage? i know it's a no-no in the hand luggage...
felixwhoals
post Oct 5 2006, 08:12 PM

455 posts

AZARI.. i heard they are quite strict if u go back to Malaysia from UK.
Especially ur hand luggage, it has to be small (according to the size given)
else, they won't let u in. My friend went back to Malaysia too 2 weeks ago. She took Emirates frm Birmingham and she said she had to buy a special hand luggage to put her stuff. I heard u gotta to bring the 'transparent' bags.
azarimy
post Oct 5 2006, 08:19 PM

10,672 posts

i had a chat awhile ago with my friend who just went back to singapore:

baggage checked-in at the counter will go through normal security checks. so liquids like toothpaste, hairgel, perfume should be fine in there. they only check the hand/cabin luggage. after u passed into the boarding area (past the security checkpoint), u can buy whatever stuff u want from the duty free area to bring it aboard the plane.

funny, coz last week's news stated that a huge number of workers at heathrow airport are illegal immigrants...
goliath
post Oct 6 2006, 12:06 AM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 5 2006, 07:53 PM)
i'm going back to msia in 2 weeks. can anyone confirm about bringing liquids on board the planes? i'm buying perfumes for my brothers/sister, can i put it in the baggage? i know it's a no-no in the hand luggage...
Baggage as in the big luggage that you have to check-in? If it is, yes you can.

You can get the perfumes on board too. But I'm not sure whether the perfume you want is available or not.
SUS-FirstLove-
post Oct 6 2006, 03:16 AM

378 posts

wat subject u taking? they just canceled off the working permit after ur cease of study for accounting but UK now is in favour of engineering and doctor and technologies! so if u r in these field u still can get ur working permit to work for another few yrs after ur cease of study! its like u can work and earn some money and tour Europe! thats wat lots of student do!

QUOTE(Silent_scream @ Jun 22 2006, 06:22 PM)
So I'm going over to the UK to do my degree.

Anyone currently (or has been) studying there?

Is the style of lecturing very different as compared to Malaysia? Do they place a lot of importance on coursework? How do Malaysians generally cope?

I need tips on living wise as well. The must-haves, the dos, the don'ts.

Thanx  notworthy.gif
SUS-FirstLove-
post Oct 6 2006, 03:17 AM

378 posts

if u need more Info u can visit British Councel they provide u a lot of useful info!
Syd G
post Oct 6 2006, 10:46 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I'll be finishing my first degree in 2008, still a long way to go but I'm planning my post grad education now biggrin.gif My tuition fee will be approximately 11,500 and living expenses will be 10,250 (will be there with my future spouse blush.gif) - it'll be somewhere in Coventry tongue.gif.

That's approximately RM150,000 right? So am thinking of ways to fund that. So how did you guys get to the uk? Bank Loan? Yayasan/Government Scholarship? Fama Scholarship (biggrin.gif) ? Am on Telekom scholarship now but they dont extend to sponsor postgrad anymore sad.gif Bank loan seems like a feasible option. My parents can either refinance the house or put it as a collateral to take a study loan. But I'm looking for more ideas smile.gif

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Syd G: Oct 6 2006, 10:46 AM
goliath
post Oct 6 2006, 10:48 AM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 6 2006, 10:46 AM)
I'll be finishing my first degree in 2008, still a long way to go but I'm planning my post grad education now biggrin.gif My tuition fee will be approximately 11,500 and living expenses will be 10,250 (will be there with my future spouse  blush.gif) - it'll be somewhere in Coventry tongue.gif.
10,250 = 2 person + accomodation + food ? blink.gif

That's approximately RM150,000 right? So am thinking of ways to fund that. So how did you guys get to the uk? Bank Loan? Yayasan/Government Scholarship? Fama Scholarship (biggrin.gif) ? Am on Telekom scholarship now but they dont extend to sponsor postgrad anymore sad.gif Bank loan seems like a feasible option. My parents can either refinance the house or put it as a collateral to take a study loan. But I'm looking for more ideas smile.gif

Thanks!
FaMa scholarship for me laugh.gif
Syd G
post Oct 6 2006, 11:11 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Ah.. I misread.. it's 1250 a month for a couple. This is what given to me :

Accommodation: 550
Bills - Gas/ Electricity/ Water/ Tel (not mobile) 150
Food 300
General - inc. Clothing/ internet etc 150
Books (for 1 student) 30
Travel 50
Misc 20

TOTAL 1250/mo (15k yearly)

... no mobile, no entertainment, no ebay tho sad.gif
goliath
post Oct 6 2006, 02:49 PM

5,532 posts

My tuition fee will be approximately 11,500
Increase your tuition fees.

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 6 2006, 11:11 AM)

Accommodation:  550
Food 300
General - inc.  Clothing/ internet etc 150
Books (for 1 student)  30
Travel 50
Misc 20

Accomodation - Seems alright to me
Bills - Including internet for that amount of money
General - Less than your stated amount if you shop less
Books - Definitely more than that if you are planning to buy. Books are not cheap in UK
Travel - Not enough

Geminist
post Oct 6 2006, 07:32 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Oct 6 2006, 11:11 AM)

Accommodation:  550
Food 300
General - inc.  Clothing/ internet etc 150
Books (for 1 student)  30
Travel 50
Misc 20

Both my friends who are doing Phd. are funded by: -

1) Her professor
2) A huge company

So my point is, do well in your degree, get in good terms with your project supervisor and that's where you'll start off smile.gif
azarimy
post Oct 9 2006, 08:25 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 6 2006, 07:32 PM)
Both my friends who are doing Phd. are funded by: -

1) Her professor
2) A huge company

So my point is, do well in your degree, get in good terms with your project supervisor and that's where you'll start off smile.gif
it would also depend on the research ur doing. social sciences are less likely to have funding that would sustain u living in the UK as compared to engineering.
Syd G
post Oct 9 2006, 08:50 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Am thinking of doing Masters in Software Engineering @ soton biggrin.gif (I mentioned Coventry in my last few posts here. It's Masters in Informaiton Systems & Mgmt @ warwick smile.gif - will be applying for both)

Talked to my parents. My future spouse will be allowed to work but dono la how much he can earn. I still hv to prepare tuition fees + plane tix + deposit for accomodation, phone, internet...

Worse come to worse I might wanna retake some of my subjects to jack the cgpa to 3.75 brows.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Oct 10 2006, 09:25 AM

125 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:05 AM