126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!

mansooriqbal
post Apr 26 2014, 02:50 PM

2,044 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 25 2014, 02:59 PM)
Before i forget again, a friend reminded me about vindicator 18": Add-ons in Mid Valley is selling it at MYR 209.00.
add ons as in? cant buy the bag alone? also for R4 what size? 17 or 18? How is this bag compared to orion. I don't really NEED it but my palms are itching.
horns
post Apr 26 2014, 04:16 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Apr 26 2014, 02:50 PM)
add ons as in? cant buy the bag alone? also for R4 what size? 17 or 18? How is this bag compared to orion. I don't really NEED it but my palms are itching.
Add-ons is the name of the shop biggrin.gif it's vindicator 18". more space for a 17" (the 17" bag is too fit for the laptop). as far as the compartments, they're tighter compared to orion.
okf987
post Apr 27 2014, 12:38 AM

113 posts

Hi guys I need some advice here. I am considering getting a new laptop either the aw17 or aw18 problem is if im looking for the best performace and bang for buck is sli really worth it on the aw18 I only start worrying now because afraid the cpu will bottleneck the dual sli gtx 780m. Solution is to OC the cpu? I am not even sure if AW18 can handle OC because I have no experience with it.

Need your advice and suggestion sifu's much thanks smile.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 27 2014, 12:46 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(okf987 @ Apr 27 2014, 12:38 AM)
Hi guys I need some advice here. I am considering getting a new laptop either the aw17 or aw18 problem is if im looking for the best performace and bang for buck is sli really worth it on the aw18 I only start worrying now because afraid the cpu will bottleneck the dual sli gtx 780m. Solution is to OC the cpu? I am not even sure if AW18 can handle OC because I have no experience with it.

if you have a thick wallet or platinum credit cards, the AW 18 is for you, otherwise it can leave a very large hole in your wallet.

if you have a strong GPU, the CPU will hardly to bottleneck but if the temperature control is poor, chances of bottleneck is high but its a rare case in AW 17 and 18 because both have a very good cooling system.

however, i'd strongly recommend you not to OC as OC a laptop CPU wont have much performance gain, and it also results in overheating, rise of your electric bill and CPU damaging risk.

EDIT : but just one thing, do you really think SLI can really help you improve the performance of majority of the games? i'd say no. go for single GPU as possible.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 27 2014, 12:47 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 27 2014, 12:47 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(okf987 @ Apr 27 2014, 12:38 AM)

If performance is what you are looking for, the AW18 is probably the better choice laugh.gif (I don't think Bang-for-buck can be associated with Alienware haha, you are getting the best for what you are paying thumbup.gif)
However, the AW17 would be the better pick here in Malaysia, mainly because the AW18 is not officially available here... parts may be hard to come by hmm.gif

I think bro putochip123 is bringing in one unit of the AW18, not sure whether its taken yet (its in one of the posts): https://www.facebook.com/pages/DellAlienwar...?flyingspaghettimonster=ts&fref=ts

Can check with him if you are really interested. Good to deal with him over Illegear since he personally knows his way around getting parts and fixing/upgrading them laugh.gif
Of course, he sells AW17 too~

Damn, I wonder how many M18x/AW18 owners are there in Malaysia wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 27 2014, 12:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 27 2014, 12:46 AM)
if you have a thick wallet or platinum credit cards, the AW 18 is for you, otherwise it can leave a very large hole in your wallet.

if you have a strong GPU, the CPU will hardly to bottleneck but if the temperature control is poor, chances of bottleneck is high but its a rare case in AW 17 and 18 because both have a very good cooling system.

however, i'd strongly recommend you not to OC as OC a laptop CPU wont have much performance gain, and it also results in overheating, rise of your electric bill and CPU damaging risk.

EDIT : but just one thing, do you really think SLI can really help you improve the performance of majority of the games? i'd say no. go for single GPU as possible.
I want AW17 or 18 please sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 27 2014, 12:48 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 27 2014, 12:47 AM)
Damn, I wonder how many M18x/AW18 owners are there in Malaysia  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
about 0.5% of Mahresia's population? laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 27 2014, 12:56 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 27 2014, 12:48 AM)
about 0.5% of Mahresia's population? laugh.gif
0.5% of Mareshia's population is a lot yo haha laugh.gif
I'm guessing probably not more than 20-30 units? I've never seen an M18x before, let alone the AW18! haha laugh.gif
I remembered bro Oscar used to have the M18x, but never get to see it since he brought his MBP 15 RD instead of the m18x that time vmad.gif
okf987
post Apr 27 2014, 01:03 AM

113 posts

I have waited a long time (and hardwork *ahem*) for this day to finally get the best gaming laptop I can get and yeah I agree alienware aint cheap but its the best smile.gif Buy base on after sales support right... lulz.

Hmm single gpu would automatically mean getting an AW17. New mobile gpu coming out the gtx 880m think I should wait for that instead? US dell already offering that in their alienware line.

My thinking is like this because current gpu's are gona go out of date and the new gpu comes in blablabla and I want to avoid having to upgrade my aw17 why not just get an AW18 sli so I wont have to worry about upgrading...

Would that be a smarter choice or "meh ain't really gona cut it"?

Edit:added a line of text biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by okf987: Apr 27 2014, 01:05 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 27 2014, 01:11 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(okf987 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:03 AM)
I have waited a long time (and hardwork *ahem*) for this day to finally get the best gaming laptop I can get and yeah I agree alienware aint cheap but its the best smile.gif Buy base on after sales support right... lulz.

Hmm single gpu would automatically mean getting an AW17. New mobile gpu coming out the gtx 880m think I should wait for that instead? US dell already offering that in their alienware line.

My thinking is like this because current gpu's are gona go out of date and the new gpu comes in blablabla and I want to avoid having to upgrade my aw17 why not just get an AW18 sli so I wont have to worry about upgrading...

Would that be a smarter choice or "meh ain't really gona cut it"?

Edit:added a line of text biggrin.gif
Yeah, you are right nod.gif
I suppose it all boils down to whether you can wait? hmm.gif
Usually we will get our spec refresh quite fast one

Even if you can't wait and decided to go for any GPU for the aw17/18, they are still very powerful yo mind you laugh.gif Unless if you really need to play games at maxtest settings (even those hardcore ones), you could just get any you fancy now, and then upgrade later on? hmm.gif

okf987
post Apr 27 2014, 01:19 AM

113 posts

Curious though when you do upgrade you send it back to dell or find a a technician to do it or diy?

Was thinking what happens to the old gpu do you keep it or sell it?
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 27 2014, 01:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(okf987 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:19 AM)
Curious though when you do upgrade you send it back to dell or find a a technician to do it or diy?

Was thinking what happens to the old gpu do you keep it or sell it?
Bro Oscar putochip123 is a qualified Dell technician who spends a lot of his time repairing and upgrading stuffs (some of which are not deemed possible @_@).. which is why he's a good seller to buy from since you no longer have to worry about maintenance/renew/upgrading your notebook haha laugh.gif I am actually a noob, and I don't dare do all these myself haha laugh.gif

He took the entire hardware away nod.gif
The motherboard suffered from some minor burns.
Bro Oscar mentioned that usually these parts cannot be fixed and will not be refurbished.. but I suppose its still sell-able if you can find a buyer haha laugh.gif
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 27 2014, 02:22 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 27 2014, 01:27 AM)
Bro Oscar putochip123 is a qualified Dell technician who spends a lot of his time repairing and upgrading stuffs (some of which are not deemed possible @_@).. which is why he's a good seller to buy from since you no longer have to worry about maintenance/renew/upgrading your notebook haha  laugh.gif I am actually a noob, and I don't dare do all these myself haha laugh.gif

He took the entire hardware away nod.gif
The motherboard suffered from some minor burns.
Bro Oscar mentioned that usually these parts cannot be fixed and will not be refurbished.. but I suppose its still sell-able if you can find a buyer haha  laugh.gif
When it comes to repairing, im a total noob. laugh.gif
But when it comes to cleaning and upgrading, im just like a dragon awakes. laugh.gif

Need find time to learn from sifu putochip. biggrin.gif
okf987
post Apr 27 2014, 06:04 AM

113 posts

Yeah ive been in contact with Oscar on fb. His got like 3 choices for me for my budget either the AW17 New, his Used Aw17 with 120hz moniter and the AW18.

Used is just about 1k cheaper than new so. AW18 he did mention that the moniter on there wont be able to support more than 60fps so its kinda like potential of sli is wasted? I am not sure what the difference is cost personally I cant tell the difference in a normal moniter and 120hz moniter.

TSraymondtong94
post Apr 27 2014, 07:05 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(okf987 @ Apr 27 2014, 06:04 AM)
Used is just about 1k cheaper than new so. AW18 he did mention that the moniter on there wont be able to support more than 60fps so its kinda like potential of sli is wasted? I am not sure what the difference is cost personally I cant tell the difference in a normal moniter and 120hz moniter.
no, the SLI potential is not wasted. its true that AW18 lineup's monitor has a max refresh rate of 60Hz (or 60fps) only but the refresh rate determines the smoothness when moving in games, its not like it will limit your GPU processing power. however, the 120Hz monitor on the AW17 is able to run in 3D mode, as it need to produce two images so it can virtualize the 3D effects into the 3D spectacles.

the difference between 60Hz and 120Hz is the smoothness and fluidity but its very hard to be identified with naked eye. i dont know how the guy called Linus (LinusTechTips is his channel on Youtube) able to identified the difference between 60Hz and 120Hz unless he cheats. you can watch the video at here

do note, you need a strong GPU to take advantage of 120Hz.
putochip123
post Apr 27 2014, 01:01 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(okf987 @ Apr 27 2014, 06:04 AM)
Yeah ive been in contact with Oscar on fb. His got like 3 choices for me for my budget either the AW17 New, his Used Aw17 with 120hz moniter and the AW18.

used is 1k cheaper but it comes with others upgrade as well. happy.gif
and of course I give u 1 year full warranty as well happy.gif

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 27 2014, 07:05 AM)
no, the SLI potential is not wasted. its true that AW18 lineup's monitor has a max refresh rate of 60Hz (or 60fps) only but the refresh rate determines the smoothness when moving in games, its not like it will limit your GPU processing power. however, the 120Hz monitor on the AW17 is able to run in 3D mode, as it need to produce two images so it can virtualize the 3D effects into the 3D spectacles.

the difference between 60Hz and 120Hz is the smoothness and fluidity but its very hard to be identified with naked eye. i dont know how the guy called Linus (LinusTechTips is his channel on Youtube) able to identified the difference between 60Hz and 120Hz unless he cheats. you can watch the video at here

do note, you need a strong GPU to take advantage of 120Hz.
well, maybe u had to experience the 120hz. hoho. as naked eye we can see the differences. feel free visit me, I show u happy.gif
I have ordinary 60fps AW17 and 120Hz AW17
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 27 2014, 01:04 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:01 PM)
well, maybe u had to experience the 120hz. hoho. as naked eye we can see the differences. feel free visit me, I show u happy.gif
tomorrow are you free? biggrin.gif
wanna ask you to become my sifu.

i stay at seri kembangan, so i guess your location is pretty near to mine? biggrin.gif
putochip123
post Apr 27 2014, 01:36 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:04 PM)
tomorrow are you free? biggrin.gif
wanna ask you to become my sifu.

i stay at seri kembangan, so i guess your location is pretty near to mine? biggrin.gif
haha, gotta wait the time I back from China d. haha. maybe 16th of may?
TSraymondtong94
post Apr 27 2014, 01:46 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:36 PM)
haha, gotta wait the time I back from China d. haha. maybe 16th of may?
that was a long way to go man, and i will be working that time.
never mind, will give you a ring when i have the time. biggrin.gif
okf987
post Apr 27 2014, 02:37 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 27 2014, 01:01 PM)
Thanks maybe not enough time to go up to KL.

Your used AW17 difference with the new one is moniter and blueray different only right?

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:55 AM