8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

Sentinel92
post Jan 31 2014, 12:51 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Jan 31 2014, 12:23 PM)
Yeah, because this is my first time buying a rig without my parents' acknowledgement whistling.gif

Thank you btw, My friend taught me how to setup through FaceBook

edit : on the first photo, whaat's that black cable?
Yeah, that's why kena hentam lah. Hahahaha. LOL!

The first cable on the top left is a HDMI. You connect that to your GPU as per the top right, NOT to your motherboard.

But if you're using a VGA cable instead like in bottom left, you get a VGA to DVI converter and also plug into the appropriate input of your 270X. Also do not plug it into your mobo like the bottom left picture.

You only need to pick one choice, either top or the bottom. It depends what kind of input your screen is using.
Sentinel92
post Jan 31 2014, 01:01 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Y.J.S @ Jan 31 2014, 12:53 PM)
No wonder nothing shows up  doh.gif

I quickly ask for help at FaceBook, they had this expression  shakehead.gif when I told them I connected to the motherboard sleep.gif
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA. Well guess it works now. rclxms.gif

Congrats in getting your new rig. thumbup.gif

Sentinel92
post Feb 1 2014, 01:09 AM

3,573 posts

Guys, I really think you should read this article.

Although this is not a global survey, it's still a massive French tech retailer. And the 7870/7950/7970 Sapphire cards keep getting sent back at scary numbers. But take out the Sapphire cards and the number drops significantly. I am now scared for your 290/290X Tri X and 280X Toxic cards. Thankfully only one of my items is in the list, which is the Seagate 7200.14 3TB, but I can live with an RMA since it's not my primary memory drive.

In also surprised at Cooler Masters low failure rates for its PSUs. Look at the numbers for RAM as well.

http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/108284...rly-everything/

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Feb 1 2014, 01:28 AM
Sentinel92
post Feb 5 2014, 02:05 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Feb 5 2014, 01:59 PM)
Thx again for the fast reply.
Just curious if I I can just cut back to from i5 to  Intel Core I3-4130and keep the Leadtek gtx 650ti boost 1GB. Would there b any issue?

Also I was wondering does a good psu play an important role in performance?
The 4130 will do you fine. It has Intel Hyperthreading if I am not mistaken. For normal computing and light to medium gaming it will serve you well.

A good PSU will ensure two things, a lower electricity bill over the long run if you get Gold or Platinum rated ones, and overall better build quality so it can last you longer. Performance wise, not really.

Sentinel92
post Feb 16 2014, 12:21 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 16 2014, 12:19 PM)
The name is already in the suggestion..  laugh.gif
Sapphire R9 270 2GB GDDR5 RM679  tongue.gif
I think he meant like it's non reference name, like Vapor X for example.
The card you quoted was a reference one right?
Sentinel92
post Feb 17 2014, 10:38 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 17 2014, 09:44 PM)
It's not the card you would take if u are OCIng it too,cause i heard it has overheating VRM...ask @chocobo7779 for more info,not sure where did he know about it,that's why. tongue.gif

P.S.Ask him in a message,since i dunno how to tag him,he might not see this..
chocobo7779, thou art summoned for thy expertise. rclxms.gif

Sentinel92
post Feb 17 2014, 10:47 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Feb 17 2014, 10:43 PM)
Not sure but according the someone at Anandtech...
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2364119

Also, he pointed out the MSI one is essentially a downgraded version of the reference R9 290. sweat.gif
Maybe to reserve the throne for its lightning series? I know it did a Lightning run for both the GTX780 and GTX770. So maybe they will release 290 Lightning/290X Lightning variants?

Which apon reflection sounds. drool.gif drool.gif

Edit: if you leave it at stock then yes its almost like a reference 290, but I guess OCing is The key to getting the max out of it seeing you can do so with a better cooler
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/gpu_dis...gaming_review/1

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Feb 17 2014, 11:13 PM
Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 04:00 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(spadecrew @ Feb 18 2014, 03:20 AM)
sorry about this...forget to mention...

-i have a casing already(save rm229)
-i insist on maintaining the current psu as i think the psu is still ok..can i run any test to test the psu??( save rm229)
-i dont think i need ssd...later on maybe but not for now (save rm329)
-i will have extra rm857...where should this fund goes??

-i5-4670k<---(will the i5-4670k bottleneck the r9 290x??)
-sapphire R9 290x
- +another 8GB ram

or

-i7-4770k
-sapphire r9 290x
-have to topup abit around rm200

or

-buy a 27" screen to enjoy the setup  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Not with your current suggested motherboard or your old one. You'll need a Z87 motherboard to run Intel K badged chips like the 4670K or the 4770K. So you will need to set aside cash for that too.

So I suggest:
Intel Core i5-4670K RM750
Asrock Z87 Extreme4 RM519
Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X RM2299
Corsair 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RM239

Total: RM3807

Reuse:
Cooler Master Real PowerPro 750watts
WD Caviar Black1TB
WD 160 GB
Old Casing

But otherwise, you do not need a K badged chip if you are NOT overclocking. Minecrafts suggestion of Intel Core i5 4440 3.1Ghz @ RM579 and Asus B85M-G @ RM279 is good enough already. Plus the fact if you do get a 4670K/4770K and overclock it, to will need to spend some money getting aftermarket coolers as well.

And no, the 4670K would not bottleneck the 290X. It can work with multi GPU configurations.

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Feb 18 2014, 04:05 AM
Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 02:44 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(sirknieghf @ Feb 18 2014, 01:47 PM)

wanna ask about msi r290 gaming - rm1499..I read few post back said it is a downgraded version of the reference R9 290.

i dont want a downgraded version(if its true) since ill be using this rig for quite long time..so do recommend me another GPU.

reason i wanna OC
-wanna try watercooling (around july~sept)
-thinking can increace years of usage

Bro, its not a downgrade. Check the MSI 290 Gaming review I posted. It's fine.

And second, if you want to go water cooling, you can just get a normal reference AMD 290. Reason being if you get non reference cards like the Sapphire TriX or the MSI Gaming the PCB might not fit waterblocks needed to cool it.

Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 04:34 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(sirknieghf @ Feb 18 2014, 04:02 PM)
the prob is its gonna be few months before i can commit to watercooling..is it ok to use reference card since i heard noise + heat problem..
this is hard, non reference=hard to get waterblock..reference=got waterblock but afraid the heat and noise before getting it..btw im kinda a heavy gamer
Then just use that reference board for this two to three months lah. Just dial back the temp limits to around 80-80℃ and fan speed and you will be fine. You can pretty much play any game on earth with high 1080p settings anyways. Then when it's time just get your WC items. =)

Word of warning though, its gonna be expensive. Prepare at least RM1.5K ++ for waterblocks, Rads, pumps and other stuff.

Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 04:41 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(sirknieghf @ Feb 18 2014, 04:31 PM)
btw just checked http://www.coolingconfigurator.com/waterbl...e_id=comp_table

both msi r9 290 and powercolor r9 290 pcs is compatible with ekwb waterblock (visual)..
shakehead.gif Bro, that's the backplate. You attach it to the back of your graphics card. That is NOT the waterblock. But while the cooling configurator does say their 290 waterblock can fit the Powercolor PCS+, its is not a guarantee that it will work. It's still safer to use a reference board.

QUOTE(sirknieghf @ Feb 18 2014, 04:40 PM)
thanks for the suggestion..

well im thinking to start small with like EK-KIT H3O 360 HFX kit + waterblock for GPU and few accessories.. smile.gif
No worries. Wouldn't call that small hahaha. But should be enough fr your setup. As long you know how much is needed to pump in. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Feb 18 2014, 04:48 PM
Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 06:30 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Feb 18 2014, 05:45 PM)
If you choose the reference R9 290,it'll be loud and gives out more heat (Like 88-95C?),but i think it should be fine...unless the weather makes it even hotter! sweat.gif
QUOTE(sirknieghf @ Feb 18 2014, 05:49 PM)
not gonna take the risk since m'sia so hot now and i dont have aircond  sad.gif ..nvm take powercolor only add few buck..

on to monitor..the more i search, more confuse now..so many monitor to consider..
Bro you can set temperature and fan limits dude. Set at 80℃ temp limit and 75% fan speed or lower you will be fine. Even at reduced clocks you can still play 1080p high settings on all games with nice frames per second.

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Feb 18 2014, 06:30 PM
Sentinel92
post Feb 18 2014, 07:09 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(sirknieghf @ Feb 18 2014, 07:00 PM)
high means highest setting right..confuse cause got game with ultra setting..
No I meant HIGH setting. There is usually LOW, MEDIUM, HIGH and ULTRA. But you don't need Ultra to fully enjoy the game. HIGH settings will provide lower stresses on your GPU and help work within the 80℃ temp limit. Once you get the waterblock then you can overclock the hell out if it and play ULTRA without worry. Now just make do first. smile.gif

Sentinel92
post Feb 19 2014, 12:05 AM

3,573 posts

Anybody here uses PCE WiFi cards or USB WiFi adaptors? Wanna ask around and see if any of you have felt issues like frequent disconnections.
Sentinel92
post Feb 25 2014, 05:28 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 25 2014, 11:13 AM)
hmm. will consider it.

btw, can you reccomend me any case that can actually fit the radiator of the kraken? for now I only considering NZXT phantom series. Maybe you can recommend me any good and stylish bitfenix case?  brows.gif
I have a Switch 810. But if you're gonna go AIO go with a Phantom 530. Shorter reach so it's easier to place you AIOs.

Sentinel92
post Feb 26 2014, 12:41 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(SourPower @ Feb 25 2014, 10:23 PM)
was thinking the same bro.  brows.gif

thanks for the suggestion.
No problem. Corsair Carbide 540 also can. Very flexible with Rads placement too. brows.gif

Sentinel92
post Feb 28 2014, 10:27 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Feb 28 2014, 09:39 PM)
guys an r9 270 can overclock and perform like the r9 270x? which would have nearly same performance to gtx 760?

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardw...b-review-8.html
Don't compare OC results with stock. If i were to OC the 270X and GTX760 it will leave the 270 for dead wouldn't it?
Sentinel92
post Feb 28 2014, 10:35 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Feb 28 2014, 10:33 PM)
just saying if i were aiming for gtx 760/r9 270x type performance. could just get a r9 270 and OC it. no?
If your budget is limited to a 270, then yes. Get a 270 and Oc it.

Sentinel92
post Mar 6 2014, 12:08 AM

3,573 posts

Anybody here wants CM Sickleflow 120mm Red LEDs? Letting them go for cheap.

Btw does anyone here use fan controllers? Or at least recommend a good one?
Sentinel92
post Mar 6 2014, 05:58 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 6 2014, 09:47 AM)
Hi, can someone recommend me the below component?
I still stay in Core2 ancient era, i din follow up much since i7 until the new Haswell architecture now. Now i'm still read article from various hardware site.

Purpose of rig: Mainly for editing photo (photoshop, lightroom, which stretch my OC 3.3Ghz QX6850 to its knee), HD video playback (using SVP manager to increase frame rate from 24/30Hz video into 75Hz framerate in real time, make my current proc scream)

Budget: RM3-3.5k for few components below, OC oriented.

Please give your valuable input. Thanks in advance.
I would suggest something like this:
Intel Core i7-4770K - RM1050
Asrock Extreme4 Motherboard - RM619
Kingston HyperX 1866/CL9 8GB - Rm420

And you're reusing your GPU, HDD, SSD and PSU yes?

As for cooling, get rid of your old WC loop and just get the Swiftech H220 for RM489. Easier to maintain, efficient and powerful. If you want a proper custom set it'll be at least be RM800-900 now. Don't ever get the Armegeddon kits. Those are rebranded XSPC 750 kits with horrible pump and tubing.

But if you want to change your CPU block alone, you can get the EKWB Supremacy Nickel from APES for RM280+ or the Koolance 380I from niclasteoh at RM296. Was actually gonna get the 380I before I settled on the Aquacomputer Cuplex Kryos Delrin.

But since we are still on budget here you can get something like the XSPC RayStorm D5 AX240 WaterCooling Kit. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Chew Yongxian: Mar 6 2014, 09:58 PM

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0605sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:46 PM