8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

Sentinel92
post Jan 21 2014, 10:32 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(bl@ze @ Jan 21 2014, 09:46 PM)
Wow thanks for the suggestion bro..well let's just say I got lucky last year and have a bit of disposable income and this is fulfilling a lifetime dream of mine  icon_rolleyes.gif
Anyway the mining should be able to recoup some of the costs, with diminishing returns but at the end I'll have a kickass rig  thumbup.gif
No worries. I suggested something similiar to another forumer two to three weeks back. Don't know why suddenly everybody wants suggestions for a 20k PC hahaha.

Haha I'm just stating because if you want mining for the same price you can get two lower end PCs (not that those are cheap but still lower than the monster you're getting).with triple 290 (Non-X) each and do a whole lotta mining. A high end CPU/mobo does not benefit gaming by much either.

But since you said you have extra (congrats on getting the extra), and its a dream of yours, then by all means go ahead and get a world class PC.

But please go and visit Cyntrix or APES themselves. Getting a quote is all good but you need to sit down and discuss specifics, especially for water cooling. Fittings amd tubing size is important, plus placement of pumps and reservoirs. The components I suggested might not be available as well. So go make an appointment with them. biggrin.gif

Feel free to ask if you have any other questions.

P.S the setup I gave you is kinda my dream setup as well. whistling.gif Probably in 6-8 years time after I graduate and have a stable job. rclxms.gif
Sentinel92
post Jan 21 2014, 10:36 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 21 2014, 09:52 PM)
That's one of the craziest coin mining rig i've ever seen..still,idk what does bitcoin mining even means! sweat.gif
You should have seen the system with 10 MSI Z87 Mpowers and triple 280X's each. All in one rack. Bloody hell hahaha.

Bitcoin is basically online currency. A certain amount is released everyday and you use your PCs to go find, or rather 'mine', these coins. That's a simple explanation. How it's traded or it's history you can go Wikipedia and read up. =)
Sentinel92
post Jan 21 2014, 11:10 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(bl@ze @ Jan 21 2014, 11:00 PM)
Haha I bet the reason is all the commission earners/incentive earners are going to get those bucks end of January (like me  tongue.gif )
Yeah I know some people going to say it's wasteful but its for personal satisfaction. Btw for those with AMD cards I do encourage to dabble in mining..can earn quite a bit currently but after 2014 probably no more after all the ASIC miners come out.
Bloody hell. I wish I can get enough commission to buy a 20k PC as well. Only managed to get a 1/3 there after 5 months of part time work hahahah. Still buidling my PC too. (P.S If you have some left over cash or components please donate some. tongue.gif Hehehe)

Nah, it's fine. The PC is yours after all. And since it's a lifelong dream, why not?

Yeah been told that a lot. But I only have one 290X which is primarily for gaming so see how lah, maybe next time when I can build mining rigs. My dad will kill me if I left the rig running all day.

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Jan 21 2014, 11:11 PM
Sentinel92
post Jan 22 2014, 01:35 AM

3,573 posts

Has anyone here used Superflower PSUs before? Still can't decide on which 1000W model to get. Still stuck between Cooler Master V1000, Corsair RM1000, Seasonic X1050. Now people are recommending me Superflower Leadex and Silverstone. Aiks. icon_question.gif
Sentinel92
post Jan 22 2014, 11:51 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jan 22 2014, 01:55 AM)
Afaik, super flower is a reputable PSU maker.

But they skimp on their lower end PSU by using subpar capacitor instead of the claimed japan capacitor, silently without informing.

As you are looking at their 1kW platinum model, I pretty sure it will be fine.

Also, if I am you, I will be getting the CM v1000 (better be fast as it is currently out of stock and being phrased out iinm), for that it is the cheapest one, yet made by a reputable oem - seasonic.
Hmmm, that was my original plan before a couple of guys sais that the V1000 is not good as even though it's a seasonic OEM, it's still CM branding. @.@

Will check the SF 1000W platinum models. I heard it's ripple is amazingly low.

Thanks man.
Sentinel92
post Jan 22 2014, 11:07 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jan 22 2014, 01:55 AM)
Afaik, super flower is a reputable PSU maker.

But they skimp on their lower end PSU by using subpar capacitor instead of the claimed japan capacitor, silently without informing.

As you are looking at their 1kW platinum model, I pretty sure it will be fine.

Also, if I am you, I will be getting the CM v1000 (better be fast as it is currently out of stock and being phrased out iinm), for that it is the cheapest one, yet made by a reputable oem - seasonic.
Aiks, looks like Superflower isn't the only one skimping on capacitors. So is corsair, or at least the company that makes it. Even for their higher end RM850.
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story5&reid=369

I think I'll end up with seasonic looking at the way things are.

Sentinel92
post Jan 22 2014, 11:15 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(siv 007 @ Jan 22 2014, 09:59 PM)
Hello everyone. Im looking to build budget decent Gaming PC. I do have few component as below, but need few recommendation for Proc, Mobo, and GC. Seeking help.

Have

- Monitor [Dell FHD]
- PSU Gigabyte 550W
- 4GB KVR
- 500HDD
- DVD Drive
- Peripherals

Dont Have

- Processor
- Motherboard
- Graphic card

With budget about RM1500 and below, is it recommended for me to go with this trinity?

- Intel i3-4130 @RM389
- Asrock H81M- HDS @ RM199
- Leadtek WinFast GTX 760 @ RM799

Total RM1387

My biggest concern, can Intel i3 capable to handle GTX 760 with latest games?

PS : My previous rig is AMD Phenom II X4 965 and its weak, coz bottleneck with HD7870

Thanks in advance.  smile.gif
Yes it's enough, my friend is using the same CPU with a MSI MPower Max and a overclocked Palit GTX680, in a single cpu/gpu water cooling loop. It'll do fine with your GTX760. The 4130 has hyper threading as well.

Sentinel92
post Jan 24 2014, 12:57 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(bingding @ Jan 24 2014, 11:21 AM)
samsung evo or plextor m5?
Samsung Evo 840. With RAPID tech it's bloody damn fast. But Plextor M5P is also quite nice. A bit more expensive though.
Sentinel92
post Jan 24 2014, 06:11 PM

3,573 posts

Has anybody here slapped an AIO paired with a NZXT G10 bracket on their GPUs yet? Really wanna see local performance benchmarks and temps before I commit.

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Jan 24 2014, 06:11 PM
Sentinel92
post Jan 24 2014, 06:37 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 24 2014, 06:29 PM)
hmm.gif  Not bad...  maybe a 8/10.... tongue.gif
Also, don't type in caps...  it's quite painful to read... sweat.gif
Hahahah looks like you got capslocked to hell today. tongue.gif

Sentinel92
post Jan 24 2014, 08:55 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 24 2014, 08:51 PM)
What is his budget and usage? tongue.gif
As he stated, it's for Steam OS. So light computing and gaming. IIANM.

Sentinel92
post Jan 24 2014, 09:03 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 24 2014, 08:58 PM)
Maybe you're correct,he needs to tell his budget though... tongue.gif
Haha I know, just stating his usage. But I'm really interested in these tiny steam OS builds.

Sentinel92
post Jan 26 2014, 10:24 PM

3,573 posts

EDITED.

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Jan 26 2014, 11:53 PM
Sentinel92
post Jan 30 2014, 01:29 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 30 2014, 12:05 AM)
[Budget]
RM4K ~ 6K

[Purpose]
Gaming only

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Monitor
HDD

[Monitor resolution]
1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Team Fortress 2
Battlefield 4
Titanfall (dat trailer, itsch awzum)
Starcraft 2

Sometimes... World Community Grid, or Folding@Home on Lowyat

[Personal preferences]
Nvidia Nvidia Nvidia biggrin.gif

[Location]
Ampang (very very very near Idealtech)

[DRAFT]
So I came up with this build list, with all the price tags referenced from Idealtech latest price lists la, what do you guys think?

Updating @ Google Drive

CODE

CPU            AMD FX-8350                 699
PSU            Corsair CS550M              350
Casing         Corsair Obsidian 350D       345
Graphics       Asus GTX 770 DCii OC       1699
RAM            Corsair Vengeance 2 x 4GB   339
Motherboard    Asus Sabertooth 990FX       699
Boot SSD       Samsung EVO 840 250GB       589

Hmmmm, if you wanna go 4-6K, I'll go for the middle ground.

CPU             AMD FX-8350                 699
PSU            Seasonic X650        599
Casing         Corsair Obsidian 350D       345
Graphics       Sapphire 290 Tri-X       1699
RAM           GSKILL RipjawsX F3-14900CL10D-16GBXL 559
Motherboard     Asus Sabertooth 990FX       699
Boot SSD       Samsung EVO 840 250GB       589

If you're willing to spend more you can get the AMD FX-9370, plus a Cooler Master Nepton 140XL for your system for an additional RM600-700 in total.. But it'll still be around 6K.
Sentinel92
post Jan 30 2014, 01:38 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 30 2014, 01:31 AM)
so my rig has arrived from idealtech...

it was difficult installing the GPU rclxub.gif R9 280x dual x

i was so afraid of breaking any of the pci slot pins.. it was so hard to insert ><

just a question, i notice that my gpu fan isnt turning... it stays...

should i be worried? im not gaming yet..
It would really help if you could post some pictures. And yeah,the fans are supposed to spin after you turn the PC on.

Sentinel92
post Jan 30 2014, 02:04 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 30 2014, 01:43 AM)
i insert the pci and screw the holder..

or... does it need any power to run also? like have to plug in something?
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif Hahahahahhahahha DUDE. You haven't plugged in the eight pin and six pin power cables yet. You need to connect those to your GPU and so it can draw power from your PSU. It's right there on the right hand hand side of you GPU. You cannot power your card via PCI alone.

Do you know how to route the cables and install it?

Edit: it should look like this.

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Jan 30 2014, 02:09 AM
Sentinel92
post Jan 30 2014, 02:46 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 30 2014, 02:40 AM)
i nvr use the dvi worr..

i juat found out that im supposed to plug in power... so must i make sure all holes are inserted?
Yes plug in the 8 pin and 6 pin power cables. Then you can let your 280X rip.
Sentinel92
post Jan 30 2014, 02:48 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(wuwah @ Jan 30 2014, 02:43 AM)
yeah, it's from your PSU. no worries, actually, my first build, I forgot to plug in my SSD, end up installing my windows at my HDD thumbup.gif  sweat.gif didn't even realize it. excited finished my PC build withut even look at the drive name in bios sweat.gif
Hahaha. It happens to the best of us. But we learn and nice on.
thumbup.gif
Sentinel92
post Jan 30 2014, 03:53 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 30 2014, 03:40 AM)
wakakaka, i already put all the pins in!

now downloading some games
Hahahahahhaha. Haiyo you ah. sweat.gif

I was thinking your fried your GPU or something. Turned out it wasn't even connected to a power source. rclxub.gif

Anyways congrats. Play some high settings 1080p games and let it rip. rclxm9.gif

Sentinel92
post Jan 30 2014, 01:11 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 30 2014, 04:20 AM)
Isn't 16GB RAM a bit overkilling? I mean with SSD system we shouldn't need that much RAM right?
Saw the Seasonic suggestion in Idealtech group too, maybe it's good idea
As for graphics ar... I prefer to stick with Nvidia, is GTX 780 Ti worth it?

P/S: 6K is actually quite high hehe  shocking.gif
Nope. Reason being is that games like BF4, which you listed out as a game you're playing, actually takes advantages of better, faster and bIgger RAM. Your original 8GB was at the recommended minimum threshold. And it'll serve you well in future proofing as well for an additional RM150-200+ only. Moreover, SSD only serves to decrease program load wait times. Like a turbochraged HDD.

Yeah, Seasonic X series is a damn good gold rated PSU series. Since you're only using one GPU you can get the X650.

GPU is up to you. Do you want to spend an extra RM600-800 for an extra 5-10fps? The answer to that question will help you decide.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:34 AM